Banner

By Bob Duncan

The First Minister has told an audience of television producers and executives that Scottish viewers and producers are being failed by out-dated Westminster attitudes.

Alex Salmond told the Media Guardian Edinburgh International Television Festival that broadcasting policy – which is currently reserved to Westminster – is decades out of date.

Speaking at the festival for the first time, Mr Salmond said that broadcasting frameworks imposed by successive UK governments had failed to adapt to the digital revolution, and to devolution.

The First Minister said: "Scotland’s contribution to broadcasting is unparalleled.  Television was invented by John Logie Baird and the very concept of public service broadcasting was shaped by Lord Reith.  But Scottish viewers and TV production talent are today being short-changed.

"Since 2007 investment in training and network commissioning are up and BBC Alba – our national Gaelic language station – is a huge success, with an audience size last month nine times the number of people who speak Gaelic.

"So viewers are clearly voting with their remote controls for more Scottish content.  Yet we do not have an English-language public service broadcasting channel of our own.

"The legislative framework that controls broadcasting in Scotland is based in Westminster and was put in place more than 50 years ago.  Two years from the most important decision in Scotland for 300 years, it remains substantially unaltered.

"In an age of digital revolution, broadcasting policy has not even adapted to devolution."

The First Minister said a Scottish Digital Network was endorsed unanimously by Holyrood in 2008, but had since been completely ignored by the UK Government.

"The status quo is failing Scottish TV viewers and producers.  Control of broadcasting policy must lie with Edinburgh rather than Westminster," he said.

The proposed new English language digital channel would form a "Scottish Network" with supporting online services and is predicted to be a £75 million per annum operation.

Mr Salmond continued: "In Scotland we have protected free education and the NHS, and we are enacting world-leading climate change legislation. We can also take responsibility for protecting and enhancing the values of public service broadcasting."

If Scotland votes to become independent, said the SNP leader, the plan will be to create a Scottish national broadcaster, "based on the existing staff an assets of BBC Scotland".

"Further details on how that broadcaster would operate and its continuing relationship with the BBC will be published next year," the First Minister added.

However Unionist politicians reacted angrily to suggestions that broadcasting in Scotland was in need of overhaul.  Margaret Curran MP, Labour's Shadow Scottish Secretary, claimed the SNP's plan for an independent broadcaster with a focus on more Scottish content would "destabilise" the creative industries in Scotland.

She said: "Despite the weight of evidence that we're better working together with the BBC, Alex Salmond still wants to break up the BBC.  It's about time that he concentrated on strengthening our creative industries rather than seeking to destabilise them."

Deputy Scottish Conservative leader Jackson Carlaw joined the Labour MP in attacking the idea, and added: "This is another nonsensical outburst about how everything will be better in a 'separate' Scotland - the only things missing, as usual, are the evidence and the detail.  It will take more than a handful of historic references to convince the people of Scotland of yet another spurious claim."

However, referring to what he saw as the benefits of a Scottish broadcaster, the First Minister said: "Television forms part of our wider vision for an independent Scotland to be a fairer and more prosperous nation.  A stronger broadcasting sector provides major economic benefits – in 2009, Ireland was home to more than double the value of independent TV production than Scotland.

"Only then will broadcasting truly be Scotland’s window on the world – bringing us the best of international content and allowing us to show the world what Scotland can create."

A short excerpt from the First Minister's speech

Don't forget to visit Newsnet Scotland's new online store - your purchase will help the site and back a Scottish charity at the same time.

Comments  

# daveniz 2012-08-25 01:13
its not a claim its a fact try watching tv during the day dominated by English programmes mostly about London!

# Old Smokey 2012-08-25 01:54
Its breathtaking the arrogance of politicians like Curran and Carlaw the simple premis that Scotland being a country, cant have its own broadcaster
I mean other indpendent countries such as Norway and Sweden, must be craving to have theres absorbed into the BBC.
Curran is such an idiot when she stated (not mentioned here) that " jobs rely on our TV industry", probably because that the broadcaster in an indepnednet country would have to spend £ 320 million a year as apposed to the £ 100 million currently given to BBC Scotland!

# fynesider 2012-08-25 15:55
Margaret Curran (quoted in the Herald as saying "Alex Salmond told us that he's going to break up the BBC, with no details about how he would do it or what it means for Scottish viewers or the people whose jobs rely on our TV industry.

"Further details on how that broadcaster would operate and its continuing relationship with the BBC will be published next year," the First Minister added."

I always thought that Margaret Curran was deaf. Now I know it!

Also "Deputy Scottish Conservative leader Jackson Carlaw joined the Labour MP in attacking the idea, and added: "This is another nonsensical outburst about how everything will be better in a 'separate' Scotland - the only things missing, as usual, are the evidence and the detail."

The Conservatives are deaf as well - but we knew that anway!

# derek 2012-08-25 01:59
Bingo! this is exactly where AS should be leading.

# scottishwatersnotforsale 2012-08-25 02:36
Tom Gordon ( The Herald ) tweeted earlier on, Alistair Darling at Edbookfest -looks like a BBC Scotland night out.
Says it all really....

# Roll_On_2011 2012-08-25 02:38
Here is a video clip of Wee Ecks speech…. Unfortunately it is not the full speech, it has been cut short.

www.youtube.com/.../

# km 2012-08-25 04:50
Curran's duplicity is incredible.

"Despite the weight of evidence that we're better working together with the BBC..."

Despite the 320 million expenditure, with only 100 million spent on the BBC in Scotland.

Also, it doesn't quite jibe with what Ian Davidson was saying last week.

# Davy 2012-08-25 06:35
Bang with a shot right across the bows of the BBC, thats going to wake them up. Well done Alex, you have let them know what is in store for them in an independent Scotland. I bet their was a lot of phone calls to'ing and fro'ing from london and Glasgow last night.

The unionist's are already panicing that their personnel broadcasting service will disappear in Scotland, and imagine the type of broadcaster we can have with the full amount of our lience fee being spent in Scotland.

Thats certainly put the cat among the pigeons.

# UpSpake 2012-08-25 07:56
The opportunities presented to Scotland from independence means that we don't have to repeat the mistakes of the past and re-invent a state propagandist expousing whatever the government of the day tells it to.
I subscribe to the ideas of the SDA on where we should be on independence day.
By all means let the BBC still provide a service to anyone who freely chooses to watch it. Not by a license fee/tax but be freely chosen enctypted service at whatever package level the customer wishes.
The Scots government would simply regulate the airwaves and leave broadcast content to the professional media. Simple modern and without the prospect of jail if we fail to pay.

# Ard Righ 2012-08-25 23:06
"leave broadcast content to the professional media"

I think that's more than a tad naive. These are always tied into international corporate agendas which is EXACTLY what needs to be avoided.

# Barontorc 2012-08-25 08:25
Two things jump right out of this article - First of all, Alex Salmond is totally on the ball and simply nails the BBC regarding Scotland now and post-indy.

The second and "altogether" more depressing aspect is the immediate call to arms by Curren and Carlaw in support of their propaganda tool. It's spelled out here, as clear as crystal, what the value of the BBC is to the unionistas and starkly paints the BBC bias charade by Davidson as another cunning ploy thought up by the dumpling brigade.

Roll on YES.

Can anyone in their right mind wish to continue with the Status-Quo?

# tartanfever 2012-08-25 09:16
Sorry for the long post, but I think it's important to understand just how we are ripped off by the BBC.

AS should have mentioned specific examples of how the BBC fails not only Scotland, but all the regions with the failed 'regional policy.'

Waterloo Road would be a classic example. The BBC shouted from the rooftops when this was moving north of the border to be filmed, saying it would be great for Scottish production, tv talent, crews and the local community.

Well yes, this is all true, but to what degree ?

The actors are all English as the programme is set in an English city, so no work here for Scottish actors. In fact , these actors all have to be shifted north of the border and put up in hotels or digs, so winner for the local community hotels but big loser for any Scottish actors and it could be argued, a waste of money being paid out on hotels etc rather than on programme making itself. If this was a locally set drama, using actors from Glasgow and the West, we would not incur this fee.

The crew has top positions - director/editors/producer/lighting camera/wardrobe/sound etc etc. I can guarantee you that the majority of these positions will be filled by moving their existing crew north of the border, they will not use local talent basically because there isn't any as we don't make any drama programmes in Scotland. (well, we make River City)
Some junior positions from River City people can be filled on Waterloo Road. When i worked on Dr Who, although produced in Cardiff, nearly half the crew had to be brought down from London and put up in hotels.

What I don't know is this and is vitally important, does the budget now come out of BBC Scotland's purse or London's ?

The BBC has to be seen to actively pursuing programme making in the regions, it's part of their remit and it is actually the biggest cover up within the BBC, Is this new Waterloo Road the same ? ie if it comes from Scotland's budget and all that is happening is London centric talent is being shifted around the country to work under the guise of a 'regional production' then it's a scam. They come north for a couple of weeks to make each episode, get put up in a hotel, earn their money then take their earnings away with them when they head back south of the border. Apart from hotels, that money doesn't stay in the area.

Worst of all, the BBC then tell us that the regional production quota has been filled.

Regional policy works when the production is based in Scotland - it's written here, produced here, shot here using local talent, edited and so on. Thats when we see 100% of our license fee money being spent here and being returned to the community not only by direct spend, but through the taxes of local talent who all live in the region, pay their taxes and add to the community.

I would take a semi- educated guess and say that of the 100% monetary regional funding success that the BBC claim over Waterloo Road, that probably in reality only 30% of that budget is actually spent north of the border on Scots talent.

Add this to the fact that we provide more to BBC London than we get back by hundreds of millions of pounds and you can see we're getting kicked in the teeth twice as the BBC in reality try to claw back the money they give so grudgingly under a regional policy.

And stairheid rammy Curran has the cheek to say Salmond would kill talent north of the border ! Hah, when I went to study in the early 90's to a Filmschool I did what nearly 80% of scots did, we headed south of the border because we knew there was no industry up here. That sadly, is still the case.

# Leswil 2012-08-25 09:31
Ref Curran and Carlaw, no surprises here, as I often say, labour do just as they have already admitted, their policy is to go against ANTHING the SNP propose.

Whether it is for the good of the nation or not.
Absolutely shameful.

Labour are the most deceitful party, they do this because Westminster Labour instruct them to, as they have the most to lose, so as lambs they do their bidding.

So what their voters want is worth nothing, only having their own way counts to them.

They say power corrupts, well labour is well corrupted, they have their agenda along with their Tory and Lib Dem friends and that, is paramount, not the wishes of the people of Scotland.

Scottish labour is no more, I do not know what you could call it now.( I will desist!)

Their MP's and MSP's offer nothing to the Scottish way of life and are a total let down to the people who voted for them.

# J Wil 2012-08-25 10:01
If it had not been for the threat of Scottish independence and the SNP drawing attention to the reality that Scotland was being deprived of any input to national programme making, we would not even have had any of these programmes being moved north.

It was all political when it should have been, in terms of fairness, Scotland getting its share of the money it contributes.

Then there was the insults from London that there was no talent in Scotland.

Then there was the deceipt perpetrated by the BBC that programmes were being signed off as having been made in Scotland, like the Jonathan Ross show, when they were not.

Then there is the comedy program Burnistoun (made in Scotland by Scots) which has not been accepted for broadcast on the national network by the big boys in London. However, we are told it has turned into a cult series, watched all over the UK on the BBC's IPlayer.

The whole situation was and still is a disgrace.

Curran and Carlaw (that famous comedy duo) want to perpetuate this situation and are coming across as the dross of Scottish politicians who we could well do without in the interests of the country.

# Online Editor 2012-08-25 10:04
Don't forget to visit Newsnet Scotland's new online store - your purchase will help the site and back a Scottish charity at the same time.

newsnetscotland.com/.../...

# Marga B 2012-08-25 10:07
Just listened to an "expert", lecturer in media studies at Glasgow University, say that it is ridiculous for Scotland to aspire to even ONE TV channel, because it is too wee in world terms and comparing it to the Isle of Man! Lies! Catalonia with the same population has 6 public TV stations and several competitive private TV companies and a plural and lively press!

This deeply condescending lecturer says his best students go straight to London, and that the only answer is for the BBC to federalise, forcing the SE to give more power to the regions.

It is striking how little influence the SNP still seems to have in the impenetrable Scottish elites, whose problem is not that they are genuinely unionist, they are in fact deeply colonialist.

Also see Dinwoodie contributing as an expert, explaining how many voters the SNP may lose due to their "drift to the right". In spite of some debate, a rather depressing and shallow programme.

Give me Riddoch's Scottish Six for real debate - did anyone go to any?

# Davy 2012-08-25 10:43
I heard that so called expert as well, and I just thought to myself what a waster, he has no ambition for his country, no ideas in his so called area of expertise on how Scotland should move forward in media improvements and structure. It was just a blank your not good enough Scotland, what an attitude, I am glad I'm not one of his students.

# Early Ball 2012-08-25 11:58
I heard that guy while driving with my wife who is not interested in Politics.

When he went on about the so called diddy country having rubbish TV my wife said Denmark. The other guy then mentioned Denmark but was told "that's only one country" You could not make it up.
Surely the fact that all the talent has to go to London to get work is an argument for beefing up broadcasting in Scotland not the other way about as was suggested.

# G. Campbell 2012-08-25 11:17
It was Robin McAlpine from The Reid Foundation on GMS, not Robbie Dinwoodie. I thought it was a decent discussion.

The lecturer was Greg "Noam Chomsky for dummies" Philo. He's done some good work in the past on the bias towards pro-Israel voices in the media (including the supposedly anti-Israel BBC), but he talks complete mince whenever Scottish independence is mentioned (see also his jubilee Newsnicht appearance). What we've learned from Greg so far:

1) Big is good.

2) Bigger is better.

3) Scotland is a region.

4) We're one country (the UK).

5) Did I mention how big is good?

# lumilumi 2012-08-25 12:38
Let me see. Finland, pop. 5.4 million.
Licence fee funded public broadcaster YLE: 4 channels
Commercial channels: 4 free, numerous fee-charging.
Hmm. Maybe we don't know that we're too wee to have so many channels.

# Breeks 2012-08-25 11:23
The EBC quotes Margaret Curran saying millions tuned in to watch Waterloo road, a soap opera filmed in Greenock She's also quoted saying "The question the first minister needs to answer isn't whether Eastenders will be available in an independent Scotland - it's whether programmes like this will be made in Scotland, bringing jobs and growth to our economy."

I hope the First Minister can reassure her that Scotland will indeed be producing good quality programs, but further confirm that stupifyingly dull soap operas which reduce the population to a near vegetative state every evening and bumper omnibus weekend will be neither made in Scotland nor screened in here.
I do however look forward to the education in Scottish history, heritage and culture which I was denied at school.

# johnlove54 2012-08-25 11:28
while i agree with all the above comments , i would go one step further and completely abolish the tv licence as it is well and truly out of date in this day of the internet and it should go commercial as all the other tv stations. we should not be forced to pay for just one tv operator for us to watch all the other channels. ps what the bbc are actually saying is if you do not pay for your licence we will stop you watching your free to view channels and also fine you for doing so , so as far as i am concerned this is nothing more than a form of blackmail

# gopher3 2012-08-25 12:34
Abolish the licence, it's just a tax on owning a tv set.

# lumilumi 2012-08-25 13:08
I'm a big proponent of publicly-funded broadcasting and happily pay my licence fee/"TV-tax" now that I'm middle-aged (I didn't when I was a student). The licence fee funds producing (usually) high-quality Finnish programmes for Finnish people: news, current affairs, drama, comedy, sport...
The commercial channels also produce some Finnish programmes but they tend to be more of the type quiz shows/reality-tv. Lowest common denominator tv. Only one of the commercial stations has any ambition in their news or drama.

YLE also shows foreign-made programmes, for example many popular BBC or ITV series/dramas, and also one-off programmes or series from many other countries (Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Italy, France, the US...). Here, once again, the commercial channels fill our screens with mostly American series and reality-tv. I would miss out on a lot of good programmes if it wasn't for YLE.

Of course, what constitutes "good" tv is a matter of opinion, but I hate to think what out tv would be like if it wasn't for YLE.

# Mark MacLachlan 2012-08-25 12:38
What fun those jolly Unionists are having in our shopping precincts today...

scotlandsaysyes.com/.../...

# Davy 2012-08-25 13:05
Quoting Mark MacLachlan:
What fun those jolly Unionists are having in our shopping precincts today...

scotlandsaysyes.com/.../...

ROFLMAO, I cant stop laughing, thank you .

# Mark MacLachlan 2012-08-25 15:48
Thanks Davy, too easy a target.

# clochoderic 2012-08-25 15:52
I made a point of going to my local "Better Together" gathering this morning - with a view to a full and frank exchange of ideas - there was absolutely no sign of them anywhere. The only evidence that they MIGHT have been there was a solitary YES SCOTLAND leaflet lying on a bench.

It later turned out that the town square was beginning to fill up with marchers for the Wallace Day rally and march to Elderslie.

Draw your own conclusions ...

# mesmiths 2012-08-25 14:05
from the BBC website-
Shadow Scottish Secretary Margaret Curran said: "On Thursday night, millions of people tuned in to see the first episode of Waterloo Road, filmed in Greenock, broadcast across the UK."

Inspirational stuff there. We've got Waterloo Road!!!! Vote NO!!! lol

# Basil Metabolism 2012-08-25 14:10
Years ago (before satellite/cable), Malta had two TV stations and 60% of its output was locally made.

That's for a population of less than 400,000!

(it now has 5 terrestrial channels).

# Old Smokey 2012-08-25 15:14
What about Norway, I cant figure out how such a small country with the same population as Scotland can have so many TV and Radio stations provided by the state broadcaster NRK, not to mention the abundance of commercial terristrial and satellite tv and radio stations

# From The Suburbs 2012-08-25 17:29
Its Saturday so will mention football and BBC.

The BBC recently paid £180 million to renew the Match Of The Day highlights programme which comes on top of £15 million a year to broadcast highlights of lower English league games and an undisclosed sum for 10 Live English Championship games a season as part of a £265 million deal.

Contrast this with their failure to even attempt to bid for live Scottish Premier League football thus reducing the sum, £13 million a year, Sky needed to bid to secure the rights.

Scotland must have the only professional football league in the world that the "national" TV company is not prepared to support. In Norway their domestic league football rights have been sold for £44 million a year. Why is Norway so much better off?

Sky also rips us off as from next season every English top flight team will get at least £60 million a year and no proportionate figure paid for Scottish football when you take into account population or actual viewing figures.

See more at
heraldscotland.com/.../...

# tartanfever 2012-08-25 21:25
I wrote about this quite extensively on another couple of blogs some months ago. You should note that nowhere does the BBC broadcast live football from the top division, be that in England or Scotland, it's all highlights for those two leagues, so it's no surprise really that the BBC didn't bid for 'live' SPL coverage as you say.

The BBC deal which ran out at the end of last season was for £3m a year for SPL highlights (which is roughly £2m below even a Barnett type formula evaluation between English and Scottish leagues)
The new deal has been made, but no-one has announced it. We can presume that BBC Scotland has paid less for it's new deal with all thats happened at Ibrox. This was actually hinted at by Douglas Fraser back in February in this article:

bbc.co.uk/.../...

Fraser states:

The BBC has the national rights package for radio commentary, online and TV highlights, and the uncertainty over Rangers' future puts the corporation in a stronger negotiating position for next season's deal.

So not only are the BBC now paying (I think we can safely presume) a lesser fee, they have also decided that we in Scotland would prefer too watch English football. How so ?

Well, in the old days we used to have Sportscene on a Saturday night and then go over and join Match of the Day. This is called 'regional opt-out', where a region can choose to show it's own programming. Only certain slots exist for regional opt outs, and that late Saturday night one has gone. Instead we now have to watch Match of the Day. Our football programme has been placed into the graveyard shift on a Sunday night.

To add insult, the BBC in London decided a few years back to start heavily promoting and sponsoring the Championship, the second tier division in England. This included it's very own hour long show to be broadcast straight after Match of the Day (along with various website, radio and news content) So now, BBC London has decided that we in Scotland would rather watch not only the English premier league, but the second tier Championship league ahead of our very own SPL.

We have two hours of English football on a Saturday night whilst Sportscene is on for 45min or so late Sunday night (the graveyard shift).

Regardless of your feelings about football, this clearly indicates how BBC London has little respect for regional support or sponsorship and completely overlook us north of the border. If i worked in BBC Glasgow's sports division I would be fuming and would soon let people aware just how we are ripped off - however, no-one does - probably in fear of losing their jobs.

Worst of all, try and find out what the new BBC/SPL deal is worth - you can't find mention of it anywhere - I would suggest it's been hidden out of shame at it's pitiful amount. Yet not one month ago BBC Scotland were all over Sky and ESPN about their new tv deals and how that would effect the game, but never once mentioned that their own deal was up for negotiation at the same time.

# gus1940 2012-08-25 17:32
Radio Scotland was as predictable as ever on this subject this morning with a load of pathetically ridiculous negative comments.

The rest of the MSM (print branch) spun it hysterically notably The Scotsman, Herald and Record. About the only thing they didn't forecast was that all Pacific Quay staff would be taken out and shot after watching the building being blown up.

Eck quite reasonably made the point that as there are only 24 hours in the day and the intention was to produce more Scottish output it logically follows that some BBC programs would not be broadcast on the new Scottish replacement for BBC Scotland.

Oh to be spared the unbiased wit and wisdom of that monstrous ego Brillo Pad and to have a balanced Scottish Question Time every thursday evening without such rabid Unionist fanatics as David Starkey, Kelvin McKenzie and that harridan from the Daily Mail whose name escapes me for the moment.

# From The Suburbs 2012-08-25 19:20
[quote name="gus1940"]

The rest of the MSM (print branch) spun it hysterically notably The Scotsman, Herald and Record. About the only thing they didn't forecast was that all Pacific Quay staff would be taken out and shot after watching the building being blown up.

Worst offender as usual was the Daily Mail which unfortunately sells more than Scotsman, Herald and Times combined as mainly to women readers who remain sceptical about independence.

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-08-25 17:33
The Gruniad has a Harridan Harperson piece on how Scotland is too wee, too stupid, too poor to run its own public broadcaster ......

Unfortunately the Gruniad article has been infected by a number of Scottish posters arguing placidly why she is talking total mince, worse they keep on putting up objective evidence why. ..... to the frustration of the New Labour cabal of Scotland's too wee, too stupid, too poor posters ....

If you have just had your tea I wouldn't read this until your stomach is settled ....

guardian.co.uk/.../...

# Roll_On_2011 2012-08-25 18:12
Mad Jock McMad

Aye Jock I read your comments on the article.

Let’s not forget Harperson’s previous incursion into Scottish politics, not very long ago… does ‘Ginger Rodent’ ring any bells?

Harperson does appear to have a knack of engaging her mouth before putting her gray matter into gear.

In fact there was a fairer article, covering the subject matter, in the Gruinaud the day before:

guardian.co.uk/.../...

That is except for the last paragraph from Stairhead Rammy:

His plans, however, were quickly criticised by the shadow secretary of state for Scotland, Margaret Curran MP.

She said: "Today Alex Salmond told us that he's going to break up the BBC with no details about how he would do it or what it means for Scottish viewers or the people whose jobs rely on our TV industry."

But there again Stairhead Rammy and Harperson are a matching pair of bookends on the same shelf.

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-08-25 18:32
Why did I think Wee Eck was talking about the creation of a Scottish Public Broadcaster ... does Stairheid not understand that after independence there will not, in any person's logic, be a BBC .....

I could argue if Westminster was not so sh!t scared of putting the plan for a new confederated UK Union (FFA/Devo-max) to an English referendum (knowing it would be rejected) the BBC could possibly be 'saved'. Unfortunately for the BBC they are hoist on their own Westminster generated propaganda line of too wee, too poor, too stupid Scotland which the English electorate have bought lock, stock and barrel.

There is a joyful irony that the BBC will have helped ensure they and their Union's demise.

# Barontorc 2012-08-25 19:05
Yes Mad Jock, it's quite a tasty tit-bit!

UK PLC power-basers, have worked relentlessly on instigating the Stockholm Syndrome and have done it well.

So well in fact, have they convinced us, wee, stupid, benefit-junkey folk,that that's exactly what we are, they clean forgot a little developing reaction within their own power-base voters.

Would any referendum, offered to England, to keep us, or ditch us, go for the former or latter option? An Essex non-brainer, methinks!

So, really thanks a bunch, UK PLC. I mean it sincerely.

# Breeks 2012-08-25 21:08
You're on the money Mad Jock McMad.

The bias of the BBC is the signpost alerting the more observant amongst us that there is something rotten in the airwaves.

You suddenly find yourself looking for confirmation of some story you find doubtful, something 'odd' about it, like a good news story swept under the carpet. After a while, you begin to see there are quite a few such stories being buried. A pttern emerges, and you begin to appreciate how little of what is happening is making the front pages and how distorted and partisan the 'news' has become.

Once you start to look further afield for news yourself, you happen across watershed comments from the likes of John Jappy for one example, and you start to develop the idea that 'Project Scotland' might in fact be a very positive and worthwhile objective to pursue. Things might get done better. Things might be successful. Perhaps the sky won't fall in.

This wider reading informs you of the positive and objective reasons why Scotland not only could, but why it should stand proud as an Independent Country. Slowly, (and it is slow because it is so hard to credit), a great chasm opens up between the substance and positive initiative of the YES campaign demanding a better future for Scotland, and the shrill vacuous and insubstantive 'positive' case for maintaining union, myred in it's falshoods, misrepresentati ons, scare stories and deceptions. I have yet to hear one single positive argument favouring the Union.

Once you realise how disingenuous and wilfully biased the BBC is, you are suddenly no longer being fooled. The people being conned are the ones who don't see it, those who don't see thr truth yet, and those who never will. It isn't 'us' being conned, it's the likes of those Guardian readers who refuse to believe their news isn't news at all, but merely a script they're expected to follow.

I am finished with the BBC now, finished because it has served it's purpose. I now realise it was the BBC and all its nonsense, which first set this now ardent Nationalist on his personal journey of discovery to appreciate just how shamefully Scotland and her people have been treated by the Union, and why Scotland must become an Independent Country.

# Old Smokey 2012-08-26 03:12
An article in the Mail on Sunday has a revelation from Mark Thompson , who confirms that the programme is bias as they manipulate the audiences aparently to reflect the area they are in
Really you just couldnt make this stuff up
The article is aimed at the English south, but it doesnt take much of a leap to realise that the BBC manipulate who attends in Scotland
dailymail.co.uk/.../...

# red kite 2012-08-27 12:44
I like to watch "the news" in the morning over breakfast, it's the only quiet time of the day, and I get the remote control.
It used to be BBC1, with "the Scottish news" jammed into 5 minutes or so.
Now I'll tune in immediately to Sky news - because they tell me what's happening in the UK and the world. Then after a few minutes, will take in RT for their different take on the world. And a quick couple of minutes for the Scottish weather forecast and travel news on BBC1.
I will NOT spend any other time on BBC1. Not for any grandiose ideal, not because I know they're being biased on what they broadcast - but because it's sheer crap. BBC1 "news" in the morning is CRAP. It's dumbed down to such a level that even if you dug a hole down to China, you'd still not reach that far down.
It's all Westminster politician love-ins, and lifestyle pieces. It's the lite version of the Sun.
We desperately need a broadcaster in Scotland who will give us serious broadcasting, in depth stuff, on an on-going basis. BBC Alba is good, they have some really excellent documentaries, but we need a lot more. It doesn't have to cost the earth to broadcast TV channels.
We are the people. We pay the bills. We want the service that goes with that cost.

# McGillicuddy Dreams 2012-08-27 13:39
I do like to ask the question, " If Scotland had been politically and financially independent , as had most European countries, would you vote AYE to be in a political and financial union with England in 2014?".

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner
Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments

Iain Clark Gallery