Newsnet Main Articles

By a Newsnet reporter

The SNP say Labour is letting Scottish companies down by ignoring the benefits to them of the Forth Replacement Crossing – especially after a further 88 subcontracts were advertised. 

Colin Keir, SNP MSP for Edinburgh Western, has urged Labour to drop its negativity and encourage Scottish companies to apply for contracts for the project.

Mr Keir's comments come after Labour leader Johann Lamont's extraordinary line of questioning during First Minister's Questions in Parliament last week. 

Ms Lamont repeatedly asked First Minister Alex Salmond why the contract for steel for the bridge had been awarded to a company outside of Scotland, despite being told a number of times that there is no company in Scotland capable of producing the required material.

Ms Lamont asked: "Will the First Minister stand up for Scottish workers and instruct an immediate review of this disgraceful contract which will have huge consequences across our communities?"

Mr Salmond replied:  "I'm not sure if Johann Lamont knows this but we don't actually have manufacturing fabrication facilities for steel in Scotland, thanks to the degradation of past Westminster governments."

Mr Salmond noted that approximately 80% of the contracts and subcontracts have been awarded to Scottish companies.  118 of the 155 subcontracts on the project have gone to firms in Scotland, while Scottish companies are benefit from 870 of the 1,041 supply orders.

The steel contract which has been subcontracted abroad represents approximately 5% to 10% of the total value of the main contract for the new bridge, which was awarded to the Forth Crossing Bridge Constructors consortium and is worth £790 million.  Some £40m worth of steel contracts are understood to have been awarded to companies in Spain, Portugal and China.  

Construction of the new bridge began last autumn, and the crossing is expected to be open for traffic in 2016.  The total estimated cost range of delivering the project is £1.45 billion to £1.60 billion, a substantial reduction on the previous estimate of £1.7 billion to £2.3 billion.  The new bridge is being built as the existing Forth Road Bridge is showing signs of deterioration.

According to Scottish transport minister Keith Brown, the project will support 1,200 Scottish jobs, will secure a further 3,000, and will provide 45 vocational training positions annually as well as 21 professional training places and 46 positions for long-term unemployed people.

SNP MSP Colin Keir, who repesents the Edinburgh Western constituency, site of the Lothian end of the bridge, said Labour should be encouraging Scottish firms to apply for the work instead of continuing their negative campaign of refusing to acknowledge the opportunities.

Mr Keir said: "The Labour party is completely ignoring the benefits that the FRC is bringing to Scottish companies.

"It's typical of Labour to conveniently ignore the facts when it suits them, but by seeking to mislead Scottish companies about the potential opportunities available to them they are doing them a real disservice.

"Even at a time when 88 subcontracts have just been announced for the project, the Labour party continues its scaremongering campaign by saying Scottish firms are not gaining from it.  Instead they should be actively encouraging them to apply.

"If the Scottish Government followed Labour's way of doing things, they would be in breach of contract, liable to legal challenge and would subsequently put the progress on the FRC in jeopardy.

"The SNP Government is committed to ensuring Scottish firms continue to benefit from the FRC.

"In addition to the subcontracts already benefitting firms, 83.5 per cent of the total number of supply orders have been awarded on the Principal Contract to Scottish companies.

"The FRC is an absolutely essential project for Scotland's sustainable economic growth and is already creating jobs for Scottish people."

Comments  

# RJBH 2012-02-14 08:56
Labour are the paty of the Dark Ages... instead of a replacement bridge... they would have put the toll of the existing one up to a fiver....Stone age really.

# RJBH 2012-02-14 12:38
its only 6 years or so ago.. that Jack McConnell wanted to put the crossing up to 4 pound at peak times.... the negative impact this would have had on the Fife economy would hardly bear thing about now... but its always the thin edge of the wedge... taxing Fifers to get in and out of Fife has been a Labour priority all my life.

# Sleekit 2012-02-14 09:17
Typical Labour...

Criticising rather than creating!

# Nation Libre 2012-02-14 09:23
Typical Labour, lying rather than criticising

# J Wil 2012-02-14 09:25
I don't know what Labour have to talk about after the disaster of the building of the Scottish Parliament. The design given to a foreign architect, the granite shipped in from China and the massive cost over run.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-14 13:27
Not to mention a foreign architect.

# Exile 2012-02-14 16:06
Auld Bob, JWil did mention the foreign architect.

# UpSpake 2012-02-14 09:28
The Labour Party in Scotland cannot and will not drop its negativity on everything. Negativity is what gets them going every morning. Standing for nothing voting against everything, even stuff they support simply to appear - negative.
Well, know what ?. It has worked. Only the BBC in Scotland believe anything that comes out of Labour by way of press release. The rest of us have long since given up !.

# Exile 2012-02-14 16:08
What really struck me was the genuine astonishment on the faces of the SNP MSPs as Johann Lamont blundered on repeating her false scare story when Alex Salmond had already clearly stated how she had got her facts mixed up. Stupidity doesn't even approach the strength of word I'm looking for here.

# Marian 2012-02-14 23:32
It appeared to me that Lamont was stuck in a groove repeating over and over again the prepared script she reads from because she simply doesn't know how to think on her feet.

# Hamish100 2012-02-14 09:59
Personally the upgrading of the Perth/Inverness route is more important and could have construction workers starting earlier in this decade.

I think a tunnel would have been better than a bridge although more costly. Just think how many times over the next 40 years that the bridges will be closed due to high winds etc. Feel sorry for the Kincardine Bridge!

# CapnAndy 2012-02-14 12:06
Hamish.
I agree with your comment regarding a tunnel, however I am told that the geology is all wrong for that option. Don't know how much truth there is to that, but I'd be interested if anybody else knows.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-14 13:31
The navigation charts of the Forth tell the Story. Plus to which there are flooded coal workings out under the Forth. If memory serves the first under water mining was done off Crombie by one of the Bruce family.

# MAcandroid 2012-02-14 12:10
The new bridge has wind shielding designed in, apparently, and should not need to close. Buses will still use the old bridge.

# weegie38 2012-02-14 10:00
Most people in Scotland have painful memories of the death of our steel industry. There will be former steel workers out there (many perhaps pensioners) traditionally ticking their box for Labour each election. They will be all too aware Scotland doesn't have the capability to produce the steel for this new bridge.

Any of them listening to Lamont asking these sorts of questions, will come to the conclusion that she's not got a clue. The point is, she's making herself look stupid to a core section of the Labour vote. Truly bizarre.

# edinburgh quine 2012-02-14 12:57
Yes, and if my memory serves, whilst Thatcher was killing off our steel industry (among others), what was the labour party doing? Nothing. They were the power in Scotland at the time and they were unable, or perhaps unwilling, to do anything. They were truly lamentable so maybe it's appropriate that at this time they have "lamentable" supposedly in charge of labour in Scotland

# Auld Bob 2012-02-14 13:33
The infamous feeble fifty

# RTP 2012-02-14 10:02
bbc.co.uk/.../...

This is a good link for all to have a look at and ask Lamont where the steel came from and why not ALL the work was given to Scottish companies.

# J Wil 2012-02-14 10:43
Where the steel came from?

I thought Salmond had already answered that at FMQs last week.

It is coming from China. If Scotland cannot supply the steel it is better to get the cheapest deal and spread out the little money we have for job creation.

There are steel stockholders in Scotland (basically middle men) and I have no idea if they are involved, but I would imagine that they support low paid jobs and perhaps not that many of them. So the bigger picture is to get better paid construction jobs going, not just on the bridge, and the money that is available has to be used wisely.

I remember that the original figure for constructing the bridge was horrendous and the SG have managed to get that figure down considerably. Perhaps getting cheaper steel from China was one element of that.

# deepwater 2012-02-14 14:15
The projected cost was 4.22 billion.
scotsman.com/.../...

# Auld Bob 2012-02-14 14:09
Quoting RTP:
bbc.co.uk/.../...

This is a good link for all to have a look at and ask Lamont where the steel came from and why not ALL the work was given to Scottish companies.

Great link. Look at the end of the drydock with HMS Illustrious in it. At the end you will see a bit cut out of the dock end. That was a modification made to the dock to allow it to take WWI/II HMS Queen Elizabeth class Dreadnought class battleships. The then largest RN ships. The ship sat in the dock with top part of her bows fitted into that wee cut out bit in the drydock. Rosyth Dockyard counld, at a pinch, use the entrance lock as a drydock and it was larger but meant its use left only a single gate that depended on the tidal basin and outside sea level to be level. in 50 odd years I only saw that set of lock gates opened once. That was for repairs and to clean out the bottom. The stuff that came out of that lock bottom was amazing. I saw a First World War USA motorcycle brough out and a WWII USA Jeep.

# Macart 2012-02-14 10:13
I could hardly believe my ears when Ms Lamont came away with that blooter last week. How could Labour (of all parties) not know that we have no heavy steel fabrication in Scotland anymore? Now that's what you call out of touch with reality.

# src19 2012-02-14 10:31
I suspect Labour know very well that there is no heavy steel fabrication in Scotland thanks to Labour/Tory Goverments over the years. Lamont's ploy in FMQ's back fired on them and made Labour look obtuse.

# Macart 2012-02-14 10:43
But, but, but it just made them look stupid. As a cunning plan to outwit the FM its right up there with Gray arguing economics with him and waving sheets of blank white paper.

They really have fallen quite far when they consider Johann Lamont a prospective First Minister.

# rhymer 2012-02-17 13:19
Quoting src19:
I suspect Labour know very well that there is no heavy steel fabrication in Scotland thanks to Labour/Tory Goverments over the years. Lamont's ploy in FMQ's back fired on them and made Labour look obtuse.

After Eck proved to her twice that she was wrong,
if she says it again it is a deliberate lie.

First time, stupidity
Second time obtuse
Third time a deliberate lie.

# J Wil 2012-02-14 10:49
Labour have a habit of starting a lie, which gets inflated by the media and even after it has shown to be a lie they still perpetuate it. They are totally irresponsible and not fit to govern.

# helpmaboab 2012-02-14 10:26
Pretty sure she also claimed the contract for the steel alone was worth 800 million. I must give her a call and see if I can get a contract for replacing her guttering...

# call me dave 2012-02-14 13:39
Quoting helpmaboab:
Pretty sure she also claimed the contract for the steel alone was worth 800 million. I must give her a call and see if I can get a contract for replacing her guttering...

Is that her speeches your going to script for her or is that her roof your talking about?

# Exile 2012-02-14 16:12
LSHINFOMC

# Matrix 2012-02-14 22:08
With wit like that maybe you should get the scriptwriters job.

# Mac 2012-02-14 10:31
False accusations. False associations. Smear, spin and downright lies. That is the desparate state of the Labour party for you.

# Old Smokey 2012-02-14 11:08
The most likely reason for this, is this;
We have had, something like 50 plus years, where Labour in Scotland did nothing for the country. Even with devolution, they had the power to do something, to develop and make Scotland better. Instead they just followed what they were told to do by London. They saddled Scotland with expensive PFI costs. The projects that they did, were either over budget or didnt finish on time, usually both (Trams in Edinburgh is an example). The SNP in Government have already proved themselves more than capable, you take the M74 extension as an example on time and on budget (in fact I think it may have been ready ahead of schedule). The SNP also dont have to adhere to being told by London.
Now we have the Forth crossing, put out to tender, done proffessionally , the cost of the bridge is actually quite a bit less than the original figures that were banded about a few years ago (from an estimated £ 1.5 to 2 Billion to an actual price of £ 790 million). Work is storming ahead, with some stretches of road already in place.
This is all possitive for Scotland, its a possitive image. Something that Labour simply hate.
We have had a barrage of attacks by Labour concerning the steel supplied, we have had unions actually demanding that work stop.
What concerns Labour more is the reality that this project will be another that completed ahead of schedul and on budget!

# Vincent McDee 2012-02-14 22:24
And worst of all for labour:

The proyect will be done on purpose!

# alang 2012-02-14 11:35
Ms Lamont's questioning is laughable. Either she is ignoring the answers to her questions or she lacks basic understanding of European Law on tendering work inside the EU and of the Scottish steel industry's capability. If this is the best she can do then Labour are doomed and deserve everything they get in the forthcoming elections. Personally I agree with Old Smokey, Labour have done nothing for Scotland in 50 years! The SNP are delivering projects on time and within budget which are funded correctly for the good of Scotland as opposed to PFI and Labour cronies.

# the wallace 2012-02-14 12:01
When we are independent i would like to see a new ravenscraig built in scotland,under national control,simply for the reason that it will take several generations to re build scotland and that will require a vast amount of steel, is it not better if that steel comes from hear again?.

# Robabody 2012-02-14 23:40
Look upon the "new Ravenscraig" as a strategic resource and while we are about it lets build some additional storage for oil and gas and a strategic mineral and metals repository.

# proudscot 2012-02-14 12:33
Unfortunately the lamentable Lamont's inarticulate and largely ill-informed performances at FMQs are reflecting badly on the quality of debate in our parliament. Some of her Labour back benchers, e.g. Baker, Kelly, McNeil and McMahon, to name but a few, also raise a shudder of embarrassment when they rise to recite their soundbites.

While Davidson and Rennie also ask some poorly researched questions, they at least sound articulate and reasonably intelligent from time to time. The general content of their attempts to criticise the FM and the government however, tend to make me think of them as a pair of malevolent twins named Sneer and Smear!

Final point, I never thought Labour could possibly find a replacement leader worse than Iain Gray - but boy, was I wrong!

# Displaced Patriot 2012-02-14 13:45
Labour Urged to Drop Negativity........................................................ ON EVERYTHING would be a more apt headline

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-14 13:48
As I recall, Alex Salmond tried very hard...twice...to explain to JL and the Labour party, the facts of the situation. He failed twice as well.

You just cannot educate pork.

The quality of Labour and their ability to grasp simple things is truely appalling !!!

# X_Sticks 2012-02-14 13:50
None so blind as will not see, and none so stupid as those who will not think!

# Exile 2012-02-14 16:17
One thing that struck me was when Duncan McNeill asked a constituency question he came across as reasonably intelligent and...well... reasonable. Why is it he and his pals go all weird and decidedly thick when it's the main opposition questions to the FM? Is it stage fright? Time to get the editable clip in for the boys and girls at Pacific Quay? Or what? Beats me.

# mato21 2012-02-14 18:34
Would that be the same D.McNeill who tried to blame home tuition for the murder of the Riggi children. As far as I remember his remarks were well out of order and do not remember an apology being given though I may have missed it

# Legerwood 2012-02-14 18:11
One of the firms mentioned in conjunction with the steel contracts not being awarded in Scotland was Dalziel which is owned by Tata. But as far as I am aware they make steel for so called 'yellow goods' which is things like bulldozers, diggers etc.

One of the other things that I read about the steel contract was that the Chinese manufacturers once they have made the steel will fit it onto a template of the bridge to see that it is OK then dismantle it and ship it here. Sorry I do not have a link for that but I read the story in the Herald a week or so ago.

No doubt there are those among you who can put me right on these things.

But it is clear that even with the residual steelmaking/finishing capacity that we have it would not meet an order of this size. Although the Dalziel works have been expanded recently and do have what seems to be a highish output.

# freeussoon 2012-02-14 21:35
Did Dalzell not used to be a plate rolling mill?

Claim to fame years ago that it had the longest rolling mill in Uk/Europe?

# rhymer 2012-02-14 19:40
Is it somebody in London who writes J. Lamonts scripts because they certainly don't know anything about the steel industry in Scotland.
If it is one of Labour's own in-house PR people in Hollyrood then they should be fired for making that wee woman look stupid(er).

# Jim1320 2012-02-14 21:16
Johann "The steel should come from Ravenscraig"

Eck (in best Proclaimer voice) "Ravenscraig no more

Johann "Really? Nobody tells me anything...mutter mutter"

# Roll_On_2011 2012-02-14 21:33
NuLabour in Scotland aren’t they the ones that set up that ‘not fit for purpose’ TIE. Or has Lament forgotten that…. What a neep.

NuLabour in Scotland have tried twice to turn a ‘pig’s ear into a silk purse’, first with “the best FM that Scotland never had” and now with Lament.

The laws of matter states: ‘You cannot destroy matter you can only change its form’. It’s impossible to change Lead into Gold no matter (excuse the pun) how hard they try. Lament is an asset for the SNP… long may she rule the NuLabour roost.

Another point is that we have seen the SNP publish their data on dealings with Murdoch… where is NuLabours?

# Matrix 2012-02-14 22:14
The Scorpion and the Frog is a fable about a scorpion asking a frog to carry him across a river. The frog is afraid of being stung during the trip, but the scorpion argues that if it stung the frog, the frog would sink and the scorpion would drown. The frog agrees and begins carrying the scorpion, but midway across the river the scorpion does indeed sting the frog, dooming them both. When asked why, the scorpion points out that this is its nature. The fable is used to illustrate the position that the behaviour of some creatures is irrepressible, no matter how they are treated and no matter what the consequences. NULAB entry in Wikipedia.

# Vincent McDee 2012-02-14 22:33
When behaviours like lamont's occurr, I can't stop thinking:

1) Is she on medication?
2) Does her GP knows she's on medication?
3) Shouldn't her GP do something about it, in both cases.

In any case, this could be a truly "cunning plan". By asking about the steel everyone is going to forget to ask about her Glasgow clowncillors' behaviour, despite her being married to one of them, or because of that (I'm not sure which applies)

# Marian 2012-02-14 23:38
It appeared to me that Lamont was stuck in a groove repeating over and over again the prepared script she reads from because she simply doesn't know how to think on her feet.

# X_Sticks 2012-02-14 23:41
Marian, you could have saved youself some typing. You didn't need the "on her feet" bit.

# oldnat 2012-02-14 23:52
That comment may be unfair to Marian. Dinosaurs had a secondary brain located further down the spine. It might well be that they thought better when not squashing that brain by sitting down.

I am confident that in eons to come, specialists will ascertain whether Labour politicians use their primary brain, their secondary brain, or neither.

# X_Sticks 2012-02-14 23:58
Did the secondary brain have a vocal tract?

It would explain a lot.

# call me dave 2012-02-15 01:15
Priceless Old Nat!
#;)

# edinburgh quine 2012-02-15 00:28
Or sitting down, lying down, jumping up and down; doesn't matter, she doesn't think! I think the labour party is like my next door neighbour's 3 spaniels. They're incredibly stupid and just seem to share the one brain cell. Ditto labour

# SNP Accused 2012-02-17 13:54
I't would be unwise to assume that Ms Lamentable is 'thick', 'an embarrassment', etc., just because she kept going on about the '£800M.' steel contract going to Spanish and Chinese companies (despite being corrected at least twice by wee Eck).

I suspect she is developing a tactic of 'if you tell a lie often enough, and loud enough, then people start to believe it!' Especially when the EBC and MSM are likely to twist stories like this into 'SNP Accused..'

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments