By G.A.Ponsonby

A Labour MSP has launched an attack on the SNP, describing one of the Nationalists' key achievements – the removal of prescription charges – as "right-wing economics".

Kezia Dugdale, the newly elected regional MSP for Lothian, launched the attack whilst appearing as a guest on Radio Scotland’s ‘Call Kaye’ phone-in programme on Thursday.

The Labour MSP, who was a surprise addition to Labour’s Holyrood ranks, was discussing a speech by Douglas Alexander in which the senior Labour MP admitted the party had been "well and truly gubbed" in May’s Holyrood election and that they needed to move on from negative politicking in order to regain lost support.

Ms Dugdale hit out at suggestions that Labour had abandoned its socialist roots and was losing former supporters to the 'socialist' SNP as a result.

Responding to callers who had described the SNP as more social democratic, Ms Dugdale said: "I simply do not accept that analysis. If you look at some of the stuff they’ve done over the past four years, like bridge tolls, freezing the council tax, prescription charges, business rates down and now their plans to cut corporation tax – they’re all tax cuts, they’re all very much right-wing economics."

Ms Dugdale’s labelling of the council tax freeze and free prescriptions as "right-wing" will puzzle many given that her own party had pledged a two-year freeze in their manifesto.  Indeed, it was Labour-run Glasgow council that first introduced the policy in 2006 – prior to the SNP coming to power.

In the run up to this year’s Holyrood campaign Iain Gray said: "Households are being hammered by the Tory cuts, the rise in VAT and fuel prices.  Labour will freeze council tax for the next two years."

In March this year Labour backed the SNP plan to abolish prescription charges.  The charge had previously been described by Unison as "unfair in that it adversely affects many more people on low incomes and in chronic ill health.  These are the people who find themselves unable to afford the medicines they are prescribed."

On March 2nd this year the Scottish Labour party joined the SNP and voted to abolish prescription charges.  Two days later the Tory LibDem coalition increased the cost of a single prescription in England from £7.20 to £7.40.

Similarly, Ms Dugdale’s attack on the lowering of business rates appears to be at odds with Labour’s finance spokesman Richard Baker who recently attacked the SNP over claims that business rates might increase over three years.

Mr Baker said: "John Swinney claims economic growth is his highest priority yet here we have the evidence from the highly influential Centre for Public Policy for the Regions stating that the increase in business rates increase will amount to over £830 million."

"This won’t be paid by small business, the main burden will fall on medium sized companies across Scotland."

Mr Baker added: "That can only affect jobs."

Kezia Dugdale is a former Labour researcher and previously worked for ex-MSP Lord George Foulkes.  A one-time prolific online blogger, she is no stranger to controversy and once caused a row after claiming that Nicola Sturgeon had been "thrown out" of a shopping centre – an allegation angrily denied by the Deputy First Minister.

Comments  

# gedguy2 2011-10-15 00:06
Just goes to show that the Labour party are not interested in doing what is best for Scotland because they are too busy trying to score political points.

# ButeHouse 2011-10-15 01:05
So much for her backing Douglas Alexander's speech.

As a former researcher she should research her Party's current policies which she seems to be contradicting left right and centre.

And whether SNP policies are right, left or centre the people of this country feel they are benefiting from them, thus the landslide victory in May.

# Scottish republic 2011-10-15 00:12
A friend of mine said that a bunch of dafties would be elected on Labour's list.

They elected McTaggart who wanted old folk to be means tested and now we have this one railing against free medecine for the sick and calling for increased council tax etc.

'Dafties', was being kind.

# tartanfever 2011-10-15 00:13
Roll up, Roll up, a round of applause please for Scotland's very own Sarah Palin.

# clootie 2011-10-15 07:16
:D that about covers it!

Once again the Labour Party founders will be spinning in their graves to see this legacy!

# dawve30 2011-10-15 00:21
Ye and Labour run wales doesn't have free prescriptions.

Do they even know what they are talking about anymore?

# Alba4Eva 2011-10-15 12:02
..."Co's different parts of the UK can make different decisions obviously!" retorted Peter Hain.

*;0)

# C2DEalba 2011-10-15 00:21
Labour just do't seem to learn. Researcher for Foulkes says it all.

Must be part of new media strategy gain more headlines regardless. Similar to Tory leaders campaign, social media will get the message out. Rather forgetting content over medium is a poor strategy.

However, how can any Scot vote for Labour, that's what I want to know. These people don't know nor even pretend to understand social policies.

Shame on this MSP.

# Fungus 2011-10-15 00:26
Excuse me for a moment, I was laughing so hard I had a wee accident.

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 00:28
Is Kezia Dugdale a new addition to the ever growing list of Leader of the Scottish Labour party by any chance?

She sounds to me as if she would fit straight in to Elmer's shoes when he eventually steps down, whenever that is.

# doonhamer 2011-10-15 00:30
Lord Foo's former protege is proving to be a worth successor... and she does it without being addled by age and drink.

Just where does Labour dig up these types?

# proudscot 2011-10-15 12:40
Quoting doonhamer:
Lord Foo's former protege is proving to be a worth successor... and she does it without being addled by age and drink.

Just where does Labour dig up these types?

Yes Doonhamer, and to slightly misquote her former buffoon of a boss, "She's doing it deliberately!"

# whitburnsfinest 2011-10-15 13:06
Hang on, proudscot... for clarity, shouldn't that be "buffoon of a former boss" ? He's not a former buffoon - as far as I'm aware he still is one.

Sorry...tis the Pedant's Revolt again :-D

# call me dave 2011-10-15 00:34
Yes I heard the remarks during the programme and thought 'what!'

This is Labours equivalent to the Conservative's Ruth Davidson
Both bright shiny things , smart , well educated career politicians and nailing their colours on a mast hoping it will pay off to their advantage.

Both look like they will be disappointed in the short and longer term too!

Am I being prejudice , am I a dinosaur, am I sick to death of candidates of all parties not ever having a background of a 'normal job' and getting experience of life. Probably!!

Aagh No!

Here comes matron again to give me two of these bright yellow coated pills with SNP stamped on them. . and to take away my copy of the daily record .. No! Matron I only bought it for the crossword !!

Can I keep the light on for a wee while....!!!

# fynesider 2011-10-15 14:44
"Both bright shiny things , smart , well educated career politicians.."

Wouldn't put them both in the same class - padded ward possibly. Did the trouble with politics start when it became a "carer"

There, there Dave - you keep the light on as long as you feel like it son... these nightmares will soon disappear.

# call me dave 2011-10-15 16:02
Quoting fynesider:
"Both bright shiny things , smart , well educated career politicians.."

Wouldn't put them both in the same class - padded ward possibly. Did the trouble with politics start when it became a "carer"

There, there Dave - you keep the light on as long as you feel like it son... these nightmares will soon disappear.

Thanks 'F'

I usually go and watch an episode of 'Time team' on channel 4D to calm down but it's the long lonely nights that get me.

# pa_broon74 2011-10-15 00:40
Free prescriptions, a right wing policy.

It was ripe for the taking.

The woman is as thick as mince.

That is all.

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 00:41
Oh I don't know pa. At least thick mince is useful. :D

# fynesider 2011-10-15 14:46
especially if it's Galloway's...!

# whitburnsfinest 2011-10-15 14:49
Quoting fynesider:
especially if it's Galloway's...!

Hahaha, classic! Can I have another tattie? :-D

# whitburnsfinest 2011-10-15 02:10
Quoting Arbroath1320:
Oh I don't know pa. At least thick mince is useful. :D

Quoting pa_broon74:
Free prescriptions, a right wing policy.

It was ripe for the taking.

The woman is as thick as mince.

That is all.

-
HA! Newsnet needs a "like" button :-D

# J Wil 2011-10-15 00:50
It appears that Kay was just as ignorant as the said lady if she did not know enough to pull her up on these misconceptions.

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 01:00
You can't have Kay with an E pulling up our dear all seeing all knowing dyed in the wool Blue Labourite on her statements. After all Kay with an E has a proven track record of also being a dyed in the wool Blue Labourite, allegedly!

When did we last see one Blue Labourite pull up another Blue Labourite on their lies, misinformation and false claims.

# J Wil 2011-10-15 13:08
I would rather go with the ignorance theory in her case as its more damning.

# pa_broon74 2011-10-15 00:54
Dugdale basically repeated the same thing over and over again. Shes a dyed in the wool labour robot no different from any of the others.

No substance and nothing to add. As usual there is no positive message to be had because the reality is, in terms of the UK it isn't a positive thing.

# Allan Christie 2011-10-15 01:01
Well Kezia Dugdale is what we have come to expect from Labour. Immature, stupid, cheap, nasty and baseless.

[personal insult removed. Allan, please refer to Moderation Policy here: newsnetscotland.com/.../...

Thanks. NNS Team.]

# km 2011-10-15 01:18
Quote:
Mr Baker said:

Ach, what's the point, why should be listen to a single word the wee eejit spouts.

Much better to watch again as he is demolished by Isobel Fraser on his "statistics" on knife crime earlier this year:

www.youtube.com/.../

# Old Smokey 2011-10-15 01:22
Did anyone notice BBC Scotland convert '3000 jobs' for the new BP investment in Scotland to 'Hundreds of Jobs'?

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 01:56
Can't have those rebellious Scots getting above their station again now can we?

First they win the election.

Second it turns out they have a majority.

Now they think there are thousands of jobs in the oil industry. Best we curtail their enthusiasm. The last thing we need is for these rebels to to think they still have oil out there in them thar seas!

# alicmurray 2011-10-15 01:52
Is Kezia Dugdale one of those labour msp that the labour party put forward because they thought they wouldn't get it? Must be, as she obviously doesn't know her left from her right. How could you be any thing other thought working with the lowest of the low Foulkes.

# Roll_On_2011 2011-10-15 02:29
Staying on the subject of rubbish.

Biodegradable waste in landfill ban:

.../?mode=article&site=hs&id=N0077501318602503599A

Recycling plans which include banning household biodegradable waste from going to landfill have been unveiled by the Scottish Government.

The measures in the Zero Waste Regulations form part of efforts to make Scotland one of the top nations in Europe for recycling.

Environment minister Richard Lochhead said: "Our ban on municipal biodegradable waste going to landfill by 2020 is the first of its kind in the UK and one of the most ambitious of its kind in Europe, if not the world.

# StanLaurelsCat 2011-10-15 02:29
It occurs to me that Labour just don't know what they stand for anymore. They have no real ideaology to speak of any longer, save to try to out tory the tories. And she calls the SNP right wing? Perhaps she would be better off "researching" the history of her own party to see what it's become; rotten to the core.

# GerrySNP 2011-10-15 03:04
To think that we could have a Labour MSP - a LABOUR MSP - call the adoption of the principle which caused Aneurin Bevan to resign from a Labour cabinet as an example of "right-wing economics" is almost beyond belief. Bevan and Foot would be revolving somewhere!

# Suomi 2011-10-15 04:08
So removing a tax on sickness is now right wing? That will come as a big surprise to many current and former labour voters.My impression of this young labour MSP is that she is so ideologically driven that she cannot see the logical contradictions in her statements.She does actually make sense sometimes,for example,her reference to child poverty in her maiden speech.Unfortunately,s hr also used that speech to discibe independence as misgided.She seems inable to take on board that it is a natural state of being for most people on this planet.Nor is she able to understand the correlation between independence and ecoomic growth and international collaboration.For something so bright,she is actually quite inward looking.She has been cited by some sources as a future labour leader.God help them.

# Louperdowg 2011-10-15 05:09
She has been cited by some sources as a future labour leader.

Bring it on.

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 12:49
Th sooner the better. :D

There isn't that much to laugh about these days.

# Scottish republic 2011-10-15 04:55
Reading the posts here, I wonder what 'ordinary' people who don't come here think of such right-wing utterings made out loud from a Labour person?

It defies belief, yet she said it and moreover her party put prescriptions up.

If somebody could ask any non-involved person they know what they think, I'd be interested to hear about it.

# RaboRuglen 2011-10-15 06:59
Hi there,

Yes I well remember some of the great left-wing policies carried out by the last Labour government in Westminster. I personally benefited from them so greatly - not!

The abolition of the 10p tax rate, the burgeoning wealth of London in comparison to the rest of the country, unlimited bankers' bonuses (relatively untaxed), the greatest disparity in wealth between the poor and the rich in recent history, the current assault on benefits which started under the last Labour government, corrupt MP's, illegal wars. I could go on.

All in the great tradition of Labour's progress of the working classes, of course, I suppose.

Eh? Is the lassie daft? The SNP are set to establish an Independent Scotland which will be far fairer to its people than any London government ever has been. What's to oppose Kez?

Regards,

# Drew1314 2011-10-15 07:02
The woman is clearly delusional, just like Cochrane from the Telegraph:

telegraph.co.uk/.../...

# Scottish republic 2011-10-15 10:37
Cochrane said (as he does...)

Quote:
notwithstanding the drubbing it received from the SNP in the May elections for Holyrood, Labour is still Scotland's alternative government.

It is in fact Scotland's alternative opposition which seems very happy to be in opposition and waffles on occasionally that the Tories 'don't have a plan'. Meteoric stuff; neither do Labour of course but that's their degree of passion in a nutshell.

The SNP actually does have a plan to create a decent society and it's working.

The Brit nats originally wanted to cut the Scottish block grant because that's what Tories do - now they wish to cut the block grant to destabilise the Scottish government.

It won't work and it will have the opposite effect.

Can you imagine the Scottish government under Labour seeing how effective Miliband and his 'team' are?

Scotland made the right choice and they'll make it again.

# hiorta 2011-10-15 07:38
""Free prescriptions, a right wing policy??""

Rearrange: Ken,elbow,disna e,political,ers e,frae,she, her.

# Zed 2011-10-15 07:48
The newbies in the Labour ranks are getting as scary as the Neo-cons in America with their bizarre way of thinking

# gus1940 2011-10-15 07:49
Although easier on the eye than her political mentor Foulkes she seems to have contracted the verbal diaorrhea bug from him.

Hardly a day passes without her issuing crass statements which are faithfully reported by The MSM.

I wonder how many thousand pounds of taxpayers' money will be wasted in answering her steady stream of ridiculous parliamentary questions at Holyrood.

# UpSpake 2011-10-15 08:19
Paying for prescriptions by patients who already pay for the Health Service is simply a tax on top of a tax.
Somwthing that the Labour Party have significant form on.
So, a tax to prevent you getting ill and another tax to prevent you getting better.
Nice one Labour. Just what our country needs, a bunch of irrelevent morons.

# Ken Mac 2011-10-15 08:26
Classic case of not knowing your right from your left. Mind you if the poor child worked for Lord Foulkesake it's not suprising.

# mudfries 2011-10-15 08:28
The Labour party are now so useless that they dont even know their left from their right.

# Scottish republic 2011-10-16 13:41
LOL

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-16 13:56
D8id they ever mud? :D

Know their Right from their Left I mean.

# Robert Louis 2011-10-15 08:28
I remember somebody somewhere saying that this dugdale woman, is the person who used to post under the pseudonym 'Fifi la bonbon' in the Scotsman. That user used to write utter pro england/anti Scotland tripe 24/7 on the Scotsman message boards. Every day the boards were filled with utter claptrap, nonsensical guff.

Considering the inane comments attributed to this dugdale woman whilst on the radio, I would not be surprised if she turned out in fact to be the person behind the username 'Fifi la bonbon'.

As for the substance of her comments regarding free bridge tolls and free prescriptions, she perhaps needs to go ask some people barely surviving on their meagre pay packets every week in Scotland, whether they would now like to start paying for their prescriptions instead??

Can we now assume the next Labour manifesto will contain the following items;

1. Re-introduction of charges for prescriptions.

2. Abolition of free tolls on bridges

3. Abolition of the council tax freeze

Seriously Labour, what on earth are you thinking letting people like this dugdale woman speak for you?

# Aplinal 2011-10-15 08:39
I think that she has admitted that "fifi" is Dudgale. I listened to the programme, she is an utter numpty. If she is the 'face/voice' of the new "Scottish" Labour party, they are in worse trouble than I dreamed.

Labour has lost not only their direction, but it seems their sanity!

"Bring it on!"

Saor Alba

# fynesider 2011-10-15 14:57
I still think this reinforces the need for a 'recall' system.

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 12:57
Oh PLEASE!

Can the next election manifesto include as its CORE aims the 3 aims as listed by RL.

1. Re-introduction of charges for prescriptions.

2. Abolition of free tolls on bridges

3. Abolition of the council tax freeze

Let's see how far Labour get at the next election, UK or Scottish, with these issues as the centre piece of their fight.

A Labour win........... Err, no I don't think so!

Keep them coming Labour!

# Stevie Cosmic 2011-10-15 08:46
Here's a well educated lassie with a law degree speaking fluent crap on BBC Scotland, seemingly flying in the face of her own party's historical ideals and, dare I say it, 'policies'. One would be entitled to ask just what is going on here?

Kezia Dugdale, I am sure, isn't daft. Nor is she engaging in some involuntary labouresque double-think. She is well aware of her party's backing for council tax freezes and free prescriptions. It's a foregone conclusion that anyone with a law degree and a masters from Edinburgh Uni would be capable of retaining that simple nugget of information.

What Dugdale is doing is simple. She's been given 10 minutes on the Labour soapbox that is the BBC, and she is wilfully misleading the public. Another word for that is 'lying'.

I don't like political entities like Dugdale. They are dangerous to Scotland. She's a career politician intent on climbing the ladder no matter the cost to her country. I fully believe that any free thinking intelligent Scot can see the clear benefits of an independent Scotland, and acknowledge some of the dangers and draw backs; Dugdale is such an intelligent person, yet she chooses to wilfully ignore any of the positive aspects and ,indeed, invent and concoct even more scare stories to keep Scotland under the boot. Couple this with her performances in the media and one can only come to the conclusion that she is yet another politician that just cares more about her ascent through the Labour ranks than she does about her country or her party's impact on it.

# Robert Louis 2011-10-15 09:21
I think you make a very valid point. This Labour person, dugdale, likely knows full well that what she is saying is bare faced lies, and inwardly thinks of herself as being very clever in what she does.

The Labour mantra as displayed by this dugdale person seems to be;

'Onwards to the London trough, onwards to expense accounts and free flights, onwards to ermine robes and pensions that most normal people would dream about and who gives a s*** about Scotland'

# Robabody 2011-10-15 10:07
It's an interesting and believable theory Stevie.......I'm still with the "over educated, under experienced dunderheid" way of thinking. But I'll watch her with interest.

# weegie38 2011-10-15 11:30
Quoting Stevie Cosmic:
I don't like political entities like Dugdale. They are dangerous to Scotland. She's a career politician intent on climbing the ladder no matter the cost to her country.

One of the major problems an independent Scotland would face is that such career politicians would remain within Scotland. I've always wondered whether a hidden benefit of the House of Lords, is that it allows useless types to be "promoted" sideways to a toothless chamber where they can't do serious damage. OK, it costs a few millions to run, but if the alternative is the likes of George Foulkes, Michael Martin and Michael Forsyth actually having real power, it's money well spent.

We can see from Ireland's experience the damage having the troughers stuck at home can do.

Not saying this is a good reason for saving the Union, but an independent Scotland would need to think of some way of keeping such people safely away from the controls.

# oldnat 2011-10-15 15:45
Good post Stevie

Analytical and descriptive. More posts like yours would be welcome.

I find the attempts by some to replicate the Scotsman style of comments here, foolish and counter-productive.

If I wanted to read playground name-calling, I'd read the Scotsman.

# Blanco 2011-10-15 08:49
Whereas labour follow such left wing policies as invading Iraq and stuffing financiers pockets with gold.

Labour are all over the place with council tax freeze, from vehemently opposing, to belatedly copying the SNP policy in the run up to May 2007, to now calling it 'right wing'. In an era of rising costs and falling wages the tax freeze has to be the single most popular SNP policy.

# Jim Johnston 2011-10-15 09:03
Where on earth do Labour find them. ? Oh I know, Foulkes Academy graduates.

Mind you where on earth would BBC Scotland be without them ?

Dugdale is just another Labour numpty, wired into the moon, fighting for a place at the trough. She will find out soon enough that "nae man can tether time nor tide", or woman.

# whitburnsfinest 2011-10-15 14:08
Here's the thing, though, Jim. Stevie Cosmic made a great point in his post earlier in the thread. She isn't a numpty, or a silly wee lassie, or a daftie. Quite the opposite in fact, she's a highly intelligent woman who knows exactly what game she's playing. And that's even more poisonous than just some silly wee lassie.

# Jim Johnston 2011-10-15 16:03
Aye I know w, "highly intelligent", as was Wee Wendy. This one's probably got more "A" levels and degrees than you can shake a stick at. Problem is, not so many years ago they wouldn't have bought you few "O" levels.
Be grateful that the SNP Scottish Government are intent on getting real education back on the go.

# whitburnsfinest 2011-10-15 18:43
Oh, absolutely Jim - I agree with you there. I give thanks daily that we actually have a competent government in Scotland.

# robbie 2011-10-15 09:20
This silly wee cluless labour lassie is an asset to the SNP.
Thank you labour, keep up the good work.

# Mac 2011-10-15 09:31
Combine 'negativity' with 'stupidity' and you get 'Kezia Dugdale'.

Not exactly a great addition to the Labour gene pool.

# ianbeag 2011-10-15 09:41
Free prescriptions a right wing measure - For Fowkes sake!

# RandomScot 2011-10-15 09:48
There was a larger statement there.

Dugdale was claiming that lowering taxes was right wing. Now, i might have agreed with her if she limited that to lowering taxes on the rich, but that wasn't her argument.

She said that lowering any tax was right wing

However. Two of the taxes she named were bridge tolls and prescription charges!

Bridge tolls can disadvantage communities outside the Central Belt, and are bad enough, but, PRESCRIPTION CHARGES!

She, as a Labour MSP, is demanding we should tax the sick!

She might as well joint Field, Freud and Parnell as another Lwbour figure supporting the Tories in hammering th sick

# Scottish republic 2011-10-15 10:38
Labour is a right-wing party and bless her cotton socks for saying such things so loud and clear.

# James 2011-10-15 09:52
It's incredible to the point of breathtaking. Free prescriptions are "right-wing economics"!!! Any system that let this silly wee lassie through to a position of responsibility needs reformed - and drastically. Roll on the referendum.

# colin8652 2011-10-15 10:05
Just yesterday a heavy week for bills left me with about £30 left for the rest of the week. This coincided with a flare up of an old eye injury which required a trip to the doctors. This resulted in three different prescription items being scripted. In labours world this would have cost me about £12 quid, half of my remaining budget/ In England it would have totally wiped me out for the week or i would have had to go without medication. Well done Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP!

(Email sent to the daft wee lassie)

# Alba4Eva 2011-10-15 12:38
Well done.

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 13:04
I hate to disappoint you colin but under Dugdale's idea of "pay for your prescriptions" I think you'll find your prescription costs would have been nearer £22. I believe the current prescription charge in England is around £7 and lets not forget the higher the prescription charge the happier people like Dugdale will be!

# Robabody 2011-10-15 14:45
Exactly Colin. I've found myself here too.

# Scottish republic 2011-10-15 22:36
Hope the eye gets better.

Strength and courage.

# scottish_skier 2011-10-15 10:23
I wake up every morning with a smile on my face after reading the latest.

I remember exactly where I was/what I was doing when Labour won in 1997, opening the way for devolution. The same for the result of the devolution vote. I remember sitting in my car listening to the radio story of the SNP winning in 2007. I was there, bleary eyed when they got that first majority seat in 2011.

I look forward to telling my grandchildren that I was there when Scotland said 'YES'.

Scotland is making history - what a privilege to be part of that.

# Clarinda 2011-10-15 10:41
A willful and malicious utterance of disinformation calculated to associate right wing ideology with SNP action - you can't get more forked tongue tongued than a Foulked tongued tonguer?

# GrassyKnollington 2011-10-15 10:43
Lay off poor Kezia. A party of cloth capped socialists who advocate staunchly left wing policies like illegal wars, PFI, ID cards, tuition fees, unfettered wealth, unregulated banking and a career scramble to the House of Lords is bound to think free prescription charges are right wing.

# Gill 2011-10-15 19:22

# Wee-Scamp 2011-10-15 10:57
Admittedly off topic but what on earth has the North Britain done to its website? What a mess.

# macgilleleabhar 2011-10-15 11:01
Correct me if I am wrong but wasn't one of the reasons for abolishing the "Prescription Tax" was that it was so expensive to collect that little revenue was lost in ending it?
I seem to recall that in general something like 80 percent of UK taxes are lost to the bureaucracy of collection?

# sid 2011-10-15 12:34
afternoon, don't know about the last part of your comment but it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest.
in Scotland the cost of collecting and policing the charge for prescriptions far outweighed the amount collected.
BASIC ECCONOMICS
but we know that is not exactly labours strong point is it!
don't know about anyone else but I am sick to the back teeth of so called experts who try to compare England and Scotland
from size of population all the way thru to what the people of Scotland and England actually believe in politically

there is no common ground
time to move on.
Sid

# J Wil 2011-10-15 13:06
The opposition point the finger at Alex Salmond and say why shouldn't you pay for prescriptions, you can afford it.

It would be interesting to know the real facts. Younger people who are still working, with a good income, tend to be less afflicted by medical problems so they do not require many prescriptions if at all. Retired people, even if they are relatively wealthy have reduced retirement income and are generally subject to the same medical problems as all old people. I cannot see that the cost of prescriptions for wealthy people, who can afford to pay for prescriptions, can be very great.

This may be why it is uneconomic to set a up a special, means tested, system of payment.

# Legerwood 2011-10-15 17:32
Given the job situation for young people these days, even graduates, the jobs they get don't pay the money they were led to believe they would get if they got a degree.

If they have something like eczema and/or asthma, and both conditions are very much more common than you might think, then their prescription costs would be through the roof. So even on a 'good income' it would be quite a bite out of their salary.

My son suffers from both conditions and requires creams and inhalers. When he left University he worked in a call centre (£11,000 p.a.) and could not afford the prescription charges even buying a season card to cover the costs was out of the question so we bought his annual season card for his prescriptions. But not all parents are in the position to help in that way. So three cheers for free prescriptions.

# spagan 2011-10-15 11:15
Back in the 80s we talked about the up and coming Tory politicians as "Thatcher's Children".
It is very clear that "Kezia" (Crazy name, crazy Politics)- is simply one of "Blair's Children".
We need FFA/Independence to enable a fair and just taxation system in our wee country. New Labour made the UK just about the most polarised country in developed world. That was never, ever what Scotland wanted.
New Labour - good for themselves - bad for the rest of us.
Slainte Mhor

# RandomScot 2011-10-15 11:54
Kezia is a good Bible name, a daughter of Job. it has some significance for equality, as Job gave all his daughters equal shares in his bequest

However, Ms Dugdale did, in her buzzword bingo appearance on Call Kaye, use equality a lot.

I assume that means that she wants every to pay Prescription charges whether they can afford it or not, that MUST be socially inclusive, equal and what free Healthcare actually means

# pmcrek 2011-10-15 11:55
Clearly PFI and the illegal Iraq war are left wing policies built on a social conscience..

# thomsor 2011-10-15 12:18
Just what the Scottish people need, a New Labour mouthpiece advocating more tax. You just could not make it up. What an asset to the SNP.

# enneffess 2011-10-15 12:22
Eh?

Ahem, but I would have thought that free prescriptions were a left wing policy.

And this is the sort of talent we have in the Scottish Parliament? Heaven help us.

If you are going to criticise a policy then you do so in a constructive manner, ie concerns about costs etc. You don't start rambling on with political philosophies.

# scottish_skier 2011-10-15 12:27
Just visited the Scottish Labour party website.

www.scottishlabour.org.uk/.../

Foreword from Iain Grey:

"That is why I am standing to be First Minister of Scotland, so that this Tory government cannot repeat the mistakes of yesterday and blight all of our tomorrows."

Whit?

# Gill 2011-10-15 19:14
Disarray, chaos, shambolic, nonsense, drivel, lying, desperate, nowhere to go, duped, clueless, disillusionment , death throe, alone, bewildered, exhausted, finished.....

# Edna Caine 2011-10-15 22:03
I liked the rest of the paragraph that you quote.

"The difference today is our own Scottish Parliament. We can take a different path."

Spot on, Iain. You got one thing right at last.

# Scottish republic 2011-10-15 22:34
Yes, they haven't quite got a handle on this whole internet thingy, have they?

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 22:43
Long may that continue! :D

# Lord Snooty 2011-10-15 12:46
Academic qualifications and intelligence are not synonymous.

Oliver Letwin
Liam Fox
Ed Balls
Ed Milliband
David Cameron

note that I have left Iain Grey out of the usual subjects list

I rest my case

# proudscot 2011-10-15 13:07
This latest recruit to the ranks of Labour mediocrity in Holyrood almost makes their claim that Wee Wendy had a brain the size of a planet seem credible.

Oops, time for my medicine again and to get strapped into my nice warm white canvas jacket with the wrap-around sleeves ...

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 13:41
They're coming to take me away Ha! Ha!

To the "DARKENED ROOM!" Where it is nice and warm and you'll meet plenty of friendly people! :D

# EdinScot 2011-10-15 13:30
Here was me thinking that policies like abolishing free prescriptions and scrapping bridge tolls was a socialy fair and people friendly policy. It doesnt even come close to a right wing policy and that is the really scary thing when you hear how much people like Kezia Dugdale call it as such.

It seems like Labour are not living on planet earth beside us. It appears that they have lost all sense of reality in their desperation to attack the SNP. Its a sad spectacle to witness a party sinking even lower with every passing day. Coupled with the fact that their Labour supporting msm and in particular the Pacific Quay mob wont take them to task and point out the political inadequacies and inaccuracies of their statements only adds to their own demise. How ironic is that.

It suits us who support a forward progressive independent Scotland. The Labour party are not worthy of being the main opposition in Scotland. They have 'learned no lessons' since their gubbing in May 2011. They need to be put out their misery by the Scottish public once more and put out to pasture by voting yes to independence in a couple of years time. Our sanity from this nonsense depends on it!

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 14:10
O/T chasps and chaspesses but useful, I think.

Dear old Flubber will be holding a live webcast on Friday 21st with a member of the SNP cabinet. If you want to try and get a question asked by said Flubber then you can send your question in via this page on the BBC site.

bbc.co.uk/.../...

The best of British SCOTTISH with your attempts.

# Barontorc 2011-10-15 15:16
My, My, - a charm offensive by the BBC shureley Shirley!

BBC QT on the previous night from Glasgow, which is bound to feature an SNP Minister and then a "follow-up" opportunity the next day with Flubber!

Knowing the mind-set, that passes for impartial public broadcasting, within our gloried BBC - one is left to wonder at such a magnanimous gesture toward the SNP?

Could it be that; (A) - they've at last woken-up to the strictures of their own Charter - (very unlikely) and are giving democracy a run for a change. Or (B) - something's in the air and it's not reckoned to be too good for us - so good old Aunty will give it max exposure!!

# EdinScot 2011-10-15 15:53
Barontorc

Or C) To shore up the fact that they wont be covering live from the SNP Conference (our majority Scottish Government) this month.

One thing is certain though, auntie will up the ante make no mistake. They may have already made up their winter 2011/12 hit list of who in the SNP Cabinet they plan to topple, all in the name of democracy British style of course.

# enneffess 2011-10-15 17:52
Hit list? Be serious. You're obviously referring to last winter and the minister who made a cock up, pure and simple. He resigned, and got replaced by someone who thankfully is rather more pro-active.

# Gill 2011-10-15 18:40
Cock-up? like not predicting the worst weather conditions we have seen for 90 yrs? Loads of politicians make mistakes on a much grander scale and are still in their posts. I for one was dead against the said minister resigning and said so at the time. The big mistake was AS accepting it when he did which looked like a scalp for those baying for any SNP blood and wounded. It could've been handled better without seeming to bend to the labour party and their hacks.

# gt-cri 2011-10-15 19:16
While I agree with Gill and deplore the way Stewart Stevenson was hounded out of office, Keith Brown IS certainly more pro-active and high-profile in comparison. That said however, it still won't stop stupid people venturing out in cars completely unprepared for snow, or when it's been forecast.

To think that the opposition (including their mouth-pieces) aren't sticking pins in dolls of Govt Ministers and praying to their gods for mistakes is to stick your head back in the niave-bucket!

The more competent the Scottish Govt is, the more spectacular even the smallest slip-ups will be made to look.

# Gill 2011-10-15 23:58
Quote:
The more competent the Scottish Govt is, the more spectacular even the smallest slip-ups will be made to look.

?

# gt-cri 2011-10-16 12:19
Quoting Gill:
Quote:

?

I take it you want more of an explanation? Eg. Nicola Sturgeon allows herself to be slagged-off by a bin-man, on the BBC but has a go at explaining the situation to him. The resulting news story shows all the bin-man's comments on-air & doesn't show Nicola's. Political capital is made by the opposition, the BBC keeps it as the main story all day, G Campbell gives it 30 minutes on Politics Scotland etc etc. Meanwhile, a UK Minister gets caught doing what they do (insert daftness here) & no mention on any news programme. Get it?

# EdinScot 2011-10-15 20:46
Be Serious? I've never been more serious. Alex Salmond, Fiona Hyslop, Rossana Cunningham, Kenny MacKaskill, Nicola Sturgeon, John Swinney and yes Stuart Stevenson. There's the hit list of who in the SNP theyve tried to topple.

As for one of the worst winters on record, its an individuals choice to go out on foot or by transport in these exceptionally hazardous conditions and ignore the advice that was broadcast in papers and all over the radio and tv. Added to that, France had the exact same conditions as Scotland and Sarkozy even joked there would be no resignations over some snow as indeed there was no resignations anywhere else including Germany and Poland even though there were deaths due to the harsh winters in these countries.

Only here do the BBC engineer a crisis to aid their agenda in toppling the SNP and in the process making all of Scotland look like a banana republic. Imagine the reaction of the BBC and msm if it was ministers in the Scottish Government who were doing a Letwin and Fox double act... they would think their Christmas's and birthdays had all come at once. That is the farcial reality of politics in Scotland as we stand. I think you need to understand that and get real.

# westie7 2011-10-15 21:19
I'm serious about this happening again too.
What happened to Stevenson was a disgrace.

At the time I thought that it was a stitch up with Amey and Bear, both organisations having taken pelters for years since conception. And last winter no-one from either organisation was brought to book. I think they just let it happen knowing a scalp was to be had.

I've got a nice shiny green bit of paper with the Falkirk Wheel on it that says, the grind to a halt was engineered with the backing of Shadowy Labour Figures.

Anyway who set up this whole carve up of roads clearing, with the shire councils always now outdoing the trunk roads?

# Scottish republic 2011-10-15 22:32
It was a disgrace.

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 21:29
Don't forget EdinScot that England was suffering the same level of snow chaos and yet there was never even a hint of outrage from anyone at the BBC against the then Transport Secretary.

This, at the time, did raise serious questions from others on this site at the time. I wonder if the BBC could find anyone who could answer this question. I very much doubt it!

# EdinScot 2011-10-15 22:40
Remember it well Arbroath, the msm in England didnt even utter the word resign and yet the situation there was like a carbon copy of what was happening in Scotland with people stranded in cars in the North of England. Talk about a parallel universe. How they must have scratched their heads and laughed South of the border.

The Pacific Quay lot didnt get the accolade of being called distoring Scotland for nothing. As we know, that lot have form.

# RandomScot 2011-10-16 09:03
The BBC and the Met Office underestimated the snow fall. The zmet Office admitted that.

When the Met Office started to talk about that on Newsnicht the presenter quickly shut him up.

Scotland wasn't uniquely caught out, the whole of Northern Europe was hit, including England, whose Transport Minister was not given the same treatment by the Beeb

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 14:33
Well that's it done.

Just sent in my question for Blubber to ask the minister on Friday. I don't think I'll hold my breath though.

It was GREAT fun writing the question. It is even more fun knowing that my question, all about the BBC, will have to be read by some one at the BBC before they reject it. :D

# Scottish republic 2011-10-16 13:45
good one!

# SEUMAS31 2011-10-15 14:40
Time for my fix of nitrous oxide again.This lady falls into the same class as the dustbin filer who is too ceberal to associate with us mortals, and the foxy one who cried wolf, and they are tories, of course , she had a good mentor, Baron Glenfiddich.

# gt-cri 2011-10-15 19:22
Not from here I hope?

bbc.co.uk/.../...

Here was the polis thinking it was loons doing up their cars!

# Alba4Eva 2011-10-15 23:03
Ha ha hahaha... haaaa.... hehe ha ha.. ha... *;0)

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 14:57
I've just had a response from Graeme Esson at the dear old BBC.

Quote:
I will be out of the office until Monday 24 October.

Very interesting this reply. Particularly when you consider that the page asking for questions has this.

Quote:
BBC Scotland's political editor Brian Taylor will quiz the SNP MSP during the half-hour webcast on Friday, 21 October. If you have a question, submit it by using the form below.

Now why would I want a reply from the BBC AFTER the webcast has been broadcast? Surely I want a rely, if any BEFORE the webcast.

I guess this is yet another example of the BBC working at its best?

I take it my question(s) will not be part of the webcast then. DOGGONIT! :D

# aiberdeen sheep 2011-10-15 20:11
Quoting Arbroath1320:
I've just had a response from Graeme Esson at the dear old BBC.

Quote:
I will be out of the office until Monday 24 October.

Very interesting this reply. Particularly when you consider that the page asking for questions has this.

Quote:
BBC Scotland's political editor Brian Taylor will quiz the SNP MSP during the half-hour webcast on Friday, 21 October. If you have a question, submit it by using the form below.

Now why would I want a reply from the BBC AFTER the webcast has been broadcast? Surely I want a rely, if any BEFORE the webcast.

I guess this is yet another example of the BBC working at its best?

I take it my question(s) will not be part of the webcast then. DOGGONIT! :D

Just posted my question as below lol

My question relates to pacific quay and the relentless bias towards the unionist labour party both by its presenters and by the stories it leads with on bulletins.

Has the minister complained of the bias (fox news could take tips form pacific quay) and is there a case for boycotting BBC Scotland in the same way as the democratic party in USA do from time to time to fox news.

# Bob Kingdom of Fife 2011-10-15 15:48
This radio programme is an unrestricted mouthpiece for ' unionist propaganda ' and will be until we can silence ' the freelance journalist's ' who have nailed their colour's to the mast at ' pacific quay' what is needed is a more democratic spread of presenter's at this broadcasting establishment , i will not hold my breath.

# govanite 2011-10-15 16:22
Bingo Ninja.

# scottish_skier 2011-10-15 16:34
I see the 'Occupy' protests are spreading outwith the U.S. One on in London at the Mo.

bbc.co.uk/.../...

I'm glad the 'Occupy Scotland' Party won a landslide here in May.

# cirsium 2011-10-15 19:54
scottish skier - that thought has been going through my head as well!
Italian "occupy" protesters entered the office of Goldman Sachs in Rome(?) yesterday and there is an 'Occupy' protest outside the Icelandic Parliament.

# Gill 2011-10-16 00:04
we need to get out our houses

# Roll_On_2011 2011-10-15 18:01
OT

Gary McKinnon ePetition:

epetitions.direct.gov.uk/.../...

We, the Undersigned call on Nick Clegg and David Cameron to keep their pre-election promise to stop the Extradition of Gary Mckinnon and to give his family their life back. If Gary is to be tried- he should be tried at Home by a jury of his own peers. All the details of Garys Case are in the Public domain and both of the current UK Leaders supported Gary's fight before they were elected. The US Government via President Obama himself have said they will 'accept the decision of the UK'. WE SAY END IT NOW AND #FREEGARY

I have signed. If you believe that this is a travesty of justice sign it and pass it on to as many people as possible.

# Drew1314 2011-10-15 21:44
@ Roll_on_2011

Done.

This is a cause close to my heart. I have a lot of correspondence with my M.P. about this. He doesn't agree - who's my M.P. - Russell Brown. Nuff said!

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 22:02
I was thinking of sending you my commiserations Drew. Unfortunately I think I'm in the same boat. I think we both have a race to find who's M.P. is the more despicable.

For my crime to society I have the pleasure of a certain David Mundell for my M.P.

Things are so bad I can't even bring myself to write to this individual in the first place. :-(

# Robabody 2011-10-16 11:32
Drew, do ask Russell how he is getting on protecting rural post offices in D&G having voted to close them while sculking in Westmonster. I trust he's being successful? How anyone ever voted for this gent beats me.

# Drew1314 2011-10-16 19:43
Quoting Robabody:
Drew, do ask Russell how he is getting on protecting rural post offices in D&G having voted to close them while sculking in Westmonster. I trust he's being successful? How anyone ever voted for this gent beats me.

@Robabody
Saw him at a neigbours about six weeks ago. My wife locked me in the toilet for fear of what I may say (she knew he was coming and inadvertantly let it slip). The last words I had with him were on election night when I told him to "b*gger off".

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 21:59
Signed the petition with pleasure.

Let's hope that this is at least one pre election promise these two donkeys DO keep.

# Roll_On_2011 2011-10-15 22:08
Arbroath1320

It’s not looking good for him. Sorry to spring this on you…. DailyFail.

dailymail.co.uk/.../...

But what’s a promise to those two neeps.

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 22:21
When you think about all the other under hand inter governmental activities that have been going on for years between Washington and London I can only come to one conclusion. This judicial decision STINKS!

If anything this decision only continues the well thought idea that the so called extradition agreement between the U.K. and the U.S. is seriously bent in favour of the U.S. Yet again, proof, if that were necessary, that the U.K. is subservient to the U.S.

# Roll_On_2011 2011-10-15 22:40
Arbroath1320

Aye it stinks to high heaven. Totally agree.

Anyway that’s me of to the Darkened Room…. nighty night!

# Legerwood 2011-10-15 23:15
It stinks even more when you consider that countries such as Russia and Libya will not allow their citizens to be extradited under any circumstances.

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-16 00:06
Ah but we live in a democracy. A democracy that does whatever the U.S. tells us to do!

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-18 16:07
Quote:
Laws governing the extradition of Britons to the US are fair, an independent review has concluded.

Well that's it then.

Any one can be extradited to the U.S.A. but almost nobody can be extradited back from the U.S.A.

www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-15351357

As I posted the other day, let's hope the donkey's currently in power at number 10 (and elsewhere) do keep their promise on this one. Unfortunately, like so many other promises from this bunch of pathetic individuals I'm not holding my breath.

# balbeggie 2011-10-15 19:12
Poll Alert:

Labour maintain a narrow lead in the first ComRes poll after the main party conferences, for tomorrow’s Independent on Sunday and Sunday Mirror:

Conservative 37% (-1)

Labour 39% (+1)

Lib Dem 10% (-1)

Others 14% (+1)

Change since the last ComRes online poll in September. Despite much commentary recently, and David Cameron’s promotions of Justine Greening and Chloe Smith, the gender gap is not significant: the Labour lead is 39% to 36% among women (see below).

Of our other results, the most striking, as the Scottish National Party prepares for its annual conference this week, is the rise in support for Scottish independence, now backed by majorities in both Scotland and the rest of the UK.

Scotland should be an independent country

Agree: 39% (+6 points since May 2011)

Disagree: 38% (-4)

In Scotland:*

Agree 49% (+11)

Disagree 37% (-9)

*The sub-samples in Scotland are small: n=176;

# Displaced Patriot 2011-10-15 22:29
If you look at the data in the main poll for Scotland others was 8% ahead of Labour in Scottish column.
One can only assume that others means SNP.
Labour is only just in front of Tories.
They are both heading for the wilderness,

# Corm 2011-10-15 19:29
Another (small) Poll and we all know the results dont mean anything but...nice...

As for the main article, meh she probably knows what she is doing, it will just be to associate the SNP with negative spin (right wing SNP, tartan torries etc), they have been doing it for years.

# scottish_skier 2011-10-15 20:14
No, it is very significant. It is not voting intention (thus less sample demographic dependent) and the error should be at worst +/-5%.

The last time any poll showed that high a yes vs no was ahead of the 2007 Scottish Election and it backs up the recent TNS BMRB which had the Yes climbing ahead of the no.

This is happening a lot faster than people realise.

I am a poll geek and have data for just about every political poll relating to Scotland going back to pre 1997. This is very good.

# Scottish republic 2011-10-15 22:27
scot_ski

It would be great if you could give us your view of polls, since very few people have quite got their finger on it as someone who does - a poll geek is required to give perspective on new polls/trends/relevance.

If you have the time.

# scottish_skier 2011-10-16 10:39
Quoting Scottish republic:
scot_ski

It would be great if you could give us your view of polls, since very few people have quite got their finger on it as someone who does - a poll geek is required to give perspective on new polls/trends/relevance.

If you have the time.

I do wee analyses for the politics section of a weather forum (my other interest/geek behaviour is weather + snow...), so should not be too hard to do this for here.

I suppose I could put something in the opion section...

Suffice to say, based on a conservative (ahem) running averages/multi-poll analyses, we have:

SNP (Holyrood) = 49%+ (no recent data, likely over 50%)
SNP (Westminster) = 47%+
Independence:
Yes = ~44.0%, rising
No = 37.5%, falling
Unsure = 18.5%, falling (going to yes)

I expect the next Scotland-wide (e.g. TNS) on independence to show similar to the above or better. People must remember the definite Yes was hitting 55%+ in 1998 with the no dropping to 35%, we are going the same way again now. It's like 1997 but with no New Labour white knight bearing devolution, but a Tory beast bearing a sythe. The perfect storm.

Westminster Lib vote has bottomed out in scotland at ~5%. Tory vote the same at ~14%. Indications are the Labour vote collapse is now accelerating. At ~29%, down 5% in just the last couple of months.

Ignore yougov - uses newspaper weighting; vote share meaningless, only trends possible to see.

ICM and TNS-BMRB are very good and my preferred.

# tartanfever 2011-10-16 10:54
When you say you do 'wee' analysis for a politics section of a weather forum do you actually mean urine ?

Or are you just taking the p**s ?

Sorry, couldn't resist..

# scottish_skier 2011-10-16 12:54
Quoting tartanfever:
When you say you do 'wee' analysis for a politics section of a weather forum do you actually mean urine ?

Or are you just taking the p**s ?

Sorry, couldn't resist..

With access to various spectrometers in the lab at work, I suppose I could branch out.... ;-)

# uilleam_beag 2011-10-16 11:03
Those are interesting trends you've identified there, Skier. Thanks for giving us that input; I think those numbers underscore what a lot of us have been feeling in our bones and spotted from anecdotal evidence. The direction of the momentum is clear -- for the now, at least.

I for one would really enjoy reading a longer analysis if you have the time&patience to put it together. (You're not the only geek in these waters, I fear.)

# loamfeet 2011-10-15 19:48
I find the idea that somebody with a chronic illness might have to choose between paying for a prescription, paying other bills or god forbid putting food on the table absolutely gut wrenching.

I am all for means testing and targeting benefits but I also believe that certain key benefits should be available universally because although it does sicken me that doctors and lawyers may be claiming child benefit or benefiting from free prescriptions, I also know absolutely cast iron guaranteed that nobody on low wages is being excluded from the very basic protections of the welfare state.

Funnily enough, that is exactly what Ed Miliband thinks as well. Dugdale should perhaps check in with HQ and find out what the current thinking is.

# Displaced Patriot 2011-10-15 20:24
sorry to go off thread ,however ,for every Unionist ,Dugdale ,Fifa La Bon Bon ,grahamski ,Rufus ,all the JP journos ,

Of our other results, the most striking, as the Scottish National Party prepares for its annual conference this week, is the rise in support for Scottish independence, now backed by majorities in both Scotland and the rest of the UK.

Scotland should be an independent country

Agree: 39% (+6 points since May 2011)

Disagree: 38% (-4)

In Scotland:*

Agree 49% (+11)

Disagree 37% (-9)

The tipping point has been reached

# Scottish republic 2011-10-15 23:59
It's a small sample but better to see it on this side of the majority than on the other.

# sneckedagain 2011-10-15 20:54
I have never understood how the NHS could be described as free at the point of need when patients were asked to pay for the medicine
Very often prescription items can in fact be purchased for a lot less than £1 yet to get them the patient had to give the chemist a lot more than that in a prescription charge.

If,as some insist, Kezia is an intelligent young lady she will realise soon enough she is on a rapidly sinking ship.
I atill await the first across the floor though there are precious few among the ranks of our opposition I would offer a membership form to.
Will we have a surprise or two at conference?

# akava77 2011-10-15 22:14
The only one I can think of who most SNP supporters would accept is Malcolm Chisholm, who has consistently stuck to his principles even when his colleagues have been (and still are) at the game of opposition for the sake of opposition.

# Displaced Patriot 2011-10-15 22:31
If it means Independence for Scotland I would welcome them all.

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-15 22:39
Oh I don't know akava. There are certain individuals I would NEVER accept. I don't care how desperate I was.

There are certain M.S.P.'s who just can not be trusted to boil the kettle to make a cup of coffee far less give their support to the Independence movement, the movement that will see these individuals digging even bigger holes to try and hide their deep blushing heads in. :D

# curley bill 2011-10-15 23:38
O/T but please read:

Scottish independence now has majority backing north of the border and in the UK as a whole, according to a new poll.

Research by ComRes for the Independent on Sunday and Sunday Mirror found that support for the move had risen sharply over recent months.

The results are a boost for First Minister Alex Salmond as his Scottish National Party prepares to hold its autumn conference in Inverness.

In the UK overall, 39% of those surveyed agreed that Scotland should be an independent country - an increase of six points since May.

The number disagreeing with the statement had fallen four points to 38%.

In Scotland, the proportion supporting independence was up 11 points over the period at 49%.

Some 37% disagreed - down by nine points.

The SNP, which won an unprecedented overall majority in May elections, has promised to hold a referendum on independence towards the end of its five-year term.

ComRes surveyed 2,004 adults online on October 12 and 13. Data were weighted to be demographically representative of the population and by past vote recall.

SNP campaigns director and MP Angus Robertson said: "This is an excellent poll that shows support, in both Scotland and England, for our nations having a new relationship of equality as two independent countries, sharing a head of state and working together as partners in Europe."

Now, Kezia, how'd you like them apples!

# Gill 2011-10-15 23:40
Move along, nothing intelligent to see

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-16 00:12
I guess your right. We're too wee, too poor and too stupid to understand what is going on. :D

# balbeggie 2011-10-16 00:02
A poll for all you to partake in - the people at PB are trying to skew the figures.

.../my-wee-poll-on-scottish-independence

# Arbroath1320 2011-10-16 00:19
Added my votes.

Interestingly the number of votes counted over the three questions diminished as you went further down.

# raisethegame 2011-10-16 00:12
Here's the 'Independent's take on the poll:
"Westminster has no answer to the Alex Salmond effect"
independent.co.uk/.../...

# Scottish republic 2011-10-16 08:06
The Independent lists a whole bunch of the insidious right-wing policies of the SNP:

Quote:
Scotland vs England: subsidies and benefits

Old people

Scotland: Free personal care for all residents of nursing homes.

England: Proposal that anyone with assets worth £35,000 should pay all the costs of their care.

University tuition fees

Scotland: Free – to Scottish students. Holyrood abolished £1,000-per-year tuition fees.

England: Students pay tuition and top-up fees of up to £9,000 a year – and English students at Scottish universities are charged £1,800 for tuition.

Education maintenance allowances

Scotland: Up to £30 a week

England: £0

Prescription charges

Scotland: Prescription drugs free

England: £7.40 per item

Health checks

Scotland: Free dental checks and free eye tests for all.

England: Standard charge of £17 for dental check-ups; eye tests cost £18.85.

Transport

Scotland Over-60s travel free on buses; 16- to 18-year-olds get a third off.

England: Off-peak journeys free for over-60s and schoolchildren.

Heating for elderly

Scotland: Central heating installed for all pensioners;

England: Grants available for those on pension credits.

School dinners

Scotland: Free in the first three years of primary school.

England: Poorer children qualify for free meals – but this applies to only 16 per cent of pupils.

I think she should get up on her soapbox on Radio Scotland and tell the Scots about this insidious right-wing manifesto that so insults the Scots.

# Macart 2011-10-16 14:34
She's never had dirt under her nails, never wondered if she could pay this months heating bill, never had to rake the cupboards for something to put on the table, never had to wear out several pairs of shoes looking for a job and never had to take the worst job on offer just to have money coming in the door. Still she has the neck to tell us that the SNP are really secret tories????

GROW UP GIRL!!!

# Scottish republic 2011-10-16 17:37
Following her train of 'logic' :

it's time to dismantle that right-wing hegemony the NHS; destroy the fascist welfare benefits system for the unemployed, poor and sick; knock down those denizens of conservative complotting, council houses and do away with that most disagreable far right practice in Scotland of free public education.

That's Labour Scotland should they ever get their beady hands on power ever again.

Why do they even keep the name 'Labour' - what purpose does it serve? They should call them selves NARWATTBMABF.

Not as catchy but it's honest.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments