By Kenneth Roy

Suddenly, there is hope for us all. In one of the many disobliging 'profiles' of Billy Connolly following his walk-out in Scarborough and Blackpool, he is described as a man in late middle age. Mr Connolly is 69. If this now qualifies as late middle age, I'm going with the theory that the district nurse and Saga Tours won't be troubling us until we have safely negotiated our 75th birthday and that a mid-life crisis is possible at 72. How exciting.

Actuarially, however, most people in Glasgow will miss their mid-life crisis because most people in Glasgow will be dead by 72. The few survivors will be left to pay for the Commonwealth Games until the moderately old age of 130.

But Billy Connolly – that's another story. He's always been another story.

He was right to walk out on the odious northerners who heckled him, went to the lavatory, strolled off to the bar, or otherwise behaved disgustingly during his turn. Absolutely. Someone has to take a stand against the vileness of modern audiences, who conduct themselves as they would in front of their own television sets. A man in late middle age, only moderately rich, with a wife and castle to support, who is prepared to contemplate a night in Blackpool, even for payment, is entitled to a bit of respect.

I understand that he terminated the performance at 9.40pm. That is quite late enough. Some of us are habitually in bed by 9.40pm, happily perusing the memorial services column of The Oldie or wondering what on earth to write about the following morning, short of yet another piece about yon question.

Although I am several years younger than Mr Connolly, I am late middle aged enough to remember him when he was an unknown folk singer and banjoist. In the Scotia Bar, someone – Adam MacNaughtan, perhaps – pointed to a forlorn figure in the corner with the assurance that he was a musician of the highest promise. The Big Yin (as he then wasn't called) had a look of amused melancholy beyond wistful. Clearly the day had not been kind to him, and it was not quite one o'clock.

Not long after this, his star was born overnight in the exuberant 'Great Northern Welly Boot Show' at the Edinburgh Festival. What a night that was. I believe Bridget McConnell still has Billy Connolly's wellies – though maybe only one of of them; the cuts – on show in one of her many museums. They have become a Glasgow artefact in the same class as the traffic cone which rests at a jaunty angle on the top of the Duke of Wellington's head.

I like to imagine the new Scotland as an inclusive sort of place, cultured and confident, open to dissenters of any height. But the portents are not always encouraging.

For Mr Connolly, there was no going back. Or, rather, there was.

In the only serious conversation I have ever had with him – apart from a twitchy one before Jimmy Reid's funeral when we both had duties to perform – I was surprised by his bitter resentment of his treatment by sections of the Scottish press. He named names. He even gave one of them a funny, poisonous nicknake. But why? They were people of no significance, and he was brilliant, the talk of many towns, enjoying an acclaim far beyond his native Scotland. Yet still, in some mysterious way, they got to him. If it was a battle in the first place, maybe he had allowed them to win.

The edgy ambivalence about Scotland extends beyond a loathing of various hacks. He has also been scornful of our political aspirations with his irreverent digs at our 'pretendy wee parliament'. The way things are going it will soon be an unpretendy big parliament, so he could have been wrong. He remains, however, not at all in thrall to the project.

How will people like Mr Connolly be treated in future? I like to imagine the new Scotland as an inclusive sort of place, cultured and confident, open to dissenters of any height. But the portents are not always encouraging. It was mildly disturbing, for example, that supporters of the project responded to my defence of the businesswoman Michelle Mone, who opposes independence, by drawing my attention to the fact that she had recently been photographed without many clothes on.

It is possible, then, that the new Scotland will disappoint me by being prim and censorious and Kirk-driven; that Michelle Mone will require to be attired as the late Flora Macdonald; that Billy Connolly will be instructed to clean up his act; and that the Scottish Review's occasional affectionate references to Mr Salmond as the first midgie will be prohibited by act of the pretendy wee parliament, which will have become the unpretendy big parliament, and quite scary with it.

The other Scot who was not in a good place at the end of last week – Mr Connolly having been in Blackpool, you may remember – was Mr Salmond himself. He should have been at a place called Murrayfield, assisting the BBC with the commentary on the Rugby, a game imported from some English public school. It seems at first glance – the only glance I have been prepared to give it over the years – to involve a deal of manly hugging and fumbling. Erotic, absurd, both or neither – it is hard to say. But then the BBC took cold feet and banned Mr Salmond from the commentary box. I know how infuriating this can be. When I opened the Sunday Mail one morning, I came upon the headline, 'Beeb Bad Boy Banned', a clever alliterative reference to myself.

Mr Salmond, a mere boy at 57, will have many further opportunities to appear on BBC Television in the unlikely event that he should wish to do so. The Rugby ban may even prove to be fortuitous. A vacancy will soon arise in the BBC's golf team, for Peter Alliss, pushing 81, may be considered to be in the foothills of the elderly and cannot go on for ever. Mr Salmond, with his reassuring burr and deep knowledge of the game, would make an admirable successor, leaving him ample time to organise the odd referendum and answer the feeble questions put to him in the pretendy wee parliament.

I will see what I can do. Possibly not much.

Courtesy of Kenneth Roy - read Kenneth Roy in the Scottish Review

Comments  

# red kite 2012-02-07 23:07
"It is possible, then, that the new Scotland will disappoint me by being prim and censorious and Kirk-driven;"

Hohoho, nae chance Kenneth. Those days are over, to quote a great man.

Anyway, Billy Connolly is reaping much the same as that great singing lassie from Bellshill, Sheena Easton.
Scotland does revere its own, when they deserve it, but usually well after they're gone and never hear the accolades.
On the other hand, as Glasgow theatres used to attest, don't mess with the audiences - they'll soon see you off if you make out like you're better than them.

Billy lost it for me years ago, lording it about with the gentry while pretending he wis just a wee glesca punter.
And I've never played Sheena's records since that awful speech at T in the Park.

# Boris Broon 2012-02-07 23:40
Quoting red kite:
"It is

And I've never played Sheena's records since that awful speech at T in the Park.

Was it not at the Big Day in 1990 (City of Culture pish)that Sheena made her stand against evil, jealous Scots?

# flyingscotsman 2012-02-07 23:58
I think you may be referring to Sheena's appearance at the Big Day free concerts in 1990 where her long lost Scottish accent returned to her while saying it was great to be back in Scotland...and then lots of bottles were thrown at her and on to the stage...nothing less than she deserved...

Billy Connolly has ruined what was a great comedian...I was once a great fan but now avoid everything he does...he should have retired years ago.

# rhymer 2012-02-08 22:00
[quote red kite"]"It is possible, then, that the new Scotland will disappoint me by being prim and censorious and Kiirk-driven.quote]
Funnily enough I recently read a rather dark but funny sci-fi novel set in a post referendum Scotland where we had voted for devo max and ended up with a parliament run by the "wee free".

# Bob Kingdom of Fife 2012-02-07 23:20
billy connoly , ' west of Scotland unionist court jester ' come back to your roots billy we still think yer funny.

# velofello 2012-02-07 23:21
Developing a gel-filled bra, or a wee song about banana wellies, a great person does not make.

Kenneth MacKellar, Nicola Benedetti (spelling?), now they didn't just have an idea and the public liked it, They spent years developing their skills. And they concentrated on what they knew best., keeping their opinions on other matters, not within their skills, to themselves, and the ballot box.

And belief me Ken, Connolly is no great banjo player.

# Soixante-neuf 2012-02-08 18:15
Kenneth MacKellar was one of the greatest lyric tenors of his day. He could have gone a long way on the international opera stage, but the only way to do that then was to leave Scotland. He didn't want to do that. Wonderful voice.

# Jim1320 2012-02-07 23:40
Billy Connolly has over the years made a lot of people laugh. He doesn't support independence, he is an old school Unionist. That is unlikely to change. Not everyone is going to be convinced by the arguments in favour. There is little to be gained in worrying about it. Will Connolly refuse to return if we become independent? I doubt it. I rather fancy he will be doing a televised tour on behalf of some television channel or other of the newly independent Scotland and saying it is a better player than he first thought....:)

On his tour walk outs - I think maybe it is a sign he himself is beginning to think stuff this lark for a game of soldiers.

# J Wil 2012-02-08 01:42
I thought he would have more affiliation with Ireland. People have long memories, even over generations.

Although Scotland gave him his comic material, I don't think he has been that grateful for it.

# proudscot 2012-02-08 13:51
Quoting J Wil:
I thought he would have more affiliation with Ireland. People have long memories, even over generations.

Although Scotland gave him his comic material, I don't think he has been that grateful for it.

Good point, J Wil. I've always found it contradictory to say the least, that Billy Connolly has frequently voiced his pride in his Irish ancestors and their struggle, ultimately successful, for independence from the UK, and for centuries before that from England - and yet is so much against his (now) native Scotland achieving the same goal of independence from the same UK.

On second thoughts, perhaps not so strange, given his early Labour Party and Union roots as a shipyard worker, and then his later change of life, when he started hobnobbing with the royals and their chinless Tory toff hangers-on, and shooting wee pretendy (clay) pigeons out of the skies in their company.

# Edna Caine 2012-02-08 00:02
Lots of comics become less successful when they get older, lose their timing and run out of new material.

Despite beginning to fail as a comic, Connolly is still a man of character and charisma, whatever his political views.

I am sure he has a lot to offer and will not be overly put out when Scotland becomes an independent state.

# Rabbie 2012-02-08 00:54
Scottish history isnae a strang pynt wi him. A mind in "Billy Connolly's World Tour Of Scotland" He leukit ower Culloden Moor an telt us aw that thon wis whare the last battle in the UK taen place whare the English gied the Scots a richt dooin (or words tae thon effeck).

# jafurn 2012-02-08 00:57
Mr Connolly is a comedian. I think he is/was as funny a guy as I have ever heard and if he supports the union...so what.
Are people going to find out how their favourite footballers(the few that are able to vote in Scotland)feel about Independence and then decide whether or not to go to the footbal.

PS
I meant to add that good as he is I will always prefer George Carlin

www.youtube.com/.../

# Zef 2012-02-08 04:10
Great choice. George had a lot to say about how people's lives were being run by others who did not have their best interest at heart.

# Kinghob 2012-02-08 00:58
Billy Connelly actually is in fact a very good banjo player indeed.

For sure-no doubt. We Independently minded folk need not argue the point, can call that 'musical differences' in interpretation of both style (and politics lol) with its own merits as skilful and down to the listener...............and move on still pals velofello!

He put me off when he showed his rather cynical british/scot side but it isn't fair to say the guy doesn't make you laugh when he tries or that he should retire for being so gung hog british or at least come across like that in his edited highlights.

I kind of avoid buying Billy Connely's dvds just like I won't wear an ultimo bra anymore-I like my heroes and role models for Scotland to back up their unionist rhetoric rather than just deem to 'tell us' poorer plebs the score without presenting evidence other than a threat................ or I refuse to wear that union jack bra!

Billy Connelly was my comedian hero for years until I discovered Bill Hicks or Lewis Black, but he disappointed me as a Scot on occasion, I don't know what him walking out of a gig in Blackpool or Scarborough has to do with Scotland!

# MAcandroid 2012-02-15 00:06
No this is a great banjo player !
www.wimp.com/amazingkids/

# Jimbo 2012-02-08 00:59
Scottish Review's occasional affectionate references to Mr Salmond as the first midgie

The first midgie - I like that! In a country overrun with them it's quite appropriate.

# chicmac 2012-02-08 01:56
As a late-middle-age person myself, and a folkie from the 60s I can tell you that Billy Connolly like so many others, came to prominance, found themselves and honed their stage persona on the Scottish Folk circuit.

As well as many fine musicians and song-writers, some of whom left the folk circuit to pursue careers in more lucrative directions, there were also those who specialised in humour.

Indeed so 'expected' was the humour element on the Scottish folk circuit, that even many serious folk acts still did (or tried to) inject humour into segways and interludes etc.

For some reason (Bawdy Ballad tradition?), the humour in folk clubs seemed to be 'licensed' to have a large element of ribaldry. Much more so, than the 'conventional' stand up comedians (as epitomised by the TV programme 'The Comedians') of the time. For the conventional stand up of that time, racism seemed to be acceptable (at least on UK TV) but ribaldry not so.

A (from memory so very incomplete) list of acts from the time which were known almost as much, or more so, for their humour as their folk singing follows; Matt McGinn, Hamish Imlach, The McAlmans, Bill Barclay, Watt Nicoll. Other acts, like the Corries, had a very significant humour element but it was still very much subservient to their musical contribution.

In the Humblebums, you had one guy (Gerry Rafferty) who was very definitely a serious musician and another guy (Billy Connolly) who grasped (to his credit) that his main talent was on the comedy side. A split was inevitable.

As to Billy's eventual persona, I will mention again Watt Nicoll. His act proved to be too ribald even for the Scottish folk circuit and he was banned from it - allegedly. He also was characterised by Long 'Hippy' hair and a goatee beard and I often wonder if Billy was influenced by him?

# C2DEalba 2012-02-08 01:57
I think he was funny many years ago. But not now. Who really cares what he thinks?

# gt-cri 2012-02-08 08:28
Come off it, Roy & co!

Billy Connolly has become, like so many other "turns", a product of his environment. He has been based in LA for many years, mixed with other actors & comedians, made appearances in support of comic relief and laid bare his childhood experiences and character through books, mostly written by his psychiatrist bidey-in, Pamela Stephenson. His views on everything under the sun will be, if funny to himself, entwined into his act & how he conducts himself is his own business. We can agree or disagree. To villify him for making his views public and to somehow extrapolate this into some kind of metaphor for an Independent Scotland is nothing short of fantasy imaginations.

To think that the Scots psyche is so narrow & parochial that what is seen to be "doing-down Scotland" right now will be the same if and when Scots become sovereign again is also wrong. The same twisting of the metaphor is used. If and when the day comes, Scots will "do-down" whoever & whatever they feel is deserving, safe in the knowledge it is "theirs" to do-down but also defend when anybody else tries to attack!

That is the Scots' psyche and long may it prevail!

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-08 10:04
Hi Ken,
At what age does dotage set in ?
Can you get pills for it ?
Is is painful ?
Does it matter? and anyway who cares about apathy ?

Showbiz and "celebrities" don't really count for much in my life.....apart from I M Jolly.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-08 21:17
[quote name=

Showbiz and "celebrities" don't really count for much in my life.....apart from I M Jolly.

Now THAT was a real funny man. I will always picture him as Super-cop. The way he said, "Away"?, when he made out he didn't believe something often pops into my hear when some dependency advocate makes a stupid claim. I look at them and see Ricki standing there saying, "Away"? , with that look on his face.

# Macart 2012-02-08 10:14
I have laughed myself off the chair many times at Billy Connolly and have great respect for his showbiz achievements. He's entitled to believe in the union if he so chooses, he's entitled to believe that Scotland has only a pretendy wee parliament indeed he's well within his rights to claim all of the same freedoms as we are, including the right to be wrong.

I've watched his many recent shows on tours of Australia, New Zealand, America etc, etc and can anyone tell me what they all have in common?

They all used to be part of the UK.

I've listened to him wax most lyrical on their energy and independent spirit, their achievements and cultures, is it then so hard for the Big Yin to believe that we may harbour an aspiration or two of our own? Now I believe Billy sees himself more as a citizen of the world these days, but I do hope that after we regain our nationhood that he can at least return some of the applause he's earned over the years in Scotland to the folks who are aspiring to be better.

# ianab63 2012-02-08 10:41
Macart.
Great post could not have put it better myself.
If we are to independance(an d I really hope we do) Then we still have to remember and accept that they are still fellow Scots men and women who voted for status quo and we have to respect their decision.
After all is this not what it is all about freedom of choice,free speech and opinion without prejdice.

# Macart 2012-02-08 14:50
Hullo ianab63. A new name and welcome.

I've posted this a few times in the past, but you govern for all the people not just those who vote for you. I may be mistrustful of many unionist politicians but we do live in a democracy. Your vote lies with your head and your heart and if some choose to believe that Westminster has their best interests in mind regardless of the facts then that is their free choice in a democracy. I have too many friends of all shades in the political spectrum to turn my back on them. Happily a good few are going to vote against their party line and good on them.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-08 21:44
Quoting ianab63:
Macart.
Great post could not have put it better myself.
If we are to independance(an d I really hope we do) Then we still have to remember and accept that they are still fellow Scots men and women who voted for status quo and we have to respect their decision.
After all is this not what it is all about freedom of choice,free speech and opinion without prejdice.

Fine! I agree up to a point. I have no disrespect for someone who believes in dependence for whatever political or economic reasons. Trouble is these people are very, very thin on the ground. I have no quarrel with those who vote for any political party either, that is their choice and their right. What I do not bear gladly are those who have no clear idea of why they vote whatever way it is. They just have a mindless loyalty to a party or belief and they will use any tactic to enforce their own views upon others.

Today I listened to Ken MacIntosh in the Holyrood chamber. He slung a diatribe at John Swinney that went along the lines of snearing that the SNP were wanting to make Scotland independent but also to use a foreign countries currency and a foreign countries state bank. Now I may just be an old cynic but, either this man is just very, very ignorant or a very, very big liar. Really it matters not which. If he knows the truth he is the cynical liar. If he does not he is far too bloody stupid to ever be allowed a place in any Scottish Parliament, devoluted or independent.

As the only two nations signing the Treaty of Union they are equal and sovereign. The treaty makes it clear that the common currency will be the pound sterling - it is thus as much ones as the others. The Bank of England was nationalised in 1946 and NOT as England's bank but as the UK state bank. In 1998 Gordon Brown made it a, state owned, independent bank. In both cases nationalised as the UK bank and owned by the UK state.

So either Ken MacIntosh knows the truth and is a liar or Ken MacIntosh doesn't know and is an ignorant fool. The only upshot, and I posted it on Labourhame, is that he should not be treating his potential voters as fools - they are better than that - and they deserve better. I also said much the same to Sheridan who was taking a swipe at the FM and also talking mince.

# Macart 2012-02-08 21:59
Yer no that old and yer definately no a cynic. Well said.

# nchanter 2012-02-11 21:21
Quoting Macart:
Yer no that old and yer definately no a cynic. Well said.

Aye Macart he is old , he knows what bippy is

# thomsor 2012-02-08 10:16
Billy has taken to Strathdon lairdship life which is only a stones throw away from queenies place. Why do people lose their self respect and grovel after these so called royals?
Can KR not do a piece without ending it by having a go at Alex Salmond? If he has a problem with AS he should write a whole article about the bad Alex and get it off his chest.

# chiefy1724 2012-02-08 10:24
" If you think you are too big to be heckled, then your head's too big "

I can't remember who said that. May have been Frank Skinner. May even have been Billy himself.

He used to be a master of the put-down of the heckler, and none too politely either.

Has he just grown too big for his Banana Boots ? (Are they still in the People's Palace on Glasgow Green ?)

His politics, fine. He is a dyed in the wool Unionist. He believes that he can justify his stance but it always seems to be one of being against "Tartan and Shortbread 90 minute Nationalism" rather than anything positive for the Union.

Sound familiar ?

I believe that at one point his name was being banded around as being a Prominente in the "No" Campaign.

We have nothing to worry about. He was once a funny man, beloved in the "hard" days, brilliantly observant of this Scotland and our national psyche.

His day has gone.

# GrassyKnollington 2012-02-08 10:57
Quote:
A man in late middle age, only moderately rich, with a wife and castle to support, who is prepared to contemplate a night in Blackpool, even for payment, is entitled to a bit of respect.

lol well put.

The Laird of Candacraig is similar to Johann and her Northern branch office staff. Used to be big in Scotland but increasingly irrelevant and out of touch.

Billy railing against the press, Labour railing against the SNP, Scots shrugging and turning the page.

# velofello 2012-02-08 12:55
Kinghob.
If your for Scotland's independence your a pal o' mine.
Banjo playing ; I recommend you seek out Bella Fleck.
Melodic banjo playing is not easy, Bella Fleck is a master.

# lochside 2012-02-08 14:23
All for tolerance, but the 'big yin' is now a big yawn. Yeah, he's entitled to his opinion, but just as hecklers are entitled to heckle, those of us who think he's a clapped out sellout, are entitled to voice our opinion. Despite being married to a (self-publising) psychoanalyst, the man has no insight...I would observe that his tartan- bedecked pantomine dame poncing about in front of his 'castle' with his royal friends, and his viseral hatred of Scottish nationalists couldn't represent more of a self-parody, even if he tried. Contrast Sean Connery's million pound fee from his last ever Bond movie being donated to a continuing foundation for young Scottish artists, and Connolly doesn't appear funny at all.

# rog_rocks 2012-02-08 14:28
Let's see what Billy thinks of us Scot's nationalists;

Quote:
I like to scream at Nationalists whenever I can, I have a deep loathing of nationalists and patriots. I don’t like patriots or religious weirdos, but I would like to be a nuisance, I’d like to stand behind the National Health system and all these other miracles like the Welfare State.

billyconnolly.com/.../...

Oh dear what a shame, strangely, I can hear dulling banjos in the background.

# velofello 2012-02-08 14:29
Dammit, I missed out the apostrophe in your!
Not only do I play by ear, it seems that I now write by ear too.

# Training Day 2012-02-08 14:39
I regard Connolly as a slightly less entertaining version of William McGonagall. Indeed, I remember him reading 'The Tay Bridge disaster' on one of his shows. Could the 'late middle aged' Billy find a niche even now as a purveyor of poetry to the Royals, just as McGonagall hoped to be Queen Victoria's Muse? The forthcoming celebrations of Brenda's jubilee could provide the perfect opportunity - you can hear it now.. 'Your extrraoooordina ry Majesty, you remain jobby-free after 50 years..'

# mountaincadre 2012-02-08 14:50
I'd prefer Frankie Boyle doing it.

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-02-08 15:03
I remember the Humblebums. I always understood that he and Gerry Rafferty split because he was for doing more of the humorous links and Gerry was more interested in developing the music.

Since 1970 you would be hard pressed to describe either of them as a 'failure'.

Connelly still has occasional incisive and humorous insights into the human condition but they are getting rarer and rarer, so he is left recycling old gags to pay his way. He may well be a genuine Unionist supporter but rather than using his wit to make his case he resorts to the usual too small, too stupid, too poor narrative and I would suggest that is what irks folk on the pro-independence side.

Connelly is stuck in the Scotland of the 60's and 70's and like the New Labour Party he supports is losing contact with his 'ane folk' and the confident, forward looking Scotland of the early decades of the 21st Century.

# Bobelix 2012-02-08 15:24
I've never understood the bile that some commentators here harbour towards Billy Connolly. He's been making me (an SNP member) and my children (2 SNP supporters and 1 SNP member) laugh our heads off for years. What is his crime? He once (note ONCE) said the Scottish Executive (as it was then generally referred to) was a "pretendy wee Parliament." Well, in the hands of such as McConnell and Dewar, it was! To the best of my knowledge he's not said anything about it since, and he would probably admit himself - if he weren't feeling irrationally besieged - that times have changed. As for the comment about nationalists and patriots, well, we've all met the kind that should be disqualified from the human race for pushing. The BNP would doubtless call themselves such. It's taken a long time to persuade the world that the SNP don't belong in the camp of the fascist/ Little Scotlander. A lot of what passes for nationalism in the world at large IS nasty and I would hope no SNP supporter would have any truck with it. I don't remember him EVER employing the "too small, too stupid, too poor narrative." You're not going to convince Billy that you aren't on the nasty side using the kind of rhetoric I've seen launched against him by supposed SNP stalwarts. If you're expecting him to publicly change his mind or admit he didn't understand the positive aspect of SNP nationalism, then you're going exactly the wrong way about it. Try telling your average Glaswegian Labour supporter in a pub that he's a "traitor" or that any worthwhile talents he ever had are dead and gone and you'll probably soon be identifiable as one who "talked when he should have been listening." I don't imagine for one minute that the small-minded, and, it seems to me, jealous barracking he gets from some corners of the SNP world are going to persuade him. Indeed they're designed to do the opposite. It's just another very ugly manifestation of the "Ah knew his faither" syndrome that is really just a more aggressive variety of the Scottish cringe. Scots secure in their own identity shouldn't have to display such envy and resentment.
Billy Connolly has kept me amused for years - even through some very bad times - and, for his doing so, I am profoundly grateful. And speaking as a musician myself, Billy may not be the world's best banjo player, but why should he be? He's a comedian, for God's sake - and he's still a pretty fine player who has improved greatly over the years. The Chieftains seem to like him, and they've certainly got the professional nous to make such a judgment. Of course, his ultimate crime, in the eyes of some here, is that he's made money and disnae get paralytic doon the local wi' his auld pals any mair. I imagine said commentators would be off like a shot if they won the lottery and had to put up with the instant surge of hangers-on - sorry, brand-new "auld pals" - they would attract. Good on ye, Billy! Ye've done well for a wee laddie fae Partick, and I, for one, am proud o' ye.

# GrassyKnollington 2012-02-08 15:43
This was the first google quote I came up with from Billy regarding the SNP on a site called we are the English.com. It doesn't say when or where he said it so I'm not sure how reliable it is.

[Edited - NNS Mod Team. Links to sites which incite hatred are not allowed, regardless of the poster's intentions in making such a link.]

# jafurn 2012-02-08 15:54
[Link removed - NNS Mod Team]

From the same site...

Andrew Fletcher- 18th Century Scottish Patriot

"Show me a true patriot, and I will show you a lover not merely of his own country, but of all mankind. Show me a spurious patriot, a bombastic fire-eater, and I will show you a rascal. Show me a man who loves other countries equally with his own, and I will show you a man entirely deficient in a sense of proportion. But show me a man who respects the rights of all nations, while ready to defend the rights of his own against them all, and I will show you a man who is both a nationalist and an internationalis t".

# flyingscotsman 2012-02-08 17:10
A post to the original stories if anyone is interested. It was 1996 when he said it. Much has changed since then.

www.thefreelibrary.com/.../

# GrassyKnollington 2012-02-08 18:19
cheers for that flying scotsman. These comments certainly explain why he's not too popular with some in the SNP.

Bobelix had you seen these comments before?

# jafurn 2012-02-08 15:45
Bobelix well said..

# Mac 2012-02-08 17:40
Was Billy Connolly ever that funny? He made Michael Parkinson laugh, but just the once I remember. The only time I think he is funny is when he is talking abour art - WTF is all that about?

# alexmc8275 2012-02-08 20:00
Mcginnty and the crucifixion are top notch comedy had me in stitches.

# Bobelix 2012-02-08 19:38
Look, (a) Billy Connolly's been putting his foot in his mouth for years about all sorts of subjects and has been known to ask why people take him so seriously - as I pointed out, he's a comedian, not a political economist. (b) These remarks were made 16 years ago and, as far as I know, he's not made anything more than rather obvious clichéd criticisms of the SNP since - I've certainly seen nothing as venomous as, say, Cochrane's spoutings coming from the Connolly camp in the last few years. (c) If you don't find Billy Connolly funny, then I'm sorry for you.
Anyway, that's not the point. Why so much venom for a comedian who's made a few bob for himself, when there are plenty of legitimate villains around? Compare the volume of criticism when Michael Forsyth is mentioned to that accorded Billy Connolly. Billy is treated by some in this forum with an illogical degree of hatred which I can only put down to the dreaded "cringe." They can't stand to see one of their own becoming successful because that reflects on them personally. I don't think it's got much to do with the Independence debate. If he were such a monster, how come Jimmy Reid (SNP member and Scottish working-class hero)was so pally with him? And why would Sean Connery give him an effusive tribute on the Erect for Thirty Yearsretrospective? I just think he's ill-informed about politics - let's face it, he's as funny as hell, but it's not exactly the kind of nit-pickingly detailed humour you'd expect from someone like Ben Elton. Billy is an old-style satirist - he takes an aspect of something and exaggerates it until it's funny. To do that requires mental agility, yes, but it's all about superficial, easily discernable features - that's why we laugh, we recognise instantly what he's talking about. He's said himself he'd been diagnosed with Attention Deficit Syndrome - that's hardly likely to lead him into an intense examination of the Independence argument.
He's a bloody comic for God's sake! Where's the threat? I see some of the right-wing papers are touting for him to be made the Unionist spokesman. I sincerely hope he doesn't fall for that one - his knowledge of the subject is such that he'd get a severe showing-up. Somehow, though, I don't see him getting on the same stage as Drumlean and Hungry and Malcolm Pipkin. He's said much worse things about the Tories than he has about the SNP. Let's just appreciate the man for what he does best, and maybe have a wee touch of schadenfreude when we win the referendum. In the meantime, cut down the venom, eh? Find a real target, there are loads of them out there who are much, much more dangerous than a talented but politically ingenuous comedian.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-08 22:17
I can sum him up in a lot less words than that and I remember him on the folk circuit when he was just one of the unknowns among the giants, (who really were funny).

My summing of Billy,

In the title, "The big Yin", refers to his earse, (and I don't mean "Erse")

# chicmac 2012-02-08 23:33
I remember him as well Bob, see post further up. What do you think to the theory he nicked Watt Nicoll's persona?

P.S. For those (most probably) who haven't heard of him here is a url that gives some idea.
nigelgatherer.com/.../...

He quickly went into 'motivational teaching' (after a spell conning educating American New Age tourists with Spiritual Celtic Enlightenment. He was even hired by the England Football team at one time to inspire them (well done agent Watt).

# chicmac 2012-02-09 14:39
Watt Nicoll, Found this today. He's still at it and still as irreverent and funny as ever.
Note some sweary words within.

www.youtube.com/.../

# J Wil 2012-02-08 21:20
On a lighter note: The Ivan the Terrible joke.

www.youtube.com/.../

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-09 18:07
Quote:
..the Scottish Review's occasional affectionate references to Mr Salmond as the first midgie will be prohibited by act of the pretendy wee parliament, which will have become the unpretendy big parliament, and quite scary with it.

You're scaring yourself with your wild imaginings. The kind of thing that children do.

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-09 18:16
I was watching Billy Connolly on one of his ubiquitous self-indulgent and massively uninformative travel programmes the other day when it suddenly dawned on me that I could no longer be bothered with the man. Scotland has grown up a lot during the decades of his career. But he hasn't grown up with us. Scotland has long been nothing more than a source of material for his lucrative performances. And he is now so out of touch with his native land that his stories have lost that essential ring of familiarity.

For some time now Connolly has seemed less and less like one of us making fun of ourselves, and more and more like a foreigner just taking the p**h in a way that is starting to become quite offensive.

# Arraniki 2012-02-09 19:53
51 comments on a KR piece.
Give me strength.

Yawn.

# cokynutjoe 2012-02-10 14:15
Kenneth Roy's belaboured witticism that "Actually most people in Glasgow will be dead before the age of 72" is "actually" somewhat at odds with reality, or a load of mince if you prefer.
The Office for National Statistics gives Glasgow life expectancy at 72 for men and 78 for women, but why let mere facts get in the road of a good story.
Shettleston has apparently Scotland's shortest life span for men but Bearsden & Milngavie has the longest. So possibly income plays a part in this. One can only wonder why he omitted the mythological "Deep Fried Mars Bar".

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments