by a Newsnet reporter

New Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont has dragged her party to a new poll low of 23 per cent – dramatically down on even the worst performances of her failed predecessors Iain Gray, Wendy Alexander and Jack McConnell whose lowest points were 25 per cent, 29 per cent and 27 per cent respectively.

The latest poll analysis shows Johann Lamont has recorded the lowest level of party support for a Scottish Labour leader as well as the greatest ever poll deficit for the Labour party with a deficit of -26% behind the SNP.

Ms Lamont's polling deficit dwarfs comparisons with previous Labour leaders.  Even Iain Gray managed to poll better than Ms Lamont is managing.  Shortly before the last Holyrood elections, Labour under Iain Gray was polling a defict of 18%.  Wendy Alexander's worst rating was -14%, whereas Jack McConnell dropped to -16% a few days before he announced his resignation.

Just over one month into the job as Labour leader, Ms Lamont has failed to energise or enthuse Labour's dwindling support base.  Voters are increasingly abandoning a Johann Lamont led Labour party which has hitched itself to the Tory-inspired anti-independence wagon and continued with negative attacks.  Support for the SNP is touching 50% whilst Labour is on a historic low of 23%.   This is 9% down on their Holyrood election result when the party polled its worst result in decades.

A Holyrood election based on these figures would result in Labour retaining just one constituency MSP.  Among the constituencies which would be won by the SNP are those of current and former Labour leaders Johann Lamont and Iain Gray.  The poll shows that there is now no such thing as a safe seat for Labour in Scotland.  

Projections from the most recent IPSOS Mori poll would give the SNP an increase of four Holyrood seats to 73, Labour would lose 8 seats.

With local elections due in 3 months time, the outlook for Labour is looking bleak.  The party is faced with the very real prospect of losing control of former bastions like Glasgow and North Lanarkshire.  This would have been unthinkable just a few short years ago, and some commentators have expressed doubt that Ms Lamont's leadership would be able to survive such catastrophic losses.  With a marked lack of experience and talent on the party's benches, it is difficult to see how the party could recover.

Commenting Christina McKelvie, SNP MSP for Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse, said:

"Not only has Scottish Labour slumped to an all-time low of 23%, but the poll deficit under Johann Lamont is the worst of the three previous Scottish Labour leaders. Based on this poll she would even lose her own constituency, along with former leader Iain Gray.

"This is a consequence of the Labour party's on-going negativity and support for David Cameron's anti-independence campaign.

"As this analysis shows, support for Labour has been steadily decreasing. The party's constant negativity and convergence on the constitution and economy is seeing Scottish voters abandoning them in their droves.

"It is not a coincidence that after Ed Miliband said he agreed '100%' with the Tories on Scotland's future the party has slumped nine points since last year's Holyrood elections.

"But it isn't just the Scottish Labour leader facing poll misery as Clegg, Miliband and Cameron are all in the same situation.

"The people of Scotland are saying loud and clear they do not want Westminster meddling and negativity from the anti-independence parties.

"Instead they are responding to the hard work of the SNP Government with 58% of Scots satisfied with the performance of the First Minister, getting a positive poll rating of +22."

Comments  

# govanite 2012-02-05 01:19
No surprise, poverty is the lifeblood of the labour party. Without poverty they are nothing. They will never ever address the pressing issues of Scotland's poor. They have been found out.

# fifeslim 2012-02-05 01:31
This is great news for the SNP, not so great for Scotland as we really need an effective opposition to bring out the best in Government. When we are independent we will need people from all political viewpoints to be able to effectively communicate their arguments, both within and outwith parliament.

The opposition parties, and Labour in particular, are letting down the people of Scotland with their juvenile brand of playground politics.

It's time for them to grow up and abandon the petty smears, to address the policy issues and put forward credible, well-thought out alternatives. Then, we may have a sensible debate about what is best for Scotland.

# pictic-1 2012-02-05 03:15
OK, if I've understod you it's SNP in government and the indies as the effective opposition.

Labour's in the process of being cremated, the lib-dems are sh*ting themselves and the cons are thinking of opening an enclosure at the Edinburgh zoo to show off an endangered species - a conservative.

Could be worse I suppose.

# alicmurray 2012-02-05 02:09
The Scottish people are never going to forget the spectacle of Labour.party peers like Foulkes, O'Neill, Browne etc selling their country and countrymen's future for £300 a day.

These people are supposed to be the political elite. These are the representatives of a country threatening the Argentine and Iran and forcing tax payers money on India as aid when they have refused it. God help us all.

# BillDunblane 2012-02-05 02:25
As you sow, so shall you reap.

Despite the best efforts of the BBC and the 'Scottish' press. Or perhaps because of....

# patrickotic 2012-02-05 02:35
I recommend everyone to watch 'First Ministers Question Time' from Thursday and watch Johann Lamont reading out both the original question then the follow up responses. She reads in a strange robot like voice glancing shiftily down at her pre-written script.
It's a complete joke and it shows how 'controlled' she is.

I think this is a good point to get over to the undecided voters. Tell them to watch Johann and ask them who they think writes these scripts and then ask if they don't think we need politicians who have their own mind and who speak from the heart rather than a script.

# mudfries 2012-02-05 10:36
I watch it every week on sky Patrickotic, Salmond wipes the floor with the other party leaders every time especially the labour leader, But! by the time you see it on the evening news the BBC always edit it to make it look like lamont etc have held their own! and lead into the story with the usuall "Salmond slammed" and "SNP attacked for..." its really pathetic, the BBC must have people working on this kind of stuff full time for the effort they put in, A Propaganda department!

# patrickotic 2012-02-05 02:36
Oh by the way, lovely picture of Johann there !

# curley bill 2012-02-05 20:22
I trust you are being ironic.
If not, I suggest going to a psychiatrist or SpecSavers...

# Louperdowg 2012-02-05 07:10
A Holyrood election based on these figures would result in Labour retaining just one constituency MSP.

That seems a bit on the high side.

# RJBH 2012-02-05 09:25
A major problem for Labour... once they loose what was once theirs... theres a mountain to climb to get it back.. I a Labour voter for almost 40 years, along with many others know that once one have turned towards the SNP... one needs a very good reason to return to the fold...and of course when one is offered only a series of dismal Jimmies with no vision other than.."We are stronger together." right now its clear there is no quality leadership from any of the unionist .. Murphy and Alexander dont really give a toss for Scotland other than using Scotland as a vehicle for their London careers.

# UpSpake 2012-02-05 09:53
Labour have for too long languished in the pit of negativity and they have also reached the bottom of the barrel in terms of talent. For me FMQ's is now a joke. In fact if we abandoned it altogether who would really miss it ?.
Good debate it is not, set piece banal questions it surely is. A beacon of progessive and dymanic politics it surely is not and all the while we waltz towards a one party state.
That to me, quite apart from the 'quality' of the politicians we have, is the most worrying.

# Marga B 2012-02-05 12:45
One day I'd like someone with authority to call a halt to or question the format of this pantomime.

It doesn't do the gravitas of the SNP any good either and feeds the gossip columns. Do they do these things better in any other parliament?

# tartanpigsy 2012-02-05 19:55
Quoting Marga B:
One day I'd like someone with authority to call a halt to or question the format of this pantomime.

It doesn't do the gravitas of the SNP any good either and feeds the gossip columns. Do they do these things better in any other parliament?

agreed Marga, our "new" parliament presented an opportunity for a more progressive style of debate,

unfortunately the playground politics witnessed at westminster seem to be all that the CoLaDems can produce.

The conclusion is that we'll have to wait until post Independence and the establishment of 'new' political parties for any progress to be made,
sad, but looking inevitable at the moment.

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-05 09:56
Just because Labour are moribund doesn't mean the fight for Scotlands Indpendence is won, far from it.

Propaganda from BBC "Scotland", "S"TV and the "Scottish" press is fast becoming the Union's last stand. The paper tiger spoksperons fronting for the Union now, are just the expected cannon fodder. The Black Arts are what the FUD's pin all hope on.

It will take a lot of work to deck every lie, distortion and spin they will pour out. Expect a frenzy of mad fury and filth from that quarter.

# tartanfever 2012-02-05 10:06
Really good news all round. Funny how the polls tend to show a completely different picture from the headlines of our so-called newspapers.

Think it's time we started putting the pressure on Lamont, Davidson and Rennie - the Curly,Larry and Moe of Scottish politics.
AS and the referendum under constant attack, isn't it about time that the attack was turned on to them and they started to focus on what their policies actually are ?

Where is 'Home Rule' on Rennies agenda ? Does he support student fees and would they be implemented under a Lib Dem Scotland ?

Will Lamont get rid of Trident or not, as she once supported some years ago ? Just why weren't the Labour Party Leader election results published for all to see ? How would Labour policies in Scotland differ from their Westminster counterparts ?

Davidson - well, anything Cameron does, we know she will follow suit as per instructions. So lets ask her about the possibilities of council tax rises ? Does she support the Queen getting a new Royal Yacht ? Where does she stand on Europe ?

Since all of these three 'leaders' have come into power I've heard plenty of rhetoric but absolutely zero policy from any of them.

# Froster 2012-02-05 10:45
Quoting tartanfever:
Will Lamont get rid of Trident or not, as she once supported some years ago ? Just why weren't the Labour Party Leader election results published for all to see ? How would Labour policies in Scotland differ from their Westminster.

Labour don't need policies anymore. Lamont has a vision! I'd be disappointed if she had to step down if they get wiped out at the council elections. Lamont is an invaluable asset to the independence campaign.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-05 16:46
The trouble is that it is only FMQs. The others do not have to answer any questions - and they never do.

# Macart 2012-02-05 10:11
Basically they are where they deserve to be. All the rhetoric since last May's election result and they have still failed to grasp the opportunity provided. They even had an open goal provided by the FM himself. If you are honestly listening to the people of Scotland and you still believe in the union, then get behind FFA. We want change, we are ready for change, we are telling all parties in Scotland that the current settlement is not fit for our needs or aspirations. Had this 'Party of the People' actually been listening to the people they may still have been a believable force in Scottish politics. Their blind obediance to Westminster's wishes is quite rightly proving their undoing.

They've made their bed, they can lie in it.

# edinburgh quine 2012-02-05 10:24
Wow, the second great poll within a week. Fantastic!

# Suomi 2012-02-05 10:33
Encouraging but (apart from the local elections in May) the next elections are some distance away.Let us hope that this polling predicts that the SNP can reduce labours footprint on local authorities in May since that was where they got a lot of their strength.

Regarding the longer term,labour will struggle unless they find better leadership and a positive message.Actually their best strategy for recovery would be to support Scottish indepenence.That is a dream but it would be wonderful if labour joined with the pro-indepence side of the debate,instead of supporting those who fight tooth and nail to restrict the transfer of decision making powers to Scotland.Polls come and go but my guess is that labour will continue to have a hard task unless they waken up.

# Saltire Groppenslosh 2012-02-05 10:48
It is perhaps time to start connecting with traditional Labour voters. A lot of them may feel disenfranchised at the moment and ready to look at their personal politics.

They will be feeling that the Labour Party have sold them down the river with their policy of assenting to ConDem austerity measures along with a whole range of "alignment" policies.

There are core values that cross the floor such as socialist values that are at the core of the SNP. It would be useful to use the values that connect us to pose arguments that first they would listen to and secondly consider and act on.

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-05 11:25
I fully agree Saltire.
I've lost count of the number of Labour minded people I've talked with who are
questioning the downfall of Labour core purposes.

People who voted Labour all their life seem to me to have done so because they believed Labour were a left center socialist party. Now in unstopable numbers they are questioning what the purpose of todays Labour is, and what they expect them to be doing.

Strangely Jimmy Reid comes into conversation regularly, he is of course held in high regard. When pointed out to them that he infact died an SNP member, it seems to lighten their grasp on todays Labour considerably more.

# Marga B 2012-02-05 12:48
Someone said here that the recent rise in Liberal voters in some polls can only be explained by refugee Labour votes.

So they're already on the move - can it be so difficult to move them that bit further?

# Vincent McDee 2012-02-05 10:52
With many thanks to Mr. John Jappy for the recent data.

I love to tell you:

At the end of 2003 the SNP had 9,450 members.

At the end of 2010 16,232 (70% increase)

We made over 21,000 last week.

An increase of more than 5,000 since the Recruiting Sergeant Major Cameron begun to help.

Please join me in wishing him to keep up the good work.

Go Cameron!

# Alx1 2012-02-05 12:22
Hi Vincent,

I was waiting for an excuse to ask about the SNP membership total.

As I understand it, the SNP total membership was around 20500 at the end of last year, 2011.
When that certain member of the bullinton club opened his arrogant mouth the membership jumped around 7% about 2 weeks ago, 1400.
So I make the membership of the SNP around 22000-23000! Hopefully a lot more now.

Anybody out there know the real total?

# Vincent McDee 2012-02-05 12:41
Very good question Alx1.

I cited those precise figures from a contribution by John Jappy in the latest Scots Independent, as the previous I had was not (the total):

Sat, 14/01/2012 - 09:12 snp.org/.../...

"The SNP has this week seen an unprecedented surge in party membership following David Cameron’s blundering intervention into Scottish politics on Sunday.

Party chiefs confirmed that 784 new members had joined the SNP since last weekend, boosting party membership by 4% in just 5 days.

At the end of 2011 the SNP announced it had a record 20,000 members. (See: snp.org/.../...) Two weeks later, the figure is touching 21,000."

As I understand the method for quantification, new arrivals get added inmediately, but the departures (normally by death of the member) are deducted in arrears when communicated.

It can make the exact figure change daily.

In any case, the fact is it's soaring like a rocket lately.

# balbeggie 2012-02-05 12:50
Peter Murrell tweeted this last week:

PeterMurrellPet er Murrell

@grahame_case @nmq_edi a total of 1,843 new SNP members between 8-31 Jan, so a rise of 9% in just 3 weeks. www.snp.org/join #indyref

3 Feb

# Vincent McDee 2012-02-05 13:01
Thanks Balbeggie. I was retouching my previous when I noticed yours, before adding: Peter Murrel "shurly" knows.

PS: I've just been told about this by Georgie Thomson, Falkirk Councillor: snp-falkirk.org/.../... The SNP is ending a historic year for the party on a high with a record 20,139 card carrying members, more than Labour and the Liberal Democrats put together.

The final membership figures for 2011 show membership has increased by an astonishing 3,907 over the last 12 months.

Members across the country have been set the challenge of doubling membership from 18,000 in May to 36,000 by the time of the referendum on Independence."

We seem to be in the way. Adding balbeggie's 1,843 to 20,139 the total reaches:

Scarcely 14,000 to go /;-()

# mulder123 2012-02-05 16:22
RE snp membership.There is a facebook page called "Americans supporting an independent Scotland".There are Americans of Scots descent actually joining the snp.This fight,and the message,is spreading like wildfire. The diaspora are doing a job for us..believe me, they are just as passionate about this as we are.The only pity is that they do not have a vote.

# Matrix 2012-02-05 11:34
Hi Fellow Scots either by birth or by common dream. I have been watching for a while from the sidelines whilst posting regularly on the "enemy" sites of the Scotsman Mail and Telegraph to try to redress the journalistic imbalance. I am an expat. My construction company in Scotland mid contact had its funding withdrawn without warning due to the Labour instituted bank crisis. Yes I say instituted because it was institutional failure caused in the office of the iron chancellor, the prudent chancellor along with his advisers Balls, Mrs Balls, and Ed Milliband along with the its OK to be obscenely rich Mandy who forced me to lay off 14 of my friends from one of the tightest housebuilding teams in the country. I left our shores with two young kids and ever suffering wife to try to get some labouring work in Belgium where the government were ameliorating the crisis by investing in infrastructure projects. Unfortunately, Belgium decided to survive without a government for more than a year and I couldn't get a job emptying bins. Yes there was work on the side but this gave no health benefits which were a necessary must with two small children. Our savings had mostly gone trying to keep the business afloat in Scotland until times got better and we have ended up living from the part time income earned in a cleaning job of my wife which at least gave us the necessary to survive along with the health insurance for the kids. I swore to never set foot in the country again until Scotland was independent. When the SNP won their first election I was outside Charleston primary school in Dundee at 7am to vote for Joe Fitzpatrick. It was probably the first vote in Dundee on what became an historic 24 hours. I missed all the fun last year but got it all on internet. I will not be allowed to vote in the referendum and dare not come back before it is won because I will never pay another cent into a UK exchequer which literally through me and mine to the wolves. This may appear that I am not engaging. If and when the referendum is successful I would be happy to work for minimum wage for the rest of my working life building social housing for my people or if I am lucky to pay 50% of my income into the Edinburgh exchequer to pay for less fortunate people but I cannot keep moving my wife and kids around on the whims of wannabeeatlondo ntrough politicians who each generation look more and more like a slapped a**e. There has been a lot of talk of antiscottish in the last 10 days. I believe the SNP are looking closely at the 1707 Act of Union. I am not a lawyer , I am an engineer. But I do not need to be a lawyer or engineer to know that water will always flow to its lowest point. Unionist politicians will also all flow to their lowest point. Westminster. It is their nature. By definition the Scottish SNP governments lowest point is Edinburgh. Lets pull the plug on the unionists. Let them float off to there septic Westminster pit and let the Edinburgh parliament fill and overflow with servants of Scotland. There are thousands like me who will already have tickets booked and new homes reserved as soon as we know the date. Thank you for the sterling effort you and your readers are putting in getting the message across.

# snowthistle 2012-02-05 12:28
Welcome Matrix, and thanks for your post, it's very moving

# Marga B 2012-02-05 12:56
Matrix - also from Europe, the state of things here makes what the SNP are fighting to preserve even more urgent. All the very best to you and your family.

# Macart 2012-02-05 13:27
Welcome Matrix. A tale we hear only to often. I've left Scotland a couple of times myself in order to find work. Never again.

We're going to have change this time whether they like it not. Keep the faith. :)

# FREEDOM1 2012-02-05 13:29
Very well put Matrix I entirly agree. Roll on Independence. 'Yes'

# scotswhahae 2012-02-05 13:49
Hi Matrix & welcome

I too am an avid reader,as opposed to getting involved in debate, however I just had to reply to your "from the heart post" I hope that come 2014, we will see you & your likes back in the land of the FREE...Like you I would rather work for less & be poor in my own country than hold my hand out for the pittance offered by Westminster..

# mudfries 2012-02-05 14:37
A good and moving post matrix, I look forward to the day when you will come back home to a Nation with its destiny in its own hands and make your contribution. I myself am a self employed builder and things are really bad out there just now, I dont know where I'm going to be from one week to the next, but if any of you have the time go and take a look at "The Construction Enquirer" (Wish I could do a link! I'm not that great on the computer) its an free online trade magazine, go to their main page and click on - Subbie Hunter, it gives you a long list of all the sites in the UK, notice where all the jobs are? hundreds of sites on the go in the south east worth Millions, the further north you go the less and less sites you'll see that are dealing in less and less money, That tells anybody all they need to know about the way the "UK" is run.

# Alx1 2012-02-05 18:53
mudfries,

Links are easy, trust me if I can do them so can you.

Simply go to the adress bar at the top of any page you are viewing aim the pointer (cursor) on the address and left click your mouse once!
Once the address is highlighted you then right click your mouse and select copy. You can also right click to select all and it will highlight all in that address bar.
Afer that you just choose where you want to put the link, like here! Just simply right click your mouse and click on paste, your link will appear where your cursor is.

Example from the top of this page;
newsnetscotland.com/.../...

Have a wee practice and post the link on a word document or something! Enjoy linking :-))

Btw I hope business picks up for you and Matrix.

# pictic-1 2012-02-05 15:24
From another European ex-pat to you - well done and spot-on. I know how you feel.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-05 17:03
Hi,Martrix,
Hope to see you in Scotland soon. I have only one ambition left - to live in a free Scotland, I've waited a long, long time but I think I'm going to make the afterlife as a Free Scot - Scot Free.

# Matrix 2012-02-05 20:48
Thanks for all your welcomes.I hope to get to know many of my brothers and sisters in arms.

# Wee-Scamp 2012-02-05 12:38
Joan McAlpine has just Tweeted the following:

SundayTimes poll: independence 47% just 6% behind union in 2way choice - so 3pt swing changes everything. Indie beats status quo & devo max

# scottish_skier 2012-02-05 13:23
Some more info on that poll:

huffingtonpost.co.uk/.../...

# Alx1 2012-02-05 14:34
Hi SS,

I see the Huffy post are not allowing comments on this article. It must be because its a positive story and they can't get the rabid anti Scots to bite.
I wonder if the Canadian owners know what their London office is doing in their name?
The Huffy post is rapidly going down hill with its anti Scottish spin stories.

# jasp303 2012-02-05 13:44
SNP media centre - "Surge in support for independence and SNP"

snp.org/.../...

# balbeggie 2012-02-05 13:51
"which puts support for independence at 47 per cent, compared to 53 per cent opposition – and finds that support for the SNP is at a high of 50 per cent. An Ipsos MORI poll last week put SNP support at 49 per cent.

The poll puts SNP support at 50 per cent in the constituency vote for the Scottish Parliament, compared to 29 per cent for Labour, and 14 per cent for the Tories.

Compared to last year’s election, SNP support is up 5 points, and Labour are down 3 points. SNP seats at Holyrood would increase from 69 to 71, while the Lib Dems would slump from 5 to 3.

In terms of net satisfaction ratings, this is the first poll to ask about attitudes towards all Holyrood and Westminster leaders – and finds that Alex Salmond’s ratings are hugely positive, and he is the only leader north or south of the Border with a positive figure:

Alex Salmond: +17%David Cameron: -43%Ed Miliband: -41%Nick Clegg: -54%Johann Lamont: -18%Ruth Davidson: -32%Willie Rennie: -27%

The poll also finds that people are enthusiastic about the positive impact independence would have on Scotland’s national life.

More than twice as many people (42%) think that an independent Scotland would be good for the nation’s health than think it would be bad (17%); and they are also very positive about education (47% compared with 19%). Seven times as many (64%) say independence would have a positive effect on Scottish culture than a negative effect (9%), and three times as many (59%) say it would be good for Scottish confidence rather than bad (19%).

Exactly half of Scots believe that independence would be positive for the environment while 15% think the opposite, and more than a quarter (27%) say it would cut crime while 17% think it could rise.

On the question of whether people think they would be at least £500 better off with independence, 72 per cent think they would be better off or it would make little difference (18% and 54% respectively), while only 28 per cent think they would be worse off.

When the three constitutional options are asked alongside each other, independence is the most popular:

Independence: 37%Status quo: 33%Devo-max: 30%"

# Nautilus 2012-02-05 13:10
Apropos of nothing, or maybe Labour's demise. Do you want to live in a state as described in an article in the BMJ? Stick with the Union and you might just!

The article was published on the 20th Dec 2011.
FEATURE: CHRISTMAS 2011: FOOD FOR THOUGHT.
Title: ‘The assault on universalism: how to destroy the welfare state.’
Authors: Martin McKee and David Stuckler.

xa.yimg.com/.../...

It describes an American style of welfare that successive governments in Westminster have been dragging us towards.

Note how it compares the Scandinavian system of welfare with the American one, how the government-supporting press is trying to divide and rule by setting the working poor against the ‘undeserving’ poor, and how Cameron’s ‘Big Society’ will probably work with donors to charities selecting according to their whims or prejudices who gets help.

Very readable.

PS Please let me know if the link worked. If not, try the title

# scotswhahae 2012-02-05 13:51
It worked, interesting read..

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-05 14:56
The link worked. Of particular interest was the conclusion "Will the British people allow the welfare state to be dismantled? Not yet. But the situation could easily change". I think the situation will change. It will change when the British people who won't allow it vote for independence from the British people who will. We'll keep it, they'll lose it, and they'll be able to look across the border and see what they've lost (just as now, but more so).

# rhymer 2012-02-05 13:12
So La Mont Blank is the lowest-rated labour leader to date.
Not exactly a big surprise as her robotic demeanour and her script-reading skills leave a lot to be desired in a politician.
If the SNP make big gains at the council elections I cannot see her surviving the year out. BUT who will replace her if she is considered to be the best of the bunch.
Geez! That will be a fun election
(Kamakazi political position available for the right candidate)

# Concerned Scot 2012-02-05 13:27
Worth noting that Glasgow Labour councillor Andy Muir has announced his resignation from the party. he will presumably remain as an independent until May.

# Concerned Scot 2012-02-05 13:28
McMuir Andy Muir
@ @Andrew4Glasgow
Thanks Andrew.
I can no longer continue to take the labour whip when labour don't want me and I don't believe their vision
22 hours ago

# Highland Tiger 2012-02-05 13:39
O/T

I think John Swinney missed out on 2 opportunities on today’s BBC's Politics programme to tell folk how strong Scotlands financial position is in actual figures, when he failed to mention the difference between what Scotland receives from Westminster and what it gives to it, and the what could equate to for the man in the street.

If folk think they will be £500 - £1000 better off per year, then I am sure they would be more persuaded to vote for Independence. There are still a lot of folk out there that think we will be worse off, so the SNP have to get that message across every opportunity they get.

# curley bill 2012-02-05 20:57
I've often thought Mr Swinney comes across very poorly in TV and radio interviews. He seems - simply put - too nice.
I'm afraid a cerebral gentleman just doesn't cut it in the media in this age of soundbites.

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-05 22:36
I've yet to see John Swinney lose an agruement.

He has an honest sincerity that scares his opponents, simply because he knows what he is talking about, and we ordinary people like that. You don't need to hammer flat opposition, when you can justify your case and let them make fools of themselves without any help.

It may be that Mr Swinney does not fire out meaningless soundbites for a useless media, but he is exactly what Westminster don't have, a steady hand at the economic helm. He is a man more understated than some, but he is certainly more understood and appreciated when the going gets tough.

# Arraniki 2012-02-05 13:54
Pace Nautilus
Title: ‘The assault on universalism: how to destroy the welfare state.’
Authors: Martin McKee and David Stuckler.

Link works ok. See above.

Downloads to pdf file of 6 pages.
Thanks.

# Jim1320 2012-02-05 13:55
I understand although I haven't seen it that the Times has a 47% for 53% against independence poll today. If that is the case then a Yes vote is within a 3% swing. If this continues expect to a hear a sudden silence fall on "we must vote now"

# admiral 2012-02-05 14:09
"If the SNP make big gains at the council elections I cannot see her surviving the year out. BUT who will replace her if she is considered to be the best of the bunch."

He who cannot be named (by his own leader in London), maybe?

# Jim1320 2012-02-05 14:16
If they lose Glasgow her position will be uncomfortable that is for sure.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-05 15:04
From the girning she does, she seems to find most positions uncomfortable. Piles, I expect.

# Alx1 2012-02-05 14:35
I hope the SNP do make massive gains in May and I do hope, nae pray Lamont stays in charge after that!

# Jim1320 2012-02-05 14:46
That would be win win indeed. Ideally the same set of players all round (including Westminster) in the run up to 2014

# gfaetheblock 2012-02-05 15:23
Interesting cherry picking of stats to highlight by NNS.

Looking at the Mori website the headlines are Lamont's low rating (not surprising, as a new leader it will take time to build up from a low base) and the bit that seems to have been missed out in the article above:

'net satisfaction with the First Minister has fallen by 13% since December 2011'

The inference is that Salmond has been driving non SNP supporters away over the last couple of months.

It's an interesting and non partisan read

ipsos-mori.com/.../...

# Jim1320 2012-02-05 15:31
No, support and satisfaction are two separate if linked things. While satisfaction is down support is up to 49%. This means that support for the SNP is not wholly reliant on satisfaction with Salmond and a decline in his still very high satisfaction rating has not driven anyone away - the contrary, as I said, SNP support has risen.

That said if the satisfaction rating was a negative like Lamont's then the two might converge and support bleed away. This is appears to be the case with Lamont with support for Labour at a post war low.

# Louperdowg 2012-02-05 17:40
Gfaetheblock

Can you tell us what you like best about Johann Lamont?

# gfaetheblock 2012-02-05 21:50
Her support for the Union.

I have also found her eloquent and think she has performed pretty well in parliament so far.

To the other poster, I tend not to judge politicians (or in fact any people) on their physical appearance.

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-05 22:52
Sorry g, but you must have a low expectation of what eloquence and performing well is.

I say this without malice, "She is attrocious" as a leader at FMQ's.

# rhymer 2012-02-05 23:12
Quoting gfaetheblock:
I have also found her eloquent and think she has performed pretty well in parliament so far. .

OH C'mon ! She can't even read her script properly.

# Alx1 2012-02-05 19:03
'Build up from a low base' with what? The same negative messages and no policies.
I think that's what got them to the low base in the first place don't you?

# Macart 2012-02-05 22:05
Of course the one thing to remember in almost all current polls is that those with a preference for devo max are lumped in with solid unionist voting. The independence vote is consistently beginning to poll in the 40+% bracket against what is a split vote. If Mr Cameron insists on blocking a devo max vote, I wonder which way a lot of disappointed devo max voters will jump?

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-05 22:46
No more interesting than the cherry picking that the BBC and MSM spew out Ad Nauseam gfaetheblock.

# aiberdeen sheep 2012-02-05 15:37
tinyurl.com/7qae7qz

that poll is very encouraging, i cannot believe folks views on the economy though, it shows that the beebs constant negativity and lies does get through.

Scotland is incredibly wealthy yet the beebs lies day after day, month after month do have an effect and are worrying as it will only get worse.

The quotes from the London parties at the bottom of the article beggar belief.

Cant see this poll anywhere on the bbc site, only some crap about Swinney having to "defend" himself, surprise, surprise.

# rhymer 2012-02-05 17:31
[quote name="aiberdeen sheep"]http://tinyurl.com/7qae7qz
that poll is very encouraging, i cannot believe folks views on the economy though, it shows that the beebs constant negativity and lies get through /quote]

Unfortunately the "too poor" lies seem to resonate with the
Too Stupid.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-05 19:21
Quote:
Unfortunately the "too poor" lies seem to resonate with the
Too Stupid.

I cannot say that anyone who mistakes Scotland as being poor is, in any way stupid. They are, obviously, ignorant that they live in a very rich wee country That, though, is not stupid. If you believe the evidence you see around you and you live among abject poverty and have never been told, or found out anything different. After all one of the places in London with one of the worst UK records of child poverty is none other than The City Of London, the UK's rich financial centre. It is far worse than in Glasgow.

www.4in10.org.uk/

# gus1940 2012-02-05 18:56
Given the current state of The Labour Party in Scotland would it not be valid to hang the expression 'Too Wee, Too Poor and Too Stupid' round their collective necks.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-05 19:26
Quoting gus1940:
Given the current state of The Labour Party in Scotland would it not be valid to hang the expression 'Too Wee, Too Poor and Too Stupid' round their collective necks.

No, of course not. Not when there is ONLY one Tory MP in Scotland, Not when their leadership, (Labours), is so poor but perhaps we could accept too stupid.

# UpSpake 2012-02-05 19:23
Highland Tiger. Agree. Perhaps Mr. Swinney is not as agressive an political animal as Salmond can be. At least Mr. Swinney doesn't conduct an interview, giggling and chuckling all the way through it. Mr. Swinney is the achetypal Bank Manager who has everyone's respect.

# peter,aberdeenshire 2012-02-05 19:36
Lies lies lies!! Did you not see the Sunday post today claiming the great leader Rosa has a cuning plan to topple Salmond by using the old trait of knocking someone successful down,we cant have people in Scotland getting successful and having ideas above our peasant position in life.
Never mind the fact that Labour has just recorded the lowest poll rating ever at 23% it is onward and upward from here on in.
Pretty dire stuff though from the Sunday Post following last weeks portrayal of Johan as the blonde ..... something which I cant remember and cant be ersed looking for.
The ironic thing is there is a tribute to the former editor Bill Anderson who took circulation to over a million compared to the latest figure of 225,000. Well the way the paper is going if it continues with the current line it will continue to follow Labour in the spiral down the proverbial plughole which is tragic.
Really gonna miss Wullie and The Broons...

# derick fae Yell 2012-02-05 23:38
Not often that I agree with a Labourite but in the case of gfaetheblock 2012-02-05 20:50

I do a little.

Johann is no Kate Moss lookalike but she is more eloquent, or to be correct less inarticulate, than Ian Gray with his wee jabby finger and tic.

On the other hand her support for the Union is the same sentimental tosh that Ian had.
Fail.

# Angus 2012-02-07 17:31
I watch the FM question times on YouTube, and you see the stuff that wont get on the State controled broadcasters.
Johann is pretty snappy, and at times you think she may get the better of AS, but then he bounces back and rips her to pieces.
Ruth Davidson doesnt stand a chance when trying to spar with the FM.

# Leswil 2012-02-09 12:21
What about all the media time she gets?
BBC not so subliminal!!

# Leswil 2012-02-09 14:29
The drop in labour support runs a lot deeper than Ms Lamont. It appears that even die hard labour supporters are finally wakening up to the disaster labour has made of Scotland. Just look at the deprived areas, in Glasgow, the child poverty etc etc. There is no doubt the fault lies with labour as the ruled at Westminster for 13 years during which the standards of living have not improved in the least and in fact have sorely declined. Their Westminster politicians are more for towing the UK line of depriving Scotland than improving our lot. Glasgow council also have much to feel guilty about, while they love their quango's and get high earnings for attending these. Sometimes very large sums for attending a quango board for a couple of hours a few times a year.
All while the areas they lord over have record poverty levels.
No, not just Lamont who is useless for Scotland, with her scripted questions and unionist propaganda to blame.
Fact is labour has been rumbled, and will pay the price at the polls.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments