By a Newsnet reporter

Canon Kenyon Wright, the highly respected architect of Scottish Devolution and leading light in the Scottish Constitutional Convention which asserted the sovereignty of the Scottish people, has called attempts by the Westminster parliament to dictate the terms of the independence referendum "insulting".  

Canon Wright insisted that Scottish sovereignty is "non-negotiable", and has questioned the actions of the Lib Dems and Labour for reaffirming their commitment to the Scottish Claim of Right, whilst at the same time demanding that Westminster take the lead in determining the questions and timing of the independence referendum.

Speaking on the BBC's Good Morning Scotland programme on Tuesday, Canon Wright said:

"But there seems, to me, to be something which is actually, in the long run, non-negotiable and that is the idea that the Scottish Government has somehow to go cap-in-hand to London for permission to consult the Scottish people, and that seems to me to be totally unacceptable.

"And what’s even more unacceptable is that London can dictate what question, or questions and how many questions should be asked – that's particularly insulting. So it seems, to me, that that is actually non-negotiable, and the reason why it's non-negotiable is the Claim of Right for Scotland.

"Just a few days ago the Scottish Parliament, by a huge majority with only the Tories against, accepted - and I quote - 'the sovereign right of the Scottish people to determine their form of government' - end quote.  Now you can't say that and then go on to leave these crucial questions somehow to Westminster."

Canon Wright added:  "Michael Moore's party, like the Labour Party ... signed up to the Claim of Right for Scotland, so they cannot in good conscience logically and rationally deny the sovereignty of the Scottish people and the right, therefore, for these crucial decisions about how the referendum is held, what the questions should be, to be asked in Scotland."

The respected cleric is one of the figures at the helm of the Civic Scotland campaign calling for the third option of devo-max to be included on the referendum ballot alongside independence and the status-quo.  He has been joined by former Labour First Minister Henry McLeish along with Unions, third sector bodies and independent think tank Reform Scotland.

The Scottish Government are currently undertaking a consultation process on the referendum and have refused to rule out adding the option to the ballot.  However Unionist parties, led by Tory PM David Cameron, are demanding that the option be disallowed from the ballot and are instead calling for one clear question.

SNP MSP and convener of the Scottish Parliament’s Scotland Bill Committee, Linda Fabiani, commented on Canon Kenyon Wright's remarks saying:

"These are welcome comments from Canon Kenyon Wright and a stark warning to the Westminster government and the anti-independence parties about their behaviour.

"The UK Government, and in particular LibDem Ministers, should listen to Canon Kenyon Wright's warnings that Westminster must not attempt to dictate the terms of the referendum or the options to be offered.  He is correct when he says people who take a middle view should not be disenfranchised.

"The SNP will deliver the referendum in the autumn of 2014 and campaign for independence.  If opposition parties have any sense they will listen to the advice from people like Canon Kenyon Wright, take the debate seriously, and put forward a positive vision for the people of Scotland.

"With support for independence now neck-and-neck with opposition in two polls already this year, it is abundantly clear that the positive approach towards Scotland's future is winning over the negative approach from the anti-independence parties."

Comments  

# clootie 2012-02-15 00:08
Labour and LibDem politicians - answer that one!

# Macart 2012-02-15 08:04
Heh! He really did nail that one right on the head. :)

# pmcrek 2012-02-15 19:35
To find the answer to their calm demeanor surrounding the blatent hypocrisy of supporting votes at 16, Federalism, the Claim of Right, free university education, corporate accountability legislation and banking regulation, but NOT REALLY! We must go back to an American TV show from the 1960's.

"There is nothing wrong with your television set. Do not attempt to adjust the picture. We are controlling transmission. If we wish to make it louder, we will bring up the volume. If we wish to make it softer, we will tune it to a whisper. We will control the horizontal. We will control the vertical. We can roll the image, make it flutter. We can change the focus to a soft blur or sharpen it to crystal clarity. For the next hour, sit quietly and we will control all that you see and hear. We repeat: there is nothing wrong with your television set. You are about to participate in a great adventure. You are about to experience the awe and mystery which reaches from the inner mind to — The Outer Limits...."

# Fungus 2012-02-15 00:14
OK but wait until London tell us what to say.

# ButeHouse 2012-02-15 02:53
Eh Fungus, any more of your lip my lad and you'll find yourself on the naughty step :0)

# call me dave 2012-02-15 00:24
This is all well and good but if there is only the one question what are the civic Scotland lobby going to do?

Surely it's inconceivable that they will sit on their hands and allow their opportunity to slip past and rely on the UK parliament to provide for our needs.

They should turn their back on the 'status quo'/ Scotland bill and look towards independence. Even they will realise that there is no way back now and that the UK parliament will claw back as much power as they can, neutering the Scottish Government's attempt to move the country forward.

Scotland's policies will be subsumed over time and we can kiss goodbye to our NHS and free prescriptions and education. It is too awful to contemplate.

I expect a clear lead from them that if there is only the one question it must be independence.

PS:

Ms Lamont and Ms Curren instead of spraying poisonous comments about 'The First Eck' not bending the knee to Moore and his talk to the people in Liverpool yesterday you should be looking in the mirror and asking yourselves

Maybe I should extract the digit and make a statement about what's being going on in Glasgow. . . Now what was that football teams name again!

Aye Right!

# Robert Louis 2012-02-15 09:14
IWell said, I'd like Salmond to turn up at the meeting with Cameron, hear the demands, and then just say what you have;

'Aye right!'.

# Barontorc 2012-02-15 00:26
It's a pleasure and strength to have such voices on the side of democracy and independent thinking.

And for the Tories to have voted against the Claim of Right, virtually guarantees their total extinction in Scotland.

The very eloquent, almost valedictory article, by Ian Hamilton QC says it all about a personal approach to Scotland's future.

I have less and less fears that the YES vote will not win the day, when I see the likes of these opinions being so positively voiced.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-15 09:37
I wish we had more free thinking Scottish students now, in the mould of Ian Hamilton.

The man and his compatriots who used their intelligence to challenge the status quo, and 'London knows best' are legends.

I wish he was just in his first year of University again, too.

# FREEDOM1 2012-02-15 11:46
I watched Stone of Destiny with Charlie Cox,Robert Carlyle etc yesterday. It still brings a tear to my eye. Great film.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-15 00:39
The plain fact is that no matter what Wastemonster does now they are on a hiding to nothing. It ain't, as they say, rocket science. It will play out like this. If Westminster continue the way they are going now, with the scare stories, lies and nterferance in the Scottish Government's referendum arrangements or the actual question then, after the actual vote, if we fail, Eck goes to The Council of Europe with the complaint that the Wastemonster Parliament has influanced or interfered with the due process of their legitimate rights to hold a referendum without the larger countries interferance. If we win then we have won.

Eck is not daft and he is playing them like trout on the end of a line. Every move he makes counters every thing they do and say. Every one is another bit of proof of their interferance. Moore's little visit and the questions he has asked are clear interferance that directly goes against everything the Council Of Europe has laid down as a No! no! Even the BBC as a state broadcaster is against the CofE guielines. Oor Eck already has them by the short and curlies. Thet just don't know it yet.

# deepwater 2012-02-15 01:53
Consider well that the dossier supplied about BBC lack of impartiality was not supplied for the benefit of the BBC alone..

# oldnat 2012-02-15 02:36
Precisely.

# Macart 2012-02-15 08:08
He did point out that we've been thinking about this independence thing for a long time. ;)

# Keef 2012-02-15 00:43
Now there speaks a man who KNOWS the score. It's over, finito, there is no more to be said.

Scotland will say WHEN.
Scotland will say WHO.
Scotland will DECIDE.

It's too late London! You had your chance. You can play your "dis- respect" agenda for as long as you like. We are no longer listening.
Scotland has at long last woken up. It's onwards and upwards from here on in.

P.S. If Mr. Cameron wants a heads up as to what our First Minister will be saying come Thursday, swot up on my first two paragraphs.

# Arthur G 2012-02-15 01:56
Quoting Keef:
Now there speaks a man who KNOWS the score. It's over, finito, there is no more to be said.

Scotland will say WHEN.
Scotland will say WHO.
Scotland will DECIDE.

It's too late London! You had your chance. You can play your "dis- respect" agenda for as long as you like. We are no longer listening.
Scotland has at long last woken up. It's onwards and upwards from here on in.

P.S. If Mr. Cameron wants a heads up as to what our First Minister will be saying come Thursday, swot up on my first two paragraphs.

"...Scotland has at long last woken up. It's onwards and upwards from here on in..."

Just by way of endorsing your remarks, while canvassing for the Glasgow City Council elections we are required to ask people's view on the independence referendum. After excluding those who state a preference for voting SNP, the overwhelming number of whom are for independence or willing to be persuaded, there remains a great deal of people who state a preference for other parties who are also in favour of or willing to be persuaded on the merits of independence. The number of those who dismiss independence outright is very small.

Now, I am fully aware that this sample only reflects the findings of myself and my colleagues in one constituency, albeit one that includes a large housing scheme as well as lower-middle class and middle class districts(if we are still allowed to use such terms)and one village the majority of whose residents could be considered 'affluent'. Nevertheless, if this data were to be reflected throughout Scotland and converted in the referendum, then independence would be assured.

# Keef 2012-02-15 05:08
Arthur. I don't doubt the sentiments you are coming across. Infact I'd venture to say that this IS the majority's sentiment. The only reason it is not taken as fact is becuase the MSM would never dare let this into print.
I give you the polls before the May 2011 election. None of them showed the huge mandate that was sitting waiting for the SNP. Likewise, I'm sure none will show the huge YES vote either. However, I'm more than confident the real poll i.e. the vote proper will result in a YES vote by as big as 65%.

# call me dave 2012-02-15 01:26
O/ T slighty

BBC Scotland home page

Westminster committee has asked the Scottish Government to answer 6 questions on independence!

More grist to the mill.

# Edna Caine 2012-02-15 01:50
O/T - no way

bbc.co.uk/.../...

Six "unanswered questions"
1. Bank regulation / same as now
2. Pensions / we can afford them
3. Currency / are they Buenos? It's been answered - the poond!
4. National debt / OK, no problem. Balanced by national assets
5. Passports / I despair!
6. Defence / Classified for reasons of national security. Butt off!

One can only agree with Stewart Hosie's comments.

# Holebender 2012-02-15 01:36
The days of Westminster politicians telling Scotland what to do are over!

# Keef 2012-02-15 01:49
Oh but that sounds so sweet when you say it, does it not .

# megsmaw 2012-02-15 18:05
I never thought I'd see the day! I'm already excited about 2014, and the possiblities for our country!

# Old Smokey 2012-02-15 01:57
A bit O/T
Apparently the UK Government are going to crack down on binge drinking, by introducing minimum pricing. Wonder where they got that idea?
Which is quite strange considering the same political parties in England that are going to introduce it in England have faught against the Scottish Government for trying to introduce it in Scotland. Perhaps now people in Scotland will realise how hypocritical the London parties are
dailymail.co.uk/.../...
telegraph.co.uk/.../...

# Roll_On_2011 2012-02-15 02:12
Aye Old Smokey and these are the numpties, on both sides of the border, whom have recently argued that it would be illegal under EU law.

I mean you could not make this kind of stuff up if you tried.

After Independence someone should look back at this section of history and write a book about what the unionist’s have said. They would make a fortune. Classify it under Novel: Comedy. In fact the books title could be ‘A comedy of errors - MkII’.

# Keef 2012-02-15 02:31
The U.K. - My part in it's downfall by D. Cameron.

Advance sales of this (soon to be classic)book are quite staggering.

# Lupus Incomitatus 2012-02-15 07:53
Anyone able to "Channel" Spike Milligan?

He has the template in his book, "Adolf Hoitler, my part on his downfall"

# Matrix 2012-02-15 16:52
The same place they got the Council tax freeze. Same place they got the idea to no longer take part in a Union that was letting their people down.

# ButeHouse 2012-02-15 02:57
Great to see Canon Wright back on his white charger. He commands huge respect among the neutrals and having been all through it before he knows all the tricks Westminster is likely to pull.

More to the point if he, rather than Alex highlights Westminster skulduggery it is more likely to be believed. Welcome aboard Rev.

VOTE YES

# Macart 2012-02-15 08:22
Well said Canon Wright. Although the good Canon is more devolution oriented he certainly nailed it with his counter questions and oh how the Libdems and Labour must be spinning. You cannot be a signatory of the Claim of Right and support the stance of Westminster.

So what's it to be guys? Who do you serve? The people of Scotland or Westminster?

Your answer on a postcard please to First Minister C/O Holyrood, Edinburgh.

That's check and it'll be mate in three moves. Consultation - Campaign - Referendum. :)

# MAcandroid 2012-02-15 18:28
The Canon should remember "Power devolved is power retained"

# Macart 2012-02-15 23:10
I think he'll get the point when Westminster kick his request into touch. I suspect we'll get the question allowed because of the claim of right, but should devo max prove the popular choice on the day (if anyone actually backs it or proposes it), I suspect Westminster will be faced with the sticky problem of rejecting it and facing the electoral backlash the following year.

The Libdems can't back their own choice because of who they're in bed with.

Scottish Labour have discarded it because their London gaffers are red tories.

The Conservatives can't thole it because its as financially disastrous as independence.

All the FM has to do is dangle devo max in front of them all and watch them squirm whilst trying not to disaffect a third of the vote.

You could say they are all caught between a Jock and a hard case. :)

# UpSpake 2012-02-15 09:17
It is both insulting and illegal for Westminster to be dictating anything to Scotland who are in the early stages of seeking self-determination as a nation.
Now that this process is underway, Westminster, in international law, MUST back off. Failure to do so breaches the international conventions they themselves have signed up to. Such awarness is now with the Council of Europe and the OSCE with thanks to the SDA. Notification to the UN is next if Westminster does not stop interfering.

# clootie 2012-02-15 09:52
Upspake

It's Scotland's referendum now - not the SNP's or the SDA's or anyone else's. Claiming parts of the contribution is pointless.

Given the article you are posting on I welcome canon Kenyon rights comments and contribution but it is one of many contributing to our return to nationhood.

The SDA can advertise here if they feel the need.

# Barontorc 2012-02-15 10:11
Quite so Upspake, there's no more wriggle room left.

The only weapon left in the UK armoury is the misinformation and propaganda of the BBC and MSM and it will be used to the max!

We need forget,the MSM - they are impervious to all but their circulation figures and "subsidies" and can only be but rebutted wherever and whenever.

However, the BBC have clearly taken on the role of HM's Opposition to all things independence and, as they eventually despaired at Labour's implosion and paucity of talent, they've overtly baulked and gone rogue.

Their own broadcasting Charter is in tatters and their card's now well and truly marked!

As Deepwater says above: 2012-02-15 00:53
"Consider well that the dossier supplied about BBC lack of impartiality was not supplied for the benefit of the BBC alone."

Let's understand and appreciate that we are looking here at the cleansing of Scottish and UK society, both in principles and for democratic renewal and if the populous of England, Wales and NI don't also grab this with both hands, they are letting a seminal opportunity disappear into the sand.

YES, YES, YES to independence and the much needed reshaping of these British Isles.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-15 13:40
Just been listening to the BBC news. The words "self-determination", "democracy" and "referendum" caught my attention. The subject was Syria.
Kenyon Wright is most welcome. His voice is well-respected and the BBC cannot possibly denigrate him.

# X_Sticks 2012-02-15 14:24
No bigbuachaille, but they can, and have, just ignored him.

No mention of this anywhere on the beeb that I can find.

# Ard Righ 2012-02-19 22:59
Declaration of Arbroath 1320.

Claim of Right 1689.

Claim of Right "Refresh" 1989.

Freedom? When ever you choose to open your eyes and exercise it.

We do not need a referendum.

We need only declare independence.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments