An antidote to BBC Scotland's carnival of ignorance

It’s taken on the form of a regular parade on the airwaves of BBC Scotland, a bandwagon hitched to ignorance and manned by misrepresentation is once again being whipped up to high speed.

Mr al-Megrahi, the man whose conviction is now considered so unsafe by so many people that a (posthumous?) pardon now surely beckons, has refused to die on schedule.  His appearance, frail and gaunt, sitting in a wheelchair at a rally in Tripoli was seized on by Pacific Quay who have spent the last few days questioning the decision to release him.

On Friday the state broadcaster ran yet another phone in with Shereen Nanjiani in the chair as the usual half-truths, misinformation and ignorance were broadcast to a bewildered nation.  Labour’s Iain Gray was invited on to provide the same nauseating politicised commentary that has so infected the debate since the decision was taken to release Mr al-Megrahi on compassionate grounds.  Gray's party’s role in oil deals, secret negotiations with Libyans and arms sales to Gaddafi an apparent irrelevant detail.

Only in Scotland would the ‘national’ broadcaster and opposition amplify and promulgate with relish any and all accusations against the nation's medical profession, government and centuries old law.  The Lockerbie bombing has been used, abused and spat out by these politically motivated ghouls, who parade faux outrage as the real victims are forgotten.

Newsnet Scotland has chronicled the excesses of the Scottish media on this issue, mainly BBC Scotland, and few of their presenters, with the exception of Revel Alderson, emerge with any credit.  For almost £150 per year per licence we expect more than poorly informed tabloid style sensationalism - we expect journalism of the highest quality and we are being let down.

The one aspect of the whole affair that has been all but ignored by what’s left of the Scottish media is the soundness of Megrahi’s conviction.  So, rather than waste time on what’s left of the BBC in Scotland, Newsnet Scotland invites you to instead form your own judgement on the conviction of Mr Abdel Basset al-Megrahi by watching a documentary that sought to investigate some of the key evidence presented at his trial.

Lockerbie: The Pan Am bomber
Dim lights Embed Embed this video on your site

If you found this article interesting then please consider donating a small amount to help maintain the site.  Click Here.

Comments  

# Keef 2011-07-30 04:21
Sad to think that this case was never re-examined. If his case had been re-opened perhpas we would have been given answers as to why the grey/beige, boys/mans shirt had so many descrepencies. Perhaps we would have found out if in fact Tony Gauci had been "coached" by police and indeed was given a reward by the US authorities. More saddening though, is that perhaps the perpetrators of this horrific crime are still walking free.

Like it or not, until these questions are answered, the Scottish legal system is under a cloud of corruption. It has, as stated in the documentry "Lost it's honour". And all for what?

To appease the American public?

It is a warped sense of justice if the mere incarciration of an innocent man serves to satisfy their outrage. Surely this apparent mis-carriage of justice would serve to make them even more determined to bring the real murderers to justice.

# km 2011-07-30 04:51
The Robert Black (QC) blog is surely the most comprehensive account of Lockerbie, and has been running since July 2007:

lockerbiecase.blogspot.com/

In the latest post today, he questions why primary legislation is required to release the information, claiming that a "statutory instrument" could be used, which would allow earlier release.

# Arbroath1320 2011-07-30 05:13
How the hell ANY EBC employee, who promulgates the continued lies and misinformation about al Megrahi, can sleep at night is TOTALLY beyond me!

I mentioned on another thread that I thought ALL M.P.'s should be sent a copy of this programme with a series of questions to answer AFTER they have watched the video. I would like to say now that this idea should be expanded to include ALL Unionist MSP's AND EBC employees!

Let's see these two faced ******** answer some REAL questions.

# clootie 2011-07-30 06:53
Abroath 1320
Unfortunately they are all well aware of the "truth" as are politicians /jouralists and certainly the legal profession across the UK not just in Scotland.

A PLO group paid £10million by the Iranians for a revenge attack for the shooting down of one of their passenger planes. The problem was the leader of this group was a double agent for the CIA. This is the main reason for the smoke and mirrors - don't upset the American's - keep the confusion active.

# cardrossian 2011-07-30 07:45
As I understand it, the law by which Al Megrahi was released also provides for the recall. May I suggest that Kenny MacAskill now does just that, and recalls Megrahi. This would perhaps enable further investigation, and possibly his appeal to go ahead. Of course Gaddafi will not release him, but if the request was made, and the rebels eventually take control, they may send him back. After all, they owe us - big time.

# Gill 2011-07-31 01:53
cloud and cuckoo

# Rannoch 2011-07-30 08:00
Al-Megrahi having been diagnosed with having terminal prostate cancer, applied to be released on compassionate grounds.

No matter who had been the Scottish Justice Secretary at the time, they would have had to comply with the Prisoners and Criminal Proceedings (Scotland) Act 1993 and Scottish Prison Service, Advice - 6 June 2005 in making the decision to release Al-Megrahi and they would have also released Al-Megrahi on compassionate grounds.

# Barontorc 2011-07-30 09:11
I thought Iain Gray was the patsy for a broken down political party and was doing what he could from a sense of personal honour and loyalty to Labour's cause.

That role should have ended with the Scottish annihilation of Labour last May and the poor guy - this is what I thought, was given a break.

But no, I was wrong, he isn't a patsy but a fool. Going by his nonsensical perpetuation of the Al- Megrahi Lockerbie lie which flies in the face of total uncertainty, at the very least, of the conviction and the clearest conclusion that if Al-Megrahi did it then Ghaddafi, friend of Blair and Brown was up to his neck in it also.

Couple this, to the undeniable fact of the cancer condition and with full knowledge of the Prisoners and Criminal Proceedings (Scotland) Act 1993 and you get no room to wriggle. Add in the Wikileaks revelations and the "D" Notice imposed by Straw and renewed by Milliband and any sensible person wouldn't touch it with a barge-pole!

But not Iain Gray. It's somewhat totally deluded and sad, the Subway incident was not a fluke of combined bad circumstance, but a glaringly stupid and politically inept thing to do. As they say, this guy's got form for being foolish.

# Angus Ogg 2011-07-30 09:54
Quoting Barontorc:
I thought Iain Gray was the patsy for a broken down political party and was doing what he could from a sense of personal honour and loyalty to Labour's cause.

That role should have ended with the Scottish annihilation of Labour last May and the poor guy - this is what I thought, was given a break.

But no, I was wrong, he isn't a patsy but a fool. Going by his nonsensical perpetuation of the Al- Megrahi Lockerbie lie which flies in the face of total uncertainty, at the very least, of the conviction and the clearest conclusion that if Al-Megrahi did it then Ghaddafi, friend of Blair and Brown was up to his neck in it also.

Couple this, to the undeniable fact of the cancer condition and with full knowledge of the Prisoners and Criminal Proceedings (Scotland) Act 1993 and you get no room to wriggle. Add in the Wikileaks revelations and the "D" Notice imposed by Straw and renewed by Milliband and any sensible person wouldn't touch it with a barge-pole!

But not Iain Gray. It's somewhat totally deluded and sad, the Subway incident was not a fluke of combined bad circumstance, but a glaringly stupid and politically inept thing to do. As they say, this guy's got form for being foolish.

It seems incredible, but I really believe in their utter terror and panic these Muppets really thought they were going to make their escape on a train in the Subway.

We must do all we have in our power to ensure that such idiots and utter fools never ever get near the levers of power again.

# UpSpake 2011-07-30 09:40
This is a story which has never gone away despite all the hopes and wishes of those with most to lose when the truth finally emerges on this most awful of tragedies.
Truth ultimately does bubble up to the surface and a clear picture will finally emerge as to why so many were sacrificed in this incident.
Few if any will emerge smelling of roses as the only roses present lie on the tombs of the victims.
The rot of decay extends right throughout the body politic and the legal establishment compliant in a travesty of so called kangaroo justice.
What level of power was exerted to corrupt our legal establishment and what pressure put on highly respectable reporters of the Alderson variety to button thier bottom lip?.
Someone with backbone and who dislikes walking in the woods needs to step forward here.
The longer this matter lays unresolved the greater the hurt to the innocent families. Over what ?, vanity ?, or worse, reputation!.

# Angus Ogg 2011-07-30 09:50
The BBC in the Yookay, want, need, crave, desire, lust after having Labour back in power, it is how they will guarantee their very existence.

They perceive that Cameron is weak right now with the NI stuff bursting around him. So they feel they are building a head of steam on that one. They thought they could make some of the muck from NI stick to Salmond as we saw with the fish wife Jameson embarrassing her self and Scotland in the commons, when challenged she had nothing but "aye but" to offer.

So if they can get Cameron with NI, they perceive that the only thing they are likely to score against Salmond is Megrahi, as it is their they feel they had the most success. Or someone does.

It seems to me that the news department at Pacific Quay is entirely staffed with London Labour apparatchiks whose every waking hour is devoted to spinning stories to get Salmond and the SNP. And as I have said many times the hand of the Yookanian state is not very far away in the shape of MI5 operatives who haunt the BBC.

On this final leg of our journey to independence we are going to see a lot of this as the fear meter gets higher in the Yookanian establishment.

What we have shown so far is that we are well able to deal with it and can recognise it. The voters who tun out more and more for the SNP recognise it, and treat it with the contempt it so deserves. The BBC are utterly pathetic and on to nothing, we must remain alert and on our guard.

If I had the health and ability I would try and organise a rally and demonstration out side the BBC at PQ. However it would need the support and attendance of the SNP party.

It really is time they came out fighting on this, they have sat on their hands for far to long.

A special conference in the SECC, followed with a march with bands and banners to PQ.

# Rabbie 2011-07-30 12:34
Nae fish-wife worth her saut wad be seen deid giein in tae a guid gaun flyte wi juist a mealie-moothit "ay but". Naebody cuid haud a caunle tae a real fish-wife in full flyte. A ken. Baith ma Mither an ma Grannie alang wi aw ma Aunties wis fish-wives.

# Angus Ogg 2011-07-30 21:13
Quoting Rabbie:
Nae fish-wife worth her saut wad be seen deid giein in tae a guid gaun flyte wi juist a mealie-moothit "ay but". Naebody cuid haud a caunle tae a real fish-wife in full flyte. A ken. Baith ma Mither an ma Grannie alang wi aw ma Aunties wis fish-wives.

Point taken my humble apologies to all fish wives and their kith and kin. Wee Cathy is just pure dead embarrassing. She looks as if she sleeps in a wheely bin these days.

# Gill 2011-07-31 02:32
wish there was a like button!

# Caadfael 2011-07-31 10:09
Often thought that!
Some smilies too! :-)

# TOHILL 2011-07-30 12:49
Quoting Angus Ogg:
The BBC in the Yookay, want, need, crave, desire, lust after having Labour back in power, it is how they will guarantee their very existence.

They perceive that Cameron is weak right now with the NI stuff bursting around him. So they feel they are building a head of steam on that one. They thought they could make some of the muck from NI stick to Salmond as we saw with the fish wife Jameson embarrassing her self and Scotland in the commons, when challenged she had nothing but "aye but" to offer.

So if they can get Cameron with NI, they perceive that the only thing they are likely to score against Salmond is Megrahi, as it is their they feel they had the most success. Or someone does.

It seems to me that the news department at Pacific Quay is entirely staffed with London Labour apparatchiks whose every waking hour is devoted to spinning stories to get Salmond and the SNP. And as I have said many times the hand of the Yookanian state is not very far away in the shape of MI5 operatives who haunt the BBC.

On this final leg of our journey to independence we are going to see a lot of this as the fear meter gets higher in the Yookanian establishment.

What we have shown so far is that we are well able to deal with it and can recognise it. The voters who tun out more and more for the SNP recognise it, and treat it with the contempt it so deserves. The BBC are utterly pathetic and on to nothing, we must remain alert and on our guard.

If I had the health and ability I would try and organise a rally and demonstration out side the BBC at PQ. However it would need the support and attendance of the SNP party.

It really is time they came out fighting on this, they have sat on their hands for far to long.

A special conference in the SECC, followed with a march with bands and banners to PQ.

Angus Ogg

I for one am up for this, and I feel sure that many many more on this site are as well, but it is putting some form of cohesive plan together with pre determined dates for this "day of action" against these unionist drones. I am willing to help in any way I can to seeing this demonstration take place and it would be an absolute pleasure to take part. Are there any other willing individuals out there ready to make a contribution and help with a plan to make this happen ?? It really is time to stop talking and start doing.

# Gill 2011-07-31 02:33
direct action?

# Keef 2011-07-30 16:56
I'm with you on this.

# GrassyKnollington 2011-07-30 09:58
BBC Scoland and Labour obviously think there's still some mileage in pushing their agenda here.

Ironically with their deliberately politicised stance they're helping the Tories and William Hague but that's not an unusual position for Labour as the Scottish electorate now know that they'd prefer Scotland to be Tory run than independent.

That inconvenient old word that escapes me.....oh yes socialism is a distant memory for the career ermine chasers and dyed in the wool unionists who always, always put SNP bashing and the union before Scotland.

This article sounds furiously angry and rightly so. The Labour Party machine and in that I include the BBC Scotland employess who've trashed their professional reputations to hang on to Labour's coat tails and misrepresent this story are utterly beyond the pale.

"Only in Scotland would the ‘national’ broadcaster and opposition amplify and promulgate with relish any and all accusations against the nation's medical profession, government and centuries old law."

Well said.

# neoloon 2011-07-30 11:04
Surely there must be somebody in BBC Scotland who has the guts and the guile to speak out against their masters and the establishment's anti-Scottish bile.

# cjmasta 2011-07-30 11:08
The SNP are into their second term, the general public (not just snp supporters) have had to put up with the BBC in Scotlands shite for far too long and deserve so much better.
The bias is too widespread in the BBC to be a coincidence. Through radio, tv and online they are consistent in their bending of the truth, lies and non reporting when it so suits their agenda. NOW Really is the time to strike people.
The debate for Scotlands future is far too important to be left in the hands of dodgy news organisations.
The BBC should be expected to be the best place to go for informed debate and factual information, not the worst. Either it starts playing fair NOW or we bring them down.
We have no other choice.

# velofello 2011-07-30 11:41
cjmasta - i doubt whether BBC Scotland could change and play fair even if it had the will. London directs policy.
Me, I'm not paying to support an organisation that is directly acting against Scotland. Put simply, I do not want their service.

# Gill 2011-07-31 02:36
So we just lay down and die

# Vakov2000 2011-07-30 11:58
I thought the Labour Parties involvement had long been established in this affair? Secret papers were leaked revealing they had been found to have had secret contact with Gadaffi to advise hime how to use the process of Scot's Law to have Al-Megrahi freed. It revealed they knew under advisement how Scot's Law worked and that Kenny MacAskill would have to follow the process for compassionate release. It also revealed the likes of Murphy and Grey to be liars when they stated they knew nothing about this.

Has everyone suddenly had collective amnesia? The Labour Party were behind this.

# flyingscotsman 2011-07-30 12:13
The Al Jazeera video was a breath of fresh air. I cannot believe the difference in quality of the news in Scotland compared with this Middle Eastern TV station. BBC Scotland just does not compete.

Based on that evidence shown in the video and if the evidence is sound then he cannot be guilty.

Quote:
To appease the American public?

Sorry keef but the general American public do not really care about this story, the politicians care. And there is always a reason why the politicians put so much focus on it. To cover up something they are guilty of.

# Mad Jock McMad 2011-07-30 12:21
I have just joined the increasing number of Scots and English who are refusing to fund the BBC - if you pay by direct debit, have an on-line banking system the payment cancellation takes seconds.

The only thing the 'champagne socialists' understand is taking away their gravy train.

# Gill 2011-07-31 02:38
license, what license?

# UpSpake 2011-07-30 12:33
Mad Jock. Totally correct. You do it, I do it and we tell each other. There are millions of licence payers and hundreds of thousands in Scotland.
How do we communicate our actions to one another ?.
How do we know if we are one of several who have taken this action, one of hundreds, or one of thousands ?, unless of-course those who do not pay, attend a rally of all those who do not pay/will not pay. Then, although unidentified by name they would be noticed by number ?.
Just thinking ?.

# Mad Jock McMad 2011-07-30 13:46
Facebook is a start... I'll just go and look and see there is a site set up already.

# Conned no more 2011-07-30 12:37
Without being facetious and if this really is Al-Megrahi, all middle aged males in the UK should be setting up Health Insurance that allows us to receive treatment in Lybia. Clearly Lybian treatment for Prostate Cancer is far better than the NHS. Or is it just that money wins again.

# ButeHouse 2011-07-30 12:49
"His appearance, frail and gaunt, sitting in a wheelchair at a rally in Tripoli..."

According to Iain Gray's 'unchallenged' comments in one of his BBC interviews this obviously frail man was seen 'leading' a 'pro' Ghadafi rally in Tripoli.

Only the blind would realise Mr Al Megrahi wasn't exactly in line to lead the Libyan team out at the Olympics next year.....but here he was 'leading' this rally from his wheelchair.

Happily the Scots are not so easily fooled and they will see this as just more of the unionist same.

# Islegard 2011-07-30 13:15
I see the BBC website is reporting crowds gathering to celebrate an English Rugby player and some horse rider getting married in Edinburgh. Before showing a photograph of 2 old dears! Mind you good call having on the opening weekend for the Museum there will probably more people in Edinburgh to see that than the circus but will get caught up the wedding circus which will look more popular that it is for the BBC cameras.

Also why is Scotland having to pays a massive amount of money on security and police just because The English Rugby player has to show off in Edinburgh?

# Arbroath1320 2011-07-30 23:10
Don't you remember Islegard, according to "Call me Dave" We're all in this together. :D

The only problem though, he never mentioned anything about a dammed wedding or three.:D

As the people of Scotland are sovereign, and we did NOT get an invite to the wedding can we send the new "him n her" a bill for all the security etc?

Not only did I not get an invite I, as a sovereign Scot, was NEVER asked if I would mind if these two foreigners could have their high security wedding in Scotland. Nor did they ask me if I would mind paying for the security as "we're all in it together." :-(

# Arbroath1320 2011-07-30 14:07
Bute, according to the news presenter on news 24 the other night al Megrahi was was looking fine and well. I have only one thing to say to him, "if Megrahi was looking fine and well then I'm a china man!"

As some one with first hand experience of cancer I can assure any one that Megrahi was definitely NOT "fine and well".

# Robabody 2011-07-30 19:03
Agree...the man looked ill.

# ButeHouse 2011-07-30 14:22
Well put Arbroath1320, I've no doubt that heads would be shaking all over Scotland at those TV commentators.

They think they're being so clever with their constant swipes at the SNP Government but their remarks are so stupid people are seeing right through them.......long may they continue to gently edge more and more Scots into the Independence Camp.

# Mad Jock McMad 2011-07-30 14:30
For those of you sick about the BBC in Scotland I have created a Facebook cause:

causes.com/.../...

# Caadfael 2011-07-30 15:22
Done, in at no 3!
Invitations sent!

# steveb 2011-07-30 19:34
Can't join without granting permission to access friends etc etc

# TOHILL 2011-07-30 20:55
Quoting Mad Jock McMad:
For those of you sick about the BBC in Scotland I have created a Facebook cause:

causes.com/.../...

Cheers MJM I am now in the loop

# Arbroath1320 2011-07-30 14:45
I'm just wondering, as I do from time to time. :D

With the increase in people in Scotland cancelling their t.v. licence and now after last nights announcement about next years F1 coverage a significant number of English F1 fans talking about cancelling their t.v. licence, who exactly is going to be left to pay for the EBC? :D

# Basil Metabolism 2011-07-30 14:50
It's no coincidence this is happening when Cameron's under fire and the silly season is underway. The media haven't got anything else to attack the SNP with.

Expect more of it - the US press like to commemorate the second anniversary on the 20th August, there'll be talk of a boycott of Scottish goods again. The New York Times, NY Post, Wall Street Journal MSNBC.com etc. will all be fora for all the world's Celt-hating crackpots to give Scotland an online kicking when the newswires pump out the headlines on schedule.

It's no wonder the American relatives are mad as hell- the US press keep ringing them up and asking how they feel!

And of course it being the Silly Season here the gutter press will print the US relatives anger and remind us that the decision met international condemnation or anger across the globe and who thinks they'll mention it all came from one foreign country?

# Legerwood 2011-07-30 15:18
1. I am fed up with the BBC and their '3 months to live and he is stil alive' routine. Mr McCaskill NEVER said the Lockerbie bomber had 3 months to live. In his press conference announcing the release he said that Al Megrahi might live for 3 months or might live for longer but he met the criteria for release.

2. Treatment for prostate cancer has improved in recent years and some new drugs have had beneficial effects on survival rates. Bet your bottom dollar Al-Megrahi is getting them. Al Megrahi was likely to refuse treatment if he remained in prison and even if he had accepted treatment can you imagine the palaver of getting him to and from hospital as well as the outcry about costs?

3. Hague brought up the Al-Megrahi business to divert attention from the borderline legality of what he was doing by giving Libyan assets frozen in London to the rebels. He knew that the press would concentrate on Al-Megrahi and not on what he was doing because the press will take any opportunity to, as they see it, 'do down' the SNP. You only have to look at Hague's body language during the section of the press conference when he talked about Lockerbie to see how shifty and uncomfortable he looked. At one point he could not even look the assembled journalists in the face.

# Caadfael 2011-07-30 15:24
There was a helluva funny "Boycot Scotland" thing going about the web, telling the yanks what they wouldnt have without Scotland, can anyone find it?

# hektorsmum 2011-07-30 16:18
Think this is the one you want

outofrange.net/.../...

# Basil Metabolism 2011-07-30 16:37
There was this real one www.boycottscotland.com/
and the spoof
www.boycottscotland.co.uk/

# Caadfael 2011-07-30 16:58
Thanks guys, nice to have a bit of levity now and again, these boards can become somewhat dreich fare! :-)

# thomsor 2011-07-30 15:55
After seeing a brief glimpse of AL Megrahi on the evening news I said to my wife I can guarantee that Radio Scotland will have a s--- stirring programme on the subject. I did try to listen to the resulting programme the next day but turned off in disgust. No more licence money from me after this piece of anti Scottish propoganda.

# Sannymac 2011-07-30 16:30
Is there no some way that an individual or a group (with a bit of cash) could issue a writ against BBC Scotland for their lies, misinformation and Labour bias?
Is there not a decent QC in Scotland who could advise on a sensible way forward?
I we "the people of Scotland" were to take action against BBC Scotland, we almost certainly would not win (can't beat the system) but just think of the effect it would have on the undecided and non-voters.

# velofello 2011-07-30 16:37
Arbroath 1320 - I'd wager that News international would gladly run the BBC on behalf of the government. May well be that Cameron already has had non-inappropriate talks?
My view is that if you are pro-Scotland, not necessarily pro-independence and you continue to pay the BBC license fee then you are funding those who prepare transmit distorted,mocki ng programs about you and your nation.

# Arbroath1320 2011-07-30 17:45
Well I suppose now that Murdoch has, in effect, withdrawn from his BSKYB bid he will need somewhere to put his dosh. :D

# Tinyzeitgeist 2011-07-30 17:11
The documentary should be broadcast on our national TV by the BBC,If they were true to their principles, to provide a balanced view of the events surrounding the bombing of the PanAm aircraft. Instead what we get is propagandised at every opportunity, and the BBC are in my view guilty of actively hiding the current and widly held view that Mr Megrahi is innocent of this attrocity.
They are guilty of pedalling lies, and of supporting a gross miscarriage of justice.

# Arbroath1320 2011-07-30 18:00
The problem tiny, is that you are being logical. Lest we all forget the EBC is anything BUT logical.

I am surprised you still think that the EBC have principles. I think recent cases, re treatment of Alex Salmond, Ally McCoist etc would prove beyond doubt, if there were any doubt to begin with, that the EBC DO NOT HAVE ANY PRINCIPLES

Almost every day you can find some one having a go at the EBC here on Newsnet.

The best hope, and this is a VERY long shot here, is to get STV to screen the programme. However, there is one slight problem with STV, they can not be received down in the Borders, so we are then left with a hope that ITV would screen it as well. This raises the question, do ITV/STV have any principles/better principles than EBC?

Personally I think the answer to that question is still up in the air.

EBC..... Absolutely NO principles!

ITV/STV... Slight possibility of some principles.

# enneffess 2011-07-30 18:16
Quoting Islegard:
I see the BBC website is reporting crowds gathering to celebrate an English Rugby player and some horse rider getting married in Edinburgh. Before showing a photograph of 2 old dears! Mind you good call having on the opening weekend for the Museum there will probably more people in Edinburgh to see that than the circus but will get caught up the wedding circus which will look more popular that it is for the BBC cameras.

Also why is Scotland having to pays a massive amount of money on security and police just because The English Rugby player has to show off in Edinburgh?

Mmm, and have you seen how many tourists have turned up to watch? Personally I have no interest but if it helps bring in a bit of money, then why not?

# Robabody 2011-07-30 19:36
As I sat recovering from a day out in the Pentlands - done to a crisp would be a grand description - in my local pub, a lovely couple turned up enthused by their day out in Edinburgh at "the wedding". On spotting the half furled union flags being carried by them a local asked where they had been and the story gushed forth. They had travelled up from the midlands, great royalists, went to all the events they could, Edinburgh was a wonderful place etc., and they were stopping off for some food before they drove off back home. I have to say the folks in the pub were very kind and listened in a supportive sort of way and waited until the couple were safely ensconced out of earshot before the actual thoughts came out. Suffice to say they were of the "I wouldn't have crossed the street" variety and a sort of general amazement that people spent time and money on doing that sort of stuff.
God Bless the pair of them, I'm glad they had a good day and the sun shined on them, and the happy couple.
Meantime, pass the Aloe Vera and another pint of wallop.

# alanski 2011-07-30 18:35
BBC Scotland is worse than pathetic, it's an abomination. I'm not sure if many people are really watching this guff anymore, or believing the shi#e they spout, but that's not the point. They should be attacked at every opportunity.

# Robabody 2011-07-30 19:38
"An antidote to BBC Scotland's carnival of ignorance". If this is not the political quotation of 2011 I don't know what will be. Perfect.

# Barontorc 2011-07-31 08:40
Freeview gives an option to select favorite channels and to delete unwanted channels - porn, shopping etc.

This can be done with all BBC channels, so you have a TV and you watch all other providers, but not BBC cos its been deleted.

How would this line of argument stack-up if you were taken to court by the licence police?

# Basil Metabolism 2011-07-31 12:21
And bang on schedule here comes Eddie Barnes to warn us of the approaching second anniversary of the release. How much column space will he be trying to fill in three weeks at the height of the silly season?
scotlandonsunday.scotsman.com/.../...

# sneckedagain 2011-07-31 17:01
No need to worry abut this.
For some reason our opponents think that the Al Megrahi release tells against the SNP Government.
There is no evidence whatsoever that this is so and lots of pointers that in fact the opposite is the case.
What is a fact is that the vast majority of Scots, regrdless of their opinion on Al Megrahi, understand that this decision was taken in good faith and in an entirely correct manner.
A large proportion of them also resent American and English comment and attempted interference in Scottish affairs. I would suggest that a majority of intelligent and informed Scots support the release and that more than on any other issue hypocritical unionist behaviour on it has driven good people, particularly from the Labour camp, towards the SNP.
Joe Punter long ago lost all interest in the matter but there is also a wide spread assumption now that Al Megrahi is innocent which has to be factored into the mix.
I expect it will be eventually established that US and UK interests combined with Col Gaddafi to fit up an innocent man for geo-political reasons

# hiorta 2011-08-01 11:29
It appears that the original cause has become lost in its ramifications - the crazed American captain who murderously ordered the destruction of a civilian airliner - and subsequently decorated by a grateful system - must bear full resposibility for the consequences of his actions

# UpSpake 2011-08-01 12:49
Hiorta. Reasonable tie in except this horrendous incident had nothing whatsoever to do with the downing of 103.
You are about as far off the mark as it's possible to be yet, still in highly plausible territory.

# Bob Kingdom of Fife 2011-08-01 18:40
if the bbc nuj in Scotland think that they deserve over rated pensions over and above the Private sector workers in Scotland who will have miserly pension through no fault of their own , but lay blame sorely at the feet of ex chancellor and prime minister gordon brown, their continued attack on the Scottish National Government over the Al Magrahi release on compassionate grounds is pathetic and a diversion as the ' unionist media in Scotland are at the edge of " the abyss ".

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments