By G.A.Ponsonby

First Minister Alex Salmond has declared the debate on Scotland’s constitutional future officially open and called for the “great debate” to begin.

Speaking at Edinburgh Castle in front of the assembled ranks of the world’s media Mr Salmond spelled out his vision of an independent Scotland.

We seek a Scotland that is “proud of its heritage”, said the First Minister, “but looking to the future.”

The First Minister was speaking hours after the Scottish Government published its consultation document in which the question to be put to the Scottish electorate was revealed - "Do you agree that Scotland should be an independent country?"

Mr Salmond spoke of an independent prosperous Scotland emerging with many great advantages and cited the nation’s massive natural resources.

The SNP leader however stressed that the quest for independence was not solely about the strength of the economy and described his vision of “a society that has compassion at its heart”.

He listed the achievements of the SNP Government with what he described as the limited power at their disposal - free education, free prescriptions, a social wage and the lowest crime levels in 30 years.

However the SNP leader then pointed to those areas that he said no Scottish government had the ability to influence and that independence would remedy such as welfare reforms and the power to prevent our young from dying in illegal wars.

"We offer malice towards nobody, we offer friendship towards all"

Referring to the rest of the UK, Europe and beyond, the First Minister stressed Scotland’s willingness to embrace a responsible role in the international community.

Asked if Scotland would look to strengthen bonds with the Nordic nations Mr Salmond acknowledged the success of the Nordic Council and claimed that the model was one he thought could be implemented in the British - Irish council.

Mr Salmond concluded his opening remarks by highlighting the democratic and peaceful nature of Scotland’s push for independence that, he pointed out, had resulted in not one death in over 100 years.

It had been “an entirely democratic process” said Mr Salmond who added: “Not a single person has lost their life arguing for or against Scottish independence.  There hasn’t been so much as a nosebleed in the course of an entire century.”

Mr Salmond contrasted an independent Scotland, free of nuclear weapons, with the current situation that saw weapons of mass destruction parked on the Clyde.

“We see an opportunity to build a Scotland at ease with itself as a prosperous European society which styles itself, not on the might of its weaponry but on the compassion of its social services, which offers friendship and cooperation to its near neighbours and across the European continent and beyond.

“That is the Scotland which we seek, that is a Scotland worth debating for and so - let that great debate now begin.”

Download Embed Embed this video on your site

Comments  

# SCO 2012-01-25 19:04
Now the work begins, we MUST convert the 'undecided' and if possible some unionists to see our vision.

If we dont Scotland will be a worse place and we will be the laughing stock of the world.

# jasp303 2012-01-25 19:06
There's a new forum below on the official site. Seems open to any comments. A few asking things. Someone spamming a unionist site I'd never heard of.

scotreferendum.com/.../...

# tartanfever 2012-01-25 19:08
Well done AS. A good couple of days at the helm of the great ship independence.

Also good to see that NNS are going to add an audio clip, well done folks - that'll be much appreciated by all I'm sure.

# roboftheburnawn 2012-01-25 19:09
Well my good news this week is - I've converted two undecided to yes voters ( giving respect where it's due to the HoL, paxo and the unrelenting bbc )

# tartanfever 2012-01-25 19:12
Well done rob. Good work

# nipper 2012-01-25 22:19
Me to roboftheburnawn feels good dunnit,I still give Newsnet Cards oot tae everyone I meet in work and leave them anywhere I go I've also have a big bumper sticker on the back o the car to. Today it was a nurse that got my Freedom speech just cannae help myself these days. So if you see a wee red Kia aboot the highlands loaded wi stickers give us a toot...

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 19:11
"We offer malice towards nobody, we offer friendship towards all"

And in that spirit and on Rabbie's birthday I will quote Shakespeare -

"There is a tide in the affairs of men.
Which, taken at the flood, leads on to fortune;
Omitted, all the voyage of their life
Is bound in shallows and in miseries".

Let's do it!

# banditti 2012-01-25 19:18
A few years ago I was given a bottle of champagne even though don't drink the stuff when watching alex today think there will be an event in autumn 2014 where it could come in handy.

# edinburgh quine 2012-01-26 10:10
We've got a couple of bottles of auld Dallas Dhu which is a beautiful whisky, no longer in production. That, we're hoping, will be opened in autumn 2014

# sneckedagain 2012-01-25 19:27
Yee-Ha
It doesn't get much better than a Burns concert from Nashville at 9pm on BBC Alba followed by a programme on the Home Rule movement at 10.

We are now on the last few difficult miles of a long road that has dominated my life for over fifty years.

# sid 2012-01-25 19:31
let the great debate begin . BUT hold on the Scottish secretary is not well with a condition that can be extremely painful in an adult - chicken pox- and as we know Mr Cameron will not meet the first minister until he has met the Scottish secretary
oh dear many a joke could be made but I am resisting at the moment.
Sid

# Auld Bob 2012-01-25 20:47
Had a look jasp303, the trolls are well in evidence. When I get sorted out with my new set of passwords, which I'm changing just now, I'll have a go at discouraging them. I'm an expert. I know all the questions and replies to stop them in their tracks. They are usually as thick as the proverbial six truncated bits of timber. The thing is NOT to be nasty or swear at them.

# mato21 2012-01-25 19:39
Today's the day the licht will shine
Oan this dear land o' yours and mine
It belangs tae us a' and soon we will be
Looking a' roon the world,richt intae their ee
Wi' shouders pou'd back,we'll meet oor new dawn
Nae lookin' ahint oan the days that are gaun
Tae the throb o' the herts that are beating as wan
The Scots will stride oot ,and shout AYE WE CAN
And wi' backs that are strong,we'll cairry the weak
Tae the life that oor nation has set oot tae seek
For it's oors aye its oors this land is a' oors
It belangs tae us a' and it's oors
If yer an earl, a lord, or wan o' they dukes
A teacher, a scaffie,or a reader o' books
Ye'll a' hae a place here, we'll need a' the brains
Just never forget you're a' Jock Tamsons bairns
For it's oors aye it's oors this land is a' oors
It belangs tae us a' fae the mountains tae moors
As we travel the world it's jist richt we can roam
Oan the braes o' this land we're a' prood tae ca' home

# Fortitudine 2012-01-25 20:57
Fabulous stuff again Mato.. I got goosebumps reading that! :)

# mato21 2012-01-25 21:53
Thank you

It's been a goosebumpy couple of days all in

# Macart 2012-01-25 22:14
A fitting tribute tonight mato.

Saor Alba

# mato21 2012-01-25 22:55
Thanks Macart it is oor land and oor decision

# H Scott 2012-01-25 19:39
Let's engage with our fellow Scots and anyone else who shows an interest. Be polite, be reasonable, be moderate - and not be provoked by those whose intention is a reaction to that provocation - and let that contrast with the opposition.

# clochoderic 2012-01-25 19:43
I agree.

# Fungus 2012-01-25 19:44
The beginning of the end.

# Jim Johnston 2012-01-25 19:46
All in all, not a bad 24 hours.

AS winning over support for Scotland from the world press, after winning hands down at Holyrood.

The FUDs all over the shop.

BBC turning off God knows how many Scots, (and the nights still young).

Paxo playing a blinder for the Independence YES vote last night, as commented on by the reporter from the Irish Times.

So all in all, not a bad day for Independence, having added ca 10-15 thousand YES votes between them.

ps I'm quite pleased with myself. For weeks I been advocating a "question" with no more than 10 words. The only thing I got wrong was that I always spell Independence with a capital "I".

# govanite 2012-01-25 23:46
Me too, Independence, is there another spelling ? Naw.

# Legerwood 2012-01-25 19:49
Since we appear to be in the mood for poetry here is one from another Robert this time Robert Frost:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -
I took the road less travelled by,
And that has made all the difference.

So let us start on that road that is going to make all the difference.

# jasp303 2012-01-25 19:52
- "New Statesman / ICD poll shows that 44 per cent support independence, with 45 per cent opposed (ICD Research, 1,000 responses)"

newstatesman.com/.../...

# McHaggis 2012-01-25 21:17
Saw that and it cheered me no end... And the strange thing is that it appears the unionists and sneering english media (paxman) are doing most of the hard work to bolster the 'yes' vote.

# ianbeag 2012-01-25 20:05
Telegraph poll accompanying their report on Alex's 'superday' Let's show Mr Cochrane and his cronies that we mean business. Current result at 8.00pm
YES - 49.16%
NO - 50.84
telegraph.co.uk/.../...

# doe 2012-01-25 20:17
I suggest everyone get over there and vote in this online poll. Well over 4000 have voted and it's running neck and neck.

# Teri 2012-01-25 20:25
Noes slightly ahead just now. Alert all friends and get them to vote.

# doe 2012-01-25 20:31
Quoting Teri:
Noes slightly ahead just now. Alert all friends and get them to vote.

Facebook it!

# RTP 2012-01-25 20:22
Just voted YES.

# silvermcg 2012-01-25 20:34
And another....;)

# red kite 2012-01-25 20:38
And another

# colin8652 2012-01-25 20:46
me too

# Caledonian Lass 2012-01-26 10:48
I've just voted YES too and it seems the YES votes are in the lead.

# farrochie 2012-01-25 20:41
Teleguff poll, something has made a difference!

Yes 50.27% (2,294 votes)

No 49.73% (2,269 votes)

# Fortitudine 2012-01-25 20:50
Just added my 'Aye' and now sitting at:

Yes 50.55% (2,326 votes)
No 49.45% (2,275 votes)

Close but still ahead :)

# jafurn 2012-01-25 22:02
Quoting ianbeag:
Telegraph poll accompanying their report on Alex's 'superday' Let's show Mr Cochrane and his cronies that we mean business. Current result at 8.00pm
YES - 49.16%
NO - 50.84
telegraph.co.uk/.../...

Cheers ....just voted
up to now
Thank you for voting!
Yes 52.72% (2,582 votes)

No 47.28% (2,316 votes)

Total Votes: 4,898

# Macart 2012-01-25 22:18
Get in there!

Y 53%
N 46%

# maisiedotts 2012-01-25 23:09
Current result at 23:09

Yes 54.19%

No 45.81%

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 20:06
Pace Mato21
Tae the throb o' the herts that are beating as wan
The Scots will stride oot ,and shout AYE WE CAN

And AYE WE WILL.

Marvellous, Mato.

# mato21 2012-01-25 22:10
Thank you

The sound o' a' oor throbbing herts will send a message loud and clear

# takhisis1 2012-01-25 20:14
have already added my two cents to the consultation process. Genuinely can't wait, roll on 2014

Cybernat & Proud

# Teri 2012-01-25 20:27
We have a positive message to get out to all our fellow residents here in Scotland and we have the time to do it. We must start now to allay fears, explain the advantages and portray a vision for Scotland after 2014. Sleeves rolled up and ready to go?

# Auld Bob 2012-01-25 20:58
Perhaps a lot more can be achieved by being very reasonable and, instead of only answering the questions of the genuine seekers of knowledge, asking the right questions of the cyberbritnats. Most of whom tend to be a wee bittie thick. For example, instead of attempting to tell a Cyber-Britnat the truth just ask him/her to provide the proff of their claim. For example - they say, "We should all just enjoy the benefits of being in the Union". We ask them,to explain what those benefits are.

# rhymer 2012-01-25 20:36
Just looked at the ONLY site on BBC where you could comment on today's activities in Scotland (closed now)
Why oh why are these morons still rabbiting on about us being "too poor" to support ourselves or that England can legally take all the oil in Scottish waters when we become indpendent.

Is the Daily Mail the official
English version of Wikopedia ?

# Auld Bob 2012-01-25 21:01
They are not trying to convert you but to reinforce the people who already subscribe to their own mantra of to wee, too poor and too stupid.

# lumilumi 2012-01-25 21:13
I wonder and despair about this thing as well, and I'm a foreigner.
Hasn't anybody in England/Westmister heard of international law? International maritime law and drawing maritime boundaries? Actually, they have, at the time of devolution in 1999, UK/England grabbed a bit more of the North Sea, securing a couple of oil/gas fields.

The reason Westminster/unionists oppose Scottish independence is that the UK/England would be pretty bankrupt without the North Sea oil and gas. Them doon sooth are spitting feathers and bile at the fact that those quaint stupid jocks up nooorth might actually be richer than them, and distribute the wealth equally among their fellow jocks. Nooo, can't have that! The wealth, the money, the riches, the privilege only belong to the Bullington Club and their mates.

Looking at this from the outside, IF the 2014 "advisory" referendum returened a majority of YES votes, it's done and dusted. The free, democratic international community would welcome Scotland as an independent nation. It's only an advisory referendum (legally) but how could a Westminster gov presume to work, lord it over Scotland when the majority of Scots want to get rid of them?

# Marian 2012-01-25 20:36
There is a mountain to climb by the SNP before there is a referendum.

The past few weeks have confirmed that the unionists are not going to take the possibility of Scotland re-gaining her independence lightly and will use every argument and dirty trick they can trump up to discredit the SNP's case.

The case for independence cannot be won if it is simply based upon emotion but can be won if a cast iron economic case is proven to the Scots people.

The SNP must draw up thoroughly credible detailed answers to all the questions that the people of Scotland will need to know before they cast their votes for independence and these must be known to the people of Scotland as established facts in the next two and half years before the date of the referendum.

For example:-
(1) GERS will have to be enhanced to take account of what the impact will be of taking in the non-devolved income and expenditure in Scotland;
(2) The ownership of the oil and gas fields and their tax revenues and projected long term reserves will have to be established without a shadow of a doubt.

Only when these, and many other critical questions are convincingly answered can Scots be asked to face up to making a decision at the referendum.

Failure to get this right first time will mean utter disaster for Scotland for if they win the unionists will make certain the Scots are denied the opportunity to have a referendum ever again and that Scotland pays dearly for what unionists see as its "audacity" in challenging Westminster rule.

# Auld Bob 2012-01-25 21:09
That is not really the case, the coin has too sides. We must first shoot down the wrong figures and then give the correct figures.

This is not so hard as you may think. The way to best do it is to let someone make a claim and then ask them to provide the figures. It will surprise you how many who are so certain of their beliefs who cannot tell you why they are so sure. Believe it or not, I have never had a single person bring figures to prove Scotland is being subsidised. They quote the claimed sum Scots are supposed to get in excess of England, but they cannot explain how the figure for English per capita is arrived at. Fact is there is no figure. There are actually no real English figures. How can there be when England is funded as the UK?

# lumilumi 2012-01-25 21:58
I sort of agree with you, Marian. But as a citizen of a country independent for nearly 100 years... Of course it's good to have a good economic position but independence is actually down to emotion. The feeling that you belong to a certain country and your country counts for something, that you can hold your head high even if you're poor. (which Scotland is by no means).

I think it'd be a travesty to put a price tag on any country's independence. Independence is not for sale.
I think all Finns would give their all for our independence, it's priceless. Invaluable.
The Finns actually gave their all, during WWII. The pesky little Finnish army holding off the Red Army, defending our country and our territory. Now independence is a given so we can operate in the global market. And, frankly, I don't see why Scotland shouldn't be any different.

# alanski 2012-01-26 00:31
Nice point Lumi, well said! I've been to Finland and saw similarities in our two nations, and I know that Finns are completely comfortable with their independence.

# tartanfever 2012-01-25 22:42
While I agree with you generally Marian, I think there are some factors you have overlooked.

As others have posted, emotion will play it's part in the vote, make no mistake. It's one of the reasons you keep hearing AS refer to Scots culture through his quoting of Burns or other writers, quoting great Statesmen and so on, it sets the fires in our hearts.

Secondly, lots of the economic arguments have been made but not reported in the media. The most telling of these, completely ignored by the BBC was the GERS report last October. Scotland's deficit of £41bn from 1980 - 2009 (?) compared to our share of the then UK deficit amounted to £60bn, a full £19bn worse off. Figures don't come much simpler nor more telling than that. If the press don't report them, then we have to, although it makes the battle much harder. For every economic argument you put out there, there will be detractors on the other side saying the figures are rubbish, that will always be the case. So while you are correct in saying that we get the figures right first time round, we know what the response is going to be.

Lastly, there is the whole idea of how politics works that we can change. You always hear AS talking about a fairer country, in this he means the way politics operates. So no lobbying, no cash for questions, no Liam Fox/ Werrity, no illegal wars, no slide towards the politics of the USA, no house of lords, operating as we see fit in the world - talking and dealing with who we want to, money for the common good, keeping free tuition, prescriptions and health service, care for the elderly and so on - yes, these may be economics, but they are also ideals and are held dear to many of us. These are also messages we must get across.

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 20:38
Telegraph poll again.

YES just ahead now

Get in there.

telegraph.co.uk/.../...

# farrochie 2012-01-25 20:47
A wee surge is observable. Twa votes fae oor hoose.

# mealer 2012-01-25 20:41
The bairn came home from school today asking about Australia Day,which is tomorrow.She asked me when Scotland Day is.

# Caledonian Lass 2012-01-26 10:56
That'll be the day we get independence - henceforth to be known as Scottish Independence Day.

# roboftheburnawn 2012-01-25 20:42
It's too late..they can't stop us.

The trains already left the station, the compartments are getting full, it's picking up a head of steam and heading straight towards Independencevil le, picking up passengers on the way, the passengers are happy to squeaze up.
Waving happily at the bystanders looking up in amazement as the train rushes by.

Saor Alba

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 20:46
Pace rhymer
Is the Daily Mail the official
English version of Wikopedia ?

Bit hard on Wiki, methinks. They do try to be factually accurate.

The Daily Mail just makes it up.
Bit like oor very ain court jester, wee Wullie Winkle.

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 20:49
Pace roboftheburnawn 2012-01-25 20:42
It's too late..they can't stop us.

The trains already left the station, the compartments are getting full, it's picking up a head of steam and heading straight towards Independencevil le, picking up passengers on the way, the passengers are happy to squeaze up.
Waving happily at the bystanders looking up in amazement as the train rushes by.

Saor Alba

And we have not purchased a return ticket!

# roboftheburnawn 2012-01-25 20:54
Ohhhhh! so very true.

# mealer 2012-01-25 20:56
So...Anyone on here decided which way to vote yet ?

# Macart 2012-01-25 22:22
Mibbies. Is it a secret ballot? :0)

# uilleam_beag 2012-01-26 08:51
Havenae given it much thought, to be honest. ;-)

# west_lothian_questioner 2012-01-26 16:10
I was thinking I might just toss a coin once I get in the polling booth. If it comes up heads I'll vote to stay with the Westminster crew and if it turns up tails i'll vote for showing the union my ars* :-)

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 20:57
Pace mealer 2012-01-25 20:41
The bairn came home from school today asking about Australia Day,which is tomorrow.She asked me when Scotland Day is.

Come Independence, every day will be Scotland Day!

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 20:59
Pace mealer 2012-01-25 20:56
So...Anyone on here decided which way to vote yet ?

Can I have ten seconds Dougie?

# roboftheburnawn 2012-01-25 21:00
To hell with it being a school night- what a week.

The Merlot is going to be uncorked ( If this keeps up I'll be standing up in a cirlce of strangers, giving my name and declaring my incapacity )

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 21:04
Pace roboftheburnawn 2012-01-25 21:00
To hell with it being a school night- what a week.

Nae marking, then?

Full Burns Dinner here and one inch o' Drambuie left. Noo, sit doon before ye fa' doon.

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 21:07
If anyone is asleep in the "Darkened Room", gie them a shake.

The day is dawning, fast.

# Macart 2012-01-25 22:24
Only the landlord. Where is Arbroath1320 when ye feel like whoopin' it up?

# farrochie 2012-01-25 21:11
Michael Marra, Green Grow the Rashes, for Burns night.

www.youtube.com/.../

# DonaldMhor 2012-01-25 21:18
LIVE FROM NASHVILLE

www.bbc.co.uk/.../watchlive

# madpiratedad 2012-01-25 21:18
Latest on the Telegraph
Yes 51.46% (2,424 votes)

No 48.54% (2,286 votes)

Total Votes: 4,710

# doe 2012-01-25 21:25
Excellent - keep it up people! (3 votes from my house)

# Talorcan 2012-01-25 21:25
This might seem a daft question, but what would happen if the referendum vote was split exactly 50:50?

I've just voted for independence in that Teletubbie survey.

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 21:36
And here's our Paolo's take on "A man's a man"

Catch his last comment.

www.youtube.com/.../

# farrochie 2012-01-25 21:49
Superb!

# lumilumi 2012-01-25 22:09
Brilliant!
Who'd think someone with a name like Paolo Nutini is a Scot through and through. Love his songs. If I was slightly younger, I might even fancy him. ;-)

# govanite 2012-01-25 23:52
excellent, enjoyed that a great deal, thanks Paolo (and Arraniki)

# Jim Johnston 2012-01-25 21:42
I just found this cracker on the Herald blog. No wonder the BBC had a problem showing the latter part of AS questions from the international press !!!!!

Salmond is asked what he thinks about Jeremy Paxman and the role of the BBC.

"I think Jeremy Paxman is a fine interviewer and a fine recruiter for the SNP," he says.

Salmond also says it's a poor time for the BBC to be cutting back on its Scottish politics coverage. "But no complaints about Jeremy Paxman."

My sides were sore laughing when I read it.

# the wallace 2012-01-25 22:00
SAOR ALBA!

# graememcallan 2012-01-25 22:08
Just voted - now 52.86% yes 47.16% no

# stonefaction 2012-01-25 22:10
I attempted a wee bit of poetry.....

A.B.C.
------

Ambition, Belief an' Confidence - three things Scots used tae hae
But years an' years o' nay-saying it seems, has ta'en thon things away
If only fowk wir' nae sae feart, tae grasp the future wi' thir hands
Tae say a big resoundin' "Aye" on a promise that's sae grand

Ambition, Belief an' Confidence - they things hae niver left us
So in the year twenty-fourteen, let's vote fir Independence
If only fowk wir nae sae feart, mair certain o' thir destiny
Then Scotland could once again stand proud, on her ain twa feet

Yi see wir no too stupid, - nor too poor,- or too wee
Ambition, Belief an' Confidence is a' wi really need
Thon rogues (yi' ken thon parcel), will say "wur doomed", (ye'll see)
But lets consign the Union, ti' the pages o' history

And let's be once mair a nation, a land once mair that's free
fae interferin' lairds and rogues, a place fowk want tae be
Whaur fowk can live wi' Confidence, Ambition and Belief
An Independent Scotland, that's whaur I want tae be.

# mato21 2012-01-25 22:14
My sentiments exactly

Well said thank you

# farrochie 2012-01-25 22:21
Johann's weekly report to Ed is going to be somewhat strained:-

Ed: I thought I told you to kill off this referendum business?

Johann: Working on it, boss!

Ed: Well, hope I won't be hearing any more about it.

Johann: I'll do my best, boss.

# Alx1 2012-01-25 22:33
O/T

I see the sun is going with a wee bit more common sense approach (more on Scottish side) about yesterday's stoshie on Caithness (won't use the title part) remarks about trying to partition of the Orkney/Shetland/rockall isles. There is a quote from an Orkney MSP refuting (or close to it) his claim.
I do hope the sun can keep this up, but I fear this may have something to do with either trying to sucker its readers or maybe a wee hanging threat to the UK government regarding the Leverson inquiry!!!!

thescottishsun.co.uk/.../...

# tartanfever 2012-01-25 22:46
Absolutely right Alx. I've no time for Murdoch, but if The Sun want to back AS then I'm all in favour of that. We need some press on our side.

Labour have the Daily Retard sown up and most other press, we need the help.

We can tell him to bugger off after the election.

# Holebender 2012-01-26 09:56
Remember, the Sun backed the SNP in last year's election.

# Macart 2012-01-25 22:47
Just got in a wee while ago and played catchup on Sky plus.

What a speech! The rest shouldn't have bothered turning up. Johann was woeful, Ruthie was very small (even on the new telly) and Willie Winkie was a rabbit in the headlights.

I didn't think I'd see the day the starting gun got fired but I will be there to finish the fight. Over the next two and a half years I will make it my mission to convert as many as will listen. I will present our case at all times with a positive outlook and I will be on best behaviour whilst visiting all sites.

Best of luck to all of us!
Saor Alba

# Auld Bob 2012-01-25 22:54
Oh! Dear God! When is it going to get through to the broadcasters that neither The SNP or any Scottish cicic lot are in any position whatsoever to have DevoMax?

There is only one body in the entire Univesrs that are equiped to offer DevoMax. That body is the party in Government at Westminster. Any form of devolution is the delegation of Westminster powers with some exceptions that Westminster is not going to give to the Devolved government. They thus retain their percieved superior authority over what they see as an inferior parliament. A parliment not to be trusted with the power they refuse to devolve. How can anyone else do this as it needs the, "Superior", powers to say what they will, and will not, devolve.

How long are they going to bang on about it?

# J Wil 2012-01-26 00:08
It's a diversionary tactic by the SNP. Used in all good war games.

# rgweir 2012-01-25 22:56
Jim Wallace on bbc just now,
I am stuck for words.

# govanite 2012-01-25 23:54
naw, Jim's stuck fur words

# call me dave 2012-01-25 22:58
This great debate is unraveling into a farce. Glen is a useless chairperson and it's more like a shouting match.

PS: Nicola better forget her manners and get her twopence worth in asap.

I hope things improve as the questions develop.

# Ard Righ 2012-01-25 23:00
“Not a single person has lost their life arguing for or against Scottish independence. There hasn’t been so much as a nosebleed in the course of an entire century.”

Nonsence, many people have disappeared, had their lives severely curtailed or incurred intrusive surveillance at the hands of the imperial union, all those folk have been active in promoting independence and or denigrating unionism.
It is of course very different in the last decade, the nation is waking up from a three hundred year propaganda exercise.

# KillieBoab 2012-01-25 23:03
Did anybody understand a word that Johann Lamont said?

# Froster 2012-01-25 23:43
Quoting KillieBoab:
Did anybody understand a word that Johann Lamont said?

I heard a lot of words coming out of her mouth but was left no clearer on what she or her party stands for.

One thing I think I heard her say was she was in favour of 16/17 year olds voting in the referendum??

# gfaetheblock 2012-01-25 23:04
Do we have independance 'disappeared'? This is shocking, please explain and give examples?

# balbeggie 2012-01-25 23:12
Gerry Hassan's latest output

gerryhassan.com/.../...

# Marga B 2012-01-25 23:53
It's quite a good read. Independence movement: "It is a social democratic story of a people and polity wishing to institutionalis e their values and priorities." That sounds about right.

# pa_broon74 2012-01-25 23:14
I do like Lesley Riddoch.

She's giving Lamont & Wallace hell.

# pa_broon74 2012-01-25 23:16
(On the telly. The Big Debate... Which is actually being quite fair with 2 v. 2.)

# clochoderic 2012-01-25 23:15
Nichola is playing Glen, Johann and Jim off the park by doing nothing.

The big irish lassie is bullying them into the turf.

Old Jim started off well but is finding the going heavy.

Johann has discovered some magic mushies near the corner flag.

Referee Campbell is about to swally his whistle.

# Alba4Eva 2012-01-25 23:17
I'm enjoying Lesley Riddoch giving Lamont and Beakers dad a hard time.

Nocola has woke up too. :)

# Edulis 2012-01-25 23:20
Yes, Jim Wallace is stumbling and Johann has absolutely no imagination.

Good on Lesley Riddoch. I hope she joins the Yes campaign.

# pa_broon74 2012-01-25 23:22
Nicola is totally making Wallace look very bad indeed.

Good stuff.

# brusque 2012-01-25 23:23
Gracious, Nicola's on fire tonight!!

Cracking viewing.

# call me dave 2012-01-25 23:23
Riddoch is putting in a star performance on all fronts.

Glen showed his colours 'You bottled it' to Sturgeon (referring to Wendy's bring it on moment!)

Nicola biting back on the whisky and also making Wallace look a fool on currency.
That's better stuff now.

# Jester 2012-01-25 23:54
Quoting call me dave:
Riddoch is putting in a star performance on all fronts.

Glen showed his colours 'You bottled it' to Sturgeon (referring to Wendy's bring it on moment!)
I had written Former UK, which abbreviated is FUK, but it comes out as **** (4 asterisks) even hough it's only three letters. I certainly didn't swear, I think the F UK is a pretty good term actaully.
Nicola biting back on the whisky and also making Wallace look a fool on currency.
That's better stuff now.

To be fair I thought he had a decent performance tonight.

Nicola Sturgeon should have nailed the passport question though, which would have nailed a whole load of minor niggles from people, such as driving licences, TV licences, etc. That there will be a Scottish passport and that with the help and agreement of the Former UK government (FUK) there will be a phased changeover from one system to another. You will not require a new passport on day 1, but will be able to use it until it expires or it has to be otherwise renewed. Then you may get a Scottish one.
Every time it has to be emphasised that systems, from driving licences, to passports will change with the goodwill and help of the FUK. That way every time the likes of Wallace throws up a 'we'll shut the borders' quote it makes them look small, petty and vindictive.

# jafurn 2012-01-25 23:23
Wallace just let the cat out of the bag when he said YOU and not WE when talking about Scotland's future

# pa_broon74 2012-01-25 23:25
(I think that was a tautology. I was excited... ;-)

# Alba4Eva 2012-01-25 23:30
Wallace nailed on his ridiculous claim that 'barriers' would magically appear to trade with England.

SCORES out of 10

Riddoch 9
Nicola 8
Lamont 2
wallace -1

# call me dave 2012-01-25 23:31
lamont has nothing in her that will inspire her to look at what Scotland can be.

Her mindset is too wee, too poor and she's too stupid. She'll hand over the oil and the whisky and uncle Tom Cobley and all to Westminster and is content to live on handouts.
God preserve us from people without a heart or ambition for the country or our children's future.

# Alx1 2012-01-25 23:55
CMD,

Good point, we should hammer that home!
Let's turn the tables a wee bit and do some scaremongering ourselves.
Lamont and the labour party will give away Scotland's oil & gas (you forgot to mention gas) reserves, as well as our whisky revenues to westminster.
Maybe not so much scaremongering as such, but the truth.

# Jester 2012-01-26 00:09
Quoting call me dave:
lamont has nothing in her that will inspire her to look at what Scotland can be.

Her mindset is too wee, too poor and she's too stupid. She'll hand over the oil and the whisky and uncle Tom Cobley and all to Westminster and is content to live on handouts.
God preserve us from people without a heart or ambition for the country or our children's future.

Her point about her having bigger ambitions than Scotland should be hoisted aboard for later use.

# clochoderic 2012-01-25 23:31
I hope someone has recorded this - required viewing for all Scots expats - game set and match for Scotland.

# pa_broon74 2012-01-25 23:31
I would have a Scottish Passport.

It goes with out saying.

# sneckedagain 2012-01-25 23:33
I'm having a vote right now.
Has anybody ever seen a bigger tit than Jim Wallace?

# pa_broon74 2012-01-25 23:36
He's not comported himself very well.

So no, I haven't.

# mato21 2012-01-25 23:37
He seems to work on a short fuse

# Alba4Eva 2012-01-25 23:39
Aye... I have seen a couple...

thejetpacker.com/.../...

# Holebender 2012-01-26 10:10
Ye dinna need Chinese mountains faan we've oor ain Mither Tap o Benachie walkhighlands.co.uk/.../... or the Paps o Jura mw2.google.com/.../...

# call me dave 2012-01-25 23:38
I love Riddoch and kiss her feet!

I think after a low key start the debate showed that being positive about our future knocked the no hopers for six.

Nicola had the last word and she and Riddoch did us proud!

What a day!!

# govanite 2012-01-25 23:40
First let me say, good job Glenn. Fair and open.

How I loved wee Nic smacking Rosa doon.

Rabbie looks doon wi pride n pleasure.

# call me dave 2012-01-25 23:42
Quoting govanite:

offensive language removed. – NNS Mod Team

LOL:@)

You have a way with words which is direct , colourful and in this case right on the mark.

# govanite 2012-01-25 23:58
i had to change it before I got moderated - but I'm no saying anything people don't know already

# mato21 2012-01-25 23:42
I do like your turn of phrase

# Jacko 2012-01-25 23:50
Quoting govanite:

Rabbie looks doon wi pride n pleasure.

Even though I can't believe it myself, have to agree. The way he skewered Wallace on the legal challenge was sublime and showed, for any one willing to look objectively, that Wallace's motive's are purely political.

Other highlights were Nichola Sturgeon's "What barriers" and Lesley Riddoch's "Just not now!" interjections.

As for Wallace .... for a man of his experience and position it's remarkable how good his impression was of Harry Enfield's 'Kevin'. He came over as nothing more than a churlish, tempestuous teenager on more than one occasion.

Hardly the person to be entrusted as the most senior UK law officer in Scotland!

# J Wil 2012-01-26 00:03
Not the characteristics you would expect from a lawyer and even less acceptable from Scotland's top Lawyer.

# rgweir 2012-01-25 23:44
Jim Wallace lost the argument when he showed signs of losing his temper and nearly ending up on Nicola's knee.

# Old Smokey 2012-01-26 00:13
The body languague said it all
More sunny Jim encrouched on Nicola's space flailing his arms , Nicola was leaning further away in her seat

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 23:45
Lord Jimmy of Thanklessness lost it, big time.

Blood pressure way off scale, heart attack pending. At one point I thought he was falling off his chair.

Heard an audience comment that he was a 'relic'.

More like a fossil, methinks.

# Old Smokey 2012-01-26 00:16
Yeah I heard that as well 'a grey relic'

# macdoc 2012-01-25 23:46
Well done I thought riddoch was particulary impressive and Nicola did not too bad. Unfortunaetly this is nothing of a debate becasue the time frame for each question is too short for robust critisicm. Its like in USA creationists can debate evolution and appear well read and scientific to the uniformed, failing on every bit of evidence yet still the audience can be swayed by rhetoric.

My heart sinks on this issue because we have won the argument. Scotland would be a richer, fairer and more prosperous society as an independent nation unless we were ubnfortunate enough to elect a future government of such incompetency that could mess things up, this scenario is very unlikely. We have the moral highground we have won the arguments economically and with that brings the social aspects.

I would have greater respect with the unionists if they just admitted yes Scotland would be better off but I am a BRITISH NATIONALIST and the thought of MY country breaking is abhorrent.

# Legerwood 2012-01-25 23:46
I saw a small bit of it - they were discussing votes for 16 year olds - and it was clear that Ms Sturgeon was relaxed and fully in control. The audience clearly liked the points she was making.

lord Wallace was struggling on this issue given the LibDems long-held policy, supposedly, in favour of votes for 16 year olds. It did not help when a young girl in the audience was asking him a question and he interrupted her before allowing her to finish her point. Rank bad manners.

Glen Campbell seemed to be handling things OK and did put Lord Wallace on the spot at one point.

Ms Lamont, going by her body language, seemed to be less than engaged in the whole process.

# Jiggsbro 2012-01-25 23:46
Don't want to piss on anyone's chips, but I suspect what the doubters will take away from that is the guff about being dependent on the Bank of England.

# jafurn 2012-01-25 23:50
Quoting Jiggsbro:
Don't want to piss on anyone's chips, but I suspect what the doubters will take away from that is the guff about being dependent on the Bank of England.

There is ample time for all these non-sense stories to be shown for what they are.

# xyz 2012-01-25 23:59
Quoting Jiggsbro:

Quite possibly ... but I think there is a solution to the currency question. We don't need the pound, we don't need the Euro we can have our own currency, our own central bank. The currency I propose is a currency valued against a basket of international currencies just as the Chinese Yuan is controlled by their government.. The speculators don't get a look in either. So traders in London can't trade it. We can try to stay close to the value of the pound , if that is desired by changing the currencies in our basket. The only problem is the pound might collapse without our oil .. but that will be mitigated somewhat by the other currencies.

# Jester 2012-01-26 00:08
Quoting sneckedagain:
I'm having a vote right now.
Has anybody ever seen a bigger tit than Jim Wallace?

JQuoting Jiggsbro:

Nicola just didn't want to say yes. People prefer straight, honest answers, and she looked weak there.

# Alx1 2012-01-26 01:15
"People prefer straight, honest answers"
Well they'll not prefer Lamont then, she hasn't given a straight answer to anything at anytime.

# xyz 2012-01-26 01:35
It's hard to understand her position .. oh she 'loves Scotland' so much she wants to make sure it remains under the boot of Westminster. .. and no more powers for the Scottish parliament apart from the contemptible Calman rubbish .. pop guns and speed limits for the oil.

# Froster 2012-01-25 23:47
Overall I was left feeling pretty positive after watching the debate. Coming live from Pacific Quay, you would have been forgiven for thinking that it would have been a somewhat partisan audience but they seemed to tend more toward independence imo. No surprise though considering the level of Unionist debate put forward by Rosa and Wallace!

Anybody know what the latest opinion poll that Nicola Sturgeon was referring to?

# jafurn 2012-01-25 23:54
newstatesman.com/.../...

I think that's the one....

# gus1940 2012-01-26 09:49
Live?

Are there 2 Jim Wallaces? He was on STV and BBC1 simultaneously.

Whjch one wsa recorded or were both recorded?

# mato21 2012-01-25 23:50
On channel 33 you can now catch STV debate

# Arraniki 2012-01-25 23:50
Think it was NS Poll
Link up this thread somewhere.

Here it is:
newstatesman.com/.../...

# J Wil 2012-01-25 23:54
Wallace got very animated and came over as being out of control. The guy at the end delivered him the final decisive coup de gras.

Lamont cannot put her points across in simple language. It all sounds far too contrived and complicated. She did tell us there were benefits from being in the union, but we are still waiting to hear from her about these mysterious benefits which are as elusive as the Higgs particle?

# xyz 2012-01-26 00:03
"benefits which are as elusive as the Higgs particle"

lol //

# Edulis 2012-01-25 23:56
We are riding a wave which began in Westminster. The place is broke. The Sottish Labdemtory MPs are only interested in their careers and the gravy train to the Lords for some of them. We need to get everybody to catch onto that paradigm of a malign system of government in the UK which needs completely re-built from the ground up. The left in England are already saying that having suffered the huge disappointment of New Labour. We can't afford to wait on Westminster coming into the 20th century, never mind the 21st, so independence is the obvious solution to Scotland's great conumdrum.

# roboftheburnawn 2012-01-25 23:57
The one thing that stuck out in my mind, throughout the whole debate was Nicola's manner. I paused to top up the glasses, and came back to find her leaning back, arms relaxed and a competent expression. She was'nt flustered, shouting or over expressive.

The sign of someone who's compeptent with oneself

That's something that will register with voters ( even if they don't realise it )

Going to buy a badge " I like Lesley Riddoch "

# takhisis1 2012-01-26 00:14
Quoting roboftheburnawn :
Going to buy a badge " I like Lesley Riddoch "

me too

# Jiggsbro 2012-01-26 00:24
And a t-shirt that says "I agree with Nic"

# Clarinda 2012-01-26 00:00
I hope you all saw his rather clamy Lordly Tantrumness trying to scoop up his lower jaw as the young man in the audience referred to him as a "relic".

Good to see so many young people in the audience - but I doubt any minds were changed by the preposterous behaviour of the Lord or the grinding banality of Ms Lamont despite the sharp interjections of Ms Riddoch and the valiant effort of Ms Sturgeon.

The weird body language from the unionist panel members, stabbing at the air, making childish faces and weaving around in their chairs serve only to draw attention to their lack of confidence and content - compare with the elegant and controlled behaviour of Ms Sturgeon and Ms Riddoch.

# roboftheburnawn 2012-01-26 00:06
Agree Clarinda - signs of a people in denial

Saor Alba

# J Wil 2012-01-26 00:12
Perhaps the Lord will persuade himself to crawl back into his hole refuge in London and stay there.

# Jacko 2012-01-26 00:05
Ref the red herring issue of whether Scotland would be better or worse off independent I've always thought the starting point for any response should be the instant saving we would gain not sending all those MPs to Westminster and their associated expenses plus, the savings by ditching all those 'Lords & Ladies' with their even more ridiculous expenses culture.

Should be an easy one to calculate and assert as a very obvious and indisputable saving to the Scottish public purse.

Strange how it's never considered by those deploying the economic argument against an independent Scotland though?

# govanite 2012-01-26 00:06
All in all a good few weeks. Of course, much to be done.
Tonight on the radio vox-pops, someone saying 'mibbe 30 years ago but no noo'.
FFS, so just what is the trend of the last 30 years and do we want it to continue ?
No matter how negative such views are, last May showed our time is coming.

# macdoc 2012-01-26 00:06
It wasn't a bad debate for the independece cause but I still despair that so many domicilied Scots are ashamed of the country in which they abide. That they feel the need to be subserviant and under control of an unsympathetic and uncaring Westminster that cares little of Scotlands and her people. The fact that they don't do a bit of research and try and cure their ignorance but instead can then be passionite about shouting how poor,small,stup id and crap we are.

# Alx1 2012-01-26 00:19
This was a selected audience! Selected by the BBC, as were the questions.
Easy for Glen Campbell to see by the audience reaction who is Labour/unionist supporters etc.
Heard at least 3 non Scottish accents from the audience, point being that they would have been selected and picked for off the cuff questions by the BBC to bolster the unionist camp.

# Jiggsbro 2012-01-26 00:28
To be fair, if you could hear my post you'd hear a non-Scottish accent. I'll still be voting 'Yes', because I want the country that I've chosen to make my home to be able to look out for the people I share that home with.

# Alx1 2012-01-26 00:57
Point taken Jiggsbro and you have my respect for doing what's good for your family's future.
I think what I was trying to say was the accents sounded a bit fresh, like they had just arrived in Scotland that day!
My late English mother stayed here for over 55 years and spoke with an English accent mixed with scottish.
You do pick up a little Scottish/English accent after a short while.

# Jiggsbro 2012-01-26 01:01
Not just my family, but everyone in Scotland. Except those that were hoping to ride the gravy train south.

# Alx1 2012-01-26 01:20
I hear you :-))

# Macart 2012-01-26 07:08
Well said.

# macdoc 2012-01-26 00:31
Yeah I understand that and in the name of balance the audience has to be split of course.

However it still gets on my goat when we hear people with Scottish accents making the most inane comments eg... alex salmond is fat hehe, Bank of Scotland, Alex salmond is power mad, fooled by AS, Anti-English,Barrier s, Extremeist. Then with an applause they grin with excitement as if they have made a good point of putting down the country in which the live and genuinely feel proud of there ignorant contribution.

I would just love 30 mins with these people to tear there arguments apart and hopefully instill some sense which of course I could if they were genuinely proudly Scottish.

Ah well I guess I should calm down however and just hope that the vast majority of Scots are not like this. I want a fair debate but we know this will never happen because ultimaetly thunionist position doesn't have a leg to stand other than British nationalism.

All in all the debate was fine and Wallace wade a fool out of himself and Lesley Riddoch quitre rightly ridiculed Johann's ridiculous position. How the people cannot see these poiticians for what they really are is beyond me.

Rant over

# Alx1 2012-01-26 00:59
Remember BBC balance!
Relax macdoc your time will come :-))

# Jacko 2012-01-26 00:38
Quoting Alx1:
This was a selected audience! Selected by the BBC, as were the questions.
Easy for Glen Campbell to see by the audience reaction who is Labour/unionist supporters etc.
Heard at least 3 non Scottish accents from the audience, point being that they would have been selected and picked for off the cuff questions by the BBC to bolster the unionist camp.

If they're resident Scots don't see why the accent should matter.

And if it was a ploy to bolster the unionist camp I think it's fair to say that their panelists evidently came off worst in the debate tonight.

Lamont talking around issues (with the babbling, psuedo socialist mutterings of a college activist) rather than addressing them.

As for Jim 'Kevin' Wallace how did he win any credit repeatedly looking like the proverbial petulant teenager resplendent with the classic head recoils, "Ughs!", eyes skyward, hands thrown up and stuttering responses to questions.

In fact, at one point I'm sure he even succeeded with an "All done in the best possible taste!" skit?

# Alx1 2012-01-26 01:26
"If they're resident Scots don't see why the accent should matter."

Agreed, but it is the BBC we are talking about here, they are capable of anything.
Also agreed about the unionist members panel mauling.

# .Scot 2012-01-26 00:10
Thank goodness Lesley Riddoch was on the BBC tonight to join the mocking of Jim Wallace and Johanna Lamont. How can a man Jim Wallace, who spat bile, bitterness, anger and even hate at Nicola Sturgeon be permitted in courts and civil society without first being handcuffed and hooded? Twas the most bitter rage from Britishers that I have witnessed outside of a certain Lodge I was taken into by school chums as Teenager. The BBC's program did a lot of harm to the Unionist cause (supposing that would be the correct term for London-centrism?). I would hazard a guess that these two British State Party members will not be used in another TV debate show.

# KillieBoab 2012-01-26 00:10
When Nicola pointed out the the GERS figures showed Scotland has been in surplus for four of the last five years, why did neither Lamont nor Wallace (nae relation o' mine) argue with the point? And, if the point is accurate, why, as Scots, do they consider that Scotland will be 'stronger together, weaker apart?

# macdoc 2012-01-26 00:16
Exactly this point should be hammered home at every turn and that is within the confines of the UK. As an independent nation the relative difference will be much greater as our expenditure on things we do not need or want will be greatly reduced.

It should be hammered home that we will be much richer than we are at the present moment and with that wealth there will become opportunity to correct the poverty and negative statistics that currently scar Scotland.

# Alx1 2012-01-26 00:34
I am still suspicious of the GERS figures.
Suspicious that I don't beleive they reveal the full extent of Scotland's wealth.
They are uk government generated figures and they are not going to show that Scotland generates maybe 10s of billions of pounds more are they? Just enough!
Should always add the caveat that they are possibly doctored westminster accounting figures.

# macdoc 2012-01-26 00:43
True; Niall Aslen's figures may show a correct picture. I would like some economists within the SG to substantiate them and ammend the GERS figures as appropriate.

Just as an aside Scotland currently pays a population share of interest on the UK debt of around 2.5 billion per annum despite being in surplus since the 70s.

Then there is the underspend on Defence but expenditure attributes a population percent to Scotland.

The building of Wembely stadium and the olympics, Millenium dome comes under British expenditrure but the commonwealths and new hampden stand are 100% Scottish expenditure.

Theres a lot more if anyone with experence would be kind enough to really dig into. The GERS figures however unrelaible show that relative to the UK; Scotland is in a much stronger fiscla poistion.

# Alx1 2012-01-26 01:33
Agreed with all there macdoc, we will never find out our true contribution until Scotland gets its Independence.
I see a lot of nationalist comments using the GERS report as full fact, but to me they are not! They show an estimated account, an estimated account generated by the UK Government.
They are never going to be truthful with our financial situation.
I do understand that GERS is the best we can go on for now until the full truth comes out.

# Ard Righ 2012-01-26 11:11

# Dowanhill 2012-01-26 00:10
Really impressed with Ms Riddoch and her questioning of Lamont. This approach to the Scottish Labour Leader impasse on her party's stance should be encouraged enormously. Brilliantly articulated by Ms Riddoch and showed how inept Labour really is. I also noticed 'The Blair patronising hand gesturing'. That's new ! Apart from that I didn't understand a bloody word Lamont was saying. Thought Lord thinklessness at one point was going too lose it completely and go for Nicola.Brilliant debate.

# Georgerov 2012-01-26 00:13
Good debate tonight . All the more surprising for the BBC considering the audience was at least 80% unionist ,as expected , judging by the questions asked and Glenn was very fair I have to say , as was Leslie Riddoch . Wallace and Lamont losing it on several occasions with Nicola only having to sit there and flash those lovely legs of hers and smile as the bluster and blood pressure rose on the unionists .

# Glasgow 2012-01-26 00:16
Can this Beeb programme be found online anywhere? Is it too soon for the iPlayer? Ta!

# Glasgow 2012-01-26 00:24
Available soon - bbc.co.uk/.../...

# govanite 2012-01-26 00:18
Pleased to see people mentioning that it isn't a question of immediately richer or poorer, but a question of having the flexibility and power to choose and change, to meet the future as it unwinds.

# J Wil 2012-01-26 00:19
Did anyone hear Cameron bastardising Robert Burns poem, To a mouse, on PMs questions yesterday?

- O, what a panic's in his bresty.

# Jacko 2012-01-26 00:24
Quoting J Wil:
Did anyone hear Cameron bastardising Robert Burns poem, To a mouse, on PMs questions today.

- oh what a panics in his bresty.

Made a right 'bresty' of himself!

Had to giggle ..... shades of Redwood's rendition of the Welsh national anthem!

Will they ever learn?

# mato21 2012-01-26 00:27
It was appalling he would be well advised to stick to what he knows something about for he sure knows nothing about Burns or Scots pronunciation

# xyz 2012-01-26 00:42
I thought it was fine .. a bit of pointed fun .. .. If he had tried a Scottish accent that would probably have been a big mistake.

# mato21 2012-01-26 00:48
Fine I have another word for it and it certainly isn't fine-------- bresty to rhyme with westie! never

My opinion sorry

# xyz 2012-01-26 01:15
Fair enough ... I guess added to the other insults thrown completely unfairly at Alex it becomes more sinister and unpleasant.

# Alx1 2012-01-26 01:03
Yep had a wee laugh at that myself.
I watched it on Ch4 news and to be fair to ch4 they had his eckness showing cameron how it should be said.
That will be another point up for AS.

# ButeHouse 2012-01-26 00:29
THE GREAT DEBATE: Between Nicola and Lessley Riddoch the unionist pair of Lamont and Wallace were desperately looking for the final whistle.

Nicola destroyed Wallace over his Trade Barriers which would miraculously sprout up on the English border. Her challenges to him were left unanswered, he was too busy coughing and spluttering and gasping for breath. He looked like losing it several times but especially at that point.

Meanwhile Lesley Riddoch was cutting Lamont and Wallace off at the knees at will. She was excellent. they had no answer to her no nonsense questions or statements.

Even Glen Campbell was relatively benign but so early in the debate he can afford to be. His claws will be released as we get into the nitty gritty.

But overall this Burns Day will be one to remember. A poll tonight = For Independence 44% Against 45% according to Nicola.

VOTE YES

# mato21 2012-01-26 00:36
That's a couple of times Lesley has put up a good show on BBC her days are numbered no doubt

# derek 2012-01-26 00:31
Where's Oldnat? because in my opinion,he has been superbly brilliant!!!!!! !

# mato21 2012-01-26 00:38
Hi Derek How have you been? well I hope haven't seen you posting for a while

# derek 2012-01-26 00:43
Thanks mato21, still here!!! Hee Hee! you must be extremely proud that your leader say's and does what is on the tin, stirring stuff indeed. Is Oldnat on holiday?

# mato21 2012-01-26 01:10
Yes Derek my wee hert is fu' Glad your education has been worthwhile since you too seem to have been stirred I always knew there was hope for you A lost cause rescued Ha Ha

Sorry I cannot help re Oldnat

# derek 2012-01-26 01:24
LoL!!! maybe we'll talk the politicking after the deed?????

# ianbeag 2012-01-26 00:32
Telegraph poll figures at 00.30
YES 55.12%
NO 44.88%
telegraph.co.uk/.../...

# Glasgow 2012-01-26 00:41
Yes 55.33% (2,937 votes)
No 44.67% (2,371 votes)

# Alx1 2012-01-26 01:06
Remember this is open to the rest of the UK.
And they want a vote on Scotland's future..erm we weren't going to fall for that old trick of 'give England the vote and we will vote for you to leave the uk'.
Da!

# Dowanhill 2012-01-26 00:39
One thing I did find odd within the debate, was when the camera panned out from behind the audience. The audibility of the hand clapping to some of Labours mundane responses certainly did not correlate to the number of hand movements to reflect that specfic audibiity. Canned Clapping I'm afraid. Woudn't put it past the BBC !

# Glasgow 2012-01-26 00:42
Cameron's poor attempt at a put down - telegraph.co.uk/.../...

# Soixante-neuf 2012-01-26 00:56
Jings, if they think that's a put-down, their standards are pretty low. It was beyond lame.

He didn't even have the nous to come out with

Quote:
Be Britain still to Britain true,
Amang oursels united!
For never but by British hands
Maun British wrangs be righted!

Out of context, true, but it would at least have had a point to it.

# Holebender 2012-01-26 11:01
Isn't that the verse the Tory woman who asked the planted question used?

# Early Ball 2012-01-26 00:44
Who is the editor that picked this on the BBC?

1419. keithkettlewell
COMMENT NUMBER 1419 IS AN EDITORS' PICK
25TH JANUARY 2012 - 17:40
I do hope that Scots are aware that if if the vote is YES then it wiil cost them very dear in the long and the short term on virtually every aspect of their taxation , services , economy , housing , health and welfare , the Armed services - to name but a few of the things they have been accustomed to taking for granted .

# maxstafford 2012-01-26 00:49
Quoting Early Ball:
Who is the editor that picked this on the BBC?

1419. keithkettlewell
COMMENT NUMBER 1419 IS AN EDITORS' PICK
25TH JANUARY 2012 - 17:40
I do hope that Scots are aware that if if the vote is YES then it wiil cost them very dear in the long and the short term on virtually every aspect of their taxation , services , economy , housing , health and welfare , the Armed services - to name but a few of the things they have been accustomed to taking for granted .

I was under the impression that a NO vote would cost us even dearer in the long run...

# maxstafford 2012-01-26 00:47
Aye and one of those 'YES's is mine!
Can't vote in the real one as I live in Carlisle though a lotto win sometime in the next two years would see me back chop-chop to exercise that honour!

# exel 2012-01-26 00:56
Auld Bob 2012-01-25 22:54
"Oh! Dear God! When is it going to get through to the broadcasters that neither The SNP or any Scottish cicic lot are in any position whatsoever to have DevoMax?"

I think we can agree on that Bob. But more relevant to the debate they were supposed to be having, nobody seemed to be interested in debating the referendum question “Do you agree Scotland should be an independent country”

Not exactly a straight forward question is it?

INDEPENDENT: free from outside control, not subject to another authority.

COUNTRY: a nation with its own government, occupying a particular territory

IMHO it needs a whole lot of qualifying statements.
For example: Free from whose control? Subject to which other authority?

Scotland is a nation, but at present does not have its own goverment.

How many Scots asked the present Scottish Executive to hold a referendum on this question? In fact how many asked for a referendum at all?

# Jiggsbro 2012-01-26 00:58
Quoting exel:
Auld Bob 2012-01-25 22:54

INDEPENDENT: free from outside control
For example: Free from whose control?

Outside control. The clue was in the question.

# tartanfever 2012-01-26 08:36
Oh come on exel ! Rifkind said this yesterday as well - he and you are just trying to get the term 'United Kingdom' onto the ballot paper.

Well tough. It's the SNP's referendum, they won the vote for it, they have the mandate therefore they can set the question. It is their right as the party of government.

Anything else contrary to this is undemocratic.

As for the question, a three year old knows what it means.

# exel 2012-01-26 17:19
tartanfever 2012-01-26 08:36
“Well tough. It's the SNP's referendum, they won the vote for it, they have the mandate therefore they can set the question. It is their right as the party of government.”

What are we being consulted on then?

# Holebender 2012-01-26 11:09
exel, even by your standards this is a particularly pathetic post.

You say Scotland has no government while Ruth Davidson tells us Scotland has two! Let's split the difference and say Scotland has one, shall we? You seem unfamiliar with the concept of elections, which is very strange for someone who keep banging on about democracy and constitutions; how many asked for a referendum? Everyone who voted for the politicians who had a referendum in their manifesto last May. According to the BBC that's 902,915 people at constituency level and 876,421 at regional level.

# exel 2012-01-26 17:34
Holebender 2012-01-26 11:09
“You say Scotland has no government while Ruth Davidson tells us Scotland has two! Let's split the difference and say Scotland has one, shall we? “

The Scottish Government (Scottish Gaelic: Riaghaltas na h-Alba) is the executive arm of the devolved government of Scotland. It was established in 1999 as the Scottish Executive, from the extant Scottish Office, and the term Scottish Executive (or Administration) remains its legal name under the Scotland Act 1998. Following the 2007 Scottish Parliament election, the term Executive was changed to Government by the Scottish National Party administration in 2007. The Scotland Bill (2011) contains a clause which, if the Bill passes into law, will make this change legal in statute.

# Highland Tiger 2012-01-26 12:30
The question needs no qualifying at all. Every other nation that has become independent seems to understand the concept, so why is it so difficult for folk in this country to understand it?

# the wallace 2012-01-26 01:03
Is it just me, or does anyone else think that the studio audience in the big debate had more of a unionist bias about it?

# Jiggsbro 2012-01-26 01:07
All to the good, I thought, because they got to ask the stupid questions and Nicola and Lesley got to demolish them.

# Thee Forsaken One 2012-01-26 11:13
You'll probably find that the audience are balanced but independence supporters are subtly (or unsubtly) glossed over when it comes to asking questions.

It's the impression I've got from being invited but never getting a chance to speak. Methinks it is likely the voice in the earpiece who chooses who gets to ask questions or make points. They'll know who are pro-union and pro-independence since they expect you to write that on your application.

# derek 2012-01-26 01:07
the wallace, couldn't have went any better?

# sneckedagain 2012-01-26 01:10
The one drawback was not getting back to Nicola to let her point out that the Bank of England is not in fact an English Bank. It is the UK clearing bank and Scotland owns around 9% of it (and its gold reserves).
Time enough too have this and other issues explained.

# mato21 2012-01-26 01:18
How many gods do they have in reserve ? It's getting late I know or maybe a wee toast?

Just being cheeky sorry

# Alx1 2012-01-26 01:42
According to paxo the BoE has 310 tons of goLd reserves.
Scotland's share; approx 29 tons.
Don't forget the foreign currency reserves they hold also.
Yes a bit late I'll let someone else do the maths, money wise.
Also don't forget the UK has a war fund which normally runs into billions.
So we get a share there too.

# Clanky 2012-01-26 01:56
I make that just over a billion quid at £35k per kg. So just a months oil revenue for us really, hardly worth shifting it :)

# Jiggsbro 2012-01-26 01:56
Worth about £870 million a few months ago, apparently.

independent.co.uk/.../...

# InfrequentAllele 2012-01-26 01:14
Alex Salmond has written an article for the Sun, just published.

thescottishsun.co.uk/.../...

# derek 2012-01-26 01:19
sneckedagain, I believe the founder was a Scot? but more than the important points you make, can you imagine Scotland with another currency which England would need to trade and deal with? the tories have no business sense whatsoever.

Personally, I think the devomax question has been left open for Scottish Labour to grasp, pitty their not grasping the chance to gain some credibility?

# Electric Hermit 2012-01-26 01:19
Latest New Statesman/ICD poll.

Asked if Scotland should become an independent country, 45 per cent of Scottish voters say no and 44 per cent say yes.

This is a good thing.

newstatesman.com/.../...

# sneckedagain 2012-01-26 02:26
Yes. A Scot, William Paterson, founded the Bank of England. Sadly he also organised the Darien Scheme

# Ard Righ 2012-01-26 11:13
....with the help of the English and Spanish Armada sinking every possible vessel from Scotland.

# kofk 2012-01-26 03:34
Sneckedagain, on topic, Scots are being brainwashed, again and again by our less than disengenuous suppossed news outlets, our laws are open to interpretation rather than the truth,Peoples of all Nations not only ours are being lied to on a daily basis.
Every illegal war thats been orchestrated is about energy, which is controlled by the few, but paid for by the many,For the sake of Justice and Humanity , maybe, aye, maybe, a Free Democratic Independendent Scotland might just put us on the right track, tip the balance so to speak,not an idealistic dream but a reality, but we must inform others that dont live within our nest,as was said earlier to day, the bird has flown, lets pass the message

# kofk 2012-01-26 03:38
But as you rightly pointed out the Darien scheme was the bought and sold issue, but never again!!

# UpSpake 2012-01-26 08:27
Marian. The answers to your questions can be found on the SDA web-site
www.scottishdemocraticalliance.org

# heraldnomore 2012-01-26 08:40
So, what did we learn last night.

Firstly that Labour in Scotland have chosen to have more of the same and that the new leader will not lift them from Elmer's pit of despondency.

Secondly that if the BBC are to have a phone-in then La Riddoch has been sorely missed.

In short we learned nothing new then.

# call me dave 2012-01-26 09:16
Call me Kaye V Lesley Riddoch

No contest!
Come on BBC we want the best not the worst.

# Albalha 2012-01-26 10:09
Yes as I've said on these pages before there should be a campaign to bring Lesley back to our airwaves, K Adams is risible. But good to see so many posters appreciating L Riddoch's input.

# Jester 2012-01-26 09:11
Scottish Labours first team are in London, they have left their second team to play up here and due to unforseen circumstances their team has been decimated, their last captain having to bow out due to an unfortunate accident with a meatball marinara. That has led to the equivelant of the boy with two left feet, a squint and a plaster on one eye of his specs being made up to captain, to find they have been drawn away to Man utd in the next round.

# Robabody 2012-01-26 19:10
And I look forward to the day Jester when their first team realise they've been stranded in London, where no one wants them, and they have to pay their own way home.

# Suomi 2012-01-26 09:38
I just voted Yes in the Telegraph poll.Important psychologically to be ahead but it doesn't mean anything.I fully intend to vote YES in the real poll,either by proxy,or in person.I asked my local electoral registration office yesterday whether registered overseas voters could vote in the referendum.I was told that they do not know at the present time.Does anyone have any information on that one? Whatever,if necessary,I will relocate to Scotland in time to secure my vote,and work for a YES vote.My Finnish wife is very supportive since she like Scotland very much,and values independence of her country of 5 million people.

# farrochie 2012-01-26 19:19
Slippage on the YES vote in the Teleguff,

Yes 49.71% (4,795 votes)

No 50.29% (4,851 votes)

telegraph.co.uk/.../...

# mato21 2012-01-26 19:36
Have they changed the yes no spots round?

# cokynutjoe 2012-01-26 11:19
I thought Gordom Brown sold the gold to H.Samuel?
How about a government post for Lesley Riddoch?

# J Wil 2012-01-26 14:45
"How about a government post for Lesley Riddoch?"

She is far more effective where she is, i.e. semi-detached from the official government independence campaign. Coming orer as a non-aligned voice.

Like Joan McAlpine who was doing a better job of putting the independence cause before she was co-opted as an MSP. She did many interesting articles revealing facts about the unionist and media which she is inhibited from doing by her position now. Like the one about the connection within unionist families, pointing to a kind of corruption of democracy.

It is difficult to pigeonhole these people if they are not directly attached to the SNP and as such they sound more convincing.

# Legerwood 2012-01-26 17:20
No Sold to Ratners.

# Stakhanov 2012-01-26 11:34
The malice directed North from the comments today in the Daily Mail is truly breathtaking.

# Jester 2012-01-26 12:52
Quoting Stakhanov:
The malice directed North from the comments today in the Daily Mail is truly breathtaking.

I try not to read that. No good for my blood pressure. You can almost smell the hate...

# velofello 2012-01-26 12:11
Re last night's BBC debate,watching Lamont's hands as she spoke
I had the image of her mixing dough. Was she a domestic science teacher before her politics "career"?
Increasingly felt a bit sorry for Wallace. Fits the image of a placeman. No original thinking but obedient.

# J Wil 2012-01-26 16:45
I think she would like to be a mixer, but it doesn't come off.

# sneckedagain 2012-01-26 16:02
Jim Wallace rose without trace and ascended far above his level of any political competence years ago. His position is due entirely to his flawless sychophancy like Lord George Robertson but unlike Lord Watson of Zippo whose promotion to the red seats was to sideline a continuous embarrassment.
They couldn't keep the similar Lord Fffoulkes down however. He re-appeared in the Scottish Parliament (when he wasn't signing in early morning at the House of Lords for his daily allowance)

# Marga B 2012-01-26 16:56
O/T and not sure where to put it, but found this nice comment on the Guardian Social Enterprise Network forum today:

"However, having moved to Scotland and worked in the social enterprise sector in England myself - I find the sector very "social" and committed to making a difference. The fact that Scotland is smaller means that the sector are very well connected. The involvement and commitment from the Scottish Government to social enterprise is more evident as they work closely with the various organisations, when I was in England it felt like Westminster was far away."

# ace182 2012-01-26 18:40
As per Tartanfever thank you Newsnet Scotland for the audio. Many folks outside Scotland cannot always access radio or t.v. programmes so it is great to be able to find a link to listen to.

# Nautilus 2012-02-02 11:33
The English class system is the very thing that most Scots want shot of and here we have this unelected turncoat peer talking down to us. The forelock-tugging is over now. We don’t have to listen to ‘Lord’ Foulkes in his sinecure in the Upper House any more than any opinionated thicko down at the pub. Why doesn’t he go back to sleep like the rest of the useless, grasping old buffers in that retirement home and leave us in peace?

The BBC is helping our cause. An unelected Englishman of limited ideas driveling on about how we should run our referendum is like a red rag to a bull to most Scots. Another 100 independistas created?

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments