A Freedom of Information request has revealed the names of hundreds of people who declined to accept British Establishment honours.

The official list was published by the Cabinet Office and contains the names of almost 300 people who have since died, including celebrities and artists, all who refused OBEs, CBEs and Knighthoods.

People who have refused honours in the annual New Year or Birthday Honours list usually only come to light if the they themselves reveal it or if information is leaked to the press, so this list reveals a far wider range of people than has previously been known.

The Cabinet Office’s list covers the honours period between 1951 and 1999 and, the publication followed a 15 month long battle with the Cabinet Office.

Those turning down honours from the Queen include: authors JB Priestley and Roald Dahl, physicist Paul Dirac and DNA pioneer Francis Crick, painters Francis Bacon and LS Lowry, sculptor Henry Moore, novelist Aldous Huxley, artist Lucien Freud.

LS Lowry turned down a total of five honours - more than anybody else - including an OBE in 1955, a CBE in 1961 and a knighthood in 1968.

Francis Bacon turned down a CBE in 1960, while Lucien Freud refused the honour in the 1977 New Year’s Honours list.

Chronicles of Narnia author CS Lewis turned down a CBE in 1952 and author Graham Greene turned down a CBE in 1956.

Roald Dahl allegedly refused being decorated as Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE), in the 1986 New Year’s Honours because he was holding out for a knighthood so that his wife would become Lady Dahl.

Huxley, the author of Brave New World, refused a knighthood in 1959, while Evelyn Waugh, who wrote Brideshead Revisited, snubbed a CBE in 1959.

Film director Michael Winner refused an honour in 2006, saying, "An OBE is what you get if you clean the toilets well at King's Cross station."

According to the published list, Hitchcock turned down a CBE in 1962, but later went on to accept a knighthood from the Queen four months before his death in 1980.

The only case of a life peerage being rejected was that of playwright Priestley, who turned down the honour in 1965 and an invitation to be made a Companion of Honour in 1969.

Some who had accepted honours from the Queen later returned them – John Lennon, famously returned his MBE in 1969 with an accompanying letter saying: "Your Majesty, I am returning my MBE as a protest against Britain's involvement in the Nigeria-Biafra thing, against our support of America in Vietnam and against 'Cold Turkey' slipping down the charts.  With Love, John Lennon."

The Cabinet Office figures show that over the past three years 116 people have rejected honours, but they are not identified. 

In last year’s honours, 30 people turned down the Queen’s Birthday and New Year’s honours list accolades; this compares to 46 in 2010 and 40 in 2009.

People not on the list (not deceased) but who are believed to have turned down honours include: actress Honor Blackman, jazz musician George Melly, artist David Hockney and novelist John le Carre, pop star David Bowie, celebrity cook Nigella Lawson, playwright Michael Frayn and the comedy act Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders, actor John Cleese, physicist Stephen Hawking, author George Bernard Shaw, actor Alastair Sim, actress Geraldine McEwan, poet and folklorist Hamish Henderson, punk rock singer John Lydon (Johnny Rotten) … for a fuller list of those rejecting honours, see ‘Declining a British honour’.

The publication of the list comes as senior civil servants are due to decide whether ex-Royal Bank of Scotland boss Sir Fred Goodwin should be stripped of his knighthood for “services to banking”.

Comments  

# bigbuachaille 2012-01-28 10:58
A bit of tentative forward planning prompts me to start a list of all those we Scots consider worthy of an honour in the name of the Scottish people post independence.
Let me start the ball rolling with one living nominee: Dr Adam Watson, for services to the study of the Cairngorms; and one posthumous nominee: Hamish Maccunn, composer of Land of the Mountain and the Flood.
Any other ideas?

# pmcrek 2012-01-28 19:43
Trinidadian footballer Jason Scotland, for keeping our world cup hopes alive.

Jerry Sadowitz, just for the acceptance speech.

# alicmurray 2012-01-28 11:19
I would add to the living list Professor Pennington, bacteriologist and Mr Black, Scotland's Auditor and Sir Peter Housden, civil servant who is being hounded by Unionist like Rennie for just doing his job.

# wee folding bike 2012-01-28 11:24
Alastair Sim turned down the knighthood but did accept a CBE.

However I can't think badly of him, as Iain Durey once noted, "Everybody loves Alastair Sim".

# Siôn Jones 2012-01-28 13:56
I was surprised to see michael winner amongst this list of august and admirable people, but then his risible, snobby reasoning soon restored my opinion of him as twatt.

# cokynutjoe 2012-01-28 14:03
Re Adam Watson, we could just call these gongs "Cairngorms".
Lesley Riddoch tops my list for a Cairngorm.

# mato21 2012-01-28 14:05
May I suggest we do not want to go down that road

A mention in despatches would suffice

We could have a dedicated page on this site

# RaboRuglen 2012-01-31 10:53
Hi mato,

Agree absolutely. We should not try to emulate what we want to replace. They'll be arguing for a House of Lords in the new Independent Scotland next.

Twice a year they could hold a dinner at Bute House for the most deserving. That would be more than sufficient, and you only get to attend once in a lifetime.

Regards,

# Jimbo 2012-01-31 18:18
Hi rab,

Quote:
We should not try to emulate what we want to replace.

I agree. If they want to honour them, they can buy them a headstone.

# Jiggsbro 2012-01-31 18:38
Quoting RaboRuglen:
Twice a year they could hold a dinner at Bute House for the most deserving. That would be more than sufficient, and you only get to attend once in a lifetime.

I like this idea: I have no objection to an honours system on principle, only on whether people deserve them or are rewarded simply for doing their jobs without f***ing up. I think a country should recognise its citizens who make a significant contribution in all spheres of life. I don't think that recognition should ever be the lifetime (or hereditary!) right to govern us.

# Teri 2012-01-31 20:41
Yes, I agree, Mato. This is not a road to follow. We dont want it to become a pantomime as it is presently in UK. We are leaving UK to be ourselves to progress as we see fit within the world, not to be a wee replica of what we have already. If we just have the same but smaller, we've fought in vain for Independence.

# clootie 2012-02-01 12:18
Thank God - I thought it was just me. If you act for title your motivation was wrong to begin with.

# heraldnomore 2012-01-28 14:14
I see they list as declining both a knighthood and a peerage a certain Tony Blair, you know he who destroyed socialism in politics and now troughs his way round the world creaming it in as a peace envoy in the wake of the carnage he created. Declining awards might have been one or two of his better decisions. Let's just hope he doesn't chamge his mind.
PS Just heard a news headline - 'Humiliation for England' - it was only the cricket but it did raise a smile.

# Auld Bob 2012-01-28 14:42
I would have liked to be a fly on the wall when Hamish Henderson got the letter.;-))

# Breitheamhnaig 2012-01-28 21:32
The whole honours system is corrupt from top to bottom and the real world has no need of this sycophancy. Either ignore it or make everybody a lord and demean the whole thing. We should also point out that the S.N.P are the only political party in these islands not to participate in this. On the other hand I quite like the idea of Sir Sadowitz of *?^* you.

# FREEDOM1 2012-01-29 18:30
I think a Scottish Singer also refused an obe. Was it Kenneth Mckeller ?

# GuidedByPollard 2012-01-29 19:06
How ironic that NNS has this story about some legendary figures from all walks of life knocking back gongs on principle on the same day as a story about a nonentity like Michelle Moan OBE throwing her toys out of the pram.
I'm guessing the John Lydon nomination was someone's idea of a joke?

# Jester 2012-01-30 01:57
Yes, the Mone is saying she's going to leave (again). Don't let the door hit your erse on the way oot!

# Jester 2012-01-30 01:59
Please, no honours system for Scotland. We need no lords or ladies, so sirs or ma'am's.

# markola 2012-01-31 20:46
Well said that man!

# Tom Pullings 2012-01-30 04:53
Michael Winner should know all about toilets as he is a little sh*t! We could just give out a certificate for service to the country in Scotland. We should call it the PDB, (pure dead brilliant!)lol.

# Welsh Sion 2012-01-30 08:24
My own award to friends and colleagues here:

crossed-flag-pins.com/.../...

# Welsh Sion 2012-01-30 08:57
Regarding your Michelle Mone situation. Don't you think it's a coincidence that you have her and the dodgy breast implant business in France both seemingly going bust (sorry!) at the same time...

Are these stories connected? Are both going t*ts up because of boobs by senior management? I think we should be told.

# Angus 2012-02-01 08:51
Didnt Sorley MacLean turn down an OBE, or MBE or whatever, sent it back to queen with a message saying he doubted the royal family read Gaelic poetry.

# DJ 2012-02-01 09:25
Not even basic research taking place in the MSM before printing.

telegraph.co.uk/.../...

# Hamish100 2012-02-01 13:02
Surely,

Michell Mone should have her OBE or is it OBN removed for threatening the livelihoods of the staff working in her company should she head southwards.

Of course she threatened to leave the UK a few years ago when Labour suggested an increase in the tax limits for the rich (kite flying) and when SNP won etc etc....

Thereafter Lord Archer , Wataon.......

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments