By Martin Kelly

The Scottish Government’s plans for an independence referendum have received a massive boost after the Electoral Reform Society (ERS) insisted that the ballot would be legal and there should be “no strings” imposed by London.

According to reports in the Herald newspaper the group, which is independent of political parties, has conducted research which has concluded that the democratically elected Scottish Government has the right to set the conditions under which the ballot will be held.

The group interviewed experts in legislative matters as well as researching the issues surrounding the referendum.

Speaking to the Herald, the society's spokesperson Juliet Swann said: "At the Electoral Reform Society Scotland we've spent time poring over legislation, talking to experts, taking on board opinions and mulling over the options that would best respect democracy.

"To that end, we are recommending the Scottish Parliament be provided with a no-strings-attached legal mandate to call a referendum at a time and with a question or questions of their choosing.

"We also believe that the Scottish Electoral Commission is best placed to monitor the referendum, but they should be accountable not to the Westminster Government but to all members of the Scottish Parliament."

The body have also indicated their support for the inclusion of sixteen and seventeen year olds in the ballot and argued that the extension of the franchise should be permanent.

Ms Swann also called upon Unionist parties to withdraw their demands that the vote be extended to include those living out-with Scotland, arguing that “the residency requirement is the one that best reflects democracy.”

Ms Swann added: "As a comparison we would suggest that decisions made by the London mayor affect those who work but do not live in London, visitors to London, and have an impact on the UK more widely, but only residents of London are eligible to vote in the mayoral elections."

The announcement follows comments yesterday from Dr Matt Qvortrup, a renowned expert in referendums, in which he again stated that there was no legal barrier to the Scottish Government holding a ballot.

“The basic principle in international law is that the seceding country (in this case Scotland) decides whether it wants to become independent.”

Calling on the Westminster Government to withdraw its legal threats he added:

"Generally speaking, independence is not an issue in which the 'mother country' has a direct say.  A country becomes independent when it is recognised by the international community."

The academic said that claims by Unionist politicians that the UK Supreme Court could block a referendum were not borne out by events last year when the court refused to declare an act of the Scottish Parliament void in a case brought by AXA insurance.

Dr Qvortrup went on:

“So unless London wants to follow the Soviet Union in 1990, it cannot block Scottish independence. The only ones who can do so are the Scottish voters and the Scottish administration. 

“Thus is the doctrine of self-determination, which has been recognised as a fundamental principle of international politics and law since it was established by US President Woodrow Wilson after the First World War.”

Welcoming the recent developments, Stewart Maxwell, SNP MSP for West Scotland and member of the Scotland Bill Committee, said:

“The ERS have spoken to experts and pored over legislation before coming to the conclusion that attaching strings is unacceptable and the referendum should be decided by the Scottish people and the Scottish parliament.

“This is welcome backing from an organisation that is fighting to improve UK democracy and championing the rights of voters.

“Only yesterday, constitutional expert Matt Qvortrup said the UK Government should back off from threatening legal action by the UK Supreme Court.

“The question now is will Westminster listen to these growing calls for the referendum to be made in Scotland and decided by the people of Scotland?

“I am also delighted that the ERS wants 16 and 17-year-olds to vote, endorsing the SNP’s stance for young adults to be able to vote in all elections.

“Young adults of this age should be given the right to have their say on Scotland’s future.

“In the face of this growing evidence that the referendum belongs to the people of Scotland, the anti-independence parties must rethink their stance and put the democratic rights of the people of Scotland at the top of their priorities.”

Meanwhile the Scottish Democratic Alliance is believed to have asked the Council of Europe to step in and monitor the independence referendum. 

The calls follow growing concerns of interference from Westminster which many Scots feel may be a contravention of the UN Charter on the right of peoples to self-determination.

Resentment is still felt amongst many Scots who witnessed the rigging of the Home Rule referendum by London in 1979 which meant that a result showing a majority in favour was ignored.

[Newsnet Scotland notice – Readers will be cheered to learn that the first month of 2012 saw Newsnet Scotland reach 75,000 unique visitors for the month – a record.  Current figures suggest that we are on target to exceed this total for February.

We would also like to inform readers that for legal reasons we have had to unpublish some comments, a few of which contained links.  This decision was taken in the best interests of this site and the policy will remain until further notice.]

Comments  

# pictic-1 2012-02-08 21:09
Yes, yes and yes again

heraldscotland.com/.../...

# exel 2012-02-08 22:03
I would like to take issue with a couple of points, in the consultation document issued on behalf of the Scottish National Party, regarding the upcoming referendum.

1) In his foreword the First minister says: “The people who live in Scotland are the best people to make decisions about Scotland’s future. They gave the Scottish Government an overwhelming majority in May 2011 because of a record of good government, a clear vision of the future and the promise of a referendum on independence.”

Whilst I agree wholeheartedly with his first statement, I disagree with the remainder of that paragraph.
He has no way of knowing for certain why the SNP, as the Scottish Executive, were granted that (disputable) majority from the Scottish people.

2) He also said: “Voting day will be just like any other election. The people will go to local polling stations, Mark the ballot paper and later the result will be declared. If the people vote yes, the Scottish Government would negotiate with the UK and move to secure the transfer of sovereignty and powers to the people of Scotland.”

No problem if you take this paragraph in isolation, but add the question “Do you agree that Scotland should be an independent country?” then there is a problem.

The question needs a bit of qualification I think? Perhaps “Do you agree that the Scottish Parliament should enter into secession negotiations with the UK parliament?” would be more honest way of expressing your intentions if we vote YES?

The treaty uniting us was made by the parliaments of Scotland and England, now the UK parliament.

# deepwater 2012-02-08 22:29
Exel:

Is it feasible for you to acknowledge democratic will?

In 1997 Scots went to the polls, the question was "do you agree there should be a Scottish parliament"

Almost 75% of us voted for a Scottish parliament - not an "executive".

Westminster chicanery after the vote, again, does not remove the democratic will of a sovereign electorate.

A parliament was what we voted for - by declaration of our duly elected representatives that's what we got.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-08 22:33
Quoting deepwater:
Almost 75% of us voted for a Scottish parliament - not an "executive".

We got a parliament. Within that parliament, the SNP currently form the government and are therefore the 'executive'.

# tartanfever 2012-02-08 22:48
The question needs a bit of qualification I think? Perhaps “Do you agree that the Scottish Parliament should enter into secession negotiations with the UK parliament?” would be more honest way of expressing your intentions if we vote YES?

Nope, I disagree with you exel. I think the question posed by the SNP is completely understandable as it is.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-08 23:05
Exel,

Can you clarify, are you talking about the consultation by the Scottish Government?? Or are you talking about an SNP document.

I think you are talking about the consultation document published by the Scottish Government, located here;

scotland.gov.uk/.../...

It is important that we are clear that this is a Government consultation, and NOT an SNP consultation.

# jafurn 2012-02-08 23:12
Exel
"He has no way of knowing for certain why the SNP, as the Scottish Executive, were granted that (disputable) majority from the Scottish people."

I would have thought 69 seats out of a possible 129 seats was an undisputed majority.

# chiefy1724 2012-02-09 09:58
Um....Scottish Executive. What's that again ? Is it in any way related to The Scottish Government.

Even Call-Me-Dave has dropped the "Executive" tag these days....

# Auld Bob 2012-02-09 13:52
The truth is simple. At Wesminster the Government is an elected body and the executive is the civil service. Got it now?

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-09 13:58
The parliament is an elected body, not the government. No one votes (theoretically) for a government, they vote for individuals to represent them. The government is the executive (distinct from parliament as the legislature and the judiciary). The civil service are simply a bureaucracy which serves to support the efficient operation of the executive. So Cameron's government is the UK executive and the SNP government is the Scottish executive.

en.wikipedia.org/.../...

# IamSparticus 2012-02-09 01:03
Quoting exel:
I would like to take issue with a couple of points, in the consultation document issued on behalf of the Scottish National Party, regarding the upcoming referendum.

1) In his foreword the First minister says: “The people who live in Scotland are the best people to make decisions about Scotland’s future. They gave the Scottish Government an overwhelming majority in May 2011 because of a record of good government, a clear vision of the future and the promise of a referendum on independence.”

Whilst I agree wholeheartedly with his first statement, I disagree with the remainder of that paragraph.
He has no way of knowing for certain why the SNP, as the Scottish Executive, were granted that (disputable) majority from the Scottish people.

Exel, If you disagree with the second part of the statement why do you think the people voted resoundingly for the SNP?

To say that the majority vote was disputable is pretty ridiculous considering the experts agreed that a majority was 'impossible'

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-09 01:58
I imagine he's disputing 'majority' on the basis of the SNP not getting 50+% of the votes. Majorities achieved with less than 50% of the vote don't count if it's not your party that achieves them. As it's never his party that achieves any sort of majority, this is difficult for Exel.

# Jake62 2012-02-09 13:10
Quoting exel:

I accept the first part. Obviously no government can ever know _absolutely_ why they were voted for. However, I think the 'disputable' comment is silly. As Canon Kenyon said in his recent letter to David Cameron . . .

" Despite the fact that the electoral system in Scotland, which I had a hand in devising, was intended to be proportional and therefore to ensure that no party got an overall majority; to our surprise the SNP achieved that. This means quite simply that the present Scottish Government is more democratically representative of Scotland than yours is of the UK."

No electoral system is perfect, and they can all be improved, but ours is pretty representative and realistically the result can't be challenged.

Sounds as if you have a serious case of sour bum-grapes, there.

Jake

# hiorta 2012-02-09 16:06
""The treaty uniting us was made by the parliaments of Scotland and England, now the UK parliament"" exel

It was also made on the views of a mere handful of the Scottish population with ownership of property over a certain value a basic qualifying requirement.

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-09 18:57
Are you being serious exel ?
I told you before the fewer words the better.

INDEPENDENCE ....Y / N would suit me just fine. We Scots are not dummies.

# Caadfael 2012-02-10 10:34
Aye Jim, I've said that too, even the dummies amongst us can understand that!
Best of all, cameroon and the rest of wastemonster cant call it biased in any way shape or form!

# colin8652 2012-02-08 21:09
well done NNS keep up the good work lets make it 100 000 visitors this month

# RTP 2012-02-08 21:16
I think before the local elections you will see another surge in members going by the state of Lab at today's budget all negativity.

# The_Duke 2012-02-08 21:15
Well done NNS. Heres to a bright future for all of Scotland!

# UpSpake 2012-02-08 21:16
In fact, calling on Westminster to withdraw all its threats is absoultely the minimum required and the Scots goverment should repel all such nonsense coming from the London establishment.
An objective observer could be forgiven for thinking they were witnessing the end of the Union. That is in fact what is happening for, whatever the outcome of the referendum which is 100% Scotlands to call, things will never be the same again.
The London establishment can bluster all they like they will be seen as nothing more than spoilt children by the international community and as it stands, no matter which view you take on this, Mr. Salmond holds all the ace cards. He knows it and London knows it so while they make fools of themselves on the international stage throwing their toys out of the pram, Scotland quietly goes its own way. Bye Bye Union some of it was great while it lasted, much of it wasn't. We are going our seperate ways, not before time.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-08 23:07
Well, well, well, well, said. It is the end of this current union, no matter what the result. London has 2 years to get used to it.

# johnlove54 2012-02-09 11:40
well done upspake but have you not noticed in the past 2 weeks that the people in the Falkland Islands have been constantly told that they have the right to Free Self Determination as Margaret Thatcher said in a t.v.interview during the war in 1982 when she then said the Peoples wishes were absolutley paramount. so to put it short the Westminster parliment stay out of our referendum because it is none of their business

# Keef2014 2012-02-08 21:26
Win, win, win and win and NNS is winning too. Hope the trend continues. Well done.

# peter,aberdeenshire 2012-02-08 21:26
In case you missed this reported by BBC Scotland, which by the way it was not, BP are to invest £1.7 billion in the North Sea, just imagine how much they would invest it it was not for the uncertainty over the independence referendum eh!!
Also in the news the next big fuel "fire ice" could be under the coast off Scotland, can anyone tell me why Westminster would want to keep such an impoverished basket case in the union???

# tartanfever 2012-02-08 22:49
They must be mad Peter ! I mean, we're just pure mental brilliant.

# G.Macp 2012-02-08 21:27
What great news from the ERS and viewing figures!This has become my daily or multiple daily visit site!
Thanks for all the great work and articles!

# bringiton 2012-02-08 21:28
The only people who should be eligible to have involvement with either the Yes or No campaigns are those who are registered on the Scottish electoral role.
Anyone else should be told to butt out (especially former public school boys from south of the border).
Apologies to any ex pats who contribute to this web site but I am sure they know where I am coming from.

# dogbite 2012-02-08 22:01
bringiton I have a brother in Exeter and a sister in Portsmouth and both feel they have nothing to contribute to the referendum as they will not be affected by the decisions made in Scotland directly.

well done NNS as someone else said lets make it a 100,000 this month

# proudscot 2012-02-08 22:50
Quoting dogbite:
bringiton I have a brother in Exeter and a sister in Portsmouth and both feel they have nothing to contribute to the referendum as they will not be affected by the decisions made in Scotland directly.

well done NNS as someone else said lets make it a 100,000 this month

I agree dogbite, I have two sons living and working down in England, both of whom support Scottish independence, and both of whom understand and agree that only those resident in Scotland should have the right to vote in the referendum.

# greenbean 2012-02-09 12:17
If your sons are feeling out of things, there is a branch of the SNP for expat Scots which could give them some kind of focus and sense of purpose, namely the London Branch. Apart from a regular programme of speakers and other events, the Branch also exists on Facebook, Twitter, has a monthly newsletter and a new website that’ll be up any day now.
If people contact me, I can forward their messages to the Membership Secretary. I afraid that a direct link isn’t available currently, due to technical problems.

# DonMc 2012-02-09 07:09
Quoting bringiton:
The only people who should be eligible to have involvement with either the Yes or No campaigns are those who are registered on the Scottish electoral role.
Anyone else should be told to butt out (especially former public school boys from south of the border).
Apologies to any ex pats who contribute to this web site but I am sure they know where I am coming from.

I totally agree. Here in the antipodes I yearn for independence, but as I now reside in Melbourne I should have no vote on the matter. Much as I would love to, even thought of trying to get home so I could vote, alas it is not to be.

# Exile 2012-02-09 09:56
No need for apologies, bringiton. I want a vote. I'm hoping to be able to return in time (even if just temporarily). But to open the vote up to the diaspora would be technically awkward and potentially open up a can of worms.

# balbeggie 2012-02-08 21:30
o/t

Commenting on the adoption today by the Scottish Parliament of the Scottish Budget for 2012-13, Scottish Building Federation Chief Executive Michael Levack said:

“Given the apparent limited room for manoeuvre, the construction sector will welcome Mr. Swinney’s announcement today that he will commit additional public funding in the coming financial year to support housebuilding, roads and transport, and college infrastructure.

“When times are as tough as this, it’s more crucial than ever that public investment delivers maximum added value. Just as important as today’s budget announcement is promised legislation to streamline public procurement and ensure the tendering system starts delivering for Scottish businesses of all sizes. The sooner that legislation is in place, the sooner we can ensure today’s budget becomes the budget for growth the Scottish Government wants it to be.”

# alicmurray 2012-02-08 21:47
Great news all round. Congratulations NNS.

# Gaavster 2012-02-08 21:51
Well done one and all at Newsnet!!

You are a beacon of light and a breath of fresh air in the dark morass otherwise known as the MSM...

We all have a duty to support the unpaid volunteers at this site and keep spreading the word

We shouldn't underestimate the effect that the truths found here have on the rest of the populace who have been 'conditioned' into thinking a particular way

Let's get the facts out there folks

# Macart 2012-02-08 22:18
Good news all round. Well done NNS 100K hoving into view. Kepp up the good work.

# Giles 2012-02-08 22:20
Great news . Well done NewsnetScotland .

I print Newsnetscotland .com

on all correspondence whether its a bill I'm paying, or sending cards, Christmas, birthdays etc.,

Great news all around

On the outside and insideofthe envelope

# Robert Louis 2012-02-08 23:10
Yes, it's a good idea, or you can have it as part of an E-mail signature too.

# Jim1320 2012-02-08 22:20
That's the ERS off Johann's Xmas card list.

PS Which links should we steer clear of? A step for a hint would be handy to avoid de-publishing (sounds nasty)

# caithness warbler 2012-02-08 22:29
Well done NNS! Keep up the good work!

# Davy 2012-02-08 22:29
This is first class news and a well done to NNS, "the truth is out there" due to yourselfs and your many contributers.

Now I am on my way to pass on the good news to my many friends at tory-hoose and labour-hame. BIG SMILE BIG BIG SMILE.

# Kinghob 2012-02-08 22:32
A lot of questions about the referendum (all suddenly poised by westminster and their media this year with a few notable exceptions of fair play) have been answered and proper scrutiny of the referendum has been done except.........

What about the electoral commission being able to change the question, (and lets be honest we know that this would be skewed to suit the union in some manner) posited by some in the lords and westminster?

Could that happen or would the Scottish Parliament have to approve any changes as the electoral commission would have to report to it?

# oldnat 2012-02-08 22:37
In reality, the Electoral Commission would have to publish their technical analysis of the proposed question, and any suggested changes based on that evidence to the Scottish Parliament.

If they came up with an obviously biased alternative, then they could be instructed to put that variant to field testing as well.

At the end of the day, this is why the question of who legislates as to the final version of the question is what really matters.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-08 23:11
The electoral commission can advise on the question, but cannot force change.

# proudscot 2012-02-08 22:59
Now now clootie, don't be uncharitable, Exel has a democratic right to his/her opinion, even the right to have a wee snide dig at our "wee pretendy parliament" by referring to it as the Executive. I'm sure his/her heroes in the Westminster Executive would agree.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-08 23:57
I've no time for Exel's brand of sophistry, but referring to the executive as the executive is not a 'dig'. The Scottish Government are the Scottish Executive in the Scottish Parliament, just as the ConDem's are the UK Executive in the UK Parliament.

en.wikipedia.org/.../...

# Exile 2012-02-09 10:01
Come on, Jiggsbro. Yes, they are the executive branch of government. But to call them the Scottish Executive, with capital initial letters, is clearly a dig. It wasn't for nothing that the SNP adopted the title Scottish Government in 2007.

# Stevie Cosmic 2012-02-09 11:21
There's actually an amendment to the Scotland Act to excise all references to 'executive' with regard to Holyrood and replace it with 'Government'.

# Highland Tiger 2012-02-09 15:37
Exel wrote the exact same comment in the Herald under the name of Alex Sloan from Fife.

heraldscotland.com/.../...

# exel 2012-02-09 15:47
Highland Tiger 2012-02-09 14:37
“Exel wrote the exact same comment in the Herald under the name of Alex Sloan from Fife.”

Is that a problem? It is my name.

# Highland Tiger 2012-02-09 18:46
I didn't say it was a problem, why should it be?

The comment I was replying to had "his/her" when referring to you, I was just pointing this fact out for future reference.

# clootie 2012-02-08 22:34
Oops! that didn't go to unionist plan.

Everyone here will be happy with this news (apart from exel as usual!)

# exel 2012-02-09 15:12
clootie 2012-02-08 21:34
"Oops! that didn't go to unionist plan.
Everyone here will be happy with this news (apart from exel as usual!)"

Exel posted this little gem months ago. Only trouble is the Scotland Act is stuck in Westminster.

# Kinghob 2012-02-08 22:36
Quote:
Do you agree that Scotland should be an Independent country?

Perfectly simple and understandable question and will be more so for those unable to grasp this question as the next two years go by!

# Welsh Sion 2012-02-08 22:37
Completely O/T but I know that I'll be read and for me to acknowledge that I'm pleased to be back amongst friends.

To let you know I'm back from my successful appearance exhibiting for Wales and the Welsh language at Expolangues France in Paris for the most of last week.

Encouragingly, I had 12 students in my demo lesson (given through the mediums of francais and Cymraeg) and was regularly ambushed by those wanting to know the significance of the red draqon flag on my back.

I hope I didn't miss too much in my absence and I look forward to working with you again very soon for the good of Cymru and Alba.

Best wishes,

Welsh Sion

# tartanfever 2012-02-08 22:54
Hi Sion,

Good to hear you had a successful time in Paris, hope you got some time off to enjoy the city.

It's been the same old here, usual ups and downs, lies - counterclaims etc, and our glorious leader being kicked off the BBC at the weekend !

All the best.

# uilleam_beag 2012-02-09 06:29
Welcome back, Sion, and it's good to hear Expolangues was a success. Keep up the good work!

# govanite 2012-02-08 22:41
Almost as vital as a victory for Independence is the demonstration of the principle that Scotland alone can decide and that westminster will never have any veto.

# Mark 2012-02-08 22:53
Live long and prosper, Scotland

# tartanfever 2012-02-08 22:57
Davidson is not going to be happy with this - he might have to head over to give the ERS a 'doing'..

NNS - bit confused with your announcement regarding the links contained in posts. Are you saying that you would no longer like us to put these links in our posts ? or are you just going to mod them as you go along ?

# oldnat 2012-02-08 23:02
I think most links are acceptable, but where there are possible legal issues (which posters may not be aware of), they will need to be modded.

# balbeggie 2012-02-08 23:05
Another Glasgow Labour Cllr resignation

local.stv.tv/.../...

and then there were none?

# tartanfever 2012-02-08 23:18
As the article says, if this carries on, they won't be able to pass their budget, and then the S*** will really hit the fan.

Maybe the BBC might report it !

# Tom66 2012-02-08 23:23
Quoting balbeggie:
Another Glasgow Labour Cllr resignation

local.stv.tv/.../...

and then there were none?

A spokesman for Scottish Labour said

"being a Labour councillor isn't a job for life."

How true will this comment be after May's election.

# jafurn 2012-02-08 23:26
What an indictment from the Councillor...

local.stv.tv/.../...

Speaking to STV Glasgow, Councillor Millar said: "It’s a decision that was hard to take. It’s just the way things have happened recently, I felt excluded, there was an inner circle I wasn’t part of.

"It’s a party within a party and I thought it’s not for me.

"The last straw came at the last Labour group meeting. There’s a long standing agenda item at the group for campaigning. But before it was discussed, everyone got up to leave.

"A colleague asked the deputy leader why we hadn’t talked about it yet and he said it would be discussed at an individual ward basis from now on.

"I thought, no one has told me this, no one has asked me, ‘what are the issues in my ward?’ I felt uncomfortable, I felt as though I shouldn’t be there, It was wrong."

# Exile 2012-02-09 10:07
Thanks balbeggie. I particularly liked the bit at the end:

"A spokesman for Scottish Labour said: "Anne Marie Millar was deselected some months ago and so is unable to stand as a Labour candidate at May's election.

"We have chosen the best candidates to go forward from over 100 applicants, and so we've had to make some tough decisions, but being a Labour councillor isn't a job for life. We wish Anne Marie all the best in the future.""

Maybe it used to be a job for life. But no more.

# call me dave 2012-02-08 23:06
Excellent news on all fronts today.

It's amazing how far we have travelled along the long hard road and to be so close to success now is a tantalising prospect.

Just the 'question' to be validated and then fight our corner to the vote.

Might see Scotland independent in my lifetime after all!

You younger ones, from what I read on NNS and in my local community, are able and confident enough to make this country a great place to live in the future.

Well done to everyone.

# nchanter 2012-02-08 23:09
fantastic NNS It is my first port of call for my morning reading usually my last. Great work.

# Exile 2012-02-09 10:08
Same here.

# nchanter 2012-02-08 23:24
Strange, we now have three Labour Cllrs preparing to stand as independend. could there be something in the water?

# Exile 2012-02-09 10:10
Could it be that the old lead waterpipes in the city have been gradually replaced with non-toxic ones and people are now more able to think clearly and see Glasgow Labour for what they really are?

# ianbeag 2012-02-08 23:25
Good news on two fronts - many congratulations to NNS and to the writers who sacrifice their time to deliver the best and fairest coverage of the most significant event of our generation. The visitor numbers will steadily rise as more Scots discover this resource. The ERS statement will help to silence Foulkes and Forsyth and the rest of the Westminster nasties.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-08 23:31
Anent the BBC. Auld Acquaintance has produced an excellent and encouraging article for all of us who are sick of the BBC's failure to provide balanced and impartial facts. He has listed the requirements of all State Broadcasters according to the Council of Europe Guidelines. Required reading for us all, and especially for the FM before he meets Patten this week. Click here .../#comment-567

# cjmasta 2012-02-09 00:31
Is it just me or does the BBC constantly refer to the Scottish Government as the SNP, They did it tonight and Scotland today used the Scottish Government when talking about the budget.

# cardrossian 2012-02-09 08:11
"Meanwhile the Scottish Democratic Alliance is believed to have asked the Council of Europe to step in and monitor the independence referendum."

I can assure readers that the SDA has stepped in and asked the Council of Europe and the Organisation for Security and Co-operation to monitor the situation and to insist that Westminster, as a signatory to the United Nations Charter, obeys international law, and butts out - totally.
Its all very well for the ERS and others to spout about what they think should happen but in the absense of any effort from the SNP to have the law actually applied, it has been left to the SDA to act. Actions speak much louder than words
Anyone wishing a pdf copy of the memorandum which has been sent to the CoE should contact me on sdacaithness@bt internet.com

# Displaced Patriot 2012-02-09 09:43
The ERS statement will help to silence Foulkes and Forsyth and the rest of the Westminster nasties

I very much doubt that Ian ,these toadies in the unelected second chamber have to much to lose personally ,and they will continue to spew bile and scaremonger right up to the day of reckoning.

# DonaldMhor 2012-02-09 10:50
Excel said:

Quote:

I would suggest there are three glaring flaws in that statement.

1) As has been pointed out to you on may occasions it is "The Scottish Government" not the executive. Using that term suggest a certain amount of bitterness and negativity from you as most of your contributions suggest. Are you Richard Baker?

2) The SNP have very sophisticated tools at their disposal for analysing voters activities and intentions. They also have a very active army of foot soldiers who do the hard slogging. So much so that it has caused great shocks to reverberate around Scotland at election times, as the dazed and confused unionists have discovered to their considerable cost.

3) The result of last years election has not been disputed by anyone.

_______________ _______________ ____________

Congratulations to NNS on your success and long may you prosper.

SAOR ALBA

# Barontorc 2012-02-09 11:14
It's not rocket science thinking to tie in the ERS statement, welcome as it is, to the SDA's approach to the Council of Europe for external monitoring of the upcoming referendum process. They have really squeezed the toothpaste out of the tube - and there's no way of getting it back in again.

Many congratulations also to NNS for reaching this milestone of public appreciation. There's absolutely no doubt that NNS has been a forum for independence and has welded together many isolated bloggers who all shine a bright light on Scotland's past, present and future well-being.

# Mac 2012-02-09 11:39
Great news - now we can have a proper debate and not one based on fear and intimidation by Westminster and Whitehall.

# Nautilus 2012-02-09 12:01
#Dogbite and #Bringiton
Agree with you both.

Anyone who has found a job in England has gone there because the opportunities are better. They are contributing to depopulation of Scotland. From experience, hardly any return and are unlikely to be affected by the results of the referendum. Therefore they should have no say in it.

The Scots who vote ‘yes’ in the referendum want to create more prosperous opportunities up here, slowing down or stopping depopulation.

I spent more than 20 years of my productive life down there contributing to the English economy, because there were only a few badly paid jobs in my field in Scotland. I'm back now.

Vote ‘yes’ and improve the prospects for Scots.

# dpict 2012-02-09 12:13
I could have left for work reasons many years ago but to me that would be a failure,i would rather be happy but skint than live somewhere i dont like for financial gain only.

Congrats NNS great work.

# the wallace 2012-02-09 13:25
The case of wastemonster and the ebc, trying to ursup scotlands democratic rights cannot be alowed to continue any longer.The SDA were quite right to report them to europe,somethin g the snp should have done before now.Wouldnt it be sweet irony indeed, if it were those johnny foreighners from europe that exposed wastemonster and their puppets in the ebc to the world, of their underhanded and anti democratic bias towards scotland.

# James 2012-02-10 00:51
The SDA reported the referendum issue to two of the five major European organisations, the 47-member Council of Europe in Strasbourg, and the 56-member Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe, in Vienna. Both of them have special functions on human rights, the rule of law, pluralist democracy, and civic and political rights.

The Memorandum calls for intervention by these organisations to uphold Scotland's rights under international law, and to take over supervision and monitoring of the referendum itself. The OSCE Parliament in Copenhagen has to date monitored over 130 national elections and referenda with more than 30,000 diplomatic observers in order to ensure fairness and prevent imbalance and corruption.

Scotland's right to self-determination is absolutely guaranteed under international law that supersedes any relevant legislation passed by Westminster. The SDA stressed this by quoting the relevant legal paragraphs, and by backing these up with its statement of Scotland's Status as a Nation. These documents can all be consulted in the Constitution-Independence section of the SDA website: .../independence

Anyone who would like a copy of the CoE/OSCE Memorandum itself should apply to the contact address given on the SDA website, or to the address given in Cardrossian's post above.

# James 2012-02-10 01:09
I should perhaps add that it was action by the Council of Europe, at the instigation of the Scotland-UN Committee, that forced the restoration of the Scottish Parliament and Government in 1999. The story can be read in the Scotland-UN Committee papers at www.realmofscotland.com .

The Scotland-UN diplomatic expertise is now vested in the SDA, which used the same tactic of "saturation bombing" the CoE and OSCE to ensure that the UK Government would not be able to have the matter swept under the carpet. This involved sending the Memorandum not only to the general secretariats of the two organisations, but also to every one of the 56 member governments individually. The issue can no longer be kept secret and must eventually result in action.

# exel 2012-02-09 14:49
deepwater 2012-02-08 21:29
If I understand what you are saying in this post: “A parliament was what we voted for - by declaration of our duly elected representatives that's what we got.”

I have never, in my many posts on the subject, disputed the fact that Scotland has a parliament.

Under the present unwritten constitution of the UK, The Westminster parliament is the UK parliament and The Scottish Parliament the subsidiary (devolved) parliament. The SNP are the executive (at the moment) of The Scottish Parliament.

All I have said is that the constitutional position we are in now, does not appear to be what the Scottish people wish. Not because of petty PARTY squabbles, but because the democracy presently operating in the UK is not to their taste.

So I submit that the problem is twofold.
No constitution defining how our democracy is to work and an electoral system which does not reflect the true wishes of the electorate.

We need to change to a constitutional democracy, where our representatives reflect the wishes of the represented and adhere to a Written Constitution.

IMHO
Alex Sloan

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-10 01:14
So we need a new constitution and a new electoral system..and there's no prospect of getting either from Westminster, so independence is the logical solution. Glad to have you on board with that, exel.

# exel 2012-02-10 01:39
Jiggsbro 2012-02-10 00:14
“So we need a new constitution and a new electoral system..and there's no prospect of getting either from Westminster, so independence is the logical solution. Glad to have you on board with that, exel.”

There you go again J, taking what I say out of context and coming to the wrong conclusion.

Independence is what I would vote for, if you can convince me that the Scottish people would get a new constitution and a new electoral system, by saying YES in the “not so imminent” referendum, but you have lots of time.

It is beyond what Westminster can offer, at the moment, but they also have time to realise they have to do the same.

So roll on the debate, I just hope, the PARTY bickering stops.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-10 01:56
There you go again, e, imagining that 'context' changes what you said but not quite managing to explain how.

I didn't take what you said 'out of context', I simply extrapolated from it to form a conclusion. Not a wrong conclusion - and again, you don't even attempt to explain why you think it's wrong - simply one you disagree with. Do you perhaps believe we will get either a new constitution or a new voting system from Westminster any time soon? Are you aware that the Scottish parliament already has a PR system? Are you aware that there was a referendum on changing the voting system for Westminster and it was roundly rejected? Are you aware that there is no move whatsoever to change - or even codify - the constitution of the UK? Are you aware that the purpose of the consultation on the independence referendum covers issues like the constitution of an independent Scotland? Are you aware that there's a damn sight more chance that that consultation will produce a new constitution than there is that one will spontaneously spring out of Westminster? Are you aware that the voting system in an independent Scotland can be discussed - I know you don't really like substantive discussion, but here's an opportunity to state what you think is wrong with the current system - as part of that consultation?

I think you are aware of all these things, which makes me wonder what it is you're trying to achieve with the vague, insubstantial negativity and sophistry you deploy here. If you want these things to be discussed, stop telling us that you want them discussed and start discussing them.

# exel 2012-02-10 15:11
Jiggsbro 2012-02-10 00:56
My post in full: “All I have said is that the constitutional position we are in now does not appear to be what the Scottish people wish. Not because of petty PARTY squabbles, but because the democracy presently operating in the UK is not to their taste."
So I submit that the problem is twofold.
No constitution defining how our democracy is to work and an electoral system which does not reflect the true wishes of the electorate.
We need to change to a constitutional democracy, where our representatives reflect the wishes of the represented and adhere to a Written Constitution.”

No amount of “extrapolation” can draw the conclusion: “So we need a new constitution and a new electoral system..and there's no prospect of getting either from Westminster, so independence is the logical solution. Glad to have you on board with that, exel.”

You either agree on disagree with my diagnosis of the problem as stated. I explained what conclusion my diagnosis led me to.” We need to change to ………….”
Maybe you could explain how your “extrapolation” got you to the conclusion that:
a) Westminster will not change. Or b) that I agree Independence is the logical conclusion.

# Davy 2012-02-09 15:57
Is it just me? but I dont seem to be hearing anything about the ERS - statement on the BBC, STV etc have I missed it ???

Also after watching "Johann's" performance on FM question time may I hope and pray they keep her on as labours leader at least until after the referendum. What part of we had no bids to produce "fabricated steel " for the new forth bridge from Scotland did she not understand. It beggers believe.

# DonaldMhor 2012-02-09 17:42
Quoting Davy:
Is it just me? but I dont seem to be hearing anything about the ERS - statement on the BBC, STV etc have I missed it ???

Also after watching "Johann's" performance on FM question time may I hope and pray they keep her on as labours leader at least until after the referendum. What part of we had no bids to produce "fabricated steel " for the new forth bridge from Scotland did she not understand. It beggers believe.

Like the FM pointed out and many have observed about Lamont, and Gray before her, they have prepared scripts, and do not have the intellectual capacity to think on their feet, when they do it always leads to bullet holes in their feet.

Lamont had the worst FMQs yet, as she stumbled and spluttered though her carefully rehearsed speech, "this is not a game" she announced. She is just so juvenile and full of tired old worn out clichés.

Even when the answer was delivered three times, she was unable to comprehend what had actually been said to her. It was painful but compulsive viewing.

# amfraeembro 2012-02-09 17:47
Quoting Davy:

I complained to the BBC about this bias by omission - also the non-reporting of the SDA'a approach to the CoE. Awaiting reply.

# Caadfael 2012-02-10 10:59
In Johann's dictionary "fabricated" only = something made up, a tissue of lies as opposed to something crafted, made for a specific purpose.
Wouldnt be too surprised if she also thinks it's really "fabricated steal"!!

# DonaldMhor 2012-02-09 17:36
excel....where can we see this "unwritten" constitution you hold so dear?

The Scottish Parliament was reconvened, they are devolved.

Quote:
Under the present unwritten constitution of the UK, The Westminster parliament is the UK parliament and The Scottish Parliament the subsidiary (devolved) parliament.

Now you are making stuff up to suit your own fantasies. A search of Chambers on line dictionary confirmed that there is no such word as "subsidiary." Stop this nonsense.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-09 17:48
We can argue whether the Scottish government is subsidiary, but it seems a little odd to claim the word itself doesn't exist.

# exel 2012-02-09 22:28
# Jiggsbro 2012-02-09 16:48
“We can argue whether the Scottish government is subsidiary, but it seems a little odd to claim the word itself doesn't exist.”

Donald seems to have a problem with spelling; maybe he should try The Oxford Dictionary with the spellchecker on.

Maybe look up “EXCEL” at the same time. Is he trying to flatter me or what?

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments