By a Newsnet reporter

The LibDem Chief Secretary to the Treasury, Danny Alexander, has been accused of staggering hypocrisy over transport investment in Scotland after he claimed that investment was going to the central belt at the expense of the Highlands.

Mr Alexander claimed that projects like the Forth Crossing were taking transport funding away from the north of Scotland.

However the SNP has hit back by pointing out that it was Mr Alexander’s own party leader who announced that fast tracked borrowing powers for Scotland should be spent on the new bridge.  In June this year the Dundee Courier reported: "The Scottish Government is to be given early access to borrowing powers to help fund the new Forth crossing, Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg has announced."

Speaking at the International Association of Transport Professionals Conference in Aviemore Mr Alexander also claimed that transport investment being taken away from north of Scotland roads.

However official figures show that over a four year period the SNP has invested more than £50m on roads in the north.  In contrast, during the eight years of Labour and LibDem control only £11 million was spent.

Commenting, Highlands & Islands MSP John Finnie said:

“This is exactly the type of behaviour that has seen Highland voters desert the LibDems in their thousands.

“His contempt for the facts and the truth is only matched by the staggering and shameless hypocrisy that he thinks he can get away with saying one thing in the Highlands and another in London.

“Since 2007, the SNP has invested more than £50m on improving the A9 between Perth and Inverness alone. Yet during the eight years of Labour and LibDem control only £11 million was spent – and in their last four years LibDem Ministers were in charge of transport.

“As for the Forth Crossing it was Danny Alexander’s party leader Nick Clegg who, in response to the SNP’s election victory, had a photo call organised at the Forth Road Bridge to announce that the Scottish Government would be given early access to borrowing powers for ‘the construction of a new Forth bridge’.

“Danny Alexander has no leg to stand on when it comes to public spending since he stood on a pledge that the LibDems would not follow the Tories  into accelerating cuts yet then went into government with the Tories to do just that.

“Danny Alexander’s attempts to mislead people means the LibDems are fast becoming a by-word for hypocrisy and dishonesty by continuing to practise such double standards.”

Comments  

# GrassyKnollington 2011-09-27 23:18
As the erudite Stephen Fry might be inclined to say "Haw Beaker, yer pants are on fire son"

# Cuphook 2011-09-27 23:21
The Libdems have become nothing more than the Tory mouthpiece in Scotland. Hypocrisy has become their policy and attacks on the SNP and Scotland's future their raison d'etre. For someone who has his head stuck so far up his own **** you'd think that Danny Alexander would know where the **** is coming from.

Folks.... language...please. If you're going to rant about Danny Alexander then some truly original turns of phrase would do nicely! :)

NNS Mod Team

# Jimbo 2011-09-27 23:21
If Alaxander's party hadn't been part of the Unionist alliance that forced Edinburgh's £500 million tram project upon us in 2007, the SNP would have fully upgraded the A9 by now.

Either Alexander was ignorant of the Clegg's statement re a new Forth Road Bridge, or he'd hoped everyone had forgot. The Liberals seem to have a surplus of two faced, lying hypocrites.

# Jim Johnston 2011-09-28 09:33
Alexander = all of it Jibbo.
Ignorant, two faced hypocrites.

You can smell the fear in the Unionist ranks these days, and the Scottish SNP Government have barely started to clear out the wreckage that Unionists live in.

# dogbite 2011-09-28 10:47
I do hope Alex Salmond makes this point in the parliament to Wullie Rennie so he can take it straight to Beaker

# weegie38 2011-09-27 23:22
As has been pointed out elsewhere, what about the 700 million+ that the Lib Dems are wasting on a replacement for an Edinburgh bus service? How many miles of the A9 could be dualled for that, eh?

# roboftheburnawn 2011-09-27 23:23
Apologise for being O/T so early into these headlines but I could slap gordon brewer all day with a rotten fish - the man gives me the dry boak.

# nchanter 2011-09-27 23:39
Quoting roboftheburnawn :
Apologise for being O/T so early into these headlines but I could slap gordon brewer all day with a rotten fish - the man gives me the dry boak.

would be happy to hold him for you though I think he might be mentally ill as he has difficulty getting his words out. A sign of something.

# pictishbeastie 2011-09-28 00:38
Please don't insult the mentally ill,the man's simply an idiot!

# Purr 2011-09-27 23:51
Quoting roboftheburnawn :

You Are doing Better than me, I cannot force myself to listen to him at all

# bringiton 2011-09-27 23:29
As Inspector Cluseau would have said "Ah the old divide and rule ploy".

# RTP 2011-09-27 23:38
For years the people of Fochabers were crying out for a by-pass only when the SNP became the Government has this happened and the work is going to plan and on budget,a far cry from the Aberdeen by-pass that the Lib monkeys were in charge of.

# Cuphook 2011-09-27 23:44
The people of Fochabers are getting the exact same by-pass they were protesting against in the 70s.

# Weegiewarbler 2011-09-28 00:07
they obviously now have more cars. Times change and so do people. And let's face it the 70's are over 30 years ago....

# Jimbo 2011-09-28 00:22
Quoting RTP:
For years the people of Fochabers were crying out for a by-pass only when the SNP became the Government has this happened and the work is going to plan and on budget,a far cry from the Aberdeen by-pass that the Lib monkeys were in charge of.

Hi RTP,

Same with the completion of the M74 and the A80 upgrade. For 40 years the unionists sat on their hands. It took an SNP government to make it happen.

# DaveB 2011-09-28 13:02
Quoting RTP:

The Mosstodloch bypass part of which opened yesterday.

# ubinworryinmasheep 2011-09-28 15:05
Roll on the Keith bypass !

# peter,aberdeenshire 2011-09-28 22:31
no offence but is Keith really worth bypassing, besides we stopped at a chipper years ago the on the way home to good old rurie!, do you really want to deprive the weary traveller o the Keith chipper? :-)

# Arbroath1320 2011-09-28 22:46
The thing is Peter, can Keith continue to cope with the ever increasing levels of traffic, probably not.

Don't worry. After the Keith by pass is built you'll still be able to call into Keith for your fish supper.:D

# Mad Jock McMad 2011-09-27 23:51
All I hear now when Beaker speaks is:

Me,me,me,me,me, me,me.....

# dak 2011-09-28 18:57
You mean like this?

www.youtube.com/.../

# 1scot 2011-09-30 16:52
Quoting dak:
You mean like this?

www.youtube.com/.../

Love it

# fairliered 2011-09-27 23:53
I never imagined any party spokesperson could emit more nonsense than Richard Baker - but Danny Alexander seems to have managed it!

# Arbroath1320 2011-09-28 00:08
I guess they both went to the same top quality political finishing school.

Yes boys you are both FINISHED!

# call me dave 2011-09-28 00:47
Quoting Arbroath1320:
I guess they both went to the same top quality political finishing school.

Yes boys you are both FINISHED!

Cool! I like it and its very true (:>

I'm slightly concerned as I expected a better performance from the other camps but they keep shooting themselves in the foot.

It's slapstick comedy everyday and they're doing it on purpose - NOT!

They are just not competent.

It's a phoney war kind of scenario at the moment.

# brusque 2011-10-05 18:28
Quoting fairliered:
I never imagined any party spokesperson could emit more nonsense than Richard Baker - but Danny Alexander seems to have managed it!

Living as I do in Inverness, I can safely say that Danny Alexander has used the terms "I" more in his political lifetime, than any other politician.

He is also a thief of ideas and actions!! He sends out his Focus Newssheet to all and sundry, declaring that "I" have done innumerable good deeds, when the reality is that some other group (and as much as I hate to say it, sometimes a Labour MP!) have probably been laying groundwork for months or even years - then Alexander shows up when the project is almost complete and has a photo opportunity so he can declare "I have been fighting long and hard for this" .................sheesh, it is enough to make old Russell Johnston roll in his grave. The LibDem voters are seeing a whole new side to Danny Alexander, and they don't like what they are seeing.

He is a singularly unattractive man in every sense of the word, and I would rather chew off my own toes than breath the same air as him!

# Purr 2011-09-27 23:54
Danny had better try and make a name for himself in Union circles he has not got a lot of time left, because in Scotland he is Doomed I tell Ye Doomed.

# mato21 2011-09-27 23:56
He looks more glaikit by the day

# J Wil 2011-09-27 23:58
The Labour man they had in the studio looked slightly bonkers and what's more what he was saying convinced me he was.
Even Gordon had to put him back on track when he derailed himself.

# mato21 2011-09-28 00:03
The sweet smell of success eminating from the SNP is having a strange effect on them. The amount of publicity they have given A.Salmond and the SNP over the past two weeks money couldn't buy

# Arbroath1320 2011-09-28 00:10
He could only remember the one line from London. He found the rest of London's too difficult to comprehend. :D

# dogbite 2011-09-28 17:12
I too was a little concerned for this man who could not answer the basic questions. He could only muster something derogatory about the SNP. Utterly out of his depth

# Mad Jock McMad 2011-09-28 00:09
I just had a flash back and instead of Blackadder and his pals at the end of the 'Goes Forth' series it was Cameron, Glegg, Milliband, Murphy and Alexander as Baldrick.

# Arbroath1320 2011-09-28 00:17
Oh dear. Looks like Keith Brown the SNP Transport minister was at the same conference. Needless to say Keith Brown put him squarely where he belongs...... In the corner with the dunce's cap on.

Not only did he make these stupid comments at the conference but he very conveniently forgot all about the new duelled stretch of the A9 that had been opened up 24 hours earlier.

bbc.co.uk/.../...

I just wonder exactly how much training has this imbecile had to become as stupid and insignificant as he currently is.

# mato21 2011-09-28 00:37
Maybe he was deprived of oxygen when he was up the Cairngorm

# Arbroath1320 2011-09-28 00:46
Does he know where the Cairngorms are? :D

I know he used to work for the Cairngorm National Parks or something but I still have two doubts about him.

1) He didn't know where the Cairngorms actually were.

2) as a result of 1) he never figured out how to get up the Cairngorms.

# Purr 2011-09-28 00:34
I have a few friends in their 70's, the problem is they believe the crap that spouts from the BBC.
IE. Scotland is too small to run our own Country
The SNP has a major problem in that it is very difficult to get the truth out to the people that are not on the internet.
The younger generation are generally savvy to what is going on, but a large number of people who are likely to vote are not.
What is the answer to this ?

# Jim Johnston 2011-09-28 09:52
Hi Purr,
The answer would be a fair and unbiased BBC and "Scottish" MSM, neither of which will happen any time soon I'm sorry to say.
Saying that, chat to strangers in the age group you refer to next time you're sitting having a cup of tea while out shopping. You'll be surprised just how savvy they really are. Their age group are generally polite, well informed and enjoy a wee laugh. The one thing you must not do, is even infer they may have been part of the problem in the past.

# mato21 2011-09-28 00:39
Print off articles from this site and give them to your friends to read

# Arbroath1320 2011-09-28 00:43
Perhaps you could talk to your local shop/Post Office and ask them to place copies in their windows.

That would reach a wider audience even more.

# Purr 2011-09-28 00:56
Quoting Arbroath1320:
Perhaps you could talk to your local shop/Post Office and ask them to place copies in their windows.

That would reach a wider audience even more.

Hi Arbroath,

I live in Michael Moore's constituency and it's aye been a liberal voting area, with David Steele, Archie Kirkwood Etc. But I do believe that has gone, Jeremy Purvis got stuffed in the Scottish elections, and the SNP got in with Christine Grahame who is an excellent MSP.
But there is still a lot of work to do here as there is still, wait for it, a Fair Tory Support, poor deranged people.

# Arbroath1320 2011-09-28 01:02
I understand where you're coming from Purr.

For my sins I have the only Tory M.P. in Scotland and Elaine Murray, the Poisoned Dwarf, for my M.S.P.

Still her majority was vastly cut back in May. Even better whilst out with our SNP candidate in Annan one day we met her and her entourage having a coffee. By the time we had walked from the coffee shop to the town hall and back again they had disappeared.

I always wonder, was it something we said. I believe we did ask Elmer's health. :D

# Edzell Blue 2011-09-28 00:43
Here is the link to The Courier story of 10th June this year.

thecourier.co.uk/.../...

# dogbite 2011-09-28 10:52
How do we send that link to Danny Alexander

# Arbroath1320 2011-09-28 11:33
You could try e-mailing him at

His full contact details are over on the parliament.uk site.

www.parliament.uk/.../32109

# dogbite 2011-09-28 17:13
i will now send it

# RoBell 2011-09-28 00:46
www.youtube.com/.../

I think the chaos and confusion is Nick Clegg on drums. Rock on Beaker!

# Arbroath1320 2011-09-28 00:51
I have to disagree RoBell.

There is absolutely NO confusion about Animal, there is however a hell of a lot of confusion about Nick Clegg. :D

# Purr 2011-09-28 01:35
WAKE UP PEOPLE, TO WHAT IS GOING ON IN THE BIGGER PICTURE.
THE EU. ARE TRYING TO BIND US IN TO FUTURE DEBT PAYOUTS.
IT IS TIME TO STOP THESE UNELECTED BEUROCRATS FROM SINKING US BEFORE WE HAVE BEGUN

# Arbroath1320 2011-09-28 01:45
Unfortunately Purr, we in Scotland do not have a voice in the E.U. Westminster have made very sure of that. :-(

# Jim Johnston 2011-09-28 10:14
We Scots, I believe, are unlikely to join the EU, we're not all daft.
Now EFTA and the EEA, that's a different story entirely.
I think that's why the SNP, if you listen carefully and read the policy statements closely, you can see open doors into Europe through which it will be the choice of the Scottish people to enter.
The Norwegian people have two or three times knocked back full EU membership which their politicians and governments of the day were advocating. As the anti full EU lobby put it, "The people of Norway see no reason to lower their standard of living for anyone. We can trade and help, but that's as far as it goes". Same same Scotland when the choice comes after Independence.

# kofk 2011-09-28 02:08
Hi Purr
a newsnet promo in your area (in all areas to be honest) sounds like a must amongst friends and neighbours alike.
regarding your other comments, er, who do we all owe the money? especially regarding the biggar picture

# pa_broon74 2011-09-28 10:02
I'd chip in for and display car window stickers for Newsnet Scotland. Seems to work for newspapers, well, it did.

Heck after reading that piece about David Gauke I might get some printed up and pay for them myself anyway.

# dogbite 2011-09-28 10:57
I parked behind a car last night with a Newsnet Scotland sticker on it and a smile came to my face. Get the stickers out people do react and ask questions of them. I want to have a newsnet scotland mug so i can remind friends family and neighbours who come in to the house what Newsnet Scotland is all about.

# Stravaiger 2011-09-28 02:26
We can, of course, expect a lot of the same from Westminster's placemen in the coming months and years.

It is fairly clear that Alexander and Moore have been set one simple task by their handlers in London: attack the SNP governance of Scotland. It is simple but it isn't sensible for the obvious reason that people in Scotland who actually voted did not do so in support of more of the same from Westminster. In fact, they voted in the knowledge that Mr Alexander and Mr Moore had themselves reneged on their own 2010 election manifesto.

The Scots are now becoming used to having a "Secretary of State for Scotland" who's primary role is to denigrate the elected government of Scotland and to act as a mouthpiece for the party in government at Westminster. Moore himself thought the post of Secretary of State for Scotland should be abolished right up to the point where he was offered the post. So we should take this person's views seriously?

There will be more to come but we, as a nation, can see through it. If the anti SNP Scots Gray, Goldie, Moore and Alexander are the best they can throw at us (joining the ranks of McTernan and Cochrane and the BBC's finest) then I am sure we can see off the British "heavy hitters" like Milliband, Cameron and Clegg.

# Macart 2011-09-28 08:53
Stravaiger

Well said!

# Jimbo 2011-09-28 10:14
Hi Stravaiger,

Quote:
The Scots are now becoming used to having a "Secretary of State for Scotland" who's primary role is to denigrate the elected government of Scotland

The idiots don't realise that by doing so they also insult and belittle the people who voted democratically for this government.

# jammy jakey 2011-09-28 02:37
@purr

I take it you don't get out to the cinema much these days......it's been a long time since there was a big picture, a wee picture and a newsreel. but right enough the secret was to make sure you saw the picture even if you missed the "pathe" news.

# kofk 2011-09-28 03:50
slightly off topic, but it certainly confuses me but hopefully some of you clever bods might have some answers. what banks are involved with the Federal reserve, the bank of england and the E.C.B and what resourses do they control? oh yeah, and do they believe in Democracy?

# Aplinal 2011-09-28 08:36
for the FED, here is an interesting site

www.globalresearch.ca/.../

AS for the BoE: officially it is a government agency fully 'owned' by the Government, i.e. the country, following nationalisation in 1947 (or thereabouts). It also holds the 2 issued shares in Bank of England Nominees which is responsible for issuing bank notes (though not coins). Interestingly this applies only to England and Wales, and both NI and Scotland issue their own notes. Even MORE interesting is that for every Scottish (or Irish) bank note issues, the respective banks have to hold in reserve an English bank note!

As for ECB, I don't know!

# Exile 2011-09-28 09:09
I tried to post a long text on the ECB, but the system wouldn't accept it. So, if you would like the official picture, try: www.ecb.int/.../index.en.html

As for democracy, do bankers generally care about democracy?

# Macart 2011-09-28 08:55
The tories, at the moment, are using the Lib dems as very willing attack dogs. However we should not allow the shallow and hypocritical rants of the likes of Moore and Alexander to make the headlines.

The SG is following the right tactic at the moment. We stay quiet, keep our powder dry and allow them to make all the mistakes. The longer the First Minister keeps them guessing the more desperate and far fetched the rant from Westminster. Have you noticed that the only time SG comment in the media recently is to raise awareness of a new initiative or favourable poll or jobs boost. All good news items, no rants.

We will win this.

Regards
M

# Robert Louis 2011-09-28 11:44
I agree.

I think Salmond is steering a steady course, and letting the unionists do all the shouting about independence, as you rightly point out. Enough rope for them to hang themselves, and all that. His approach to Westminster unionists seems to reflect the old saying;

'never wrestle with pigs, the pigs will enjoy it, and you'll get dirty'.

# Macart 2011-09-28 13:24
RL

Exactly my point. Reactionary politics always leaves you on the back foot. Its really quite refreshing to watch Westminster floundering about for a change. :)

M

# dogbite 2011-09-28 10:59
Here here

# rouser 2011-09-28 11:41
the red rodent is going mad at the smell of ermine!

# proudscot 2011-09-28 12:06
Quoting rouser:
the red rodent is going mad at the smell of ermine!

Well said rouser, and if they're don't go mad at the smell of ermine, they certainly seem to descend into madness once they don it - I give you Forsyth, Foulkes, Wallace, and the like!

# Barontorc 2011-09-28 12:18
Ever wonder about the mental capacity needed to ignore the total disdain you are held in by your countrymen and women?

What possibly can get you going in the morning when you know you are a stooge and have been carefully picked out and groomed to be just that?

The smell of ermine's a tawdry bauble to replace self-respect - but then when there never was any - there was nothing to lose.

On a scale of 1 to 10 of Scottishness - these cretins would be hovering around 1 and that's based on address.

I have nothing but contempt for any deservables enrolled to the low and lower of the White Feather Club.

# Arbroath1320 2011-09-28 13:17
Dear oh dear oh dear.

bbc.co.uk/.../...

Why does this idiot just not quit now. He is so far behind he will NEVER make up the lost ground.

Quote:
Danny Alexander said the coalition needed to "step up" its engagement and make a "positive argument" for Scotland to stay inside the UK.

So what the hell have they been playing at over the last 18 months of the coalition? Playing tiddlywinks?

# thomsor 2011-09-28 13:20
Danny boy is on the BBC this morning saying that they are going to fight the SNP and preserve the union. Honours are definately more important than self respect for these people.

# bringiton 2011-09-28 17:09
This is the second Libdum politician to spout "a country of two governments".
However,whichev er way you look at it only one has been elected to govern by the people of Scotland.
They have no mandate north of the border.

# call me dave 2011-09-29 16:45
Quoting bringiton:
This is the second Libdum politician to spout "a country of two governments".
However,whichev er way you look at it only one has been elected to govern by the people of Scotland.
They have no mandate north of the border.

That is a very important point you have just made.

If the next Scottish Council elections confirm what happened on 5th May especially getting control of Glasgow Council then 'they' may pack it in and squeal 'Uncle'

( I understand that's jargon for surrender)
Regards

# scottishwatersnotforsale 2011-09-28 17:59
Pa Broon, I'' chip in for a car sticker as well

# scottishwatersnotforsale 2011-09-28 18:01
That'll be I'll

# whitburnsfinest 2011-09-28 23:13
I have to agree with the above posters - Alex Salmond is conducting himself with a very quiet and determined dignity, just getting on with the job while the unionists scream and shout and rant and flap around like idiots.

I just hope they keep this level of crazy up until the referendum, then we'll have no problem at all :)

# C2DEalba 2011-09-30 01:06
I feel ashamed that people in scotland voted danny alexander into power. The ginger rodent is quite clearly incompetent and unable to tell the truth.

Shame on him

# brusque 2011-10-05 18:32
I don't know if it is appropriate to ask this, but here goes. Will Newsnet Scotland have a stand at Conference? where we could purchase car stickers etc. And I would happily part with a few pounds for the privilege of owning a Newsnet mug:-)

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments