By a Newsnet reporter

A pro-Union campaign calling itself "Scotland says No!" has recently been launched.  In a press release the organisation says: "Following the recent proclamations of Alex Salmond and the SNP, a coalition of pro-Union loyal factions have declared their intent to launch a wide-reaching, professional campaign to safeguard the United Kingdom, called Scotland says NO!"  The press release mentions that the campaign will be officially launched in Edinburgh in April, with a march and rally.

"Scotland says NO!" is led by former BNP councillor Mike Golding, who resigned as a councillor in Sevenoaks in Kent in 2011 after local residents complained that he had "done nothing".  He later left the BNP to found his own right wing extremist party, calling it the Britain First movement.  

The organisation's Scottish head is Gary Raikes, who was chief of the BNP in Scotland from 2007 until he left the party to sign up to Mr Golding's new organisation after the BNP dismally failed to make any impact during the Scottish Parliamentary election in May last year.  Gary Raikes stood as BNP candidate for the North East Scotland regional list seat during the last Holyrood election, when he polled a paltry 1925 votes representing 0.72% of votes cast.  Mr Raikes claimed at the time that his main priority was "stopping immigration".  Now it seems he has shifted his focus to stopping Scottish self-determination.

All the persons listed by "Britain First" as its leadership team are former members of the BNP.  Deputy Chairman and Treasurer Andrew McBride was formerly a regional organiser for the BNP.  Administration Manager Jim Dowson is a Belfast businessman who leased the BNP premises in the city to use as a call centre and was a close aide to BNP leader Nick Griffin.  Kevin Edwards, 'national nominating officer', was a BNP community councillor in Llandybie in Wales.  Mike Howson, 'group development officer', was a BNP official in Wales.

The BNP in Scotland has long been suspected of having close links to extremist Northern Irish Unionist groups.  

The high profile attempt by former BNP members to latch onto the pro-Union campaign will come as an embarrassment to mainstream anti-independence parties who now find themselves in the same camp as extreme right wing political organisations.

In its publicity material, the "Scotland says NO!" campaign repeats scare stories which have been aired by mainstream Unionist parties, such as the claim that Scotland would be bankrupt the moment the oil runs out, and that after independence Scots would have to choose between higher taxes or cuts to public services.  

The "Scotland says NO!" campaign invites members of the public to sign a petition demanding "that Scotland remain at the heart of the Union", and to "condemn the bigotry of Alex Salmond". 

In using such language the extreme right wing are copying the example of Labour's Johann Lamont, who recently claimed that Alex Salmond's opposition to David Cameron was based upon the fact that the Conservative Prime Minister is English, and Labour MP Tom Harris who claimed that independence supporters bearing placards saying "End London rule" were propagating an "anti-English" message.  The use of such language by Labour and other mainstream Unionist parties legitimises the extreme right and risks giving them a foothold in Scotland which they would otherwise be denied.

The entry of the extreme right into the No campaign will be deeply disquieting to many in Scotland.  In their zeal to find stones to throw at the SNP, the leadership of the mainstream anti-independence parties risk finding themselves open to the charge of providing ammunition to neo-fascist groups and opening the door to right wing extremism in Scotland.  

Note: The anti-independence campaign launched by Britain First has no connection with another website and organisation which is also called "Scotland says no"(without the exclamation mark) www.scotlandsaysno.org.uk.  This is a legitimate organisation campaigning against domestic violence and offering support to victims of domestic abuse.

Comments  

# Leal 2012-02-03 09:06
Oh, Dear, Give them Enough Rope.
London says No.
The Black Art Of Propaganda works Both ways.

# Fungus 2012-02-03 09:19
Good. if there is one thing Scots don't thole it's the extreme right wing. Having the Doc Marten bully boys on their side will not do the dependent parties any good whatsoever.

# wee folding bike 2012-02-03 18:56
Hey now, I wear Docs. They are comfy and practical. I was even married wearing 7 up steel toe Docs.

3rd Feb 1959. The day the music died.

# freeussoon 2012-02-03 20:59
"Happy Anniversary"!!!!

# wee folding bike 2012-02-03 21:17
Errr… it's Buddy Holly's anniversary. I wasn't alive in 1959.

# call me dave 2012-02-03 21:50
That was funny but it was ambiguous and I nearly got caught too.
I was wondering at the time how fit WFB was pedalling all over the place. WOW he must be a fit dude !!

LOL @;)

# Louperdowg 2012-02-03 09:22
Is that oor lion they've pinched?

# Old Smokey 2012-02-03 11:02
More like the England Football Team logo of the 70's the Tory's
just change the gold colour into the butchesr apron and you see what I mean

# rhymer 2012-02-03 16:41
Quoting Louperdowg:

Nah That is a retarded lion,
ours is a ramapant lion.

# GuidedByPollard 2012-02-03 16:53
Quoting rhymer:
Quoting Louperdowg:

Nah That is a retarded lion,
ours is a ramapant lion.

It minded me of the 'Thundercats' logo from the 80's - which was also childish, cartoon nonsense

# Angus 2012-02-03 09:32
Wonder if the Brit state is involved with this group?
Could it be that they are numptys and will have the opposite effect?
I remember in Westminster when spud Murphy bummed up the BNP representation in Scotland , made me wonder if he was backing them at the time of his government, because he hated the SNP so much, that party that dared threaten to take seats from his Labour heartland

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-03 16:54
"Wonder if the Brit state is involved with this group?"

I wouldn't be surprised to learn that half their members are undercover cops and the other half MI5.

# GuidedByPollard 2012-02-03 16:58
Quoting Jiggsbro:
"Wonder if the Brit state is involved with this group?"

I wouldn't be surprised to learn that half their members are undercover cops and the other half MI5.

Yip, just like anyone showing up for the planned SDL march - smile for the cameras, you're going in M15's files

# Macart 2012-02-03 09:33
Dear oh deary me. The BNP by any other name is still the BNP. The racist dregs of the UK, not for anything, just against everyone. The fact the country is not the home of empire anymore is everyone else's fault. They're just the team that the anti independence parties have been looking for. :0)

# Christian_Wright 2012-02-03 09:37
Well, regrettable as it is from a civic stance . . . it cannot be anything but a plus for the cause of independence.

It is the case that the far right, to include the angry wing of the Nasty Party and the BNP, will charge bigotry and racism on the part of their opponents as a way of giving themselves cover for their exercise of bigotry and racism. It is their standard M.O.

That is one reason it is important that supporters of independence are as Caesar's wife with respect to bigotry and intolerance - blameless and above suspicion. That will not stop the accusations, but it will deny them the kernel of truth.

The tactics of this organisation can be seen in action daily on the Torygraph blogs. I do agree that the behavior of Johann Lamont, and indeed several other principals of the Unionist cabal, lend legitimacy to these rants of the rabid right.

Though again, the entry of this particular group into the fray, regrettable as it may be,is net/net a plus for the proponents of Scottish self determination.

In the end we must TRUST THE PEOPLE to determine what is fact and what, fiction. Who it is that offers considered truth and who peddles propaganda.

The Scottish Government, the SNP, and we, are well served by the enemies providence has provided us.

# J Wil 2012-02-03 09:39
When people realise that the BNP are behind this campaign it will kill it stone dead.

# UpSpake 2012-02-03 09:44
A rally and march in April or is that April and a few friends will pub crawl and stagger through Edinburgh whilt being peppered with rotten tomatoes by the population ?.

# Macart 2012-02-03 10:07
Probably pepper sprayed UpSpake. :0)

# Dalriada 2012-02-03 10:10
It comes as no surprise to discover that the far right plan to campaign for a No vote in the Referendum. What is more disappointing is that the Morning Star newspaper which is aligned to the Communist Party of Britain has stated in a recent editorial that it has its feet firmly in the No camp.

It is indeed ironic that the likes of the CPB and the British Left in general endorse national unity and independence for Ireland whilst opposing Scotland's growing aspirations for independence.

It's a pity they ignore the two greatest Marxists Scotland ever produced, namely James Connolly and John MacLean who both argued that socialism and national self-determination are two sides of one great democratic principle.

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-03 10:25
Don't anyone ever get angry with them, the best way to deal with drunken idiots is to laugh at them.

A few of us had some fun last night signing the petition... I think we doubled the number of signatories with everyone from Micky Mouse to a Carstairs inmate to someone worried about Scotland becoming an Islamic republic and only allowing Halal Whisky. :)

An anger response is what they want, they feed off hate... what they can't handle is the Kryptonite of comedy. *;0)

# Jim1320 2012-02-03 10:41
Good! just what the No campaign needs - a direct link to Beelzebub :) The best of luck to them with that one.

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-02-03 10:52
I think I'll go on Holiday for a couple of years. I'll get back just in time to see the fun and games in the last six months or so.

These people are doing a much better job of getting us independence than I ever could.......makes you sick doesn't it?

The BNP haha .... you couldn't make this stuff up could you - awesome, but laughable at the same time.

I hope they get a decent crowd around them at the march, it wouldn't really help us if no one attended. And I hope the BBC run it and run it. lol

# maxstafford 2012-02-03 10:57
This is the movement that was protesting about foreign workers coming to the UK with a stirring picture of a Spitfire on the leaflet cover.
A Spitfire from a Polish RAF squadron...

# rhymer 2012-02-03 22:48
Quoting maxstafford:
This is the movement that was protesting about foreign workers coming to the UK with a stirring picture of a Spitfire on the leaflet cover.
A Spitfire from a Polish RAF squadron...

I thought I already mentioned that I loved this post.
Bloody brilliant and shows up the mentality of these people.

# Old Smokey 2012-02-03 11:05
The BNP probably has most to loose if Scotland becomes independent as the Union flag which they like to wrap themselves in, will be hauled down and never fly again
Same goes for UKIP and the Orange order
All the same bed fellows under the Union Jack blanket
With independence,in one fell swoop these groups become obsolete, allthough wuold expect the BNP and UKIP to chenge to England only interests

# Sleekit 2012-02-03 11:10
I read this website when it was highlighted the other day.

If you go into the section for the 1979 Group you will see that they paint a picture of the SNP 79 Group (Including Margo McDonald and Alex Salmond) as some sort of ultra nationalist wannabe terrorists.

This seems to revolve around the fact that one of the 79 group gave a speech to Sinn Fein in the 80's...

Obviously a bit innocent to the ways of politics and persuasion.

The site itself is nothing but an anti foreigner racist site.

They even claim that staying in the UK is the only way to stop mass imigration and are trying to infer that the imigrants that have come to this country are the result of the SNP Policies.

This is scare tactics of the lowest order! Truly dispicable stuff.

# Dances With Haggis 1320 2012-02-03 14:03
Thats a bit rich considering Jim Dowson's list of criminal convictions including breach of the peace in 1986, possession of a weapon and breach of the peace in 1991 and criminal damage in 1992 and also with his former links to Loyalist terrorists namely murderer Micheal Stone

# Old Smokey 2012-02-03 11:12
Just had a look at the website 'The British Resistance'
thebritishresistance.co.uk/.../...
Typical neo facist's
Under the article banner 'Scotland Says NO'
One comment caught my eye
"About bloody time. It's about time we the Protestant peoples of Scotland stood up and had our say!!"
That should gladden the heart of the No campaign .
So if there are any doubters as to one of the benifits of dumping the union with England and ending the UK,it has to be the facist thugs that want to maintain the status quo in order to keep breeding their facist racist beleifs
which are really not welcome in Scotland

# Dances With Haggis 1320 2012-02-03 14:36
just had a look, i see Dowson himself is posting on the site, most likely most of the comments are from staff members so far. i asked dowson if he was still hob nobbing with terrorists murderers like Micheal Stone and if he himself was still colecting criminal convictions, Who is giving odds that they will publish that comment? lmfao
once a nazi scum always a naziscum

# Alba4ever 2012-02-03 11:26
So ironic though that the rabid right have (sort of) managed to get their act together and start a 'No' campaign in advance of the official Tory/Labour/Lib Dem launch!

Hopefully, this attempt to introduce Northern Ireland-style extreme Unionist politics into the debate will be treated with the contempt it deserves.

# GrassyKnollington 2012-02-03 12:07
It was interesting how Johann Lamont said that she disliked David Cameron because he was a Tory but Alex Salmond disliked him because he was English.

This wasn't a fact, it was the leader of the Labour MSPs in Scotlands own opinion.

After a fortnight of castigating Joan McAlpine for her comments about the behaviour of unionists Lamont was able, completely unchallenged to call the SNP leader anti-English.

Backlash came there none.

The hypocrisy and utter lack of self awareness was staggering.

It's interesting in relation to this article because this right wing grouping with their utterly distorted view of who the SNP are and what they stand for is actually echoed by Labour in Scotland.

Somebody made the very good point last year that Labour's biggest problem wasn't that they didn't know who they were themselves anymore but that they had no idea who their self declared enemy was.

For some extraordinary reason Labour think they're fighting racist, tartan Tories with a shortbread obsesssion.

The party of privatisation , id cards, illegal wars, tuition fees and nuclear subs on the Clyde whose career pinnacle is a seat in the House of Lords don't know their real enemy is their own loathsome policies.

# Louperdowg 2012-02-03 12:18
David Cameron's father is from Huntly so I'm not sure how English he considers himself.

# Alba4ever 2012-02-03 12:24
I'd say the answer is "completely English" or, perhaps, 100% British.

# Triangular Ears 2012-02-03 12:35
"Somebody made the very good point last year that Labour's biggest problem wasn't that they didn't know who they were themselves anymore but that they had no idea who their self declared enemy was."

That's easy. Labour's enemies are: the Scottish people, the poor (especially those that look like they might be getting out of poverty), democracy, education, thinking for yourself, self-determination, the working man, truth and justice.

# cokynutjoe 2012-02-03 12:31
Cameron's father apparently had a bone deficiency in the heels, this looks as if it could be a hereditary condition, spreading, in Posh Dave's case, to the spine!

# Embradon 2012-02-03 12:41
I think they should be rounded up and sent home. ;-)

P.S. If any of the hard of thinking chance upon this, the above was intended to be ironical.

# Angus 2012-02-03 13:50
They are affie easy to wind up.

# Leal 2012-02-03 14:00
Ok, Apologies if my removed comment regarding a certain Party's Placards being seen on this right Wing March was not playing Fair but the point is un-doubted . Unionist would have no Qualms with Doing This to the Yes Campaign and Linking The No Campaign to this right wing march is as easy as placing stickers on a Lampost.

# Alx1 2012-02-03 14:04
I see the SDL (must be the Scottish equivalent of EDL) is holding a march in Scotland.

bbc.co.uk/.../...

These extremist groups including some of the right wing lords and arrogant politicians are all doing the work for the SNP.
Long may it all continue.

My God it is true what they say about all the planets lining up!

# pmcrek 2012-02-03 14:48
Hilariously most 'members' of the SDL are bused up from England.

Many people in Scotland, in general, will simply take a moment to stop and abuse them in the street if they see them, antifa groups will harass them until they are forced to pack up and go home. Fascism struggles desperately to take root here, this is a country where most people find the platitudes of fascism utterly abhorrent, never mind the core message,

# Angus 2012-02-03 14:19
They are extremist alright, see the language used against AS and they are also talking about spilling the blood of Scottish Nationalists!

# Alx1 2012-02-03 14:38
Angus,

I have no time or the inclination to visit the website, but if they are using language like that then surely the police must get involved?

# Jim1320 2012-02-03 15:02
I visited and felt like I needed a shower afterwards. Ghastly people with ghastly attitudes. The No campaign are welcome to them (I'm so glad they do not support the Yes campaign).

I'm sure the saner No campaigners are going to be horrified actually but them's the breaks.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-03 15:14
Indeed. It would seem the NO campaign is off to a flying start, with a moronic site like that.

# GuidedByPollard 2012-02-03 14:41
Check out the message board, they're even arguing amongst themselves
Pondlife, pure and simple.

# call me dave 2012-02-03 14:46
LOL #;-) They are on this planet unfortunately

# GuidedByPollard 2012-02-03 14:51
To be honest, I can't really see them convincing any waverers to vote 'No'

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-03 15:03
They declined to publish my contribution to their message board. I thought "Independence for Scotland, inshallah" was reasonable and inoffensive. Perhaps that's why it was declined.

# chiefy1724 2012-02-03 17:16
Does anyone know how to get coffee stains off TFTs ?

Brilliant !

# Macart 2012-02-03 21:45
No I've been trying for the past ten minutes. :0D

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-02-03 15:11
Om Padme Om.... folks - there are far more important issues to deal with other than these brian dead individuals...

# Robert Louis 2012-02-03 15:13
Hmmm. Just had a look at their site. Seem a bit extreme judging by their comments which seem to be allowed.

Here is a short section from one of the posted comments (brace yourselves);

"I don't care about the Scots, Welsh, or bloody Northern Irish. I only care about England. And believe me, we the People of Albion, will gain our independence and freedom from the rest of you blood-sucking, welfarist, anti-English parasites."

Deary me. If this is what NO to independence means, I'm happy to say YES.

# GuidedByPollard 2012-02-03 15:30
Quoting Robert Louis:
Hmmm. Just had a look at their site. Seem a bit extreme judging by their comments which seem to be allowed.

Here is a short section from one of the posted comments (brace yourselves);

"I don't care about the Scots, Welsh, or bloody Northern Irish. I only care about England. And believe me, we the People of Albion, will gain our independence and freedom from the rest of you blood-sucking, welfarist, anti-English parasites."

Deary me. If this is what NO to independence means, I'm happy to say YES.

LOL Person of Albion seems to endorse the YES vote too, a shame he won't be voting for it

# Thee Forsaken One 2012-02-03 15:34
It's depressing but slightly amusing too when you read the posts on there. It is truly a place full of bigots and fools, but it is also sad to see just how badly misinformed people can be. How they can pretend they have nothing to do with the BNP is hilarious though.

Surprised they didn't go for Nation First for a name. Its initials would certainly fit their members.

# pa_broon74 2012-02-03 15:48
Gosh!

I've had a skim of that site and do you know, I'm finally having a rethink... I mean, I missed lunch so was going to have a kitkat from the machine, but now, I fancy a Double Decker instead.

On the question of the SDL/Britain first thing: swivel-eyed lunatics, they're all nothing beyond a good example for sons and daughters of what not to bring home to meet the parents.

Meh.

# .Scot 2012-02-03 16:28
When Gary Raikes boasted, in 2009 on the BNP website that the BNP was helping veterans by auctioning off 2 copies of Andy McNab's books (a BNP attempt to link itself to 'Help For Heroes' charity), McNab said; "I was sick to the stomach, when I was told about the BNP stunt. I served with men of all colours and from many nationalities. They were all equal to me. That’s what the army teaches you. The BNP thinks differently. … I’ve asked for my books back. I don’t want anything to help the BNP promote their poisonous politics of segregation and hatred.”

Well I guess so to does the campaign to thwart Scottish democracy? More than just anti-Scottish bigotry Jonah Lummey.

# Angus 2012-02-03 16:50
I read the following on their site. Wonder if the Police would be intrested?
Quote from the British resistance, quoting 'Blue Patriot'
However, under no circumstances will the Prostestant people of Scotland or Northern Ireland give up British rule. Not without bloodshed. Fat Blubber chops Salmond is posturing around the Island just now waiving manifestos and "cracking down on sectarianism" aided by the Scottish mafia press.

It is time for us now, those loyal to the Crown, to rise. We have had enough! And as far as your anti-English statement goes, I would disagree. There are always numpties in the "Tartan Army" who may rattle their jaws. It's non-sense. Salmond may have the upper hand just now - that will change.

# edinburghdave 2012-02-03 19:57
I'm not so sure we should be cheering the appearance of these grade A nutjobs. The problem with this lot arriving on the scene is that it stifles any constructiver debate about English identity and English self determination. I believe that the creation of an solely English parliament is just as important as our vote for Independance.

# .Scot 2012-02-03 18:37
I may example the British State Party broadcaster which has (on three occasions over the past weeks) carried suggestions and jokes about Mr Salmond meeting an untimely death with a bus.

• The fear of Scotland being the Beacon-of-fairness.

• The UK losing it's VETO powers in Europe.

• SLab & SLibs dumping their 2011 manifesto promises.

• Tory, SLab &SLib being exposed as anti-Scottish.

• Miliband & Cameron being neutered as leaders.

• Osborne ordered "Stay quiet on Scotland".

• Labour's Tweets Tzar forced out & Tory energy secretary stands down.

• UK double-dip recession to arrive in the spring.

• England will be freed by Scot's YES vote.

• UK withdrawal from Afghanistan before referendum

• UK to prepare for war with Iran before 2014 referendum.

The whole referendum thing throws Britain's plans for the future into utter chaos so it should not surprise us that the only reply from the NO campaign is (and will be) hatred and vitriol.

# taimoshan 2012-02-03 19:48
Went to that foul British Resistance site.
Decided to comment and as soon as i hit the reply button it came up with my user name and allowed me to enter a comment. How did this happen i've never been on the site before and certainly didnt sign on or register or anything! Comment not printed yet!

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-02-03 20:33
Me too taimoshan, freaked me out and I left without commenting. Not sure there's any point anyway, nutters like that are a lost cause. As someone else has already said, one visit and you feel like you need a shower.

# red kite 2012-02-03 20:24
I have to say, I've thought for a long time that the far right will make progress in England, in the near to medium future.
The thing is that there is no proper alternative in England. The 3 "main" parties are one of a muchness. At least they used to have the Monster Raving Loony party as a valve for frustrations, but I haven't heard much of them for a while. There is a serious amount of nasty racist bigot stuff in some areas - I get all the email "jokes" from family there - that is not addressed. Actually maybe it is addressed, by all ConLibLab, but in recent years they are stoking the flames by pandering to those elements. History showed us how easy it is for bigots to attract support by preaching hate.
We do not have that problem in Scotland, for various reasons. But English politics is wide open to that radical element.
Our traditions of tolerance, co-operation and concensus must be respected and kept in mind over the next few years, and used to combat any signs of extremism that appear from any corner.

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-02-03 20:44
Red kite, how do you respond to the 'jokes'? There is a woman in my office who spent a lot of years down south and doesn't seem to realise what a racist bigot she's become. She insists on forwarding 'jokes' she gets from her old pals and I've tried to tell her gently that I don't appreciate them - in return she just laughs and tells me if I'd had to live there I'd understand! Now the 'jokes' have moved on from being about Muslims, Poles.. you name it... to being about'jocks' - and she doesn't bat an eyelid. What do you say to people like that?

# red kite 2012-02-03 21:16
Like yourself I used to try make gentle comments, and I tried to make some easy comments of my own, in a positive way.
But it's like spitting against the wind, it goes nowhere. I've resisted having an outright argument with him. He's a former Glasgow man, but won't come back here. Totally convinced that "the country" is being taken over by immigrants. It's the company he keeps, the newspapers he reads, and maybe some sort of subconcious desire to fit in with the locals by bonding against the outsiders.
I routinely delete all these "jokes".
I'm not sure what the answer is. Maybe a better person would confront him with it, but I really don't feel my occassional conversations would win his understanding against the daily stuff that he is open to.

# freeussoon 2012-02-03 21:17
I think that you just have to stand your ground and tell her you feel uncomfortable with these jokes.

I recently had to deal with something similar and had to stop it before it got too far.....Try it,but be diplomatic too!!!

# Ard Righ 2012-02-03 22:04
"..David Cameron was based upon the fact that the Conservative Prime Minister is English, and Labour MP Tom Harris who claimed that independence supporters bearing placards saying "End London rule" were propagating an "anti-English" message." - Despite that slogan being used when Brown was in power! Talk about short straws and projection, "End London Rule" is as close as you can get to the mob mentality that is pertinently accurate and also supports the English! ...and the Cornish, Manx, Cymraic, Gaelic, Norse.

End imperialism.

This laughable article illustrates the plight that is 300 years old. An unelected party speaking for Scots and Scotland as Britain - the head of that colonial branch is ermmmm English.
Same sxxx different assxxxxx.

Maybe we could could start by extending the vote for the SNP down to the ancient Sasunnach border, Chester, Derby, Scarborough!

It important to remember that the ancient Gaelic name for Britain is "Alba", though in the post braveheat idiocy, it is seen to mean Scotland.

Lets take back our island!

# Ken500 2012-02-03 22:26
Angus 15.50

Rhetoric remarkably the same as the postings on some MSM newspaper postings.

Tell them the 'jokes' aren't funny, but offensive.

# Bonny Prince Charlie 2012-02-04 00:11
Och Ey! Don't we recall 'those right wingers of yore' who decimated and disenfranchised Scotland and its people with the likes of chopping a queen's head off (Mary Queen of Scots), The Clearances where crofters and tenant farming folk were bludgeoned out of house and home (ethnic cleansing) with a preference that sheep should hold sway particularly in the highlands and isles? I reckon the SNP has a marvellous mandate to right historic wrongs.

# maxstafford 2012-02-04 00:37
My post might have been accepted if I hadn't ended it with the letters 'FTU'!

# maxstafford 2012-02-04 00:50
I've often thought that if it hadn't surfaced in Germany, National Socialism would have risen in England. I'm seriously hoping for a lottery win so I can up sticks and make the ten mile trip over the border to a new place on the right side of the line!

# Angus 2012-02-04 00:52
Quoting taimoshan:
Went to that foul British Resistance site.
Decided to comment and as soon as i hit the reply button it came up with my user name and allowed me to enter a comment. How did this happen i've never been on the site before and certainly didnt sign on or register or anything! Comment not printed yet!

Same with me, they are a fascist group, and they come across as being thick and / or mentaly unstable.

# Shug MacTamson 2012-02-04 16:11
Try this site - enjoy the comments :-)
www.britainfirst.org/.../[/url

# Kinghob 2012-02-04 01:22
I love the odd swear word Max, but we don't need to adopt the kindergarten rhetoric of the gang mentality to make a slogan that is positive........ftu made me laughnas an irony of the divide and rule thing of the union right enough, particularly how it might pertain to a part of west coast Scotland.

On topic, you should watchthe two f ers (foulkes and Forsyth) and their sad rhetoric in the lots online: the hero of an English Lord who took them to task for their blatant nasty sloganeering and name calling is a cracker.....I will google this guy as he told the two F ers that they were being arrogant and using childish terms that werent required to make the point.

And I loved how he stated that the people the two F ers railed against didn't have right of repley in the lords.

folks reckoned the SCottish Government did have the opportunity to attend the lords but they decline........I would be interested to know the terms required for this.

If it was to be Lords summons Alex Sslmond I could see the reluctance.............if it was a right to reply then that is different.

# Kinghob 2012-02-04 01:30
Alcohol and spell checker on an iPad are Pish combinations when you try to make a point in public!

I had to correct even that sentence above twice!

# maxstafford 2012-02-04 01:53
@Kinghob. Aye, you're right there. We don't need to descend to their level, it was just the Cabernet Sauvignon talking! Irony is rather wasted on their sort. Living just the other side of the Debatable Lands, I've only really been engaged with this great debate in the last couple of weeks, such is the paucity of information this side of the border. This is really a kind of apprenticeship for me as I begin to learn exactly what's going on, but rest assured I'm 100% behind the YES vote and I only wish I could get back 'in country' in time to have my own vote!

# Caledonia67 2012-02-05 12:19
There's a page on Facebook that's dedicated to highlighting the SDL's activities and their alliance with the North West Infidels and North East Infidels. Members of the SDL travelled down to an Infidel demo in Rochdale, Lancashire yesterday. There are 3 SDL demos planned in the coming months, Glasgow on the 25th February, Edinburgh on the 26th of May and a Dundee one that's planned for an unknown (as yet) date in May. My guessing is it'll be the first or second Saturday as they are unlikely to hold it a week apart from the Edinburgh one. They will be busing up NWI, NEI and members of the EDL self-confessed, paramilitary group known as the Combined Ex Forces or CxF, to boost the SDL's numbers.

More info can be found here: www.facebook.com/.../

# enneffess 2012-02-05 18:07
The paragraph:

"....mainstream anti-independence parties who now find themselves in the same camp as extreme right wing political organisations."

So, the implication is that the unionists are siding with this bunch of nutters? Badly written methinks.

No-one is going to pay a blind bit of notice to the morons who have set up that campaign. In fact, I'd be more concerned that the domestic violence organisation may be unaware of someone hijacking their name.

Has anyone from Newsnet contacted the organisation?

# Angus 2012-02-06 12:04
This is what the unionists are reduced to. Bully boy white supremists.
Will help to do their campaign a lot of damage.

# CliveYoung 2012-02-22 16:24
If you are going to be a unionist, you have to accept some strange bedfellows.

As someone pointed out earlier, the 'socialist' Morning Star ran a rather dim-witted leader last month "United we are stronger", exactly the same self-serving and patronisingly reactionary message Cameron is peddling.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments