General

By G.A.Ponsonby

Scotland’s First Minister Alex Salmond has demanded a “complete apology at the earliest possible opportunity” from the Labour party after an MSP implied that the brother of Justice Minister Kenny MacAskill had benefited from ‘favouritism’.

Mr Salmond was discussing the Scottish government’s trade mission to China on BBC Radio Scotland when presenter Gary Robertson confronted him with claims from Labour party MSP Paul Martin.

Quoted in the Scotsman newspaper, Mr Martin had questioned the attendance of Alan MacAskill in a recent trade delegation to the oil rich gulf region.  The Labour MSP had suggested that Mr MacAskill’s attendance was due to family connections.

Responding, the First Minister described the claims as “absolute and comprehensive rubbish” and “turgid nonsense” and explained that Mr MacAskill had attended due to his “world renowned” experience in the renewables industry.

He said: “It’s absolute and comprehensive rubbish … what total and utter nonsense from the Labour party“

Mr Salmond explained that the Chinese Energy Minister had recently visited Scotland and had expressed interest in investing in Scotland’s offshore wind projects after seeing the Beatrice Offshore wind farm project, which is the deepest in the world.

The First Minister added: “The first Director of the Beatrice Wind project was Alan MacAskill. 

“So are we meant to say that someone of expertise and world renown in the wind industry should be disqualified from Scottish Trade missions because they happen to be the brother of a Justice Secretary?

Mr Salmond added: “What absolute turgid nonsense, I’ll expect the Labour party’s complete apology at the earliest possible opportunity”

However the First Minister appeared momentarily stunned when BBC Scotland's Gary Robertson then attempted to link last month’s trade visit to the Gulf with the compassionate release of Abdelbaset Al Megrahi over two years ago.

Claiming that Labour were merely looking for ‘full transparency’, Robertson said:  “…this visit was to Qatar and Qatar of course pressed the Justice Secretary for the release the Lockerbie bomber on compassionate grounds.”

The First Minister treated the BBC presenter’s suggestion with disdain and pointed out that Mr MacAskill had been included in the trade delegation because of his renewable expertise.

Mr Salmond explained that Mr MacAskill’s name had been listed in a press release issued prior to the trip and that Labour perhaps should have read it.

The First Minister added: “The Labour party probably could go round every single country in the world and imagine some reason why someone of firm expertise shouldn’t go there.

“… anybody whose semi-sensible, rational and with half a brain will realise that we should proceed as we’re doing on the basis of Team Scotland not asking any member of the trade delegation what their politics are, but by working out whether they can benefit Scotland in terms of attracting jobs and investment to our country.”

The business side of the trip, which has been partially overshadowed by BBC Scotland who have instead focussed on aspects of human rights and Labour party claims, has already led to speculation of direct flights between Scotland and China.

The First Minister also revealed that Chinese tourists were the number one customer in purchasing golf products from St Andrews.

Describing business opportunities between China and Scotland as proceeding “apace” Mr Salmond highlighted the success of last year’s visit that has seen the Scottish Salmon industry now enjoying £20 million worth of exports to China where previously there had been nothing.

Last year’s trip also witnessed an agreement that will help protect the iconic Scotch Whisky brand from fakes.  China is now an emerging market for the Scottish drink that this week saw a 23% increase in exports from the first nine months of the year, providing a £3 billion boost to the UK Treasury.

Comments  

# Angus 2011-12-06 23:23
Do we really care what the labour party and even the what the media say. Labour so bitter and in denial, and the BBC and ITV are part of the keep Scotland under London rule campaign, a controled media in a so called democracy, tut tut.

# brusque 2011-12-06 23:24
It gets harder and harder not to refer to the Labour benches as xxxxx.

I fully expect moderation, but I really have to vent; and Gary Robertson attempting to get mileage by implying something improper about Mr Megrahi's release makes him no better. He is so far from being a Journalist and so close to being a Labour mouthpiece, that it almost defies belief, but not quite.

Language edit -Mod team

# doonhamer 2011-12-06 23:27
Gary Robertson and BBC Scotland should also issue a full public apology at the earliest convenience for their continuing bias and ineptitude supporting the Labour Party.

# RJBH 2011-12-06 23:32
Unfortunatley.. we will have to deal with ever desperate unionists.. we can expect much more as they grow ever more desperate and realise its all over for them.

# Edna Caine 2011-12-06 23:33
When will the Labour pond-life realise that not everyone behaves like themselves?

They have to realise that it is possible to act politically without expecting some sort of Tammany Hall kick-back such as an ermine robe or a limo to take you to a football match.

Or a lucrative speaking career
Or a huge expenses rip-off
Or an unmerited seat on the board of of an ALEO
Or a ...... oh, fill in the blanks yourself

(I've just closed the curtains and switched off the lights - the room is DARK!)

# Hirta 2011-12-06 23:34
Why oh why oh why are the BBC continuing to downplay Scotland and the SNP? Can't they see Labour are spent and the Tories are nonentities here? The SNP are the voice now, not the others..

Perhaps the SNP should take a leaf out of Rangers Football Club and cut all ties with this organisation, and when people wonder why this is, a complete listing of negativity portrayed by the BBC towards the majority government of Scotland should be freely available to view online.

With every passing day, my disdain for this news outlet amplifies.

For future ref, please make good use of newsnetscotland.com/.../....

Meanwhile, this could be a new thread of its own, and will the BBC issue an apology over this?

Quote:
However the First Minister appeared momentarily stunned when BBC Scotland's Gary Robertson then attempted to link last month’s trade visit to the Gulf with the compassionate release of Abdelbaset Al Megrahi over two years ago.

Who wrote the script for that one?

# GrassyKnollington 2011-12-06 23:45
The state broadcaster falling over themselves yet again to talk down Scotland and promulgate Labour smears and innuendo.

Quite disgusting.

# eric black 2011-12-06 23:45
I have just listened to labour propogandist Robertson. That man disgusts me.

I have little doubt that North Britain Labour email their talking points to the odious toad who then does their bidding.

Salmond is far too reasonable towards Robertson and should be far more forthright not in his condemnation of Labour, you expect such guttural crap from them, but towards Robertson and the Pacific Quay cheerleaders.

Their bias and hatred should not go unchallenged.

# Soloman 2011-12-06 23:59
Was this the Mr Martin whose mother was running round London City buying her shopping c/o the good old tax payer?

# Macart 2011-12-07 00:08
Labour and the BBC are muck raking. They are perfectly aware that there is nothing to either of the appalling questions put to the FM. But they are hoping for reaction and the poorer the better. I can understand the feelings expressed so far by everyone here, but the FM cannot afford anger or unreasoned reply.

Personally my natural response would be short, loud and to the point, the First Minister of Scotland, I'm sure, would love nothing better than to do the same, but I repeat he cannot. He's a statesman, a diplomat and as far as politics allows an honourable man. He'll dish it out in his own way and in his own time. The best reward for the tactics used by Labour and the questioning of Mr Robertson is to succeed in what he's doing.

# roboftheburnawn 2011-12-07 00:19
Macart- Agree with you 100%.

With all these matters, MSM bias, bbc bias- I think they are waiting/hoping for some sort of outburst, then they will try to ridicule AS and the rest of the SG.

This is where we have to do our part and let as many people as we can, know exactly what's going on. Unfortunately our First Minister's hand are tied - for the time being

# Macart 2011-12-07 00:26
Like I said rob, he'll dish it out, in his own way and in his own time. These tactics are being employed deliberately. They've failed so far and they will continue to fail!

Believe it!

# west_lothian_questioner 2011-12-07 00:37
The negativity just goes on and on. Somewhere along the line the Labour lot and their pet broadcaster have managed to forget how well those tactics paid off back in May. Taking them seriously just isn't possible.

# rhymer 2011-12-07 01:16
[quote name="roboftheburnawn "]Macart- Agree with you 100%. With all these matters, MSM bias, bbc bias- I think they are waiting/hoping for some sort of outburst, then they will try to ridicule AS and the rest of the SG. /quote]
Surely A.S. could have replied, "That is probabably one of the most ridiculas and insulting suggestions I have ever heard. Can I ask YOU Gary, who asked you to ask that question? Did you make it up yourself or did somebody else write it for you ?"

We NEED a response
like that occasionally.

# Macart 2011-12-07 08:24
No rhymer he can't. He can't afford our reaction especially not in the middle of an interview. If he did, then he would be no use as the leader of the Scottish Government. I don't know about anyone else, but I don't need anyone with a temper acting as a diplomat and potential leader of our independent country at a conference table.

The FM is smarter than that rhymer and be assured he will not let this lie. He will make sure that the allegations are answered in his own way and in his own time.

# nchanter 2011-12-07 12:21
Quoting Macart:
Labour and the BBC are muck raking. They are perfectly aware that there is nothing to either of the appalling questions put to the FM. But they are hoping for reaction and the poorer the better. I can understand the feelings expressed so far by everyone here, but the FM cannot afford anger or unreasoned reply.

Personally my natural response would be short, loud and to the point, the First Minister of Scotland, I'm sure, would love nothing better than to do the same, but I repeat he cannot. He's a statesman, a diplomat and as far as politics allows an honourable man. He'll dish it out in his own way and in his own time. The best reward for the tactics used by Labour and the questioning of Mr Robertson is to succeed in what he's doing.

Thanks for that Sir. Since I have no access to a dark room I will take heed of you good advice. As for our so-called journalists Garry,Kay (e) Glen Gordon and so on, I wonder how they see themselves.

# Macart 2011-12-07 15:46
They're just careerists nchanter, climbing their own ladders. Now if yer short o' a darkened room the hall cupboard or a bog wi' a good bolt does for me! :0)

# peter,aberdeenshire 2011-12-07 00:12
I once contacted the EU regarding the BBC bias and was kinda fobbed off but maybe if more people did the same then at least the cat could be set among the proverbial pigeons!
Surely we have a right to fair and balanced state media or if this is not the case then be entitled to withold payment of the licence.

# Scotsfox 2011-12-07 01:08

# millie 2011-12-07 00:24
O/T. RE: BBC SCOTLAND.
Don’t know if anyone else has noticed, but the normal ‘detailed in house’ Scottish weather forecast during the 10.30pm edition of Reporting Scotland does not seem to have been broadcast for a couple of weeks now.
It would appear, since the floods and bad winter weather arrived!... Why??

# Fungus 2011-12-07 00:32
Labour's big hitters, the cream of the political elite...Martin, Curran and Gray

www.youtube.com/.../

# bigbuachaille 2011-12-07 00:32
What is concerning about the GMS interview is that Gary Robertson barely touched on the aims and achievements of the visit. The focus was Human Rights.
A further objection is his raising a totally different topic, namely the trade visit to Qatar and he then questioned the participation of Allan Macaskill in that visit. Robertson even managed to link the trade visit to Qatar with the release of Megrahi. This is plain loaded interviewing and smacks of Labour Party feeds to BBC Scotland.
All of this contrasts markedly with the soft touch of the BBC when ‘reporting’ the recent Trade Mission conducted by Mr Moore to Brazil. Here is a selection of the anodyne reporting of the picture of that visit the UK Government wants the BBC in Scotland to present.
1. BBC News - Trade delegation heads for Brazil 25th November 2011
2. BBC News - Scots firms should target emerging markets, says Moore 28th November 2011
3. BBC News - Scottish Secretary Michael Moore on trade trip to Brazil 28th November 2011
4. BBC News - Brazil export boost for North Sea oil firms 1st December 2011
5. BBC News - Brazil boosts trade with Scotland 3rd December 2011
6. BBC News - Brazil's Latin spirit could be boost for Scottish trade 3rd December 2011
No mention of how Mr Moore tackled the question of human rights in Brazil. For your information here is a list of human rights violations in Brazil, taken from Wikipedia:
1 Slave Labour and Labour Exploitation
2 Domestic violence
3 Ethnic minorities
4 Women
5 Prisoner violence
6 Summary executions and police violence
7 Torture
8 Agrarian violence and oppression
9 Indigenous violence
10 Refugees
11 Impunity (of the perpetrators of violence)
12 Violence against human rights defenders
There can be no doubt that Trade Missions are of immense value to Scotland, but the question remains: Why does BBC Scotland question the First Minister of Scotland in a manner which contrasts so markedly with the reporting of the Secretary of State for Scotland. There was NO mention of Brazil’s appalling record of Human Rights during the entire visit to Brazil, yet human rights formed a large part of today’s interview with the First Minister.
Further there is scant coverage of the First Minister’s visit to China on Reporting Scotland, in marked contrast to the coverage on STV.
This, apparently intentional, failure to report accurately and in a balanced manner two similar events is a gross disservice to all of the people of Scotland who look to the all broadcasters to provide them with full, impartial reporting of events so that we, the people of this country, can be in a position to make our own decisions on all the matters relevant to our country’s future.

# Jim Johnston 2011-12-07 10:21
Absolutely true bigbuachaille and spot on with your facts.

BBC "Scotland" are simply a Unionist propaganda machine for Westminster.
And they want Scots to pay a licence for their dross ?

SIMPLY TELL THEM YOU DON'T REQUIRE A LICENCE AND DON'T WATCH "LIVE" TV.
END OF STORY, (and end of BBC !!!!).

# Alx1 2011-12-07 00:36
Well put bigbuachaille and so very true.

# bigbuachaille 2011-12-07 01:00
Relaxed, fluent and professional performance by the FM on Newsnicht, the nicht. Could G. Brewer please address his final question to Michael Moore? Namely, is it a waste of public money to go jetting off over the world in these constrained times? Fat chance of that ever happening.

# Legerwood 2011-12-07 01:35
Quote:
Namely, is it a waste of public money to go jetting off over the world in these constrained times?

Reporting Scotland 6.30pm this evening: one reporter in China - barely reporting on FM's visit and one reporter in USA reporting on Scottish sportsmen and women in training for olympics. Some of the athletes had raised the money to fund their own trip as opposed to the BBC reporter who was using our money. And at other times one BBC reporter for Reporting Scotland who has spent the year following Andy Murray around the world from tournament to tournament.

All of course with camera crews etc.

The BBC should address the jet-setting among their own staff before laying the charge at anyone else particularly when that person, the FM, is out there trying to get jobs for people as opposed to the TV reporters.

# Early Ball 2011-12-07 01:05
OT

What are the chances of the CBI's Ian McMillan getting a Knighthood in the New Years Honours List?

Services to.........

# Robabody 2011-12-07 23:37
Sundry Soporific Spouting?

# bigbuachaille 2011-12-07 01:11
Sorry, but I canna get to sleep. This article from 1998 in Scotland on Sunday confirms all you need to know about Martin and nepotism.
highbeam.com/.../...

# J Wil 2011-12-07 01:28
Gordon Brewer almost apologised during his interview with Alex Salmond tonight, for asking him, in so many words, if his trip to China was cost effective. He was almost apologetic about the question, but still asked it.

I thought the woman from the transport lobby on STV tonight was going to be relatively neutral politically until she asked for the plan for the Glasgow airport rail link to be reinstated. Then I just knew she was a Labour supporter.

We were greatly honoured by having that great inscrutible budda from the north
(and doom-monger extraordinaire) on both channels tonight. Loowisss McDonald.

I thought Tavish Scott had been risen from the dead as he got a mention in the Herald. A letter commented on Tavish's complaint that the Orkney's had missed out again in the new trials for Road Equivalent Tariff (RET). The author, who was the man behind RET, claimed that Orkney ferries were already getting greater subsidies than RET would have given them. Perhaps Tavish would like to substitute the existing one for the cheaper option. I think this may have been the same question that he asked immediately before he took a back seat and the answer was the same too.

# pa_broon74 2011-12-07 01:41
Quite happy for the SNP to continue speaking to the BBC, it merely highlights the paucity of their argument with the continued negativity.

It seems the BBC in a display of arrogance still think the people believe what they peddle without question even although its demonstrably not true (May 5th Holyrood Election result - exhibit 1.)

I just don't rate the BBC and we know which way the written MSM is going. I'm only mildly concerned about it. The relentless drip drip repetitiveness of the bile is putting more folk off the union than its bringing back.

Is what I think anyway.

# Macart 2011-12-07 08:32
Yer bang on pa! The wilder and more negative the question or assertion and the more reasonable the SNP responder, the more damage they do to their position. We are winning the arguments.

# Kinghob 2011-12-07 01:44
I intensely dislike this smearing nonsense of the bbc and the labour party; they surely have completely wasted many many hours (days weeks years) looking at the release of Megrahi on grounds of compassion under Scots Law and looking for other angles all proven as pure balderdash..........................................There is a marked bias in the reportage of how in general news media here reports China in the west and how they would report other countries that lacked the best application of human rights.

Yes, Brazil and other countries lack human rights.......but they aren't the threat to 'the west' that China is (from an economic perspective only by the way-believe that one as an absolute fact) - hence the different approach and snide reportage on China where we get the cartoon baddie (bin laden is dead after all) the baddie that wreaks havoc on the Chinese citizens but apparently there aren't graveyards full of murdered men woman and children in Brazil because nice michael moore is there from the morally wonderful british government.................so let's suddenly be upbeat on the human rights record of South American countries if you are the bbc.

Bad China! Bad Bad China!

Nice Brazil! Lovely Sweet Brazil!

Look at that so called 'country' called 'Britain" and you will hear of something called 'rendition" and say, if your are allegedly into Human Rights: 'Does 'bbc Britain" even have the right to state that our version of rendition is a nice kind james bond cosy relaxed pleasingly accented version of torture and that we can therefore point our (extremely) grubby fingers at China over human rights as theirs is shouty nasty Chinese torture?

There is a rumour of a place called 'Saudi Arabia' and another called apparently "Israel" and what they get up to human rights and what 'Britain" does to tell them off.....mainly deal with them on arms and trade.

Britain was trading with despotic Libya, ran by 'a madman' who oppressed and killed to keep power for f's sake!

Gary Robertson is not up to much-I know that for an absolute fact-he is more than intelligent enough to know that he is not a proper journalist, (with his loaded line of questioning in this instance), nor moral enough either to simply to draw the line and have proof before he blabs off on behalf of unionist parties or at least check up.

BBC the voice of the people-I don't think this rings true and it is a problem that will build for the bbc just as the Scottish media lacks credibility or Ian Gray would be the First Minister right now and we'd all be in cloud heaven quaffing champers and shit.

Trying to grow legs on something that usually requires some sort of proof is not a defensible position for any bbc journalist.

Sign that e-petition please guys......more than 300 people have had enough of the bbc, get it onto your Facebook and ask the punters to express what they think of their news on occasion rather than whether they had the skitters last night after a bad bevy and curry......!

Kinghob

# fairliered 2011-12-07 08:27
I am concerned about the human rights of a nation being denied the right to free speech by its national broadcaster, which is controlled by, and committed to furthering the interests of, a neighbouring nation. When is the BBC going to stand up for Scotland's human rights, instead of undermining them?

# Mad Jock McMad 2011-12-07 01:46
Folks - let's remind ourselves that the Labour talking heads at Pacific Quay are doing more good for a pro-independence vote in 2014 than harm.

Martin is an ex-Glasgow Councillor whose days as an MSP must be increasingly numbered. I wonder if Strathclyde Polis will be knocking on his door after May 2012 inquiring about some of his exceptional pay and conditions while a Labour councillor and end up McAveety'd or will HM Tax be inviting him along for a discussion on 'undeclared' income instead.

PS: anyone know the state of the police investigation into McAveety's expenses?

My message is those who have got it coming for them are not going to be ducking for much longer - be like Eck and remember that old saw: revenge is a dish best supped cold. After 50 years of Labour hegemony in Scotland and its associated corruption waiting another one or two years is not much to ask.

# jafurn 2011-12-07 01:54
Mad Jock McMad 2011-12-07 01:46
Folks - let's remind ourselves that the Labour talking heads at Pacific Quay are doing more good for a pro-independence vote in 2014 than harm.

I wholeheartedly agree with you on this. I used to get furious at the utter bias thrown out by the bbc and the media but I really think that it is all starting to backfire on them. How can they possibly expect to get away with this crap for another 2 or 3 years is beyond me. If and when they realise this and start to change tack then they will only succeed in looking even more foolish than they do now. Either way they are doing the cause of Independence no real harm if current trends are anything to go by.

# Macart 2011-12-07 08:35
Spot on Mad Jock!

# Marga B 2011-12-07 12:04
Don't forget Martin the Speaker's case, if I'm not mistaken, the full facts were never known or should we say silenced.

# Marga B 2011-12-07 01:53
O/T - have you seen this in tomorrow's Scotsman:

"THE Daily Record and Sunday Mail have indicated that they will adopt a more sympathetic tone towards the SNP as parent company Trinity Mirror merges its operations in Scotland.

The tabloid papers will combine with 20 local titles owned by Scottish & Universal Newspapers to create Media Scotland, which is expected to soften its hardline support for Scottish Labour.

Allan Rennie, who becomes editor-in-chief of Media Scotland, said the company would not be abandoning its traditional Labour readers, but had to be more balanced in its political coverage. "

# J Wil 2011-12-07 02:00
Then it's mainly the BBC now, but we have to realise what independence means for them. Obliteration!

# Macart 2011-12-07 08:36
That's it, break oot the McCallan 25yr old.

Aye right! :0)

# Jester 2011-12-07 11:17
Quoting Marga B:

"THE Daily Record and Sunday Mail have indicated that they will adopt a more sympathetic tone towards the SNP as parent company Trinity Mirror merges its operations in Scotland.

The tabloid papers will combine with 20 local titles owned by Scottish & Universal Newspapers to create Media Scotland, which is expected to soften its hardline support for Scottish Labour.

Allan Rennie, who becomes editor-in-chief of Media Scotland, said the company would not be abandoning its traditional Labour readers, but had to be more balanced in its political coverage. "

I still wouldn't give them house-room.

# proudscot 2011-12-07 15:25
Quoting Marga B:

And of course, MargaB, this apparent change of political reporting to a less biased, more balanced output, will have absolutely nothing to do with the DR's plummeting sales ... aye, right!

# Legerwood 2011-12-07 18:51
One of the local titles is my local newspaper. We have an SNP MSP and SNP led council so it will be interesting to see if there is any change because at the moment they are almost invisible as far as the local paper is concwerned.

By contrast when we had a Laqbour MSP and Labour Council the MSP was never out of the paper and would have turned up for the opening of an envelope if there was a phot op in it.

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 18:56
You can be sure of Labour MSPs turning up for the opening of a large brown envelope, that's for sure.

# Kinghob 2011-12-07 02:14
Quote:
What are the chances of the CBI's Ian McMillan getting a Knighthood in the New Years Honours List?

His efforts will not be worth it, he will judge himself and his own conscience and the validity of his efforts and words which I believe are partisan and talk down the Scottish business interest....................as I for one and many others won't be that interested in what he thins, now or in the future he cannot bring himself to imagine positively-flawed negativity will not win the referendum vote in a few years, quite the opposite in fact is what will win a YES VOTE.

Believe it.

# ubinworryinmasheep 2011-12-07 02:26
Is there not a GERS report due out in the Summer ? If anything it should show Scotlands contributions are greater than its needs again or is Westminster currently trying to plug that gap by throwing money up here ala the 400 million for capital projects and other things ?

# Old Smokey 2011-12-07 02:57
What on earth was that bit at the top of Newsnight Scotland regarding the Scottish Government spending plan on capital projects with the Labour MSP Lewis Macdonald rant (as that is all it was) that it was 'a wish list' that it wouldnt happen , even Santa got a mention. There was no structure to his interview, sounded very desperate. The theme is carried on in the Scotsman
scotsman.com/.../...
All the unionists clinging onto the idea that the Scottish Government have accepted the Scotland Bill (did we actually have a choice??)
The village idiot, Willie Rennie gets a very inane quote in the same article "the country was enjoying record low interest rates as part of the UK, but warned this would change under independence" Seriously the guy is an idiot

# Old Smokey 2011-12-07 03:05
I found Gordon Brewers comments about 'who represents Scotland abroad' and is the First Ministers trip really needed completly stupid. He id try and play the 'Foreign affairs is a reserved matter' card. But surely Brewer can see that Alex Salmond and the SNP are doing their utmost to attract inward investment and business/jobs in Scotland
Compare that with what Moore has been doing and all he cant do is frame it in context of the'UK'. I wouldnt be surprised if Moore is told to look as if he is working for Scotland, but in reality he must work for England (an ermine awaits)

# Jim Johnston 2011-12-07 12:11
Hi Smokey,

Westminster can hand out as many Grand Haps, aka ermine robes as the like.

In a couple of years they will be paying for the lot of them, lock stock and barrel. How long do you think people down south will stand for that ?

# Kinghob 2011-12-07 03:28
That Labour MSP MacDonald comes across as an early era but totally insane Ian paisley every time you have the misfortune to watch his rants.

Don't get me wrong......I actually have total respect for what Ian Paisley did and how he cooperated to make a better Northern Ireland with a political future-his actions led to meaningful much needed change............I never would have believed he could have it in him to contribute in the manner he did.

I am 47.

Rock on Ian.

This other guy labour MacDonald (from labour-Scotland with a very very small 's') has a similar manner but little of substance or alternative to offer, and therefore appears to be a little off his rocker as we used to say when I was a lad.

# Guig 2011-12-07 03:45
Given their history over the last UK Parliament, the Labour Party have great experience of improper expenses and junkets.

I suppose if I wanted to be naughty I could mention Michael Martin but I won't.

# km 2011-12-07 07:04
Has anyone actually seen a quantified list of positive outcomes of the Trade Mission to Brazil? Does MM have to publish a visit report at any stage?

# Saporian 2011-12-07 09:26
How about this bbc.co.uk/.../...

# J Wil 2011-12-07 09:44
This suggests that Brazil is more prone to selling and using their own goods and services than buying in from others.

# proudscot 2011-12-07 15:31
Quoting J Wil:
This suggests that Brazil is more prone to selling and using their own goods and services than buying in from others.

Tell you what J Wil, I wouldn't object if Brazil exported some of their footballers to us - even the ones that can't get into their national squad!

# Alx1 2011-12-07 12:59
Michael Moore did say that there had already been £3 million pounds worth of investments/export orders.

Now, not to sure how or when, maybe increased whisky sales? But there had been 7 ministerial visits to Brazil so far.

# Early Ball 2011-12-07 08:18
Yes. Brazil are going to get their human rights sorted out.

# J Wil 2011-12-07 08:58
Moore tries to tell us that this huge network of backup that exists within the British establishment is better for serving Scotland's trading interests than doing our own thing, but history does not bear that out.

Does the diplomatic service really give Scotland any advantage? It is so easy for them to cut Scotland out in favour of the motherland, England. A nod and a wink does it.

A craven example of how Scotland is treated is the BBC who have been sidelining Scotland for years and it is only recently that they have been pulled somewhat into line by the rise in popularity and influence of the SNP. That situation can be extrapolated to the activities of the rest of the British establishment as they work behind the scenes in the 'UK's' interests and this is not so blatently observable as broadcasting bias.

It is apparent that when it comes to the crunch, Scotland is of lower importance.

# cardrossian 2011-12-07 09:19
Perhaps its now time to hit back at the BBC. Witholding the licence fee as suggested would only end up with huge fines, for it would be breaking the law. Perhaps however one of this sites bloggers who has the wherewithal could create an alternative BBC website on which all instances of BBC bias could be listed, showing the world how corrupt the BBC, and particularly BBC Scotland is. This would I think get a better result than wild threats.

# manxbhoy 2011-12-07 10:56
Quoting cardrossian:
Perhaps its now time to hit back at the BBC. Witholding the licence fee as suggested would only end up with huge fines, for it would be breaking the law. Perhaps however one of this sites bloggers who has the wherewithal could create an alternative BBC website on which all instances of BBC bias could be listed, showing the world how corrupt the BBC, and particularly BBC Scotland is. This would I think get a better result than wild threats.

cardrossian, i believe this is what you are lookin for.

biased-bbc.blogspot.com/

# pa_broon74 2011-12-07 15:38
The chances of getting fined are so slim as to be non-existent.

Since Capita took over 'enforcement' its just not financially viable for them to prosecute cases when threatening letters in most cases suffice.

I don't have a licence and won't have one and no one should be afraid of cancelling theirs either, know your rights on things like right of entry (as in Capita doesn't have any so cannot enter your home) and know that Capita's commercial model doesn't support criminal action.

Not paying your TV licence isn't a wild threat, you just cancel the DD, its quite a mundane undertaking, all letters go in the bin.

# Alibi 2011-12-07 09:29
I used to go on trade missions to the ME and we always found that as Scots we were welcomed, whereas if we had done what the British Embassy wanted and said we were British, we would not have been well received. They tried to get us to wear wee UJ badges, but we refused as we weren't British. In fact I told one of their representatives where he could stick his badge. Our Saltire badges always ensured a warm reception.

# J Wil 2011-12-07 09:38
I feel that more could be done about organisations like Citigroup, which come up with negative reports about Scotland's economy. The way to get back at them would be to study whether their previous forecasts have ever materialised.

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 09:56
O/T I doubt NNS would bother reporting this, unless the First Minster demanded an apology, but this is an absolute disgrace. I've complained to Ofcom, and suggest others should too.

uist.co.uk/.../...

# Fortitudine 2011-12-07 10:33
That's my complaint lodged..
Truly disgusting 'reporting' (term used very loosely indeed), these people are a disgrace.

# snowthistle 2011-12-07 10:49
My complaint also logged. I am appalled.

# Jim Johnston 2011-12-07 12:21
Don't be daft L, complaints to Ofcom count as BBC engaging with the public.
Just ignore their begging letter when it comes to renewing a TV licence. That's the only complaint that achieves anything.
Not watching "live" TV is a real tonic and better than medicine.

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 12:24
This is Channel 5 this time.

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 12:28
Channel 5 have now made the episode unavailable to view online, and they have removed the (500!) complaining comments from the page.

They also removed my comment, from the page for today's episode, although it was calm, measured and contained no offensive statements.

I've complained to Channel 5 and Ofcom about this episode. I expect to hear from neither, nor to see this mentioned in anything other than purely local news.

Edited in - They've now removed all comments, which were all complaints, from the page for today's episode too.

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 14:26
This is beyond belief. On today's The Wright Stuff, he apologized if he had offended anyone, and told those who had reported the show to Ofcom to "grow up"!

That'll be another pair of complaints from me heading to Ofcom and C5 then.

Newsnet - you need to pick up this story, even though it's not politcal.

# From The Suburbs 2011-12-07 10:08
Jim Murphy currently turning complaints about loss of MoD jobs in Edinburgh into an anti SNP rant but no chance of BBC pointing out that Scotland currently contributes more towards UK defence than Norway spends.

Yesterday BBC used pejorative terms such as "so called" when describing Scottish Government's £60 billion investment plans. They would never start off a UK government announcement with such remarks.

# UpSpake 2011-12-07 10:15
Brewer had a point, somewhat barbed in asking 'Who preresents Scotland' ?, the Governor General or the First Minister.
Well, there is an easy answer to that, the FM of-course. He is our elected politician and has Scotland at his heart, first and last.
Moore was elected by no-one to be Governor General, he was appointed to that irrelevent post.
Irrelevent as since 1999, when the Scots Parliament was re-convened, the post was redundant.
So Moore prances off to Brazil with a collection of businessmen, with the foreknowledge and accpetance of the Scots government, not I don't think so. Was there a parlaimentary group on that mission, don't think so. Who do they report back to, Holyrood, Westminster or no-one at all ?. Where is the follow up going to be co-ordinated through, London or Edinburgh ?.
Too many questions, too many delegations all pulling in different directions I suspect. Confusiing to the potential investors, probably !.
Would any Brazilian have asked Moore why he regards Scotland as an unsafe place to invest in ?.

# Jester 2011-12-07 11:22
Quoting UpSpake:
Brewer had a point, somewhat barbed in asking 'Who preresents Scotland' ?, the Governor General or the First Minister.
Well, there is an easy answer to that, the FM of-course. He is our elected politician and has Scotland at his heart, first and last.
Moore was elected by no-one to be Governor General, he was appointed to that irrelevent post.
Irrelevent as since 1999, when the Scots Parliament was re-convened, the post was redundant.
So Moore prances off to Brazil with a collection of businessmen, with the foreknowledge and accpetance of the Scots government, not I don't think so. Was there a parlaimentary group on that mission, don't think so. Who do they report back to, Holyrood, Westminster or no-one at all ?. Where is the follow up going to be co-ordinated through, London or Edinburgh ?.
Too many questions, too many delegations all pulling in different directions I suspect. Confusiing to the potential investors, probably !.
Would any Brazilian have asked Moore why he regards Scotland as an unsafe place to invest in ?.

If there's anyone who is attending junkets for no good reason it would appear to be Mr Moore.

# Jim Johnston 2011-12-07 12:33
Yep UpSpake, "Moore no more" has a nice ring to it.
Let's hope the idiot didn't sell Brasil a pup that Scotland will let Brazil win, next time we show them how to play football.
The man's no' wired up right.

# mountaincadre 2011-12-07 10:17
Can't say that i'm to worried about any of this, when we see how Scottish ministers are being interviewed now as oppossed to even a year ago then i smile and think to myself," oh the reek of desperation", someone above mentions Mr Brewer not looking to happy about asking silly questions, my own thoughts on this are that there are quite a lot of journo's now who are not just seeing through this nonsense, but more importantly see the real damage that it could cause. There will always be people willing to work against there own,"no names mentioned" but they are a minority that is getting smaller by the day, these people know who they are and have taken the pieces of silver in full knowledge of what they are expected to do, there ranting against the Scottish Goverment and anything not controlled by West Minister will get louder and more bizare as we go along the road to Independance.

# Macart 2011-12-07 10:21
The tactics being used by Labour and the highly politicised BBC are atrocious, no doubt about it! But we cannot respond in kind. It's what the beggars are waiting for and they'll make the most of it. We respond with our minds and our voting feet! They know that 5 minutes after independence Scotland will have its own national broadcaster and if any BBC type is on here or at least scanning these columns, (which you should be if you're any good at your job), take heed!

As for Labour's part in this? They were the party of my father and his father but the modern equivalent bares no resemblance to the men my parents and grandparents voted for. I watched the three hopefuls on newsnight the other night and thought why can't any of you be honest, just even a little bit. Not one of them offered apology for the disastrous state of the nation, not one of them owned up to the fact that their party had let the whole UK down, had dragged them into illegal wars, aided and abetted in the crash of the banks, were front runners in expenses scandals and they have no shame at all over decades of graft and council mismanagement. They paid lip service to tribal animosity toward the SNP and then proceeded to blame the SNP for everything up to and including who stole the glass oot o' the heid bummers cludgie at Holyrood (metaphorically speaking).

They have no shame over their part in Scotland's current woes and that is why they will do and say anything to retain the union. That is why they will use a very willing msm and its also why they are going to fail. The electorate are not stupid, they have shown in May what they are capable of. Labour and MSM take notes, continue to abuse the public trust and you will lose it completely.

Oh wait now......

# robmcdonald 2011-12-07 10:32
Gary Robertson fair had his gas put at a peep by Mike Russell this morning. Well worth a listen if you can.

# Macart 2011-12-07 10:37
I'll try and snag it later on iplayer if possible. I'm on tea break just now. Love tae hear it though! :0)

Just occurred though, they'd never allow a recording of that interview on site. I mean, an interviewer gettin' his clock figuratively cleaned in public?? Don theenk so!

# chiefy1724 2011-12-07 10:59
I certainly thought that Mike did very well to manage to keep the heid in the face of some very biased questioning.

We know that the BBC supress dissent - has anyone seen The Missing Comments Section from the Great Tangerine Blog from last week, for example, but I don't think that they will be able to remove an entire programme from the iPlayer.

# ianbeag 2011-12-07 18:05
You can listen to it here bbc.co.uk/.../... from 1hr:36 mins to 1hr:42 from the start of the programme and sense the hostility towards Michael who is well able to put Robertson's gas at a peep. Bravo Michael.

# Barontorc 2011-12-07 20:22
Thks for the link IB - Mike Russell called him David, in between kicking him in the goolies, so I think it must have been David Miller who drew the short straw for that interview.

# Macart 2011-12-07 23:04
Cheers IB, thanks for the link. Robertson was downright rude! It wasn't that his questions were especially wrong but the intonation and intent were exceptionally hostile. Still, Mike gave him full and reasonable answers leaving him nowhere to go.

# From The Suburbs 2011-12-07 10:48
Call Kaye now announcing SNP mega plan for Scottish government infrastructure plan as Santa will be busy visiting Alex Salmond.
Another Labour line trotted out by BBC as unbiased factual description.

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 11:12
I noticed that. Pathetic.

# Marga B 2011-12-07 12:14
Scotsman with the same headline.

# Jim Johnston 2011-12-07 12:38
Oh, haud ma sides Kaye, that's a side splitter, so it is. Did ye get that wan oot o the J. Clarkson Joke Book ?

# Barontorc 2011-12-07 20:24
She is absolute dross!

# Allan Christie 2011-12-07 10:55
Paul Martin comes from a very respectable family. His father was an ambassador to UK politics!!

# tartanfever 2011-12-07 11:01
Doesn't he present 'Flog It' ?

# Jim Johnston 2011-12-07 12:41
Close tf but a different Martin. Flogging it does run in this Martin's family though.

# Edulis 2011-12-07 11:00
Martin is the last person to talk about nepotism, with his family's track record. What is this man for? He surfaces like his father every time there is a shop steward-type requirement, just like Donkey McNeil.
I have to say, I think that the BBC's coverage of the China trip was pretty basis, given the puff for the Governer General's trip to Brazil. Alex surely featured but where were the interviews with the rest of the delegation a la Cococabana beach? Why did the huge developing relationship with our Universities not feature?

# chiefy1724 2011-12-07 11:08
Well, they did send Scoop all the way out there. His shining white, witty et amusant prose, dripping with bon mots and subtle winks to "our friends", can be found on the pages of the State Broadcaster Northern Britain.

Strangely, this isn't one of the myriad of stories that Mr Daniel Maxwell of BBC Northern Britain has chosen to open up for comment in the light of allowing redeployment of scarce resources by removal of comment facility from TGTB and Douglas Fraser's Ledger.

Wonder Why ?

# cokynutjoe 2011-12-07 11:22
Maybe better to have Scoop inside the tent pissing out, than the reverse!

# chiefy1724 2011-12-07 11:24
Anything that gets rid of him for a while is welcome !

As I said earlier, maybe we can persuade the Chinese that Scoop for Two Pandas is quite a good swap ? We'll willingly pay them 750K a year to keep him in an enclosure. No Breeding, mind !

# EricF 2011-12-07 11:26
Slightly off-topic (only slightly), I expect we'll hearing outrage soon from Tom Harris and his buddies about comments about Alex Salmond like the following in the Scotsman today:

"The sight of this ugly obese megalomaniac laughing at his own introductory pathetic 'joke' on Newsnight Scotland last night was grotesque"

" don't forget all the taxpayers money the Obese Nazi Windbag Salmond is going to spend on his new Edinburgh home"

"the NAZI SALMOND HAS TOTAL CONTEMPT FOR HUMAN RIGHTS "

# proudscot 2011-12-07 15:51
Sorry EricF, you must have dreamt this. Harris says Labour supporters don't post offensive or abusive comments, only the Cybernats do that! I think said Harris has been watching the SciFi programme Fringe too much and believes he's inhabiting a Labour controlled parallel universe, where North British Broon is still PM and Lewis McDonald occasionally doesn't talk soundbite gibberish.

# handclapping 2011-12-07 11:30
Our Govenor General goes on a trade visit; today's headline in the FT "Brazil's rapid growth shudders to a halt".

Do you think they will ask him back? 8-)

# Blanco 2011-12-07 11:36
Somebody in Labour is ripping the pish giving this line to Martin to play, after all, Paul Martin knows a thing or two about keeping it in the family.  

# Ken500 2011-12-07 11:39
The Labour Mafia

Keep it in the family

Including the Media

Pathetic

# Ken500 2011-12-07 11:42
At last the SNP are trying to sort out Scotland's appalling infrastructure. Labour/Unionists returned £1.6Billion to Westminster.

# Ken500 2011-12-07 11:47
MacDonald campaigns against road building. Send out letters to constituents to protest. A misuse of public money. That is why he wasn't elected, but got in through the list. Abolish the list and save money.

# Lupus Incomitatus 2011-12-07 11:51
I met someone at my daughter's wedding in England who worked for a lobbying organisation at Westminster.

She was from my daughter's school days in Scotland and they had remained friends.

As we talking and I teased her about what she did, I broached the subject about independence and the SNP. She said that it is pretty well accepted in Westminster that AS is the politician of this generation and the reason that the Westminster GE debates excluded AS was that none of the unionist party leaders wanted to cross swords with him and be publicly humiliated in front of their English core vote.

She had worked for a newspaper in London which shall remain nameless but needs to print at least a dozen "outrages" per edition. They had a team on AS to try and find a piece of dirt on him, any piece would do to start a tabloid outrage which would feed their pages for a few days or weeks.

They never did and abandoned their quest.

The SNP are playing it right, straight and public.

It is a like a breath of fresh air in a cesspit full of political ordure.

# mato21 2011-12-07 12:05
Lupus
We all knew that was the reason he was excluded.you just had to listen to him on QT for confirmation
The unionists do not understand the concept of doing for the benefit of your fellow man,their way of looking on the world is ME,ME,and only MEEEEEEEE

# Angus Ogg 2011-12-07 12:11
The BBC are now quite blatantly no more than a state propaganda tool, in the mould of Pravda. I am utterly convinced they are controlled by MI5.

# Angus Ogg 2011-12-07 12:15
Are all comments now being pre moderated or is it just me?

# balbeggie 2011-12-07 12:21
O/T

Anti Independence campaign group in the new year?

bellacaledonia.org.uk/.../...

# Marga B 2011-12-07 12:25
Charles Kennedy heading the campaign? What a pity.

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 12:30
I expected better of him, really.

# Training Day 2011-12-07 12:38
All political careers end in failure..

..and some in farce.

# Clarinda 2011-12-07 13:04
Little wonder they are having to start up a campaign - after the latest appearance of the Nu Marx Brothers, Harpo, Lamo and Kendo the other night flogging their version of 'Horse Feathers' - it would be astonishing if the eventual winner could rustle up two political peas in a straight row.

# Robabody 2011-12-07 23:58
A nice link Clarinda as wasn't "Horse Feathers" the Marx Bros movie that had the Iain Gray theme song "I'm against it" in it? So now Charlie boy is taking it up......mmmm

# roboftheburnawn 2011-12-08 00:06
Sorry to go O/T Robabody but anyone notice anything strange withe the site time - your comment says its 21.58 but the actual time now is 21.54

# Robabody 2011-12-08 00:21
Looks like the system clock is running out of sync ....we should send for a doctor to fix the time machine....:-))

# chiefy1724 2011-12-07 14:13
Ah, well, I don't know. I think that Charlie has had his day. Look at the new political map of the Highlands.

Charlie has a high personal vote that has enabled him to retain his seat over the years, but I think that his tag as a Liberal Democrat, even one at odds with his party's coalition with the Tories, means an immediate switch off.

First Question. Mr Kennedy, will you be fighting Danny Alexander for the Liberal-Democrat Nomination for the new Inverness and Skye Westminister Constituency ?

Second Question. Mr Kennedy, if you will not be fighting Danny Alexander for that Nomination, will you be seeking election for another Scottish Westminster Seat ? If So, Which One.

Third Question. Mr Kennedy, if you are not seeking re-election to Westminster in any seat, are you expecting translation to the House of Lords as is the norm for former party leaders such as Jim Wallace, Jack McConnell and Nicol Stephen ?

I've been Chiefy, that was the end of Charlie, Thank you and may your God go with you.

# Roll_On_2011 2011-12-07 13:10
balbeggie

Aye I noticed this story is also in the Daily Express.

scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/.../...

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 13:14
I wonder, who will comprise this Council of Quis..Trai... Individuals?

Difficult to phrase that properly, given the random and irrational modding around here.

# Old Smokey 2011-12-07 13:34
It states 'Unionist parties and supporters of the UK are becoming increasingly keen for a wide-ranging association of people, including famous Scots from athletes to actors, and churchmen to politicians, to counter the SNP’s independence campaign'
Will be interesting to see which 'famous Scots from athletes to actors' step up to the plate to be unpopular in Scotland

# chiefy1724 2011-12-07 14:02
Odds-On a couple of well-known Football Managers who already have form in this regard with their active and open support of The Labour Party.

There will be "The great and the good" on all sides.

The question that "celebs" need to ask themselves is whether or not Sean Connery has drawn derision or approval for his support of the SNP even through the Dark Days ?

Would their open support for the Pro-Union campaign do them any good ?

I think that even a few of the usual suspects will balk at nailing their colours to the mast of the sinking ship of Union.

# J Wil 2011-12-07 14:13
It would be great if the actors acted like fifth columnists and, in public forums, with no possibility of the plug being pulled, said the opposite of what the unionists expect of them. Can it be arranged?

# Marga B 2011-12-07 14:59
It's sad, the last time a platform of this kind got together was apparently in favour of devolution...

# spagan 2011-12-07 13:09
Well OT but ......
If anyone can help?
Just wondered why my NewsNet homepage is coming up with www.media-bros.dk ??
I think it did this before and resolved itself?
Rest of content appears to be okay - except for the Contact us comment box!!
(It has no code symbols??)
Many thanks
Spagan

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 13:11
I just attempted to use the "contact us" form, and couldn't as there were no code symbols.

# Old Smokey 2011-12-07 13:40
Clear your cookies!
If you have IE8 browser
go to the symbol that looks like a cog, click for dropdown menu
bottom of the drop down is 'internet options' click that. new window appears, in the middle of that is 'Delete History' click that, then check/tick the box for cookies, leave all others clear and confirm
that will delete your cookies
If that doesnt work, go to the shops, buy a back of Cookies and enjoy with nice cup of tea
Hope helps

# spagan 2011-12-07 17:24
Old Smokey
Just deleted my cookies and browsing history as per your advice.
Didn't work, I'm still getting the danish media site instead of Newsnet.
Cup of tea sounds good - but it is too cold to pop out for cookies.
Cheers anyway

# pa_broon74 2011-12-07 17:39
Hi.

If you have NNS in your favourites, the cookies etc are protected. There is a check box in the same window as the 'delete' button in internet options (its at the top of the window thingy) You need to uncheck it so it deletes everything.

Or, you can just delete the newsnet favourite, delete everything again then re-add it as a favourite.

Took me a while to get round and I'm supposed to be an IT person.

(You'll notice at no time did I say turn it off then back on again ;-)

# Legerwood 2011-12-07 18:40
Spagan,
I did not have any luck doing that either but I did get through by going via an old areticle that I had bookmarked and that got me to the home page.

But what I find is that once I have read an article if I click on 'Home' I end up with the chuckle brothers site but otherwise it is now OK

# spagan 2011-12-07 19:44
Same here.
I always think it is a glitch - but it could be dark forces.......

# Old Smokey 2011-12-07 13:17
Slightly O/T
Just had a look at Glen Campbell's so called 'Beijing Banter'
Day Four - Basically Glen doesnt report anything, other than what he could have reported from Glasgow!
bbc.co.uk/.../...
He states : "It is principally up to the UK foreign office to fly the flag for Scotland around the world as part of its wider diplomatic effort"[/i]"The climate change minister, Stewart Stevenson, is in South Africa for the carbon reduction conference; the education secretary, Mike Russell, is not long back from promoting Scotland in India and the first minister is in China for the third time in as many years.
But it's not just devolved ministers who clock up air miles for their country.
The Scottish secretary, Michael Moore, was doing his bit for business in Brazil last week, where he suggested that the UK's global network gives Scotland more international clout than it might otherwise enjoy"
and thats basically it!
Really what was the point of the BBC sending this clown to China?
As to what ACTUALLY occurred on Day 4, you need to go to the Scottish Governments own news brief
scotland.gov.uk/.../07101302
which has a lot on Wave power partnerships

# Jimbo 2011-12-07 13:37
Aye, OS, I saw this on Newsnight last night.

The BBC were trying to give the impression that the FM's visit to China was merely posturing, while the big boys were in Brazil doing the real work on behalf of Scotland.

Before interviewing the FM, we were subjected to an interview with the smug Moore who informed us that his visit to Brazil could be, not will be, worth £3 million in exports to Scottish businesses.

When the FM gave just one example out of many, that last year his trip to China had nailed a £20 million export deal for the Scottish salmon industry, Brewer tried to cut him off.

# J Wil 2011-12-07 14:07
Brewer's favourite word is 'right'.

Translated it means, 'we have heard enough of that, the BBC don't want to support the feelgood factor.'

# TrollsRus 2011-12-07 13:44
Interesting stand Labour are taking, being negative about every proposal from the scottish government.
What they dont realise is (and this is what will get them in the end)that even if only 50% of what the SNP propose is achieved over the next couple of years before the referendum, the SNP spokes people will list all achievements and say "Labour said we could or should not do these things but look at what we have achieved for Scotland, They said it couldnt be done and weve done it, perhaps what they mean is that it couldnt be done under a Labour Government in Scotland :)

At some point Labour will have to put something positive into scottish politics or they really will get destroyed in referendum or up coming elections, NOT that I personally would lose any sleep :)

# Islegard 2011-12-07 13:58
I'd like to hear more about the comments yesterday saying the SNP will accept the Scotland Bill. Can anyone provide verification on this?

# Aplinal 2011-12-07 14:17
I saw that as well, but there is nothing anywhere I can find to back that up. I wonder if it was an off-the-cuff comment and not in fact, a fact!

I can not believe in a hundred years (or even three hundred) that the SNP Government could contemplate accepting this appalling legislation that has the potential to REPATRIATE powers already devolved.

# J Wil 2011-12-07 14:22
It sounds pretty far fetched. It has to be discussed at Holyrood before any decisions are made and the SNP are sticklers for parliamentary protocol.

Has Douglas Fraser, in his wisdom, assumed that this is the only place the money can come from and started a rumour?

If it was true all the pundits would be asking Alex Salmond for confirmation and I have not heard a whisper, even on Newsnicht.

Also, by all accounts there is still the possibility that Westminster will add spoiler clauses to the Scotland Bill and no one really knows if they would put a clause into it about the referendum, against the wishes of the Scottish Government.

There is another scenario however. It anticpates that Scotland will get her indendence and will not be hindered from raising its own funding.

Has anyone received their little booklet from the SNP yet? If not, when does it go out?

# DJ 2011-12-07 14:42
Yes , within the past week and I'm only a financial contributor, not a party member.

# Marga B 2011-12-07 15:06
Me too, abroad, 2 days ago. Nice stuff. I'm going to show it to my Catalan independence group to make them jealous ... they're still trying vainly to find a political party with the guts to stand up for Catalonia and largely failing. So far.

# heraldnomore 2011-12-07 15:09
Your Scotland, Your Future - read it here:

www.scotlandforward.net/

# Marga B 2011-12-07 15:03
Yeh, I saw that, I think it was to do with increased borrowing powers - wasn't it in one of the stories on the "wish list"?

# Jimbo 2011-12-07 14:44
Hi Islegard,

I don't know who or where this story came from, but don't believe a word of it.

If it were true, Scotland's foreign owned media would be gleefully reporting it in banner headlines. However, just to put the rumour to bed I've contacted my MSP - watch this space.

# Islegard 2011-12-07 14:46
Keep us posted Jimbo.

# Legerwood 2011-12-07 18:34
Perhaps it was this bit from Brian Taylors's blog yesterday.

Quote:
Alongside innovative funding, today's programme is at least partly predicated upon capital borrowing powers - presently denied to devolved Scotland but featured within the package of changes in the Scotland Bill.

Now, Scottish ministers continue to complain the measures in the bill are inadequate and possibly even hazardous to Scotland's long-term financial health.

They complain, in particular, that the borrowing powers are too limited.

However, it would appear to be a further incentive for Scottish ministers to put up with the bill - instead of seeking to apply a veto when MSPs are asked once more to give their legislative consent.

The bit in bold is my emphasis.

# truth 2011-12-07 14:02
Just because this is the way Labour operate, they can't expect everyone else to be the same.

# J Wil 2011-12-07 14:03
The BBC are fair going to town on the severe weather warnings. I thought they had brought doomsday forward from next year. It does however make a change from their inadequate and incompetent weather forecasting during the great whiteout last winter. I suspect the current onslaught is just a reaction to that. They do not want to look stupid again.

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 14:09
Probably to help with their annual winter campaign to get the current transport minister sacked. Now, they can't say the didn't warn him that the weather might not be nice.

# Old Smokey 2011-12-07 14:27
BBC Scotland seemed to forget that they cover a country that is actually in a Northern latitude, on par with Canada, Norway and Russia.
In Canada I know that the broadcasters there take the winter weather,like the people they broadcast to, in their stride. They offer weather reports, road conditions and advise on helping each other and when it really snow's an roads are closed, they declare it a 'Snow Day' and people dont bother going to work.They will work from home and make up the hours a a later date. Its called living with the weather a northern latitude gives. Unlike the BBC, whose main aim is to find an angle to attack the Scottish Government with

# Zed 2011-12-07 14:39
The BBC more or less played a big part in the Stevenson resignation.
They smell blood with the winter weather and road distruption it causes. As if there is one thing to get the public's back up is road distruption in bad weather.
Any sort of road or rail distruption will be multiplied a 1000 times by the BBC in the hope they claim another SNP Minister scalp

# Legerwood 2011-12-07 18:35
Yes indeed. Like Monday eveneings news report which said 'chaos' on Scotland's road but the only exaqmple they gave was of a lorry jack=knifing on the M74

# Islegard 2011-12-07 14:54
My the Lib Dem's are really turning into the anti-Scotland league! It's good to see they have learned from their wipeout!

# EdinScot 2011-12-07 15:15
Here's proof if proof was needed that Labour have nothing to offer people in Scotland. No positive vision, no infastructure pledges, no jobs creation plans, no new social housing. Nada, nil, Zilch!

Labour are just carrying on in kamikaze fashion their usual negative muck raking on the SNP aided and abetted by the Union joke of a public service broadcaster who is practicing censorship on political comment in Scotland in 2011. The sheer hypocrisy from these Unionists should stun us all. They dont appear to do shame.

I think spreading the word on the Unionists dirty tricks campaign against Scots and Scotland is the key. Directing people to this site is essential. Salmond and Co are acting with dignity in their dealings with Pathetic Quay, Gary Robertson et al look rather crap in comparison. As for Paul Martin. We take no lessons from him and his family. I also have been getting the feeling that more people are seeing through them and once theyve lost these potential voters, they're done. I think theyre beginning to realise it cue their desperation. Leave them crawling in the gutter where they belong is my suggestion. They deserve it.

# Jimbo 2011-12-07 16:11
Quote:
Here's proof if proof was needed that Labour have nothing to offer people in Scotland. No positive vision, no infastructure pledges, no jobs creation plans, no new social housing. Nada, nil, Zilch!

Not so, ES.

I saw their leadership debate the other night.

What they are all agreed on is raising council tax and building more nuclear power stations in Scotland. They obviously see this as a way of winning votes. I'm happy to help their campaign by spreading the word about their intentions.

# EdinScot 2011-12-07 17:19
Even better Jimbo, vote Labour for council tax increases and more nuclear power stations not forgetting more expenses fraud and a return to privatisation of our nhs and schools. That'll have them jumping in the aisles in Scotland!

# mato21 2011-12-07 17:23
Don't forget our water

# ianbeag 2011-12-07 18:37
And Billions more in borrowings!

# Sleekit 2011-12-07 23:30
Has anyone mentioned nepotism yet?

# farrochie 2011-12-07 15:30
The questions the BBC doesn't ask.

Lewis Macdonald claimed the SGs infrastructure projects are a wish list.

Question not asked: "What infrastructure projects does Labour propose?".

# chiefy1724 2011-12-07 15:52
Question also not asked - What Infrastructure Projects did the Labour/Liberal administration that handed £1.6 Billon back to Westminster not take forward ?

# proudscot 2011-12-08 02:01
Quoting chiefy1724:
Question also not asked - What Infrastructure Projects did the Labour/Liberal administration that handed £1.6 Billon back to Westminster not take forward ?

That £1.6 Billion handed back by Joke McConnell to his London Labour bosses in Westminster, must qualify as being the most ever paid for an ermine robe!

# Mad Jock McMad 2011-12-07 15:58
It is only a wish list in 'Westminster parlance' the reality is Scotland can afford these projects shortly after independence - if all the economic projections are even half correct.

Either Westminster pays up and loses as the English Electorate saying 'What the F' as the scrounging Scot motif comes back to bite them or doesn't pay up and loses - Scotland returns to independence - along with the misinformed and misdirected English electorate as the fiscal keech hits the fan good and proper.

# J Wil 2011-12-07 21:20
"What infrastructure projects does Labour propose?".

Lewis wishes he knew!

# Teri 2011-12-07 18:47
The First MInister is right. For too long now the SNP have taken insults, innuendo and slurs from Labour without retaliation. Time to stand up to them.AS was on a trade mission unlike the junkets than many Labour councillors go on.

# Teri 2011-12-07 18:50
O/T From a letter in the Guardian today:

My son says there are more pandas in Scotland than Tory MPs. Is this true?

The pandas also have a better chance of getting elected than the Tories!

# Clanky 2011-12-07 18:51
OT but please read!

More disgusting anti-scottish media antics.

Matthew Wright of the Wright Stuff laughing at the murder of a 16 year old boy because it was in the Western Isles, his "apology" is also shown.

bbc.co.uk/.../...

Complain to Ofcom about The Wright Stuff's coverage of the Liam Aitchison murder here: stakeholders.ofcom.org.uk/.../...

Stating: During the airing of The Wright Stuff (Tues 06 Dec 2011 09:15 46mins in) the panel discussed the tragic murder of 16 year old Liam Aitchison.
During the discussion of this terrible loss, Matthew Wright proceeded to make a joke about it, referencing the show Taggart stating "theres been a murder" in a comedic accent, while panellist Charlie Baker called the story, "the longest episode of Taggart ever." Wright and the audience then began to laugh while the news clipping of the story was shown on screen.
This is disgraceful, and has caused anger and offense to many people in the community who are still mourning the loss of Liam.
Therefore I believe The Wright Stuff have breached Section 2 (1) of the Ofcom Broadcasting Code.

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 18:54
I've been banging on about that all day. I'm very disappointed, although not surprised, that NNS didn't report it. I complained to Ofcom and Channel 5 about the original comments, and I also complained after that "apology" (which just added insult to injury).

# Clanky 2011-12-07 19:00
It's disgusting. There is a real groundswell up here around it with Angus MacNeil MP, Alasdair Allan MSP and the Comhairle all making official representations .

The FB campaign is going viral and with some luck will start reaching people who generally find this "presenter" offensive and prompt them to judge his disgusting behaviour in this case.

Surely newsnet might want to pick up on this story?

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 19:05
I've also been suggesting newsnet might pick it up. So far, to no avail. Even the Daily Record and Daily Mail are covering it, as are STV and the BBC.

# Clanky 2011-12-07 19:14
Yep, Sorry Lianachan I've just seen your comments above. Glad I'm not the only noisy nutter on this topic!

# mato21 2011-12-07 19:16
NN writers are probably at work They are volunteers

# Clanky 2011-12-07 19:19
I'm absolutely not moaning at NNS! Just a suggestion. :)

# mato21 2011-12-07 19:23
I was not sure if you were aware what the situation was regarding the site I meant no offence sorry if it came across wrong

# Lianachan 2011-12-07 19:25
I see that facebook group has over 1,000 likes now. .

# J Wil 2011-12-07 21:26
His so called apology was abysmal and the bit shown tonight at the end, not shown earlier, was even worse when he said he was being set up. I would like to know where the hefty guffaw came from during the newspaper discussion. One of the panel I think.

It will be interesting to hear Ofcom's judgement.

It's about as bad as the phone hacking.

# mealer 2011-12-07 19:34
Does Paul Martin belong to the pro-devomax wing of the party?

# roboftheburnawn 2011-12-07 20:39
Totally O/T but just as important as any of the above - Do you know we have more butterflies than England !!!!!!!!! ( bbc radio Scotland )

# mato21 2011-12-07 20:54
I would not have expected anything less of our dear country All are welcome

# proudscot 2011-12-08 02:08
This can't be true roboftheburnawn - it wasn't mentioned by Kay (with an E) in any of her witterings.

# roboftheburnawn 2011-12-08 02:14
Proudscot - is as true as AS is the most prominent Politician in the current UK.

Was on this morning, then this evening being discussed by the female newsreader who raises and lowers her tone in the exact same manner ( for every subject ) to define the different points she is discussing. - I swear sir, I swear

# rhymer 2011-12-07 21:29
Unfortunately the smears, innuendo and insults are happening on a regular basis now. I expect that of the union politicians but when the media, especially BBC interviewers, ask stupid and insulting questions then they should be taken to task and "called on it" during the interview. If we keep on "turning the other cheek" then people will start believing the lies.
I am NOT suggesting antone losing their temper, just a firmer response to BBC interviewers who believe they are immune.

# Macart 2011-12-07 23:14
Ask and ye shall receive. Check back to home page.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments