By Rod MacFarlane

Scotland face England in a game of Rugby today in Edinburgh.

I am sure many will be looking forward to the spectacle. Such is the historical rivalry between the two nations that they could play each other at tiddlywinks and draw a crowd.

Nowadays there is much good humour associated with these clashes, and a fair bit of winding up goes on.

Today will be no different, win lose or draw you will find supporters from both sides having a laugh, a lot of banter and plenty drinks after the game in Edinburgh.

The winners will have the bragging rights for another year, the losers will take it in good grace, and they will dissect in minute detail the events of the game.

It is with this background, and in this setting, that the days event will take place.  The result will have no effect on peoples lives, nor will it change their political views.

Supporters of independence will not suddenly ditch the idea, if England should win. Those against Scotlands departure from the Union will not become rabid Scots Nationalists if Scotland thrash England, and those who are undecided will not suddenly make up their mind.

It is a game of rugby.  It will have flags of St Andrew and St George in abundance, and God Save the Queen will be sung alongside Flower of Scotland.  It is not a life altering event.

Alex Salmond was invited to be a guest panellist alongside former Scotland scrum-half Andy Nicol and ex-England star Jeremy Guscott on the programme hosted by John Inverdale on BBC1 and Radio 5 Live.

However, suddenly Alex Salmond was barred from appearing.

SNP MP Angus Robertson blasted the Beeb’s chief political adviser Ric Bailey in London, who sanctioned the decision.

He said: “It seems that he has gone bonkers, or he’s acting under direct orders from Downing Street.

“He’s overruled his own editors and journalists in the manner you’d expect in a banana republic.

“The BBC is babbling about tensions in the current climate as his excuse for this state control of broadcasting.

“The only heightened tension is between the BBC and their long suffering licence payers in Scotland - who are now being told their First Minister can’t appear on the BBC in a light-hearted sports programme on the first day of the Six Nations.”

Alex was due to appear at around 1.45pm today before the game’s 5pm kick-off, in a broadcast beamed to millions across the UK from the car park at the stadium in Edinburgh.

But he was axed after the Beeb’s political bigwigs in London got wind of his planned appearance and decided it was too “politically sensitive”.

Last night the BBC said it had an “obligation to ensure impartiality”.

“Given the nature of political debate around Scotland’s future and the proximity of local government elections, it was decided that it would be inappropriate to give undue prominence at the moment to any single political leader in the context of the Scotland-England game.”

Ahh the famous BBC impartiality, which allows four Unionists to one Nationalist in their political programmes.  The BBC impartiality which will have Unionists on programmes without any Nationalist presence.

The BBC impartiality which will not allow the Deputy First Minister to comment about a Scottish issue on Question Time in Glasgow because it is irrelevant to a British audience.  Yet will allow Boris Johnson to ramble on about London traffic measures. 

The BBC impartiality which allows its political and economic blogs all over the UK to be commented on by anyone, but will not allow any comments whatsoever on Scottish ones, unless they deem it allowable - on a very rare occasion.

Had David Cameron, Ed Balls or Johann Lamont been invited to be a panellist for the game today, would the BBC have said no?  Would they hell!

Alex Salmond commenting on a rugby match in early February is going to somehow interfere with the Scottish Council elections in May?

Go on pull the other one!

BBC does not stand for British Broadcasting Corporation, it stands for British Bullshitting Censorship.

This article first appeared on the author's blog - http://auldacquaintance.wordpress.com

Comments  

# RandomScot 2012-02-04 11:00
I suppose this is difference from the time the Beeb played the Laurence Olivier Henry V "Once more unto the breach dear friends" speech, interviewed the Englsh player's wives and showed much gle in anticipation of an Englush Grand Slam only to be embarrassed when those treacherous Scots won it

The Beeb didn't even report the result on the evening news bulletin

That BBC?

# Macart 2012-02-04 11:10
I don't think there are words or terms in my thoughts at the moment which could possibly avoid lifetime modding. Its a game of rugby for God's sake.

He's not going to sit there and talk about the hike in oil prices or Samsung's recent investments. He'd have been sitting there wearing his kilt, Scotland shirt and see you Jimmy hat again. He might favour the round ball, but he's Scotland first in any sport. He'd have been sitting in the commentary area passing and catching every ball, making every tackle and converting every try, just like us. The BBC are beyond the pale and have, in fact, lost any credence or standing as an impartial broadcaster. They're hardly even pretending themselves anymore. Surely though, there are those within the organization who must be cringing themselves? Surely someone somewhere must have the clout to call a halt to their actions?

# Auld Bob 2012-02-04 19:56
Quoting Macart:
Surely someone somewhere must have the clout to call a halt to their actions?

"Surely"? Where have you been?
BBC Scotland have been spouting the Labour Party line on these matters and NO there is no one.

I have been posting about this on the Article, "So you think you can trust the Scottish BBC? Well ... ... ...

I have made this complaint to Newswatch on their contact form :-

news.bbc.co.uk/.../4032695.stm

----------------
After banning Scotland's First Minister from a pre-arranged appearance before, and during, the Scotland vs England Rugby game, (on rather strange political grounds), the BBC news reports carried a rather potentially dangerous inflammatory item. They interviewed an English Rugby player who claimed the entire England team had been instructed the Scots hated the English.

This may indeed be a matter properly dealt with by the Scottish Police as inciting hatred is a criminal offence. Perhaps even a further complaint to The Council For Europe may be in order after the example of the Egyptian sports field killings. I cannot believe the BBC could sink to such depths of iniquity and irresponsibilit y.
---------------

You can find links to POV including their on page form on my comments on that article.

# Macart 2012-02-05 10:23
Been there, done that bob. I still hold to my own post on that other thread. I'd rather have our own broadcaster, although taking on their assets at Pacific Quay and housing a Scottish broadcaster there does have a certain ring of satisfaction to it.

# Drew1314 2012-02-04 11:46
Well done Rod and Newsnet for publishing this.

No doubt there will be cry's of "Foul" (penalty in Rugby) from the Unionists as Gordon Brown was famously rejected from a "Match of the Day" appearance.

The difference is Brown requested - Alex Salmond was invited

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-04 12:28
What are Stuart and Tam going to do after this state of affairs? If the FM is on Off the Ball one week, does BBC impartiality demand Johann the next week?

# Teri 2012-02-04 12:37
That really would be worth seeing!

# Independista 2012-02-04 12:38
But what could Johann talk about- synchronised drowning!

# Woodside 2012-02-04 12:49
The poor membership folk at the SNP HQ- another weekend and, I'm sure, another surge in applications to join the party!

You would think the unionists could keep their collective feet out of their mouths for at least one weekend to give these folk a break form the mountain of new membership applications generated every weekend;-)

# call me dave 2012-02-04 16:37
Quoting Independista:
But what could Johann talk about- synchronised drowning!

Ooops ! Sorry though you wrote clowning.

Well it's clear enough that the BBC are playing their part in the independence debate. 'The First Eck' is not to be seen as he's a popular chap and when you get to know him better he's a down to earth good guy.

Petty it is however, they have set the standard, so they are now open to justifiable criticism if they don't play a fair hand throughout.

A slight which will be seen by many neutrals and will raise a question in their minds "What - Why"

All gristle to the SNP mill which will grind exceedingly small in the not too distant future.

# Independista 2012-02-04 12:42
OT.
Some of you might like to comment on this poor article on For Argyll
forargyll.com/.../...

# GuidedByPollard 2012-02-04 15:40
Quoting Independista:
OT.
Some of you might like to comment on this poor article on For Argyll
forargyll.com/.../...

You're not kidding there, that is truly poor stuff

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-02-04 21:46
Done. I'm a regular visitor to For Argyll and generally a supporter but this is poor. In fact it's appalling.

# Albalha 2012-02-04 12:45
“Given the nature of political debate around Scotland’s future and the proximity of local government elections, it was decided that it would be inappropriate to give undue prominence at the moment to any single political leader in the context of the Scotland-England game.”

Proffering reporting restrictions of the kind imposed during an election campaign as an excuse is not only absurd but surely a hostage to fortune for the BBC. Election campaigns normally last about 3 weeks? May 3rd is some 3 months away. So if they are saying they are already in that period then this is what they are obliged to adhere to, from the BBC Editorial Guidelines ...... and perhaps R Bailey in London took the decision but who raised it with him? Boothman perhaps?

...news judgements at election time are made within a framework of democratic debate which ensures that due weight is given to hearing the views and examining and challenging the policies of all parties. Significant minor parties should also receive some network coverage during the campaign.

# Marga B 2012-02-04 13:46
Posted on another story:

Davidson says SNP is ‘insulting’ rugby fans

scotsman.com/.../...

Unfortunate gaffe by the Scotsman, I'd even call it "giving undue prominence to a single political leader".

# Auld Bob 2012-02-04 20:28
Ach! Ye expoect things like that frae The Anti-Scots Man. With them you get the option of not buying the rotten rag. The BBC are another kettle of, (stinking), fish. We have no choice to pay for that propaganda, (well not until we are over 75 that is).

# balgayboy 2012-02-04 13:12
I hope our FM will attend the match and be appreciated by the home crowd as the man who will lead their nation back to being an independent country that it once was, regardless of the bias of the BBC.

# Caadfael 2012-02-04 13:18
No mention of this on the lunchtime news ... wonder why that could possibly be?

# RTP 2012-02-04 13:18
I have sent this to my son in Aus.I'm sure he will be telling his mates wont surprise me if it is seen in his local press as well.
There is hundreds of Scottish Societies all over the world I wonder what they think of the BBC after this,I might just send it to a few of them.

# rhymer 2012-02-04 13:18
Why don't they just announce an outright ban on anything positive concerning AS, the Scottish Government, the SNP, or independence ?
Ah yes, Alex commenting on a rugby match will change the destiny of nations (I know he is good but he's not that good)
I wonder who in London came up with this idea.

# doe 2012-02-04 13:21
I believe that official election timeframe for media neutrality is six weeks prior to any election (that is my experience as campaign coordinator for two elections). This is BS of the highest ordure and they know it.

# heraldnomore 2012-02-04 13:21
The Burd's got a wee poll running on it

burdzeyeview.wordpress.com/

# balgayboy 2012-02-04 13:25
BTW why does the sitting Scottish Government not propose that when Scotland is an independent country there will be no BBC and no broadcasting tax...sure to be a vote winner.

# Barontorc 2012-02-04 13:52
Would you believe there are Scots hooked on Eastenders and the like - who are more than likely not to appreciate being "denied" their fav soaps and other mind-numbing products from Auntie Beeb - even if it was "promised and cross-hearted and hope-to-die", that these programs could be bought in at anytime after independence!

We do have the full spectrum of thinkers in this country too - from mind-dumb to the top ten category, who have votes.

Hearts and minds is the way ahead to victory.

# Grenscot 2012-02-05 01:45
If they can show Eastenders and Coronation Street on Canadian television and they do, then it should not be be beyond the bounds of possibility that they will continue to be seen in Scotland.

# farrochie 2012-02-04 19:50
The broadcasting proposals are already outlined in the booklet "Your Scotland Your Future".

Get your copy soon!

# Auld Bob 2012-02-04 20:47
Quoting balgayboy:
BTW why does the sitting Scottish Government not propose that when Scotland is an independent country there will be no BBC and no broadcasting tax...sure to be a vote winner.

Why would they throw away a broadcasting system that Scots have been paying for since public broadcasting first began. BBC Scotland belongs to the People of Scotland. Trouble is, like our governance, we do not control it.
Have you ever heard of John Charles Walsham Reith, 1st Baron Reith, KT, GCVO, GBE, CB, TD, PC (20 July 1889 – 16 June 1971) was a Scottish broadcasting executive who established the tradition of independent public service broadcasting in the United Kingdom. In 1922 he was employed by the BBC (British Broadcasting Company Ltd.) as its General Manager; in 1923 he became its Managing Director and in 1927 he was employed as the Director-General of the British Broadcasting Corporation created under a Royal Charter. His concept of broadcasting as a way of educating the masses marked for a long time the BBC and similar organizations around the world.

Oh! How we need a John Reith now.

# ElDee 2012-02-04 13:28
Is it true that I have heard the government has a minister for propaganda?

# jafurn 2012-02-04 13:32
Does this mean ,at least, we will be spared Mr Cameron speaking about the GB olympic team and the England team in the European Championships. Just in case it would be inappropriate to give undue prominence at the (that) moment to any single political leader

# doe 2012-02-04 13:38
And the insufferable Boring Johnson as well? Oh pretty please!

# Auld Bob 2012-02-04 20:51
Quoting jafurn:
Does this mean ,at least, we will be spared Mr Cameron speaking?

What I really look forward to hearing IS Cameron speaking and knowing that when he says, as he so often does, "The Whole Country", he actually does mean ENGLAND.

# jafurn 2012-02-05 16:46
Quoting Auld Bob:
Quoting jafurn:
Does this mean ,at least, we will be spared Mr Cameron speaking?

What I really look forward to hearing IS Cameron speaking and knowing that when he says, as he so often does, "The Whole Country", he actually does mean ENGLAND.

Your question is better than mine auld bob...I should have stopped right there.

# C2DEalba 2012-02-04 13:38
Personally, I hope an independent Scotland has its own broadcasting system and anyone employed previously with BBC is barred from a job.

I know, its harsh but its obvious that they have no morals or principles and we are likely to end up with the same spin.

I would also heavily regulate the media in general. Hackgate really annoyed me. Freedom of the press would be improved with a dose of ethics.

There should also be heavy jail terms for em. This would encourage truth and balance like never before.

I have just put on my tin hat!

# Barontorc 2012-02-04 13:54
Join the wish club and you don't need a tin hat for holding that view.

# tartanfever 2012-02-04 14:24
Your absolutely correct C2D. In simple terms, the newspapers are now being, quite rightly, investigated for unethical practices.

However, the BBC, which has the very important distinction of having a charter to fairness and impartiality (something newspapers and other tv outlets do not have to adhere to) are allowed to be scrutinised by an apparently independent body, the BBC trust.

The BBC have by far the largest reach of any news outlet in this country and have a charter to which they must adhere. It is simply ridiculous to think that this can be self regulated from within, which is exactly what it is.

On independence the BBC must be disbanded in Scotland and a new Public Broadcaster set up under a new charter and properly scrutinised. BBC programmes can be bought from England to broadcast on our service north of the border.

I would also suggest that any advisory body set up to scrutinise a new broadcaster actually contains one or two broadcast professionals who have actually made films/programmes as there is not one in any official body at present (BBC Trust/Ofcom/BBC Audience Councils)

# Robabody 2012-02-04 19:42
And dont forget C2D - we'll need to have them in front of the truth and reconciliation committee too (lest they forget, you understand).

# Auld Bob 2012-02-04 20:57
Quoting C2DEalba:
Personally, I hope an independent Scotland has its own broadcasting system and anyone employed previously with BBC is barred from a job.

We already do have a Scottish
Broadcasting Syatem - it is called, "BBC SCOTLAND", and every generation of Scots has paid for it since public Broadcasting first began. As to the administrators of the Present BBC Scotland they should be run out of Scotland on a rail, together with those who followed their orders on the business ends of cameras and microphones. As for the tech side and the equipments, vehicles and so on - we have paid for them over and over again - they are ours - not theirs.

# Drew1314 2012-02-04 13:49
Update from SNP Communications Centre:

snp.org/.../...

# Jester 2012-02-04 13:52
Question: Is the squinty bridge background on BBC news a live feed? If so a big giant Newsnet Scotland banner at 6.30pm each night would be very welcome...

# tartanfever 2012-02-04 14:14
I think it's normally a live feed from that camera, however, it's about 40 feet up in the air.

Occasionally you will see a seagull flying past etc and they have to have consistency with the weather of the day. However, they will have a back up loop to enable them to switch off the live feed and use some pre-recorded material.

Of course, they could just pre record 30 minutes from that camera every morning and use that instead, or just use library footage.

# UpSpake 2012-02-04 13:54
balgayboy. Already SDA policy !.

# balgayboy 2012-02-04 14:14
UpSpake, good and appreciated, now the Scottish Government needs to follow suit. The proverbial gloves are off with the "impartiality" of the BBC Scotland. There is now enough positivity and awareness within the people of Scotland to realise that what is being broadcasted by a controlled media is not acceptable.

# Bob Kingdom of Fife 2012-02-04 14:40
the gloves are off folks its time to harass this ' unionist broadcasting outfit ' based at ' pathetic quay ' in Glasgow , if you have privately owned vans with space for anti bbc posters its time to stalk them where-ever they are filming outside broadcasts , lets make it difficult for these ' people ' to go about their business , walking and driving in camera shoots with this material will add expense to their schedules , an added bonus would be getting some prior knowledge of their activities , so they can be targeted , the propaganda war must be won against this un-elected biased , publically funded waste of space.

# UpSpake 2012-02-04 14:56
balgayboy/Bob KofF. This morning the hare left the trap. This course is not circualr nor oval, this track is straight, to the heart of the matter. Nothing can now change what is on course to occur. I for one have had enough of tinkering with this and other subjects detrimental to the proper aspirations of the Scots people. It is now time for action and action has started.

# J Wil 2012-02-04 15:49
No golden handshakes for McQuarrie when he retires.

# ianbeag 2012-02-05 17:57
Don't you believe it. No controller of BBC Scotland has bent the knee to the masters in London as much as Ken McQuarrie. That this is happening at this time is very unfortunate for the political road that Scotland is currently on but it is that compliance that will earn him plaudits and baubles from his masters in London. Previous controllers like Alastair Hetherington and Alistair Milne must be turning in their graves.

# scotsmanc1 2012-02-04 16:00
Just phoned the BBC number 03700 100 333
to register a complaint and it only takes a minute or two.

The representative taking the calls was polite and will be tired this evening.

Worth a call to boost the number of those complaining

# Annickburn 2012-02-04 16:20
"obligation to ensure impartiality”.
TWO WORDS

JIMMY HILL

# Mac 2012-02-04 17:45
Ric Bailey defended the BBC decision to air an interview with two BNP members who openly questioned the ethnicity of England player Ashley Cole.
Also in the build to today's game the BBC have deliberately conflated a rugby game between Scotland and England and the ongoing political and constitutional situation calling it a "Union Divided".
The BBC are institutionally anti-Scottish.

# tartanfever 2012-02-04 17:49
I just watched that mac.

The introduction to the rugby match was a disgrace, the BBC obviously have no problems with politicising sporting events.

In that case, roll on the Olympics, lets politicise the hell out of that when it comes around.

# Edna Caine 2012-02-04 19:44
So now it looks likely to be another Union Dividend that we get feck all out of??

# Virgil 2012-02-04 19:35
Politics and sport should be kept as far apart as possible. If Mr Salmond had some substantive link to the sport of rugby then possibly; however I don't think this is the case. His favours are more directed to the round ball game.

# tartanfever 2012-02-04 20:26
AS is a keen supporter of many sports and is reputed to have an almost encyclopaedic knowledge of rugby, hence why i think he was originally asked to take part in the programme.

I do agree that sports and politics should e kept apart.

# J Wil 2012-02-04 19:47
"...the Beeb’s chief political adviser Ric Bailey in London..."

It should be him who is gettting the complaints directly.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-04 21:14
Quoting J Wil:
"...the Beeb’s chief political adviser Ric Bailey in London..."

It should be him who is gettting the complaints directly.

Methinks it is time to call upon the international authorities. The Council Of Europe represents more countries than just the EU countries. It is hypercritical of Propaganda by the European Parliament and has slamed them hard before now. I'd contact them myself but I cannot hear telephones as I have hearing problems. I manage, (mostly), fine in face to face conversation but not in places with background noise or where there is a hum of conversation in the background. I'll do some research and see if I can turn up a direct link.

# Edna Caine 2012-02-04 20:05
"I am sure many will be looking forward to the spectacle. Such is the historical rivalry between the two nations that they could play each other at tiddlywinks and draw a crowd."

I can remember when, as a young man, I was privileged to join the thousands who watched Scotland absolutely annihilate the English tiddlywinks team. The English team seemed to possess little tiddle control and the Scots winked at will.

I wish the Scots rugby team had the same spirit.

# mudfries 2012-02-04 20:46
Prosperity to Scotland and No BBC.

# hiorta 2012-02-04 20:51
"A spokesman said: "Given the nature of political debate around Scotland's future and the proximity of local government elections, it was decided that it would be inappropriate to give undue prominence at the moment to any single political leader in the context of the Scotland-England game."

Do these people spin words by instinct?

The future, post Referendum, is profoundly affected for more than just Scotland.

# Wee-Scamp 2012-02-04 21:00
I'm actually astonished by the complete lack of respect the BBC has shown Alex Salmond. How dare they. Insulting the First Minister's integrity in this way is really unforgiveble.

# xyz 2012-02-04 21:49
The BBC won't have our first minister on TV without spuriously and blatantly wrapping Alex Salmond in some contrived negative context.

It's a concerted attempt to damage his reputation when all they have achieved thus far is to damage their own reputation albeit self proclaimed of impartiality.

They really are a disgrace and no better than the (North) Korean Central News Agency en.wikipedia.org/.../...

"North Korean media are under some of the strictest government control in the world. .... Only news that favors the regime is permitted"

# john__ 2012-02-04 21:03
I watched the game. I also admit that I have had a few ciders (beer gives me gas). The turning point of the game was the wrongly disallowed try for Scotland. It was given a passing reference on the BBC Scotland news (I didn't see the after match analysis as I left the pub in disgust), but no mention in the match video summary.

Is there a need to make us feel fairly beaten by the "greater" side? In any other context, a disallowed try, that was clearly a try (video evidence clearly showed downwards pressure as the ball was grounded, alright it was by his thumb, but there is no rule that says it has to be by the whole hand) would have the media howling. Why not now? Are Scottish sporting teams going to be neutered for the next two years to ensure no surge in optimism?

I know this sounds like paranoia (and a wee bit of drink talking), but why was such a contentious decision not discussed on the news (as it was with the English football team)? Maybe we just don't count...

John

# scotsmanc1 2012-02-04 21:19
Ric Bailey puts the BBC Block on.

Does anyone have any direct contact numbers for this character such as a telephone number or an email address. It looks to me that his arrogance and free run without question since his appointment with the BBC, needs to be challenged.

Power Corrupts and absolute power absolutely corrupts as the saying goes. It looks like he has perhaps had a free run for too long.

--------------------------------------

According to Wikipedia
Ric Bailey is the BBC's Chief Adviser, Politics, taking up the post in Editorial Policy in September 2006.

He joined the BBC in 1982, working first in local radio, mainly at Radio Stoke as a reporter, producer and news editor, winning a Sony Gold award for coverage of the miners' strike.(I can just imagine why)

In 1985, Ric moved to BBC Westminster as a regional Parliamentary reporter for local radio and regional TV.

Two years later, he became a Parliamentary Correspondent, presenting Yesterday In Parliament and other political output on radio. (No controversy there then)

In 1990 he became a network Political Correspondent for BBC TV and Radio.

Ric Bailey was appointed Editor of Political News gathering in 1995, leading the team of BBC Political Correspondents and news gatherers at Westminster.

Between 2000 and 2006, he was Deputy Head of Political Programmes, with responsibility for Question Time, for which he was the BBC's Executive Editor.

He oversaw more than 200 editions of the programme, including specials from China, Russia, the Middle East, South Africa, the United States and all around the UK, as well as the Leaders' Election Special in 2005 which, for the first time, saw all three main party leaders appear (though not together) on the same live programme in front of the same live audience.

Ric Bailey also developed and led a major citizenship project across secondary schools – the Schools Question Time Challenge – which resulted in the first appearance of a member of the public on a Question Time panel in July 2006.( What a breakthrough- a real member of the Public) What it must have been like before is any one's guess.

He was born in Manchester in 1958 and studied Modern History and Politics at Southampton University, followed by a diploma in Broadcast Journalism from the City University in 1981.

It is now time to ask him a few questions before he gets called Buckingham palace for services rendered.

Fits the bill perfectly for the biased BBC.

# Florajo 2012-02-04 21:32
The Scottish commentator's remarks stuck in my craw. " what a very very very good result for England" Good result would have sufficed.

# rodmac 2012-02-04 21:46
Personally I think any form of protest to the BBC or about the BBC is a total waste of time, without some means to back up hte protests.
That is not going to happen in the UK, so we can forget about any avenues there.
There must however be some organisation in the EEC which will monitor the situation, and which we can all complain to.
Who 0r what or where that might be, I have no idea? But I am sure there must be an avenue.

In the meantime, would it be possible for Newsnet to keep a record of all incidents which are dodgy.
The ending of the Rugby programme today concluded with 'I want to break free' a subliminal message if ever i have heard one after Scotlands defeat.
And would it be possible for people to notify the dates, times and occurrences of clear BBC bias.
That way at least we build a body of evidence.

Complaining, and threatening to withold licence fees, or a few of us standing in cold outside the BBC is not going to make any worthwhile impact,and certainly the latter could be used as ammunition for ridicule by the BBC if badly attended.

Think this through folks.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-04 22:16
coe.int/.../...

I've been telling this for a while.

# edinburghdave 2012-02-04 21:48
I don't know if anyone is watching 'castle commando'. But it does seem a rather self indulgent " look at how wonderful Scotland is under the union! We beat those bloody gerries you know"! In no way do I want to take anything away from the brave men who have served in this incredible unit.

If Rory breamner mentions culloden and the glory British army once more I may have to take up permanent residence in the darkened room!!

# Auld Bob 2012-02-04 22:25
Quoting edinburghdave:
If Rory breamner mentions culloden and the glory British army once more I may have to take up permanent residence in the darkened room!!

The English have always made out that Culloden, was a Scotland Vs England thing and England won.

Cullodin was post Treaty of Union, so it was actually a form of civil war. It involved religious beliefs and had Scots & English on both sides. It was actually a war between two claimants to the Thrones of the UK. So, YES, it is a propaganda excercise by the BBC and the Rainbow Tory Alliance of Red/Yellow/Blue Tories.

Let's get on to The council Of Europe. We have good cases for several of the things that these people deal with. They are bigger than the EU.

coe.int/.../...

# edinburghdave 2012-02-04 22:36
Quoting Auld Bob:
Quoting edinburghdave:

The English have always made out that Culloden, was a Scotland Vs England thing and England won.

Cullodin was post Treaty of Union, so it was actually a form of civil war. It involved religious beliefs and had Scots & English on both sides. It was actually a war between two claimants to the Thrones of the UK. So, YES, it is a propaganda excercise by the BBC and the Rainbow Tory Alliance of Red/Yellow/Blue Tories.

Let's get on to The ouncil Of Europe. We have good cases for several of the things that these people deal with. They are bigger than the EU.

coe.int/.../...

Interesting, immediately after this Brit fest, almost as an 'info-bomb', we had two prolonged ads for upcoming programmes, one about the queens jubilee and the next ad a programme, again from the second world war about the defeat around Singapore, focussing ( I think) on scots soldiers.

I actually think this is verging on creepy subliminal/psychological input type broadcasting.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-04 22:40
It's the 70th anniversary of Singapore, so a commemorative programme is hardly suspicious. There are much more clear-cut examples of bias it might be wiser to focus on.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-04 22:59
How many anniversaries do you think will fall at this time? That every year from now to the Birth of Jesus, (start of the AD yeras). There will be a great many, so take your pick of which ones you WANT to highlight.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-04 23:17
We do tend to place a little more emphasis on the 70th anniversary of anything than we do the 69th or the 71st. A programme about a major event in British military history, 70 years after the event, is hardly unusual. And they'll probably be more similar programs in the next two years, because it happens to be 70 years after WW2. Then there'll be a referendum in 2014, the 700th anniversary of Bannockburn. If it's any consolation, the Scottish troops who were sacrificed for the Empire at Singapore were the remnants of the 51st, who were sacrificed for England at Dunkirk. I can't see any great UK sentiment being aroused by their story.

There are enough examples of blatant bias (Question Time, Paxman, unchallenged Unionists on various programmes) to make a clear case. Throwing in sensitivity about something that would seem innocuous at any other time, and that would have been planned well in advance, simply gives them an excuse to dismiss complaints as 'whinging Nats'.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-04 23:06
Have a look at this website. That is just one day - these guys have months/years of days.

news.bbc.co.uk/.../default.stm

# Auld Bob 2012-02-04 22:56
It is not verging - it is.

# Soixante-neuf 2012-02-04 23:26
While of course it's true that Culloden was part of a post-Union civil war, quite a few people did see the Jacobite cause as a way to break the union. Jacobite swords have been found, engraved "for Charlie and no Union".

Rather a lot of people (including one Donald Cameron, I think!) wanted Charlie to stop at Edinburgh and simply take the throne of Scotland. As a true Stuart, heir of Jamie the Saxt, he was having none of it because he wanted England too.

# Hirta 2012-02-04 22:05
So, let's have a closer look at Ric Bailey, the BBC's chief political adviser in London.

How ironic that his last BBC blog had the word "impartiality" in its title. www.bbc.co.uk/.../ric_bailey

More on this buffoon here: bbc.co.uk/.../ric_bailey.shtml

# Barontorc 2012-02-05 01:41
The Trade Descriptions Act and MI5 don't easily sit well together, and that's the BBC problem/issue.

Of course, it's being dealt with, somehow, "appropriately", so move along now, nothing to see here.

# UpSpake 2012-02-05 10:53
Auld Bob. Your wish is our command !.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments