Newsnet Main Articles

By G.A.Ponsonby

A claim by UK energy minister Charles Hendry that the independence referendum is causing uncertainty in the oil and gas industry has been ridiculed by the Scottish government.

Mr Hendry said that the independence referendum was "a point of uncertainty that could cause concern" to oil and gas firms.

In a letter to the industry trade association UK Oil & Gas, Hendry said that only the UK government could give it the influence in Europe and the "stable and consistent" regulatory and tax environment it needed.

Mr Hendry’s comments came as Westminster launched the latest round of licenses for companies looking to exploit the waters around Scotland.

However the Scottish government have dismissed the claim as "the height of hypocrisy" and have instead said the only uncertainty experienced recently was when the UK coalition introduced a 60% tax hike on the sector that saw taxes rise from 20% to 32%.

SNP Westminster Energy spokesperson Mike Weir MP poured scorn on Mr Hendry’s claim and called the hypocrisy “breathtaking”.

Mr Weir said the tax hike would cost the sector an extra £2 billion a year and thousands of jobs and added:

“The reality is that the only uncertainty over the future of the offshore industry has been caused by the UK Government who have launched damaging tax grabs on the industry without consultation leading to delays in investment and causing uncertainty.

“Charles Hendry should reflect on the fact that, while Scotland has a trillion pound North Sea asset base –  the UK’s national debt has broken through the £1 trillion mark for the first time."

Mr Weir highlighted industry predictions that oil would soon hit $200 a barrel and insisted that independence was vital for Scotland if the people were to gain control over the nation’s resources.

He added:

“We already know the Treasury is set to take in £13 billion this year, relying on North Sea revenues to boost Treasury coffers at the same time as it seeks to punish the North Sea with unfair taxes that, according to the industry, could put some of this future investment at risk.

“An assessment of Scotland’s geographical share of the North Sea demonstrates clearly that Scotland is more than able to stand on our own two feet with access to our own resources.

“When all of Scotland’s resources are included in our nation’s economic output, an independent Scotland would be ranked sixth in the world league table of OECD nations in terms of gross domestic product per head – ten places ahead of the UK at sixteen.”

Last year the UK coalition’s tax increases were met with anger by leading figures in the oil and gas sector who claimed it had damaged trust and would harm investment.

A survey carried out by Aberdeen and Grampian Chamber of Commerce in November last year revealed that half the operating companies polled reported that the tax increase had reduced their investment plans.  Another fifth believed that the tax measure had reduced operational activity.

Bob Ruddiman, Head of Energy at McGrigors, said at the time: "The prediction of seasoned industry observers of how the sudden Budget tax increase would dent confidence and undermine trust in the UK oil and gas industry has been borne out by this survey.”

The UK Minister’s claim of uncertainty is the latest in a series of negative assertions from Unionist politicians worried about Scotland’s independence referendum.

However, the claims have been undermined by a number of major international investments from firms including of Avaloq, Dell, Gamesa, Amazon and Michelin.

Yesterday Korean giant Samsung Heavy Industries announced it is to invest £100 million in Fife as part of its renewable plans.  The investment could see 500 jobs being created.

Comments  

# govanite 2012-02-01 22:20
Dear Blubber

If Scotland's oil is a depreciating asset, why doesn't Westminster just magnanimously hand control to Holyrood ? After all, it is worthless, right ?

# mato21 2012-02-02 00:01
Dear Govan
What oil? The only oil in Scotland is Olive you can get a bottle in the local shop
You selfish Scots want to keep everything to yourselves Don't you know it costs a lot to keep your fellow countrymen in the style they have become accustomed to down in London,after all if they weren't here they could not ruin your country
Stop complaining or the only oil you'll get is a dose of castor,that will keep you moving
Keep drilling baby

your fat creashy friend Flubby

# mato21 2012-02-02 00:48
Dear Govan
I wrote a comprehensive answer to your question but it has disappeared and I cannot be bothered typing it out again

Flubber

# Macart 2012-02-01 22:29
Wait for it......Fears that independence referendum will make it rain in Argyll. SNP responsible for global warming. First Minister causes piles in msm editorial staff. Cybernats possible cause for global server meltdown and they're rude. All proof positive independence will cause weight gain and add inches tae yer hips.

We're doooooooooooooo omed. :0P

Next!

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-02 00:19
BBC NEWS - SCOTLAND

SNP blamed for Egypt Football clashes!
bbc.co.uk/.../...
Labour and Tory's unite to criticise that the scope of the SNP's anti-biggotry proposals do not go far enough; and point out that the SNP plans would be completely ineffectual in north African countries.

The Lib Dems waded into the spat and made a request to the presiding officer, that a taxi be booked... A further plea was made for a Black Hackney; "as there were 5 of them travelling."

# Macart 2012-02-02 06:45
Ye had me goin' for a minute there. Still for anyone in any doubt about the possibility of violence when two sets of volatile fans get together, that really enjoy hating each other..... Some day that really could be a Glasgow based headline. Just as well some team at Holyrood gave the polis the tools tae get the job done then isn't it?

# rhymer 2012-02-01 22:31
wow! A vintage scare story.
Our oil has been running out for over quarter of a century - and that as when that story was first used.
Is there anybody lefy in Scotland stupid enough to still believe it ?

# tartanpigsy 2012-02-01 22:51
Unfortunately I don't want to answer that question...
but, on the other hand, with the kind of revelations that are appearing daily to counter the Unionists lies I'm pretty confident that 2 and a half years is enough time to change enough opinions and free our fantastic wee country from this colonial nonsense.

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-01 23:57
I will answer it.

The oil has been running out ever since the first drop popped up out of the ground. It is a limited non-renewable resource, The more you extract the less that is left.

However! The less there is makes what is left more valuable and increasingly in demand.

The quicker we secure that resource before it really is too late, the more Scotland will benefit by investing in an oil fund for many future generations to come.

The alternative is to allow Westminster to pee the rest of it up the against the wall!

# Siôn Jones 2012-02-02 04:08
. . .Or pay for crossrail, Olympics, HS2 etc.

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-02 08:23
...Or various illegal wars to perpetuate the British Empire illusion!

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 09:04
Quoting Alba4Eva:
...Or various illegal wars to perpetuate the British Empire illusion!

Aye! New ane commin up syne in Falklands.

# Holebender 2012-02-02 07:11
It is true that the more you extract the less there is left, but it is also true that you can keep finding more of the stuff and the known reserves can increase over time.

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-02 08:26
The evidence doesn't support that at all. The vast majority of the reserves we are currently extracting from the north sea, were discovered before 1977. (Peak production occurred in 1999)
home.entouch.net/.../... (first chart and the paragraph below it.)

I highly recommend that you watch this. It will give you a much better understanding of global oil depletion... www.youtube.com/.../

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 09:02
Quoting rhymer:
Our oil has been running out for over quarter of a century - and that as when that story was first used.

Ach! rhymer, div ye no ken it's no wir ile? It belangs tae sam kintra ca'd, "Extra Regio", wha haes territory richt frae oor shores fir twa hunner miles oot. Mind ye it maun bi ane o thae UK kintras kis thae pit siller intil the UK Treasury doon on Lunnon. Jing! yous Cybernatterers ir richt numpties, a'body kens yon.

# rhymer 2012-02-03 17:14
Quoting Auld Bob:
Ach! rhymer, div ye no ken it's no wir ile? It belangs tae sam kintra ca'd, "Extra Regio", wha haes territory richt frae oor shores fir twa hunner miles oot. Mind ye it maun bi ane o thae UK kintras kis thae pit siller intil the UK Treasury doon on Lunnon. Jing! yous Cybernatterers ir richt numpties, a'body kens yon.

Thank you (I think) for pointing my thoughts in the right direction - bye the way, please stop doing that - it give me a headache to translate "deepest fife" (or whatever) into real words.

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-02 10:55
Hi rhymer,
I heard some Unionist say during the Big Question on Sunday morning that he was concerned for his grandchildrens future. His assetrion was that even if the oil brings in revenue for the next
50 years, it will run out, then what is going to happen? Numpty !!

I've got news for him, ALL O&G is going to run out, it is a finite resource.

He never thought to mention that Scotland is even now one of the top countries in the world developing renewable resources, excl. nuclear. He also never mentioned that Scotland is massively renewable rich in resources that will last as long as the moon is in the sky and the sun in it's heaven. His grandchildrens children, till the end of time wont see it run out. That is why the whole world needs renewable energy that wont zapp the planet in mushroom clouds.

# rhymer 2012-02-03 17:19
Jim Johnston - I agree regarding the renewable energy scenario for Scotland although I am not a fanatical anti-nuclear advocate. Within the next few decades we will have alternate sources of power (FUSION for instance) and that means nuclear energy without the waste problem. I doubt if anyone will turn that option down.

# Teri 2012-02-02 21:00
I think Labour in Scotland believe it.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-01 22:37
Auld Acquaintance is required reading today for anyone who might think this 'story' is a surprise. .../the-black-arts

# Saporian 2012-02-01 23:28
The British Establishment - Probably the best propaganda in the world!

# dundie 2012-02-02 00:50
As long as you don't know what they're doing, and who their agents are. The media are in their pockets - it's those within our midst we need to be aware of. No, not paranoia - just bitter experience.

# millie 2012-02-02 00:40
‘The Black Arts’ piece is definitely a ‘must read’.

As one of the posters said, I do hope Newsnet Scotland prints the article.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 09:33
Quoting bigbuachaille:
Auld Acquaintance is required reading today for anyone who might think this 'story' is a surprise. .../the-black-arts

So Lord F err!Foukie is at it again. Several daft things this time. Nothing really new. The stupid two referenda, but his second one is rather harder to explain to politicall challanged Hoi Polloi, and Labour Party biased Studendts Unionists. The funding issues of Barnett Consequentials seems to fly well over many heads. That probable includes F.Err!Foukie. He has tabled a few ammendments to the Scotland Bill, which, by the way, returns to the Commons Committee Stages today.If ever there was a Rogue in this nation that wee numptie is the wee sleekit, coordlie, muckle gallas lairdie, wha maun bi the epitome o a thae Rogues.

# Siôn Jones 2012-02-02 10:04
A great piece - very informative.

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-02 11:10
Auld Aquaintance actually paints the Black Arts in all its glory for what it is....the pure work of evil.

I happen to have great faith in Scots to see all this muck for what it is.. evil doings by evil minds. The more BBC "Scotland" and our MSM pour out the black arts, the more pathetic they become.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-01 22:40
Relevant background reading to Charles Hendry. Seems like a normal Tory. telegraph.co.uk/.../...
and here too www.hadlowdown.com/.../
and then there is more theargus.co.uk/.../...

# bringiton 2012-02-01 22:47
This would be influence in Europe as prescribed by his leader,the Bullingdon china shop wrecker.
And as for the so called stable regime he proposes,that would be the promise to tax the oil companies to the hilt in future should Westmister run into further difficulties and need to raise cash quickly.
Just another Tory spiv.

# Louperdowg 2012-02-01 22:54
How many sleeps until 2014?

# tartangladbach 2012-02-01 23:00
is M. Night Shyamalan running the unionist campaign? his 2004 movie THE VILLAGE

The population of a small, isolated countryside village believe that their alliance with the mysterious creatures that inhabit the forest around them is coming to an end.

if you have seen it? you'll get the point!

# Jim1320 2012-02-01 23:30
Shock Horror as UK Minister suggests that uncertainty regarding the referendum will cause a national milk shortage and for sheep to become unstable and explode.

"It's what I heard" the minster squawked, as he was led away by two nice young men in clean white coats.

# velofello 2012-02-01 23:31
prediction:
The Unionists are going to run out of "uncertainty" ammo fairly soon.Then they will have to bring forward the "shared history" infantry.
Question:
How many times has Stairhead Curran declared that "we" have a big decision to make?

# Jim1320 2012-02-01 23:39
No idea, although I can't recall the last time I heard her say anything. (I think I may just be lucky on that score though).

# Siôn Jones 2012-02-02 10:14
i'm like that. I see her opening her mouth as if to speak, then it all goes blurred until she's finished.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 09:39
Quoting velofello:
How many times has Stairhead Curran declared that "we" have a big decision to make?

As far as, "Stairheid", is concerned the only decision that is NOT big is to open her scone-hole. As to not hearing from her, she has been relegated to the, "back entry".

# ButeHouse 2012-02-01 23:44
It's bad enough these poor souls coming up from London pontificating but when they do so in that slightly patronising, superior South East accent they condemn what they have to say as they say it.

Let's have more of the Southerners. This morning I caught the beginning of an antique road-show type programme coming from Fife or somewhere and I couldn't believe the English presenter talking about being in 'Bonny Scotland'.

That might have brought smiles of pride 6 or 7 decades ago but we are long past that these days. Out of touch or what?

VOTE YES

# bringiton 2012-02-02 00:02
Let's hope BH that in future they will not only be coming to Bonny Scotland but also Wealthy Scotland or even More Egalitarian Scotland.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 09:41
Noo if the presenter had spoken of, "being in the Kingdom", ... ... ...

# pictic-1 2012-02-01 23:44
This story and many others on Newsnet highlights a lot of the devious scare stories that the Westminster bullsh*ters will be serving up on a daily basis, but, one of the problems with a site like Newsnet is that it's not really getting the message through to the important mass of potential YES voters as could a Scotsman or Herald.

This is why I think the two long years up to the referendum are so important, You have to keep hammering away with the truth, digging up the little secrets that help the SNP get their message through.
The Viet-kilts know what's to be done ..!

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 09:47
Something, perhaps the opinion polls or party memberships, tells me the potential YES voters are getting our message and not theirs. The scare stories have over-rgged it for far too long. After all, for example, the scare story of the oil running out was the top scare story on the day the first barrel hit the wellhead. They have revived that one every year since. No onr believes it now.

# clootie 2012-02-02 00:00
I have to give then credit for the scare stories though. I can't believ they keep going and going - 10/10 for effort!

This worked in the past so why not keep going after all we are stupid!

p.s. I don't think we are daft but don't tell them

# Wee-Scamp 2012-02-02 00:03
The Tories refused to put up any seed funding for the gas gathering pipeline in the 80s as a consequence of which huge quantities of gas were flared off and lost and the we also lost the opportunity for thousands of jobs in new chemical companies.

Then they decided to kill off the state owned oil company BRITOIL and sell its assets to BP on the cheap. This resulted in the loss of a national champion and support for Scottish and UK companies. It also meant the N Sea was depleted faster than it should have been and all because the idiots thought state owned companies were a bad thing... Look at Statoil and tell me they were right!

Then just rub the salt in the wound the Tories decided to kill of the state owned company British Underwater Engineering. First they starved it of funds then sent in a company doctor called David James who broke it up and sold the assets to our foreign competitors. That killed off any chance of ever building a Scottish multi discipline subsea engineering and operations company because of course our chums in the City weren't interested.

Tories have done the industry no favours at all. In fact they are a positive danger to its future.

# Roll_On_2011 2012-02-02 00:50
Aye Wee-Scamp

Thatcher Government to Sell 31.5% BP Stake in Biggest-Ever Stock Offer

August 21, 1987 | From Reuters

articles.latimes.com/.../...[//url]

# dundie 2012-02-02 00:54
Spot on, wee scamp. The amount of resources wasted in the desperate rush for instant cash by Westminster is staggering. Please don't hold up Statoil as an example of government and unions working in (well, almost!) perfect harmony, it's enough to make you greet!

# RTP 2012-02-02 00:30
O/T

Chief executive of Student Loans Company allowed to avoid £40,000 a year in tax by Coalition

One of Britain’s top officials has been allowed to avoid tens of thousands of pounds in income tax under a deal approved by the Coalition, it emerged tonight.

I hear that Alexander as CSTreasury signed this off so the buck must stop with him but then again he will blame the SNP for not checking this.

# dundie 2012-02-02 00:55
Is there anyone left in the Inverness area who would acutally admit to having voted for Beaker? I think we should be told.

# jafurn 2012-02-02 04:27
What will happen when the sale of the student loan book comes up.... and believe me it will....

# mealer 2012-02-02 00:35
Spread the word.

# Keef 2012-02-02 00:49
If the SNP want to see the debate having a meaning or being polarised, they should be answering the question that has, up till now, been ignored. Namely, will we have a written and codified constitution. The average Scot wants to feel secure. The average Scot is sick and tired of the"haves" being able to walk away from ventures where they have robbed the mums and dads of their life savings without any recourse to the law.
We want to know that if we vote independence that Scotland and her people will restore sanity and rule of law. We don't want the EU telling us what is right and what is wrong. We know fine well they are just as corrupt as westminster. We want a say in setting up our own fair and just constitution. Offer the people this and then we'll be interested. The rest of the posturing is just the same old, same old.
Independence - Aye, but with substance, with written guarantees. Otherwise you all sound the same.
We should be moving on from all this lies and propaganda from whitehall and westminster. It seems the more we rebutt, the more they publish. Forget them and set up a forum to allow the people to have their say as to what should be in the constitution. Once this is up and running it will soon drown out the rubbish coming from down south.
Let's get the people of Scotland engaged and excited about a future Scotland with Independence.

# SHANGHAI SCOT 2012-02-02 05:17
A very sound idea, that would enable all to see what is on offer, I believe that the UK has no written constitution.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 09:55
Quoting SHANGHAI SCOT:
A very sound idea, that would enable all to see what is on offer, I believe that the UK has no written constitution.

The UK has awritten constitution, it is all written down, ... ... ... Somewhere and not all in the one place. That is how they get away with it. Finding the correct set of information is a very big job, but it is there, ... ... somewhere.

# Holebender 2012-02-02 07:25
The SNP published a draft constitution ten years ago, so it is safe to say they support the idea of a written codified constitution. There is also a Constitutional Commission out there, headed by Canon Kenyan Wright.

# J Wil 2012-02-02 01:43
I think the way Cameron is behaving in Europe has a more detrimental influence on investment in the UK in general,

Scotland seems to be doing quite nicely under its own initiative.

What Scots will be really worried about is the road the Coalition are taking on welfare reform and in winning it's parliamentary votes on the welfare bill last night.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 10:16
Quoting J Wil:
What Scots will be really worried about is the road the Coalition are taking on welfare reform.

Och! No doubt there, lots of worries though, A country awash with money. The haves going on 50% increases in income awarding themselves bonus payments on top of that 50%. While the have nots are being made to pay for the haves mishandling that put the United Kingdom into record high debts. This new red/yellow/blue Tory Rainbow Alliance welfare scheme is just them all getting round to forcing the most vulnerable members of our society to pay their whack with money they don't have. Take the Cap on benefits - it affects, mainly, the Housing Benefits. Now, the claimant does NOT get the houseing benefit. It goes to the rich landlord, (a have), while the have not has still to pay the exorbitant rent. So the cash has to come from the, government set, basic sum allowed to live on. This, in one example, meant the actual family were left with a basic daily allowance for each person of only 92 pence per day. Yet the multi-millionaire Cameron is demonising these people as scroungers on the taxpayer. Bloody hypocrites the lot of them.

# sneckedagain 2012-02-02 02:03
Dundie
"As long as you don't know what they're doing, and who their agents are. The media are in their pockets - it's those within our midst we need to be aware of."
How right you are, but we have a helluva lot of very naive members who can't see this ands it is very difficult to remove efficient "plants" from our orgaisation

# .Scot 2012-02-02 02:04
Quote:
In a letter to the industry trade association UK Oil & Gas, Hendry said that only the UK government could give it the influence in Europe and the "stable and consistent" regulatory and tax environment it needed.

Erm, if that's not being anti-Scottish, just what is? Jonah Lamont you have answers to give!

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-02 02:10
Much as I dislike Lamont, what has Hendry to do with her?

# Siôn Jones 2012-02-02 10:18
He is a fellow unionist, singing a unionist song. In that, he and Lamont are as one.

# jafurn 2012-02-02 04:25
Can I just add AAAAARGH
I love this but save some for later.

Tonight,one convert ( although I admit he only needed a nudge) and one on the brink and I have no doubt will be INDEPENDENT by the time anyone asks him..... What do you think?

I mean if someone asks you what do YOU think about Independence what are you going to say?

# Teri 2012-02-02 21:11
With some people it needs only a nudge, with others you get there eventually with a gradual drip, drip, drip of positive info and one day you find you've reeled them in. I knew I had eventually converted him to the cause the day I found him shouting at the telly 'For God's sake Alex Salmond get us out of this damned UK'!

# Macart 2012-02-02 07:24
There are propagandists, there are liars and then there is Westminster. You don't get much lower. Do the next door neighbours actually know what is done in their name? Do they even care so long as I'm alright Jack? We are told ad nauseum that we have such history together, that we are stronger together than apart, that together we stand that much taller. Our good, good friends then spend several decades telling us how crap we are at handling, well, anything. So why are we so important to them?

Why would you want tied to a useless baggage like Scotland? After all our economy is a basket case, our soldiers are only good for cannon fodder, our politicians are all inherently adequate at best and incapable of problem solving (actually in some cases they may have a point there). Our resources are meagre, unrealised and running out. Our financial institutions are run by innumerate monkeys and our general public are rough, drunken, drug addicts with an attitude problem who are perennially begging for other decent folks hard earned cash.

Why indeed? I'd want shot of that lot wouldn't you? So again, why the hard fight to keep us part of the big UK family?

Unless........, surely not......, unless our next door neighbour, good ally, long term historic friend and partner in adversity is actually telling lies about us. They'd never do that to us, would they?

# EphemeralDeception 2012-02-02 08:06
Oh dear, Oil running out what will poor richly abundant Scotland do?

How about some certainty...Time to turn the questions back on the Unionists!

What is the UK actually doing now to invest in and support the Scottish Economy post oil?
Certainty = So far ZERO. Planned = ZERO.

How many Nordic Oil and Gas office jobs are in London? A= Damn few
How many Scottish Oil and Gas office jobs are in London? >= 100,000.

Will many of these jobs moving North post independence be good or bad for:
a) The rump UK economy?
b) The Scottish economy?

While Scotland exports 6 times as much gas as we need to the South of England we help pay for the setup Sleipner gas line (worlds biggest undersea) to England.
What is the benefit to Scotland?
What is the benefit to the UK?
Which parts of the UK benefit? etc.

What is the benefit to Scotland to pay to produce Electricity while in the South of England produces get paid to produce.
Where does the money come from to pay the producers in England?

How does this model Benifit Scotland?
How does it benefit the UK?
Which parts of the UK benefit?

How does the broken UK service economy compare to a strong and vibrant Scottish Energy Economy?
What potential is there to fix the broken UK service economy? A=God knows!
What potential is there to diversify Scotlands vibrant Energy Econmy? A= Huge potential if we have the control to make it happen.

I think we see a pattern and I think Scottish voters can see it too.

# The_Duke 2012-02-02 08:34
Whats everyones thoughts of Lord Foukes proposal?

bbc.co.uk/.../...

# Alx1 2012-02-02 08:51
I just don't trust the man.

Let him spell out what he means by his version of FFA.

He is playing games and will no doubt leave oil & gas reserves to the UK Government thus winning (in his mind) the argument.
He should spell out exactly what he means first.

# The_Duke 2012-02-02 08:57
Agree. Is it not funny that you never hear from anyone in the cozy little club that is the HoL. Then as soon as there might be a threat to their nice wee existance, suddenly they are awakened from their brandy induced slumber in those big leather chairs.

# RaboRuglen 2012-02-02 08:58
Hi Alex,

I agree completely. Its the old Tory tactic of "Vote these proposals down and we'll come back with something better". Only they won't. And didn't. Twice.

Vote yes.

Regards,

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 10:26
[quote name="The_Duke"]Whats everyones thoughts of Lord Foukes proposal?

I've been telling what I think all morning.

# mountaincadre 2012-02-02 09:04
Just watched Foulks telling me that if i vote no to Independance i can have jam tomorrow,ERR sorry call me Dave has already let the cat out of the bag George.If it's got to the stage where they are having to offer this now, then on the sliding scale of poo poo, they are up the domestic waste river without a navigation aide,don't get me wrong this needs to be handled right with people knowing that jam tomorrow isnothing more than a last gasp of West Minster trying to keep power.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 10:31
mountaincadre,

We have been waiting to eat that jam since around 1950 when I first became aware they were offering it. Weel Ah'm askin ye Jimmie, whaurs mine?

# snowthistle 2012-02-02 09:06
How much would two separate referendums add to the cost. I know that this is a really important decision and we shouldn't scrimp on it but I feel they are underestimating the electorate (in quite a patronising way) and spending money unnecessarily.

# Alx1 2012-02-02 09:21
Hi snowthistle, leaving the 2 seperate referendums case to one side!
The point is that Foulkes would do his upmost to make sure westminster retains oil & gas rights in our territorial waters, effectively damaging Scotland prosperity.
Just shows you where his true loyalties lay.

# manxbhoy 2012-02-02 09:57
Quoting Alx1:
Hi snowthistle, leaving the 2 seperate referendums case to one side!
The point is that Foulkes would do his upmost to make sure westminster retains oil & gas rights in our territorial waters, effectively damaging Scotland prosperity.
Just shows you where his true loyalties lay.

alx1, you are aware that his true loyalties are to the LAND of his birth " England" not britain

# Alx1 2012-02-02 12:08
Hi manxbhoy, that's exactly what I was alluding too.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 10:34
Quoting snowthistle:
How much would two separate referendums add to the cost. I know that this is a really important decision and we shouldn't scrimp on it but I feel they are underestimating the electorate (in quite a patronising way) and spending money unnecessarily.

Actually THEY are not. F, err! fouksie just added a few ammendments to the Scotland Bill that returns from the Lords to the Commons Committee Stages today. They may throw it out but if THEY don't the SG will.

# scotsmanc1 2012-02-02 09:11
Apologies for being off topic but thought this was worth a mention.

According to the Herald today, Lawyers will launch court action as early as next month to stop the SNP Government's controversial policy of enabling Scottish universities to charge English students up to £9000 a year in tuition fees, while home students pay nothing.

I don’t think that there is anything too ‘controversial’ in the policy of being educated on the ability to learn, rather than on the ability to pay.

Slipping the word ‘controversial’ in the article is a deliberate ploy. Some Unionists just never stop plotting and scheming, and this is another reason why they are opposed to 16 to 18 year olds having the vote in the Independence referendum in Scotland.

# UpSpake 2012-02-02 09:13
If you're a multi millionaire (Cameron) petrol at 3 pounds a litre is an inconvenience. If you are a crofter in the Highlands with a 50 mile round trip to buy milk, you are f****d.
Wait till the Iranian merde hits the fan.
Osborne will be rubbing his hands with glee, think of all that tax revenue from $250 a barrel ?

# Hersel 2012-02-02 09:32
Another Puffed Up Buffoon

Can’t you just smell the fear emanating from Westminster!

Tae quote oor Rabbie:

“Wee, sleekit, cowran, tim'rous beastie,
O, what a panic's in thy breastie!”

Well Mr. Hendry be very afraid, because it’s Scotland’s Oil and we will be taking back very soon along with the 6,000mls of our coastline which was stolen.

This is a site produced by the Scottish People for the Scottish People to inform their fellow resident of the injustices inflicted on Scotland by Westminster

www.oilofscotland.org/.../

Vote Yes

# gus1940 2012-02-02 09:59
Today's Scotsman has broken all records for the number of anti-independence items.

# Jimbo 2012-02-02 10:35
The London Parties seems awfully desperate to hold on to something that they have claimed for decades is of no value.

Don't be kidded, for Westminster, it's all about the oil.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-02 10:40
Quoting Jimbo:

Actually it is not. Believe it or not Scotland is still a viable and rich country even without the oil. There are small countries all over the World with much less natural resources than Scotland that are prospering and independent.

# jafurn 2012-02-02 14:48
Quoting Jimbo:
"Don't be kidded, for Westminster, it's all about the oil."

He did say for westminster...
Of course there is more than just the oil as far as scotland is concerned his point which was

"The London Parties seems awfully desperate to hold on to something that they have claimed for decades is of no value."

is still not being addressed.
I don't believe that it is all about the oil although I have no doubt it is a 'consideration' there is a lot more at stake here for westminster as you have so often pointed out with regard to the whole constitutional question post Independence ...not to mention the other elephant in the room the 'nooklar' question ooops I just did...

# Corm 2012-02-02 20:53
Quoting Auld Bob:
Quoting Jimbo:

Actually it is not. Believe it or not Scotland is still a viable and rich country even without the oil. There are small countries all over the World with much less natural resources than Scotland that are prospering and independent.

Totally. It goes way beyond the wealth and abilit of Scotland though. Scotland goes, the successor state will be paying us off for years. Nuclear clean up/disarmnament, splitting of various departments and resources, the gold reserve (such as is left), renegotiating EU, more importantly renegotiating NATO since Scotland is the US's (sorry NATO's) strategic nuclear missile site, place on the security council, drop in international wealth standing and associated banking implications and so on. Im fairly sure there could be many cases where a future Independant Scotland could seek damages or whatever for past "govt/social" crimes too. Anthrax clean ups, various MOD issues, Asbestos claims and so on. The loss of the Scottish Oil and Economy is the mere tip of the crappy stick for them.

# Blanco 2012-02-02 11:12
Let's have two separate referendums, why not. Give the Scottish Government the money to hold the second one. This money won't be needed to be spent on ansecond referendum should the first one be a yes to independence, so let the Scottish Government offer the money as a cash bribe to everyone in Scotland should they vote yes. That should be enough to see us home and dry. :)

# albafreedom 2012-02-02 12:15
O/T
No mention of this on the BBC but if it were an SNP councillor it would have been big news. Labour at it's best again!!
local.stv.tv/.../...

# scotsmanc1 2012-02-02 12:20
My sincere apologies to Newsnet as my comment has now appeared. So sorry for perhaps wasting your time with the seperate email. I would never complain as the work you are doing is invaluable.

# pictic-1 2012-02-02 13:52
Foulkes is just smoke and mirrors again. There is only one question to be answerd - with yes or no.

The second devo question is there to lull the not-so-sures away from a yes vote because the kind considerate unionists will help us on our way by asking how much devo we'd like to have!!
I somehow don't believe in fairies,(Skelpi es are another matter ;-))

If we vote - god forbid - no then thats it, bread and cheese with a ball and chain for the next 100 years.

# Talorcan 2012-02-02 21:34
I see that one of the stamps being issued to commemorate the Queen's jubilee shows the England squad from 1966. I could hardly believe it when I saw it. Here come another 5,000 new SNP members when this news gets out.

# bestforexautomation 2012-02-07 18:54
Since libya and iran no longer
deliver their oil or gas to europe-
higher prices place a premium on
Scotland's hydrocarbons.

bestforexautoma tion.com

expert advisor

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments