Banner

General

By Martin Kelly

A second British bank has been implicated in the Libor rate rigging scandal after explosive documents were released by US authorities late Friday evening.

Official records released by the Federal Reserve of New York suggest that Lloyds group may have been involved in rigging the Libor rate as early as August 2007.

The records show a Federal Reserve official was warned on August 2007 that Libor rates, including a submission from Lloyds, look “too low”. 

"Today's USD libors have come out and they look too low to me. Lloyds for instance has printed 5.48% for 3 months. Probably the lowest rate you could attract liquidity in threes would be 5.55%," the Barclays trader says.

The warning, from a Barclays’ whistleblower, contains an explanation as to why the rates are suspiciously low and instructs the official to “draw your own conclusions” as to the reasons, he concludes.

The release of the files, gathered as a result of US investigations into Libor rate rigging, comes less than a day after it emerged Bank of England Head, Sir Mervyn King, was warned about rate rigging in 2008.

Emails released in New York showed that former Fed Chief Tim Geithner wrote to the Governor of the Bank of England in 2008, warning him about the risk of “deliberate misreporting” of Libor.

In the correspondence, Mr Geithner called for an overhaul of the British Bankers’ Association saying: “To improve the integrity and transparency of the rate-setting process, we recommend the BBA work with Libor panel banks to establish and publish best practices for calculating and reporting rates, including procedures designed to prevent accidental or deliberate misreporting,”

Sir Mervyn responded, saying that the recommendations “seem sensible to us”.  The BoE chief said he had passed the note to his deputy Paul Tucker, and asked him to talk to Bill Dudley, a senior executive at the US Federal Reserve, and the BBA.

Mr Tucker, giving evidence to the Commons Treasury Select Committee last week denied knowing about the extent of Libor rate rigging, saying only that he believed there was a general problem.

Mr Tucker told the committee that he was “not aware of allegations of low-balling until the last few weeks”.

Failing to mention the memo from Sir Mervyn King, Mr Tucker told MPs: “People became concerned in the United States in the spring of 2008 about where dollar Libor was relative to where dollars could be borrowed in New York, and this did concern people and we heard about it.  There was chatter about it.”

However, the evidence shows that the New York Fed gathered a mass of information about Libor rigging from sources inside Barclays in 2007 and 2008.  On April 11, 2008, one Barclays trader told Fabiola Ravazzola, a New York Fed official: “So, we know that we’re not posting, um, an honest Libor... And yet and yet we are doing it, because, um, if we didn’t do it, it draws, um, unwanted attention on ourselves.”

Commenting on the latest twist in the scandal, the SNP’s Treasury spokesperson Stewart Hosie MP questioned why UK authorities did not launch their own investigations earlier.

Mr Hosie said:

“Reports that Timothy Geithner pressed the Bank of England to make changes in the way Libor was set in 2008 escalate the questions over who knew what and why action was not taken earlier on the rate-rigging scandal.

“It is clear that problems with Libor - reported in the FT in September 2007 – were no secret in City circles yet we are supposed to believe that nobody in Downing Street at the time or the FSA knew what was going on.

“We need to know how detailed the discussions were between Central Banks, between the regulators at the FSA and their US counterparts, as well as between Ministers and Officials at the Treasury.  These are exactly the questions that we need to get to the bottom of.

“This is exactly why the SNP wanted an independent judge led and wide-reaching inquiry to root out the issues and bring all parties involved to account.”

Libor is short for the London Interbank Offered Rate, a measure of the cost of borrowing between banks and a crucial benchmark for interest rates worldwide.  Libor is the world's most important benchmark for interest rates.  Roughly £6.4 trillion in loans - including credit card rates, car loans, student loans and adjustable-rate mortgages - as well as some £220 trillion in derivatives are tied to Libor.

Comments  

# tartanfever 2012-07-14 00:14
Oh for goodness sake, this is getting ridiculous. Why didn't Tucker offer anything about this when sitting in front of the select committee last week.

It's becoming more apparent that we have to have these testimonies taken in front of a judge with legal consequences for withholding evidence.

A real concern now is that now the lawsuits from American investors will come flooding in, and we could be asked to perform another bail out. We could be talking $10's of billions here.

# oldnat 2012-07-14 01:08
Preferably a judge, sitting with a jury, in a criminal case.

However, with governments, regulators and banks being complicit that seems an unlikely scenario.

# Robabody 2012-07-14 10:14
Indeed and regretfully, indeed.

# clootie 2012-07-14 08:00
tartanfever

You've hit it on the head - why are officials and banks waiting to see what is uncovered instead of putting their hands up with a proactive "fair cop"

As for the politicians - Brown and Co want us to believe that they saved the financial world - However they didn't know about something that appears to have been common knowledge in the City.

# Jim Johnston 2012-07-14 09:05
It should be, but it wont be, a disgrace to Westminster that the US Authorities are doing all the disclosing of banks dirty dealing. The banks we own should be ORDERED to disclose any involvement in this racket.
Punishment, including jail terms, should be of those individuals responsible, because fines on banks will be paid by their customers. If current legislation doesn't exist to do this, get emergency laws introduced immediately to allow severe punishment of individuals, before these buggers are collared.

# Dyke Louper 2012-07-14 01:21
Oh my God, this cannae be true...!

# Barontorc 2012-07-14 01:32
Has Gordon Brown done a single thing right?

How many hoo-hahs is he responsible for and what were his civil servants doing while all these gaffs were going on?

This guy is a one-man wrecking ball and those who clung to his coat-tails should never see the light of a responsible position anywhere ever again.

If he can do this with the economy, gold bullion reserves, de-regulation for the casino bank freaks and the assertion of Scotland as an area called North Britain and regional to the epi-center of his mayhem, then God only knows what kind of a threat we were under for all else.

# Froggit 2012-07-14 04:26
O/T? Brown is taking a world rôle in education! Is he going to save this world too and from what?

# Barbazenzero 2012-07-14 11:56
Knowledge?

# handclapping 2012-07-14 13:06
Glad to see the spirit of Browndov lives on.

# tartanfever 2012-07-14 13:45
Radioactive beaches.

# Sleekit 2012-07-14 08:43
Read this also:

Gordon Brown Sold Britain’s Gold at Artificially Low Prices to Bail Out Banks

washingtonsblog.com/.../...

# cynicalHighlander 2012-07-14 10:19
Why Don’t the Corrupt Players On Wall Street and In D.C. Show Remorse for Their Destructive Actions … And Why Don’t We Stop Them?: washingtonsblog.com/.../...

Quote:
According to psychologists and sociologists – many on Wall Street and D.C. are not like you and me. They are literally psychopaths.

Now watch Heart vs Mind: What Makes Us Human?: bbc.co.uk/.../...

# cirsium 2012-07-14 09:41
Lloyds is not the second bank to become implicated, it is the third. RBS was the first. See

Former-RBS-trader-Tan-Chi-Min-claims-hedge-fund-asked-UK-bank-to-change-Libor
telegraph.co.uk/.../...

Why is RBS fighting to keep its Libor records secret when it has already sacked staff for Libor rigging? Perhaps these staff were not 'rogue traders' after all
telegraph.co.uk/.../...

rollingstone.com/.../...

# Leswil 2012-07-14 19:24
Whatever the name, due to lax regulation by Westminster, the banks have been screwing all of us.
They deserve all they get, but so should those who allowed it all to happen.
Stand up G.Brown and (Tory) Darling, and take your medicine!
Or maybe just hide in your rat hole never to be seen again! ( I already think Tory Darling has already done that, he has gone missing from public life.) At least Brown is to spend most of his life abroad now in his new career!!( that is if he actually does anything for his money, we will no doubt hear if he gets sacked again!)

# border reiver 2012-07-14 10:30
Its no wonder Darling is keeping his head down in the bitter together coalition, as he had to know what was going on with Brown and was probably implicated as well. David Camerons attempt to avoid a judge led enquiry into this also shows the extent to which he will go to protect his banker friends and Tory donors.
Cash for questions
expenses scandals
the Murdoch corruption
Lobbying
vested interests
Atlantic Bridge
LIBOR
These are people who are supposed to be a shining example to the public they serve and keep telling us what a great example our democracy is to the world. (what a joke). the sooner we are shut of the Westminster mafia the better

# nchanter 2012-07-14 12:47
Quoting border reiver:
Its no wonder Darling is keeping his head down in the bitter together coalition, as he had to know what was going on with Brown and was probably implicated as well. David Camerons attempt to avoid a judge led enquiry into this also shows the extent to which he will go to protect his banker friends and Tory donors.
Cash for questions
expenses scandals
the Murdoch corruption
Lobbying
vested interests
Atlantic Bridge
LIBOR
These are people who are supposed to be a shining example to the public they serve and keep telling us what a great example our democracy is to the world. (what a joke). the sooner we are shut of the Westminster mafia the better

Where are the feather men?

# J Wil 2012-07-14 10:52
It doesn't matter how badly these people perform they keep throwing more gifts at them, eg Brown and his new role at the UN as education envoy. Brown was part of the conspiracy to manipulate Scottish education so how can anyone expect him to act fairly in a worldwide role.

In the meantime London is becoming more and more like a war zone.

# tilly 2012-07-14 11:11
Re: Gordon Brown to become a global education envoy for UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon.

The sting in the tail is in the last sentence of the article:
‘Mr Brown has said he will continue to serve as MP for Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath’.

I’m sure many of his constituents will be asking the question. How?

tinyurl.com/c93lvyk

# Marga B 2012-07-14 11:35
Bit of a tragedy for Kirkcaldy.

# Robabody 2012-07-14 12:51
One might also ask "why?" tilly.

# nchanter 2012-07-14 11:03
At the next meeting of our monarch and the PM, our monarch should order him to sort out this mess or be sent to the tower. If this can't be done, I see no hope for the country as the the crooks are in total control. Blair and wife will return and become the NEW king and queeny, you read it here first.

# Robabody 2012-07-14 13:33
"Blair and wife will return and become the NEW king and queeny, you read it here first".

In which case we should appoint Moist von Lipwig as governor of the Bank of England.

# twinpowr 2012-07-14 11:57
The choice for government and legal officials is that someone needs to do some jail time. Though I doubt that will happen. watch this space.

# Edulis 2012-07-14 14:26
#Baronterc

I have just heard Henry McLeish talk about Dr Brown (sic) being present at his wedding. This is an example of the Fife mafia at work. No matter what happened Fife Labour colleagues will stick together. Henry remains faithful to his Labour roots.

# Tom Pullings 2012-07-14 14:33
It's a bit rich that the Federal Reserve Bank, which is about as federal as FedEx, is doing the mud slinging here. You can be sure that the Rothschild controlled Fed wouldn't be doing any disclosing unless it was in the interests of the Fed. The Fed is actually a private bank, owned and run by shady banksters who keep to the shadows, refuse to be audited and charge 10% on every $ that they loan to the US treasury. The same family of scumbags runs the B of Engerland. It is frightening how much power we have given away to these parasites and how much they abuse it.

# Roll_On_2011 2012-07-14 21:24
Tom Pullings

It's a bit rich that the Federal Reserve Bank, which is about as federal as FedEx, is doing the mud slinging here. You can be sure that the Rothschild controlled Fed wouldn't be doing any disclosing unless it was in the interests of the Fed. The Fed is actually a private bank, owned and run by shady banksters who keep to the shadows, refuse to be audited and charge 10% on every $ that they loan to the US treasury. The same family of scumbags runs the B of Engerland. It is frightening how much power we have given away to these parasites and how much they abuse it.

Hi Tom, I agree with you. The following article gives a small explanation on how/why that came about.

ukcolumn.org/.../...

# Dundonian West 2012-07-14 15:12
OT.Angus Robertson,SNP Leader Westminster given a wee airing by the Daily Record today.

dailyrecord.co.uk/.../...

For the Daily Record,it's pretty good!

# Alphenscot 2012-07-14 19:25
Are Lloyds not really an engerlish bank??

# John Souter 2012-07-16 17:40
It has to be remembered that in this world of 'free-markets' it's not only LIBOR that can be rigged but all the other markets of oil, energy and other vital consumables which are handled by the investment arms of the banking cartels.

Seems to me we have been conned into digesting a parasitic tape worm which not only denies its host nourishment, but by the excretion of a toxic chemical addicts and induces its host to swallow a concoction that only the worm can thrive on.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Banner
Banner

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Latest Comments