Sir John de Graeme who fell at the battle of Falkirk in 1298 - it’s said his body was carried from the field of battle to the churchyard at Falkirk for burial by Wallace himself - will have his final resting place restored.   Wallace is reported to have dismounted from his horse, took Graeme in his arms, kissed him and called him his “best brother”.

Graeme was interred in Falkirk Kirkyard - a replica of his sword,1869, and an iron cage, 1860, guard his final resting place.   The tomb has deteriorated greatly under the effects of weathering and vandals who broke and stole the sword.  A project funded by the Scottish Government’s town centre regeneration fund will restore the site.

Sir John de Graeme fought with Wallace at the Battle of ‘Stirling Brig’ in 1297 but died in Falkirk in July 1298 when the Scots were defeated by the army of the King of England, Edward I, who invaded Scotland­ - a  new sword has been commissioned and new bars will be erected.

The inscription on Sir John’s gravestone reads: “Here lyes Sir John the Grame, baith wight and wise, Ane of the chiefs who rescewit Scotland thrise, Ane better knight not to the world was lent, Nor was gude Graham of truth and hardiment.”

An ancient stone tablet inscription in Latin reads : “Potent in mind and hand and the faithful Achates of Wallace, Graeme is buried here slain in war by the English, 22nd July, 1298.”

Wallace is said to have avowed bloody vengeance for the death of his friend Graeme the “most notable casualty” in the Battle of Falkirk., who, as one of the chiefs, ‘rescued Scotland thrice’.

Born in Dundaff, Ayrshire in the late 13th century, Sir John was referenced as Schir Jhon the Grayme by 15th-century poet Blind Harry.

Comments  

# Scottish republic 2011-08-17 07:50
Another good job enabled by the Scottish government.

# cokynutjoe 2011-08-17 08:37
How about a roof on Linlithgow Palace, a national disgrace considering the cash spent on Windsor Castle & Hampton Court.

# Jimbo 2011-08-17 11:37
Hi CJ,

Linlithgow Palace was [accidently] burned in 1746 by government troops sent here to put down the jacobites. Westinster promised to pay restoration costs.

Maybe if we told them that restoration would stop nationalism in it's tracks they'd make good their promise. :)

Re the tomb of John de Graeme: It's shameful the number of times this tomb has been vandalised. It's a pity that our kids are not taught their local or national history and some respect for their heritage.

# UpSpake 2011-08-17 08:55
Cokynutjoe. Perhaps you re-call the Millenium Commission who whilst visiting Scotland to see what could be commissioned. resurected, repaired or built to celebrate the occassion, went home without finding anything in Scotland worthy of such funding ?.
Oh Really. I have been smarting about that ever since.

# Blanco 2011-08-17 11:21
Does the Forth Clyde canal not count?

# Arbroath1320 2011-08-17 10:38
Heroes of Scotland ARISE! :D

# BeltaneFire 2011-08-17 11:56
On visiting this church about ten years ago, I noticed the grave and was astonished at the connection. I had to fight back my tears, knowing that the man lying under this stone died, with thousands of our countrymen, fighting against the odds, and yet did not falter.

We revere the war-dead of more recent, British, conflicts, so it is right that we sort this neglect, and follow it up all over the nation.

It is vital that we continue to educate the people of our history, before and after the Union, which means treating important historical sites with respect.

# ButeHouse 2011-08-17 12:59
Thank goodness for this SNP Government. Since 2007 it has given millions to important Scottish Historical properties and sites which English dominated groups with cash operating on behalf of Britain too often "went home without finding anything in Scotland worthy of such funding...."

History is to a nation what memory is to individuals. Yes, it is that important.

# Scottish republic 2011-08-20 21:54
Quoting ButeHouse:
History is to a nation what memory is to individuals. Yes, it is that important.

Nice quote.

# lochside 2011-08-17 13:44
Why has the Bannockburn battlefield not been clearly delineated and protected? Surely with 2 years to go to the 700 years anniversary, it should be arallying point for our nation?

# Lianachan 2011-08-17 13:56
The battlefield hasn't even been precisely located.

# cokynutjoe 2011-08-17 14:13
I think, if memory serves, that the grave was opened after the later Battle of Falkirk,1745, to take Munro of Foulis. The site is a disgrace, gravestones have been removed all around this one and rubbish tipped down a nearby embankment.

# art1001 2011-08-18 13:24
I read my Wars of Independence chapter of my primary school history book a hundred times as a boy at primary school in Aberdeenshire. The book ended with one paragraph on the Union of Crown and Parliaments and that was it. No more Scottish History after that at secondary school. I wonder why? Why should hundreds of years of history suddenly come to an end?

History is very political. The real story of the Union, the Highland Clearances, the ethnic cleansing, the looting of our resources, the buying of of key sections of our society, the destruction of environment and our economy by a greedy, self-serving, pompous elite in London and their accomplices here in Scotland such a these shameful Labour 'politicians'.

Here we have an example of true nobility and heroism. A man who was defending his own country and people. We all need to know more about what has happened to us and why.

# Lianachan 2011-08-18 13:37
Much more needs to be said about the involvement of Andrew Murray in all of this. He was probably in command at the battle of Stirling bridge, and had done a lot of good work in the Highlands before heading south. An astonishing number of people have never even heard of him. He's not even in "Braveheart"!

# Holebender 2011-08-18 13:57
What are you saying? That Braveheart isn't historically accurate? Say it's not so!

btw, there isn't even a bridge at the Battle of Stirling Brig in Braveheart!

# Lianachan 2011-08-18 14:05
I'm well aware of how accurate Braveheart is (or, rather, isn't). I suspect that if Murray was in there as a character at all, then that might have helped raise his historical profile a wee bit.

# Arbroath1320 2011-08-18 14:26
My personal view on Braveheart is that it is a movie, just that. Yes there are historical "comments" throughout but I do not remember reading anywhere that the film makers claimed that the film was an accurate portrayal of events. Remember this a Hollywood creation and Hollywood just loves to squeeze every thing together.

There was/still is a great deal of hulla ballo about Braveheart when it came out about not being accurate. As I said it was just a movie. I do not recall anything similar happening when D-Day came out or any other WWII movie (that was based on actual events).

I think the problem with Braveheart was that too many "nationalists" saw it as a desecration of actual events and forgot that this was after all just a movie. As such then people, events etc can be included or excluded at the director's whim.

# Lianachan 2011-08-18 14:46
Yes, I understand all that perfectly. My initial comment, that he's not even in Braveheart, was a frivalous aside and not intended to become the focus of debate.

# Arbroath1320 2011-08-18 21:44
Sorry Lianachan, I had a bit of a run of typingitis at the time. My brain wasn't fully engaged. :D

# pa_broon74 2011-08-18 14:36
I read the above and thought; hold on a minute, what has Andy Murray got to do with William Wallace, he's alright at tennis but come on now...

Obviously not that Andrew Murray though is it...

# Lianachan 2011-08-18 14:50

# Arbroath1320 2011-08-18 14:18
Quote:
Why should hundreds of years of history suddenly come to an end?

art, by the time you, and 1.000's like us, went to secondary school we were at the point where questions were more likely to be asked. Remember at that time Westminster still had control of our education. Heaven forbid that there should suddenly emerge a multitude of scrawny spotted little oinks asking serious questions about Scotland's history. Best that the history of Scotland be swept under the carpet and forgotten about!

At least that was Westminster's attitude.

# Lianachan 2011-08-18 14:20
Quote:
At least that was Westminster's attitude.

Still is.

# Arbroath1320 2011-08-18 14:29
And always will be Lianachan! :-)

# richardcain2 2011-08-21 11:09
Quoting art1001:
I read my Wars of Independence chapter of my primary school history book a hundred times

You were very lucky to have such a book!!
Everything I know about my own country's history I've had to find out for myself. Is there any other country in Europe where such ignorance would be countenanced?
I think not!

# sid 2011-08-18 14:31
OT slightly, the Yearly Wallace day march and rally in Johnstone and Elderslie coming up soon. I think it might be this Saturday but not sure.
Sid

# Arbroath1320 2011-08-18 18:43
I see the Scottish government is looking to have a "Scottish Studies" introduced into Scottish education. This would include subjects like Scottish literature and Scottish history. The courses would not be compulsory in school but it is hoped most schools would look to take on these topics.

Needless to say Scottish Labour are calling the move political. Oh dear, yet another blind man talking s****!

Let's get this course up and running A.S.A.P. Both current and future students deserve these courses to be run. More importantly, those no longer attending school deserve the right to know that our culture and history is FINALLY being reinstated into oureducation system. Perhaps now over 300 years of lies and falsehoods can begin to be righted!

# Arbroath1320 2011-08-18 21:51
Here's a link to the story in the Torygraph about the new Scottish studies being introduced by the Scottish government.

telegraph.co.uk/.../...

Unfortunately there is no link to Reporting Scotland on I player yet. The comments from the Labour DORK are unbelievable!

# Arbroath1320 2011-08-18 23:10
The link to Reporting Scotland is now up on BBC I player.

bbc.co.uk/.../...

The piece about the proposed new Scottish studies comes about 4 minutes 43 seconds in. The numpty Labour MSP shooting his mouth off is Ken Macintosh.

# cokynutjoe 2011-08-19 07:07
Meanwhile the weans are brainwashed on a regular basis by guff on the Beeb about the goings on of the dysfunctional & psychopathic Tudors, who had about as much royal blood as masel!

# Arbroath1320 2011-08-19 15:41
I bow in honour of your royalty my liege CNJ! :D

# Scottish republic 2011-08-20 21:58
I'm sick of people running down the film Braveheart. It's a great film and now almost every Scot knows who Wallace was and what he fought for.

The details will be fun for kids to learn when discovering the real story during Scottish Studies class.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments