By G.A.Ponsonby

Unionist politicians and their allies in the media have today mounted a concerted campaign against First Minister Alex Salmond following a row over the BBC’s refusal to allow the SNP leader to appear on a rugby programme.

The attacks on Mr Salmond are based on comments he made where he compared the BBC’s London based political adviser Ric Bailey to a ‘Gauleiter’, a term used to describe someone who behaves in a petty and authoritarian manner.

Mr Bailey had blocked a scheduled non-political interview with Mr Salmond that was to have been broadcast hours before the rugby international between Scotland and England.  The London based political adviser overturned an earlier agreement, citing what he described as “heightened tensions” over Scotland’s independence referendum.

The BBC then found itself on the back foot  with a furious First Minister slamming the decision and claiming Mr Bailey had “panicked”.  The First Minister suggested that the BBC were taking guidance from Downing Street and described the situation as something that would be found in a “tin-pot dictatorship”.

However this morning several newspapers, including the Daily Record, the Scotsman and the Herald and many from south of the border were claiming that, by using the term ‘Gauleiter’ Mr Salmond had in fact compared Mr Bailey to a Nazi.

The basis for the claims lie in the origins of the word which refer to a low ranking regional official in German in the 1920’s and 30’s – a period when the nation was under Nazi control.  However the term is now a recognised euphemism for someone who acts in a petty and officious manner and has long since ceased to refer to the era of 1930’s Germany.

Supporters of Mr Salmond have pointed out that only six days ago Telegraph journalist Jeremy Warner himself used the phrase several times in an article on the Greek debt crisis.

In the article entitled ‘Germany has every right to impose a gauleiter on Greece’ Mr Warner wrote: “I'm sorry, but I cannot agree with the general sense of outrage sparked by calls for an EU bureaucrat – or German gauleiter, as depicted in some quarters – to take control of the Greek economy.”

He adds: “What's more, if the austerity continues to cause the economy to contract, the debt burden will just keep on growing, regardless of efforts to cut the deficit or even because of them.  It's a vicious circle.  So even the lash of the German gauleiter won't correct the problem.”

Mr Warner’s article will prove embarrassing to his colleague and well known Salmond critic and BBC Scotland regular Alan Cochrane who, in attacking Mr Salmond for using the same phrase, wrote: “We could be generous and suggest that calling the hapless BBC mandarin a "Gauleiter" displays either an imperfect knowledge of the English language or of 20th century history – or both.

But knowing our Dear Leader as we know, it is entirely possible that he thinks it is perfectly all right for him to liken those who dare to defy him as some kind of Nazi.”

The Scotsman newspaper itself is also facing accusations of rank hypocrisy after it emerged that one of their own journalists had used the term to describe Labour MSP Duncan McNeil.

Six years ago a paragraph of an article read: “We have taken this principled - if unusual - stance because we have been offered only limited rights of access by that Gauleiter of Holyrood's catering facilities, Labour MSP Duncan McNeil.”

Unionist politicians have seized on the misrepresentation with Labour's Patricia Ferguson saying: "What is totally unacceptable, however, is for the First Minister to accuse journalists of occupying the post of a Nazi district leader.  That is an ugly smear."

The Scottish Conservatives also joined Labour with former BBC presenter and new Tory leader Ruth Davidson claiming her former employer had merely stood up to Mr Salmond's bullying, saying: "There is now a disturbing pattern of behaviour emerging from the SNP against anyone who dares to stand up to them.

“It is a completely inappropriate outburst from a man supposed to be running Scotland, and symptomatic of the SNP’s ‘attack mode’ where they try to destroy anyone with whom they disagree.”

The well orchestrated smear campaign will do little to dampen the mounting cynicism in what many are increasingly viewing as a Unionist dominated media in Scotland.  Newspaper sales have plummeted at a higher rate than those south of the border as readers tire of a lack of penetrating and objective analysis and apparent news manipulation.

The row over the BBC’s role in reporting Scottish politics is also threatening to escalate with news that the Scottish Government plan to present concerns to Chair of the BBC Trust Chris Patten.  Included in a list of issues is the behaviour of several BBC reporters over their use of Unionist coined phrases when presenting news and current affairs items.

There are growing concerns amongst many viewers of the role of the broadcaster, in particular the continued use of Unionist leaning pundits and the frequent top-loading of debates where Unionists are allowed more participants than their Nationalist rivals.

The behaviour of the BBC in Scotland is has also led to campaigns from viewers angry at the axing of high quality political and cultural Scottish programmes, including music programme ‘Introducing In’ and the popular ‘Janice Forsyth Show’ as well as Newsweek Scotland.

Last week former BBC Governor Jeremy Peat acknowledged that the BBC needed to improve its coverage of Scottish news.

Comments  

# brh206 2012-02-06 20:57
The BBC just can't be trusted. The reaction from the usual culprits is to be expected, they will talk down AS and Scotland at every opportunity. However, the BBC Scotland branch need to seriously consider their reporting of the news and their approach to politics in this country. They are nothing short of a disgrace.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-06 21:12
I agree. I'm sorry, but at least some people in that BBC building in Pacific Quay, Glasgow will know that democracy is being subverted. They can say nothing, and watch their country Scotland get abused on a daily basis by a London run BBC, or they can choose to speak out.

# GerrySNP 2012-02-07 03:00
Could I say that I believe Patten is an honest man who believes in the Charter of the BBC which covers their professional basis and their political impartiality. I cannot think that he will do other than tell the minions at Pacific Quay that they must behave professionally and with due impartiality in future.
I could be way wrong in this judgment but hope to be proved right.
Its their total lack of professional integrity that we have to attack, not the failures on this or that matter

# Siôn Jones 2012-02-07 11:11
I think you are right. I always thought him the only decent man in Thatcher's cabinet, and he has also behaved decently about the funding of S4C in Wales recently.

# cjmjr 2012-02-06 21:00
How long do the BBC plan to ban Scotlands First Minister from appearing on tv.Will he be allowed on First Ministers Questions on Thursday or does the ban go on untill after the council elections or as far as the Referendum.This is the question all of Scottland are interested in. BBc Scotland have not been informed by London yet hence there silence on the subject.Perhaps BBc London have not had word from Downing street yet. Any information would be gratefully recieved.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-06 21:05
I do sincerely hope Lamont tries the Nazi nonsense at FMQ's, just so we can watch the First Minister wipe the floor with her.

The essence of this article is of course correct, that this frankly ridiculous, and quite pious nonsense about the origins of the word, have been used as a diversionary tactic. Classic spin. Classic propaganda.

# scotsmanc1 2012-02-06 21:12
The article highlights a marked contrast with disgraceful outbursts attacking the First Minister coming from the usual culprits.

When compared with their coverage of the BBC's Jeremy Paxman's remarks when he compared the First Minister with Robert Mugabe on the 26th January, the sound of silence from them was deafening.

Tried to point this out to the Herald this morning but they appear to have binned my comments

Says it all really.

# Sleekit 2012-02-06 23:23
Yesterday I was away to get a subscription to the Herald as I thought they had turned a corner.

This isn't like when you say you intended to do something but really had no intention, I had read 2 reasonable articles which had left me feeling that they were trying to provide balanced coverage.

Needless to say after todays debacle I decided not to contribute financially to a unionist propoganda paper.

# The_Duke 2012-02-06 21:20
Somebody left a cryptic quote or something to that effect that the BBC would be getting their comeuppance very soon. Does anybody know what this was or was I just imagining it?

# Robabody 2012-02-06 21:32
I saw that TD but am none the wiser I'm afraid.

# call me dave 2012-02-07 00:00
I assumed it was a wee pre alert that 'The First Eck' was to challenge the BBC on it's bias.

# TOHILL 2012-02-07 09:51
Quoting The_Duke:
Somebody left a cryptic quote or something to that effect that the BBC would be getting their comeuppance very soon. Does anybody know what this was or was I just imagining it?

Troops!
I saw this comment also a few days back and replied to ask the poster to share with us all what it was that he/she knew (sorry,can't remember their post name) but I am sure that all souls on this site would like to know as soon as possible.
Tohill

# dogbite 2012-02-07 14:51
not sure if it was my post but Angus Robertson MP said that the gagging of Alex Salmond at the rugby match on saturday was the ammunition needed to challenge the bias reporting of BBC Scotland.

# The_Duke 2012-02-07 16:14
Cheers Dogbite, however, someone said in one line, The BBC will be getting whats coming to them very soon. Watch this space. TOHILL I think said tell us more... but he/she didnt come back.... It would be good if you look back at your post history.

# InfrequentAllele 2012-02-06 21:29
Perhaps if Alan Cochrane's own command of the English language was as good as he seems to think it is, he'd have known that the term "gauleiter" is defined by the Oxford English Dictionary as a general term for a bully or a petty official with dictatorial tendencies. The Oxford English dictionary also notes that gauleiter has been used in this sense since 1943. So it's been established in English as a term for a bully for almost 70 years.

# Auld Bob 2012-02-06 23:09
Quoting InfrequentAllel e:
Perhaps if Alan Cochrane's own command of the English language was as good as he seems to think it is, he'd have known that the term "gauleiter" is defined by the Oxford English Dictionary as a general term for a bully or a petty official with dictatorial tendencies. The Oxford English dictionary also notes that gauleiter has been used in this sense since 1943. So it's been established in English as a term for a bully for almost 70 years.

He knows and someone elsewhere quote his own, (Cochrane's), use of the term in one of his own items.

# Lupus Incomitatus 2012-02-06 21:29
The RevStu blog has this very interesting quotation form Cochrane some few years ago.
“I am on the horns of a dilemma this weekend. I have been invited to a posh dinner in the Scottish Parliament later this week and there are to be pre-dinner drinks in the Members’ Bar at Holyrood.

Quote:
Although I have accepted the dinner invite, I am somewhat constrained in accepting the one to the pre-prandial cocktails. The reason is that the Scottish Parliamentary Journalists’ Association, of which I have the honour to be a member, is boycotting the said watering hole. We have taken this principled – if unusual – stance because we have been offered only limited rights of access by that Gauleiter of Holyrood’s catering facilities, Labour MSP Duncan McNeil.”
(Alan Cochrane, Scotland On Sunday, 22 January 2006*)

Seems that Cochrane is a Hypocrite but, we knew that anyway. We just never realised how stupid he really was,

wingsland.podgamer.com/.../

# clootie 2012-02-07 00:13
well done!

# Robabody 2012-02-06 21:30
Ach the usual diverson to cover their beaming red (white and blue) faces. Fancy the FM of your country being treated like that by the BBC and now the cringers and apologists are out in force trying to rubbish the story by smearing him. They're lucky he was that civil, I might have been a tad courser.

# ramstam 2012-02-06 21:34
Agree with everything being said and furious that the Scotsman billboard which would be seen by many who would not buy the paper, used the word "Nazi" which Salmond did not use and not "Gauleiter" which he did say. The real story in this is that the BBC Scotland sports people were slapped on the wrist and had their integrity impugned by BBC London. Also when this story first broke the reason given was the proximity to May's council elections, but subsequently explained as being because of the "constitutional" situation. All of us who support the struggle for Independence have to realise as reported above, that one to one conversations will win the day over the propaganda machine of the British State.

# Jim1320 2012-02-06 21:34
I think the ombudsman needs to be approached if the Beeb tries to air Boris or Dave on a sports show in the run up to the Olympics. If tensions are heightened then they are heightened in London too.

There is no way that the Beeb should be let off this hook not for one wriggly moment.

# pmcrek 2012-02-06 21:34
Using the title "Dear Leader" to refer to a democratically elected politician while lambasting their use of the word "Gauleiter" as imbibing connotations of Nazi Germany, begs the question, irony much?

# Sleekit 2012-02-06 23:32
Yes, I thought that one was rich too.

# scotsmanc1 2012-02-06 21:36
This just reminds me of the old saying
(I think emanating from the Legal profession) 'If your case is bad, attack the opposing Advocate'

# scottishwatersnotforsale 2012-02-06 21:41
Anyone up for signing a petition to be delivered to Mr Patten ,when he is in Scotland regarding the BEEB
?

# govanite 2012-02-06 21:42
While the BBC might be considered 'objective' or neutral when covering events in the middle-east or the US elections and the BBC has a charter driven obligation to provide facts without prejudice, it cannot be denied that the BBC has a vested interest in the outcome of a Scottish Independence referendum.

That interest is for a 'no' vote & this is why the BBC cannot be considered a neutral party.

# Sleekit 2012-02-06 23:35
It is my understanding that Angus Robertson has already been holding talks with the BBC on how they would be funded post independence...

Although he said his first question would be WHY should Scotland fund them?

We may see a change in the BEEB if independence is winning, otherwise...

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-07 00:29
The BBC... Objective? ...Neutral??? ...in covering the middle east or the US Elections..... HAHAHAAAAHAHA

That is PRICELESS!

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-07 00:32
I have just picked myself up off the floor!

# pmcrek 2012-02-07 01:53
...and sat back down as the only anti-war representative on a BBC News political panel show of five.

# Purr 2012-02-06 21:53
Our Tax Payer Funded Red Tory Propaganda Machine and all the MSM are contributing greatly to the referendum debate,
They just have not cottoned on to the fact that the rubbish they are putting out is having the opposite effect of what they are trying to achieve.
Hope nobody tells them.

# scottishwatersnotforsale 2012-02-06 21:55
Govanite,heres the thing,if they talk mince about a subject we all know about ,you have to ask just how 'objective' are they about subjects we are not so well informed about.
Think how the BBC presented the 'Dossier' in the run up to the Iraq war, if Tony Blair stood up in Parliament and waved the dossier about ,it must be true then eh ?

# Sleekit 2012-02-06 23:37
Well thats the tactic that Gray and Lamont try each week...

Wave some papers... or an ACTUAL Paper and then claim its all real!

# manxbhoy 2012-02-06 21:56
Unionist politicians have seized on the misrepresentati on with Labour's Patricia Ferguson saying: "What is totally unacceptable, however, is for the First Minister to accuse journalists of occupying the post of a Nazi district leader. That is an ugly smear."

ok i guess i'm being a wee bit dumb here but where exactly does it state in the FM's legitimate response to the furore that a "JOURNALIST/S" was smeared?
i thought ric was a paid flunky ie advisor!
Typical Labour....Cant even get their smear facts right....lol

# Keef 2012-02-06 21:56
This rank hypocricy may not be read about or heard of on the BBC. Rest assured though, it will still be felt through the populace by people like your good selves writing and talking about it. the fact that it is so blatant will only serve to bolster the will of the people. No need to get hysterical or down hearted, let them continue to feed the fire. The time has come to well and truly forget about ever hearing a positive case for the union as we know now for sure, there is none.

These lies and smears are coming from a very shaken opposition. They know the battle is all but lost and have become complacent in their hysteria, Their actions may well get worse, for they know the Independence camp is moving ever closer to the prize. There is no higher religion than truth.It is so much easier to win the argument when you know what you are saying is the truth. Lies, however, will sooner or later be outed.

Yes to Independence. Yes to truth. Yes to a better future. Yes to being rid of this corrupt horde of vermin in ermine. Yes to a new Scottish enlightenment. Yes to Scotland flourishing. Yes to an egalitairian society. Yes to free Uni education. Yes to a strong NHS. Yes to free prescriptions. Yes to a nuclear free Scotland. Yes to controlling or own destiny. Yes to being "that Nation again".

# pinkrose 2012-02-06 23:15
Keef, love your comment! Thanks!

# call me dave 2012-02-06 23:51
Bravo! & Hear! Hear!

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-06 23:54
Well said!

# EdinScot 2012-02-07 00:11
Superb post Keef! Note to the Unionist print press, your diversionary tactics aren't working. The EBC are guilty as charged on censorship. They may have won the rugby game but Scotland politically last saturday won the main prize. Go figure.

# clootie 2012-02-07 00:16
:D

# Macart 2012-02-07 07:48
Kudos.

# alisdair 2012-02-07 12:09
Thank you, very well said, especially about a new enlightenment and egalitarian society, we can do it!!!!!!

# patrickotic 2012-02-07 17:42
Quoting Keef:
This rank hypocricy may not be read about or heard of on the BBC. Rest assured though, it will still be felt through the populace by people like your good selves writing and talking about it. the fact that it is so blatant will only serve to bolster the will of the people. No need to get hysterical or down hearted, let them continue to feed the fire. The time has come to well and truly forget about ever hearing a positive case for the union as we know now for sure, there is none.

These lies and smears are coming from a very shaken opposition. They know the battle is all but lost and have become complacent in their hysteria, Their actions may well get worse, for they know the Independence camp is moving ever closer to the prize. There is no higher religion than truth.It is so much easier to win the argument when you know what you are saying is the truth. Lies, however, will sooner or later be outed.

Yes to Independence. Yes to truth. Yes to a better future. Yes to being rid of this corrupt horde of vermin in ermine. Yes to a new Scottish enlightenment. Yes to Scotland flourishing. Yes to an egalitairian society. Yes to free Uni education. Yes to a strong NHS. Yes to free prescriptions. Yes to a nuclear free Scotland. Yes to controlling or own destiny. Yes to being "that Nation again".

Brilliant Keef, just brilliant.

# scottishwatersnotforsale 2012-02-06 22:01
keef, that post has brought my blood pressure down a bit, well said !

# Keef 2012-02-06 22:13
Thanks. Independence is a state of mind. I'm already there. I think the people of Scotland are all but there. The union campaign, is, in truth, nudging them ever closer. :-)

# pictic-1 2012-02-06 22:09
OLD:

"There is now a disturbing pattern of behaviour emerging from the SNP against anyone who dares to stand up to them."

NEW:

"There is now a disturbing pattern of behaviour emerging from the BBC against anyone who dares to stand up to them."

Roll on May for the next big kick up the unionists bum.

# Mac 2012-02-06 22:42
It is quite remarkable that newspapers that are normally very critical of the BBC are behaving like the BBC are the wronged party. It represents desperation on the part of the print media that their anti-SNP campaign have utterly failed.

# peter,aberdeenshire 2012-02-06 22:42
Having decided long ago that independence was the only way to go it gets more and more enjoyable each day watching the Unionists twisting and turning to try and attack the SNP. The fake outrage and indignation it's all crepes, they can try every smear and scare tactic they like but nothing will ever convince me that staying in the union will help Scotland.
Many of those who doubt if we can go it alone may be persuaded if they really feel that those who support Independence send out the vibe that we have total belief and confidence in Scotland and her people.

# Briggs 2012-02-06 23:00
Quoting peter,aberdeens hire:
Having decided long ago that independence was the only way to go it gets more and more enjoyable each day watching the Unionists twisting and turning to try and attack the SNP. The fake outrage and indignation it's all crepes, they can try every smear and scare tactic they like but nothing will ever convince me that staying in the union will help Scotland.
Many of those who doubt if we can go it alone may be persuaded if they really feel that those who support Independence send out the vibe that we have total belief and confidence in Scotland and her people.

You've fair put me in the notion.

Five stacked and sprinkled with sugar.

Yum.

# farrochie 2012-02-06 23:09
The unionists politics and methods are from a past era. Even the Tories have discovered we live in a digital age and are considering having online applications for membership and internet advertising.

toryhoose.com/.../...

Individuals have discovered the benefits and the downside of quick posts on Twitter and other social media.

However, the big change is this. Now we can all check the facts, we can access statements made by people and cross-check against reports, we can find statements that people made years ago that they later contradict. Most of all we can each publish our findings in blogs and comments.

The BBC and other MSM don't do investigative journalism any more, they just repeat stuff they've got from the news wires and other sources and reworked as news items.

It really is up to us to discover the facts and to present them on the pages of Newsnet Scotland, and on the comment pages of other parties, and even in the BBC and press wherever we get the chance.

But we must always check and present the facts; be sure that misinformation and bias will be exposed.

# tartangladbach 2012-02-06 23:21
I'm now assuming the unionist have a central press control office! it's looking like they are making central decisions through one person! probably a PR company and a special consultant or consultants!

# rhymer 2012-02-06 23:30
You couldn't make this up.....

Last week the expression "heightened tensions" was used by the BBC reporter to describe the escalating situation in Syria.

The same expression, "heightened tensions" was used as the excuse for censoring Scotland's First Minister by a Beeb PR guy in London.

How blatant can this bias get before the law has to step in ?

# Jim1320 2012-02-06 23:35
What is the bet the chap says "Scotland? I thought you said he was from Syria".

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-06 23:36
The primary purpose of this latest bout of contrived indignation from the British nationalists is surely to divert attention from the appalling behaviour of the BBC. Behaviour which, in any other circumstances, these same lying hypocrites would be queuing up to condemn.

There is a secondary and perhaps more insidious purpose, however. The intention is to force Salmond and his team to self-censor all of their remarks. To induce hesitation and hyper-caution.

Salmond in particular is an excellent speaker. Much of his appeal lies in his relaxed, natural style. The anti-independence campaign has nobody who can compete. So they are seeking to undermine his natural talent.

I really don't see Salmond being intimidated. But that won't stop the unionists trying. Henceforth, Salmond's every utterance will be subjected to the same process of dishonest misrepresentati on. And the MSM will be enthusiastic participants in promulgating the lies.

# Legerwood 2012-02-07 00:39
And it has been successful in diverting attention away from what was the main story. The front page of today's herald was not about censorship but about the gaulitier slur which does have Nazi overtones and as such is the last thing that should be used by anyone in the SNP.

# flyingscotsman 2012-02-06 23:53
Well the Herald was happy to print this article a couple of years ago referring to Jeremy Clarkson as a Gauleiter so hypocrisy is certainly in evidence.

www.heraldscotland.com/.../

# D_A_N 2012-02-07 03:56
nice find

# jafurn 2012-02-06 23:55
From the telegraph comments on Mr Cochranes piece..

telegraph.co.uk/.../...

A bit rich coming from the people who think this is OK

how the unionist,the english politician and english press had denominated to AS...
1. Slobodan Milosevic? YES. (Denis MacShane, Labour MP)
2. Benito Mussolini? YES. (Lord Foulkes, Labour peer)
3. Adolf Hitler? YES. (Tom Harris, Labour MP)
4. Adolf Hitler (again)? YES. (Ann Moffat, Labour MP)
5. Joseph Stalin? YES. (Alan Cochrane, the Telegraph)
6. Robert Mugabe? YES. (Lord Cormack, Conservative peer)
7. Robert Mugabe (again)? YES. (Jeremy Paxman, BBC)
8. Kim Jong-Il? YES. (Lord Forsyth, Conservative peer)
9. Caligula? YES. (John Macleod, the Times)
10. Nicolae Ceausescu? YES. (Neil Collins, the Financial Times)
11. Genghis Khan? YES. (Kevin McKenna, the Observer)
12. Nero? YES. (Annabel Goldie, Conservative MSP)

# InfrequentAllele 2012-02-07 00:16
Nero? Does that mean we'll get to have orgies?

That's a serious vote winner in my book.

Though on second thoughts, the idea of an orgy involving Auntie Annabel is a bit too disturbing, even for me.

# J Wil 2012-02-07 01:17
You should send a copy of the list to Alex Salmond in preparation for FMQs. Although he should know it well enough already.

# pa_broon74 2012-02-07 00:03
Apropos of nothing other than the slim hope of something approaching proper reportage from the BBC and its flagship Scottish Evening News show.

We are subjected to an in-depth report on Glasgow Rangers and its owner Craig Whyte.

Seriously?

No, I mean really?

What a joke. I mean to say, you could list a hundred more newsworthy things from the behaviour of the House of Lords and the bastardisation of the so called Scotland bill.

How incredibly patronising.

# clootie 2012-02-07 00:18
I thought it was just me

# shackled to a corpse 2012-02-07 00:22
Breaking News at the end tho: UK Government economic policies have made NAB put the Clydesdale Bank up for sale. They are deterring inward investment. Only one way to sort that really...

# Legerwood 2012-02-07 00:42
No not just you. The BBC clearly have it in for the Rangers' Chairman. In part I think it ios pay-back for the fact that Rangers successfully challenged them about the editing of Ally McCoist's remarks about sectarianism forcing an apology from them.

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-07 12:35
Come on Pa,
This is "big news" for the BBC since Craig Whyte kicked them out of Ibrox.

You have to remember that BBC "Scotland" is the Daily Record of television.

The fact that less important things, such as their biased Scottish news, covers more than their spat with Mr Whyte is immaterial to them. They cant just have anyone telling them where to go, you know.

# pa_broon74 2012-02-07 12:52
Its just daft and so very obviously motivated by something other than it being newsworthy at this stage.

Does any one really believe that BBC Scotland News holds the interests of Rangers supporters that dear?

I think not.

Some people don't support Independence because they think its a parochial idea, they should have a picture of Pacific Quay next to the dictionary entry for the word parochial.

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-07 13:46
Absolutely true pa, and it wont be changing anytime soon.

Have a nice day.

# Robabody 2012-02-07 19:02
The BBC are "outraged" at being denied access to Ibrox and have got it in for Mr Whyte until he fesses up, takes their punishment for whatever he's supposed to have done and re-admits them to the buffet lunch table.

Pass the mustard and oi! Get your hands off the chicken legs, Jackie's needed for the 6 o'clock news

# tartanfever 2012-02-07 00:10
Let us also not forget that as far as the BBC is concerned, it is ok to employ a news reporter/presenter who is married to to the new "Andy Coulson' head of spin to David Cameron.

Joanna Gosling, presenter on rolling News24 is married to Craig Oliver, Cameron's head of communications. How handy is that ?

Imagine the scenario, Goslings at work, hanging around the newsroom seeing whats coming in over the wires and some 'leaked' story comes out about the Tories which Downing Street hasn't got hold of yet. Does Gosling,

a) stick to her journalistic ethics and loyal to her employer ?

b) get on the mobile pronto and send her husband a warning that a story is about to break, giving him advanced warning ?

I'll let you decide, but I know which option my money is on.

# maxstafford 2012-02-07 00:18
To quote Labi Siffre seems appropriate at this juncture;

"The more you refuse to hear my voice

The louder I will sing

You hide behind walls of Jericho

Your lies will come tumbling

Deny my place in time

You squander wealth that's mine

My light will shine so brightly

It will blind you"

# SaltireAboveAll 2012-02-07 00:23
What is it going to take for enough people to gather outside Pacific Quay in protest (peaceful of course) at the way the BBC is abusing its position with its continued attacks against our Government, our country, and indirectly, we - it's people?

Any other people in the world would be outside their doors by now. We remain apthetic at our peril.

# D_A_N 2012-02-07 04:04
Ready when you guy's are.. We should use a forum to organise it as this place changes too much.. maybe use electric hermit's place. We should get 100 people or something. I'm not really up for camping tho.

# steveb 2012-02-07 08:21
Totally up for that, although it was suggested that we should wait for the better weather so as to get as large a crowd as possible.
Rain/ice is not the best recruiter for a mass protest.

# D_A_N 2012-02-07 19:43
true that.. plenty of time.. I'll be hear when ready. But it may be handy to get a list of email addresses at the ready so that when the time comes everybody is informed

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-07 00:24
I wish expletives were allowed on here, because I would say; "BLEEP the BBC" ...(Insert suitable expletive of choice!)

# Vincent McDee 2012-02-07 00:35
And in the meantime, the SNP membership reached 22,016 as of this evening.

Visit my.snp.org/join. if interested

It's only £1 a month. Where are you going to get so much fun for so little?

I would publicly like to thanks the MSM, the BBC, the BBC Pathetic Q. Branch and assorted unionist supporters for their collective effort.

Will they please keep-up the good work?

# Alx1 2012-02-07 08:16
Hi Vincent, if that is the true total then someone is telling porkies! Playing with statistics is usually the remit of the unionist parties not the SNP.
I for one wouldn't be happy if the SNP were being a wee bit disingenuous with the truth on the membership totals.

# jafurn 2012-02-07 00:35

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-07 01:30
There are other views... www.youtube.com/.../

Between Fox News and Benezir Bhutto, I know who I would trust more.

A bit of a telling expose on Omar Sheikh here... www.youtube.com/.../

The full David Frost interview... www.youtube.com/.../

Bhutto then assasinated by the ISI... www.youtube.com/.../

# Legerwood 2012-02-07 00:47
Quote:
Unionists manipulate Salmond remarks in attempt at diverting attention from BBC Censorship scandal

And the 'attempt' has succeeded has it not?

Mr Salmond and all other members of the SNP must be careful about the analogies and terms they use when making speeches or giving interviews lest the analogy, or emotive term, becomes the story rather than the message they are trying to get accross.

When I read the original article in the Sunday Herald the gaulieter term jumped out of the apge and I knew without a doubt what the Monday morning headlines would be.

many posters here have listed many examples of the the term being used by others but just because many others hacve used it does not mean it is OK to use. It has obvious negative overtones and its use has obscured what should have been the story.

# govanite 2012-02-07 00:54
I think the media coverage, particularly the BBC, has been so outrageous for so long that it doesn't matter that this generates further headlines.
I think Salmond & his team know what they are doing. Fact is that we cannot go on for the next 2 years with the pretence that the BBC are neutral & objective. They are not and we must not let them cloak the bias with a veneer of respectability.
While it might not be possible to force fair coverage, it will be possible to suggest that the BBC have an interest in the outcome of the vote.

# fynesider 2012-02-07 17:38
govanite: "I think Salmond & his team know what they are doing.
......While it might not be possible to force fair coverage, it will be possible to suggest that the BBC have an interest in the outcome of the vote."

I totally agree with your comments.

(Slightly O/T) On the subject of a Scottish Six I recall reading a remark Iain MacWhirter made at the time to the effect that some trial programmes had been produced. Whatever happened to these progs. & who has the tapes?

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-07 01:07
Of course the term, "gauleiter" has negative overtones. It wasn't intended as a compliment. The point you are missing is that it is a perfectly apt epithet in the context. As evidenced by the fact that all of those doing the whining have used the term in precisely the same sense that Alex Salmond intended, namely, an overbearing person or petty official.

The unionists have chosen to ignore completely the current meaning of the word and refer instead to its historical origins. We could, in many cases, put this down to ignorance. But it is stretching credulity beyond breaking point to suppose that all of these unionists are so ill-educated as to be unaware of the true meaning of the word. They cannot plead ignorance. They are being dishonest.

# the wallace 2012-02-07 00:52
I dont think that complaining to chris patten will do any good, as he is an ex tory minister and will say the ebc has done nothing wrong.We will need to take our case to europe somehow and see if they can help us.

# J Wil 2012-02-07 01:13
Chris Patten!

The last time he was seen was when he was up in front of Commons committee with the the boss of BBC Mark Thompson. They sat beside each other jointly defending Jeremy Clarkson's latest outburst.

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-07 01:15
Quoting the wallace:
I dont think that complaining to chris patten will do any good...

It has to be done. If nothing else, it will gain publicity and put the BBC even more under the spotlight.

# mealer 2012-02-07 02:08
Quoting the wallace:
I dont think that complaining to chris patten will do any good, as he is an ex tory minister and will say the ebc has done nothing wrong.We will need to take our case to europe somehow and see if they can help us.

If you take the case to Europe,the first thing they will do is to check how many complaints have been lodged with the BBC.

# J Wil 2012-02-07 01:22
There was a discussion about new forms of press regulation on Newsnicht last night. My impression was that it will only apply to the newspaper industry, but, the BBC are also part of the news industry. Like the newsapers they are on the internet so they too should be subject to the new, tighter regulations.

# Pushka 2012-02-07 01:51
The Scotsman newspaper has story on line now and needs some help on comments

# pmcrek 2012-02-07 02:00
Press regulation is a red herrng I think, as we know the BBC are already in breach of its own charter. Unlike private organizations they are honor bound to political impartiality. A position that is in clear breach, yet at the same time ignored.

# Taldor83 2012-02-07 01:53
I would wonder if it was testing something. Alec Salmond gets compared to Mugabe, nobody bats an eyelid or breaks a story about it. He uses a word meaning bully with negative historical connotations and bam! Full coverage.

A prime example of bias in the BBC? Yup. Evidence for a future fight? Deffo.

A few people put forward the suggestion that Salmond, a year and a bit ago, was overly aggressive toward a supreme court decision and couldn't, at the time, figure out why. Now, with all this legal rubbish about the referendum it seems he was laying the groundwork for such an eventuality. I don't think Salmond would use a word with knowing what kind of response it would get. Like its been said, he's a particulary articulate man!

# millie 2012-02-07 01:58
Interesting Scotsman article from Joan McAlpine about the BBC.

Apparently, Ric Bailey will play a significant part - (quote)- “in shaping the referendum coverage”

scotsman.com/.../...

# D_A_N 2012-02-07 04:28
holy s***! an intelligent article from the Scotsman? and pro-independence? did somebody hack their site? lol

pity bout the dreary comments

edit: ahh.. it's by Joan McAlpine. That's why. hehe

# Macart 2012-02-07 07:54
Joan raises a fair comment on the panel loading in the debate. If indeed we have a one question ballot, then how can one side of that question be represented in any panel three times over?

Simply put, three times the noise to drown out the independence representative.

By all means allow the three parties their say, but one at a time on any given subject or programme with an objective third or indeed fourth panelist representative of business or civic Scotland to air questions or views. Its no that hard tae be fair an objective, is it?

# gus1940 2012-02-07 10:15
Unfortunately The Gauleiters in charge of Censorship at scotsman.com seem to have decided to delete all comments from all articles in today's paper.

# Macart 2012-02-07 10:22
Almost spooky gus. When I read this piece earlier, comments were still active,

# daveniz 2012-02-07 02:30
lll throw in a few wee bit more evidence of bbc Scotland bias you'll probably already know them : biased-bbc.blogspot.com/.../...

# grumblingtummy 2012-02-07 03:29
Save Newsweek Scotland Facebook page has just suggested a demo outside Holyrood on Thursday, the day of Lord Patten's visit.

Check it out and add a comment if you're up for it.
facebook.com/.../...

# D_A_N 2012-02-07 04:58
I've never watched newsweek scotland. care to fill me in? any good? and do u think we cud protest bout their bias at the same time? altho I guess slashing our voice in the news is considered bias. may be up for it

# grumblingtummy 2012-02-07 07:46
Quoting D_A_N:
I've never watched newsweek scotland. care to fill me in? any good? and do u think we cud protest bout their bias at the same time? altho I guess slashing our voice in the news is considered bias. may be up for it

It is a Saturday morning radio show. Only recently discovered it myself and I'm saddened to hear it is being axed! Balanced programme, fabulous format and great journalists.

Latest edition here:
bbc.co.uk/.../...

The main demo would of course be the Save Newsweek Scotland campaign but there isn't anything to stop others protesting against any other "BBC issue" ;-).

# D_A_N 2012-02-07 19:50
aaah. That's why I've never 'watched' it. hehe.. Cool, will give it a listen when I get the chance.

# PrideoftheClyde 2012-02-07 03:31
Don't worry guys, the unionist propaganda machine is swiftly moving on to attack a potentially independent Scotland's credit rating. Almost every major new outlet is running with it. Haven't seen this level of propaganda coordination since Naz... (in fact better not finish that).

# rodmac 2012-02-07 05:24
The Rise and Fall of the Little Hitlers.
Not yet, but soon!

meanwhile my article on the nonsense, with a wee twist at it's tale ;)

.../little-hitlers

# ammacj 2012-02-07 06:59
BBC Scotland business blogs - closed again for comment.

bbc.co.uk/.../...

Story on credit agencies.

How strange.

I hope Salmond is wee-briefed for his meeting with Patten.

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-07 09:02
Quoting ammacj:
BBC Scotland business blogs - closed again for comment.

bbc.co.uk/.../...

Story on credit agencies.

As a way of defying the BBC's censorship you can comment on the blog at www.referendumdebate.com/.../

# Old Smokey 2012-02-07 10:22
Its amazing that Douglas Fraser can write up this article based on an FT article, which was based on 'unamed source' in other words it was made up based on supposition. To coincide The Scotsman, Daily Record and the Herald all have the same story all based on the FT's article which was based on supposition.

Apart from the articles being based on supposition as apposed to hard facts. Which interestingly they are all keen for John Swinney to provide (strange that). There is one supposition they all avoid like the proverbial plague and its this, what would England's credit rating be after the ending of the UK?
There is an 'assumption' based on the idiotic theory that the entity known as the 'UK' will carry on regardless and that some how what they refer to as the 'remaining part of the UK' will continue to have a AAA rating. These are supposedly serious journalists.
So these journalists base a story on an questionable article in one paper treat it as fact, yet question the Scottish Government based on this made up story.
In addition ignore the fact that there will not be anything left after the union is dissolved. England will be in exactly the same position as Scotland, except that it will not have the same resources, such as oil.
What these 'journalists' should be focusing on is this, what will England's rating be after he ending of the union.
There is the likelyhood that Northern Ireland will not hang around to find out

# Old Smokey 2012-02-07 10:31
Interesting that the FT's Kate Mackenzie, appears to have wondered off the resevation as she questions the article which was in the Lex column
ftalphaville.ft.com/.../...

# Barontorc 2012-02-07 11:38
Thanks for the link OS - comment made!

# Keef 2012-02-07 08:00
And if we don't vote yes and allow westminster to get their hands on our NHS, this is what is in store.
guardian.co.uk/.../...
How lucky we are to have a Scottish Government who value the pricipiles of a true NHS. The SNP should be warmly congratulated for their foresight.

# nessieburger 2012-02-07 08:00
After many weeks of viewing this site, I have today decided to join. I enjoy reading some great articles without a down treading Unionist slant. It really is a shame that you need to come on the internet to read fair articles about our great country.

The fact that the printed press and TV news are so one sided is a shame. However I’m glad that we “thick jocks” can see through the smear and negativity.

The recent stories of people pouring to the SNP is heart warming, i myself joined the SNP over 10 years ago. I gave money on a monthly basis. I stopped my direct debit a few years back. I couldn’t afford it anymore. However I’m glad to say that as I’m in a position to pay again, I have re opened my DD and I’m proud to do my bit to back the SNP!

Could anybody involved in this website answer a question for me please? As the push is on, and more people are flocking to the SNP. I believe that people in Scotland are becoming more politically aware. What has recent events done for the membership of this site? I can imagine that viewing figures are up by quite a bit.

Also, as I work abroad, does anybody know if FMQ’s are available on radio? and if so which station. I look forward to many years of balanced articles on this site.

Thanks

# Albalha 2012-02-07 09:29
Re FMQ's you'll get it here as well as other Holyrood business......

news.bbc.co.uk/.../default.stm

# jafurn 2012-02-07 10:24

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-02-07 11:28
Hi nessieburger, I see a pattern emerging here! I think we all hover around NNS for a wee while thinking 'wow! this too good to be true -balanced opinion and nice people.' I sometimes get quite depressed when I'm roaming the internet and reading all the negative scare stories and downright smears. Then I hop back here and it's like coming home to friends. I'm hoping they'll keep me sane until Autumn 2014.

# Barontorc 2012-02-07 11:43
Welcome aboard - nessie. As for FMQ, apart from AS storming home each and every week - you're missing absolutely nothing from the other "leaders" - they are a pathetic joke and if others grade our standard of politicians by these three - it's no wonder Cameron and his ilk, feel we're too wee and too stupid!

# Louperdowg 2012-02-07 08:46
You said a word with vague Nazi connotations.

That makes you a NAZI!

So there.

# Keef 2012-02-07 08:55
LOL is that Naazee or Natsee?

# tom 2012-02-07 08:50
And if you really want to see gutter language read Stewart Lee in last week's Observer.

# Louperdowg 2012-02-07 11:38
If you don't find it funny then you are a small minded nationalist with no sense of humour.

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-07 09:14
Here we go again.
The Daily Record, Herold and Scorsman acting in co-ordinated concert with the BBC to attack Scotlands First Minister, conducted by Westminster on the same day.

Mr Salmond obviously hit a very raw nerve indeed.

Spinning every truth spoken against the Union into more anti- Independence bile will get them no where with Scots people.

They seem to want to learn the hard way, so mote it be.

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-02-07 11:33
Interesting to see the majority of comments on the Herald supporting Alex, even some from non-SNP supporters like this one -
"I would like to have seen the amiable and jocular Mr Salmond participating in the discussion on such a noble game between the Auld enemies. It would have been light hearted and loved by all non SNP folk like me as well. Small minded and shame on the BBC."

Restores my faith in human nature.

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-07 12:56
Yes ntwots,
It's not Unionist minded Scots who are the enemy of Independence, it's the FUD Party options which are open to them. The ones who do nothing but talk down Scotland, not every individual who votes for them.

In ever increasing numbers, thinking Scots are turning from the FUDs. I believe that is the reason that there are large numbers of "Don't know" in every poll we see published. I also suspect the bulk of same "Don't knows", may have voted FUD long enough. Make no mistake, these are patriotic Scots looking for answers to question which trouble them. The FUDs have nothing to offer, they already know that, they are looking for reassurance and proof that the scare stories are nothing more than that, scare mongering. They see the massive changes in Scotland over the past five years achieved on pocket money, and like what they see, or we would not have an SNP Scottish Government. They also see the massive inward investments from global companies, and they like that as well.

Time is the enemy of the FUD anti-Indepencence crew, that is why they are bursting a gut trying to force and early referendum whilst spreading their scare rubbish.

# Ken Mac 2012-02-07 09:54
The SNP have the ultimate sanction, refuse to put up a representative at any of the forthcoming (eventually) debates on the BBC. Make it clear it is because of the beeb's bias. All the meaningful debates will then be held on non BBC channels and the corporation will be reduced to reporting them, or not.

# Flora Macoo 2012-02-07 13:50
Quoting Ken Mac:
The SNP have the ultimate sanction, refuse to put up a representative at any of the forthcoming (eventually) debates on the BBC. Make it clear it is because of the beeb's bias. All the meaningful debates will then be held on non BBC channels and the corporation will be reduced to reporting them, or not.

While I share your frustration, how do you think this would be reported? My guess would be an announcement at the start:
"We invited the Scottish Government to send a representative but they declined..."

That'd be followed in the papers next day by "SNP in Meltdown" and "Salmond's Bottle Merchants" headlines.

Difficult to see what could be done. The SNP member of the panel could make a statement asking why he's up against 3 opponents but that'd be pointless unless the debate was live rather than recorded.

# Ready to Start 2012-02-07 10:07
I know several friends who have submitted letters on the BBCs ban commenting on the fact that BBC will not apply this ban to others or have an equal playing field for the SNP on "National" TV..................
needless to say none were published by the Herald or by the Scotsman which printed two letters critical of Alex Salmond.

# exel 2012-02-07 12:08
Ready to Start 2012-02-07 09:07
“I know several friends who have submitted letters on the BBCs ban commenting on the fact that BBC will not apply this ban to others or have an equal playing field for the SNP on "National" TV..................
needless to say none were published by the Herald or by the Scotsman which printed two letters critical of Alex Salmond.”

I have resisted the urge to comment on the hysterical BBC bashing on this site, until now.

I am sick and tired of the hypocrisy permeating the threads of NNS. Posters safe, in the knowledge that their anonymity will protect them, safe in the knowledge that they will not have to justify their remarks.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-07 12:20
Posters safe in the knowledge that their anonymity will protect them, safe in the knowledge that they will not have to justify their remarks.

He says, protected by his anonymity and knowing that he will not have to justify his remarks.

# Louperdowg 2012-02-07 12:24
His full name is Exel Spreadshit.

Sorry, exel, couldn't resist :)

# Jim Johnston 2012-02-07 13:11
True Jiggsbro,
At least you cannot hide behind a nom de plume on the Herald when you post. They don't often post anything I send by the way.

Muhammad Ali,..... "What's my name ?", as he belted Ernei Terrel round the ring.

I would have told him in 10 seconds, just before my lights went out.

# manxbhoy 2012-02-07 12:31
Quoting exel:
“I know several friends who have submitted letters on the BBCs ban commenting on the fact that BBC will not apply this ban to others or have an equal playing field for the SNP on "National" TV..................
needless to say none were published by the Herald or by the Scotsman which printed two letters critical of Alex Salmond.”

I have resisted the urge to comment on the hysterical BBC bashing on this site, until now.

I am sick and tired of the hypocrisy permeating the treads of NNS. Posters safe in the knowledge that their anonymity will protect them, safe in the knowledge that they will not have to justify their remarks.

Hello Exel, i am truly genuinly sorry you feel this way as i find your quirky contributions on here to be quite funny, usually...till now.
I would personally take this opportunity to rebuke you for your last highlighted sentence.
Both special branch (hiya) and our foreign security services...Have been and are aware of MY true identity (its for this reason that i use the exact same moniker wherever) Therefore i fail to see how YOU can justify the anononimity myth! Secondly for your information and as your orange book scots leader will affirm...On TWO seperate occasions in the past ten years I have faced down your precious BBC in Court and justified myself and both sheriffs and walked out without so much as a censure to my name.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-07 12:49
Exel, I've been on this site since very early on, before you joined, and I think your comment is unfounded.

I personally have written to the BBC on many occasions and various political leaders regarding the biased BBC, using my own name, many times.

Sometimes, Your posts are interesting, but sometimes, with posts like that one, I do wonder about your motives.

Nobody is forcing you to read or post on Newsnet Scotland. Substantiate accusations with facts, and you might get taken seriously.

# exel 2012-02-07 13:35
Robert Louis 2012-02-07 11:49
“Sometimes, Your posts are interesting, but sometimes, with posts like that one, I do wonder about your motives.”
“Nobody is forcing you to read or post on Newsnet Scotland. Substantiate accusations with facts, and you might get taken seriously.”

You are quite correct nobody forcing me. I have quite recently tried to substantiate one of my comments, in a recent thread, but the comment was removed (in total) by ONLINE EDIT (I presume).

I am in no way saying that the BBC is not biased and does not practice censorship, the complete media is at it. It detracts from public discussion.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-07 13:40
I read that post before it was removed. As I recall, it contained complaints and allegations, but no substantiation.

# mountaincadre 2012-02-07 13:08
Have i missed something? Exel please don't tell me that you believe the BBC to be unbaised, this would be the self same BBC that during the run up to Iraq/Afganistan/Dr David Kelly/ Scottish parlimentary elections had nothing but the truth to tell us(ahem).Sorry Exel its in the name, British broadcasting corparation, it is nothing more than a information wing of the British state, to see it as anything else is utter niaviety.

# brusque 2012-02-07 13:49
Quoting exel:

I am sick and tired of the hypocrisy permeating the threads of NNS. Posters safe, in the knowledge that their anonymity will protect them, safe in the knowledge that they will not have to justify their remarks.

Would you be good enough to clarify for me Exel; do you mean bashing of the "hysterical BBC" or "hysterical bashing" of the BBC?

I ask because I cannot find one single incidence of hysteria in the responses to the article, so I would be obliged if you would also direct me to the "hysterical" responses, if it turns out you are not actually talking about the "hysterical BBC" and are referring to "hysterical responses".

And just to be totally clear, I think I was one of the first people to submit an article to Newsnet, a couple of years ago; and the basis of my article was the extraordinary bias of the BBC - in particular Glenn Campbell on the (then) Politics Show, who fawned (defined in the OED as " Give a servile display of exaggerated flattery or affection, typically in order to gain favor.") over Jim Murphy to a sickening extent, whilst actively encouraging Murphy to make comments about the First Minister's visit to China (not the most recent one) being a "waste of taxpayers money".

I will be happy to stand corrected if you are able to show evidence of "hysterical posters" here, including myself:-)

# patrickotic 2012-02-07 18:05
I post on labourhame and toryhoose in my full name exel. I am proud of my stance on Independence and I share my views with people whenever the subject comes up. (often) I live In England and I usually have to explain to people why I support independence, yet live in England. This is because the English have been lied to and believe that the SNP are anti-English. You exel are on the side of lies and misinformation, so you are welcome on this site, as i think it shows that you are prepared to listen to others point of view. You must understand however that a lot of the things that you are told by the people who you have put your trust in are lies and NNS have no obligation to re-produce these smears and lies on here.
This will most likely be the reason why you get 'modded' I hope you don't stop posting but if you do you will be no big loss to this sight.

# exel 2012-02-07 18:44
patrickotic 2012-02-07 17:05
“I post on labourhame and toryhoose in my full name exel. I am proud of my stance on Independence and I share my views with people whenever the subject comes up. (often) I live In England and I usually have to explain to people why I support independence, yet live in England. This is because the English have been lied to and believe that the SNP are anti-English. You exel are on the side of lies and misinformation, so you are welcome on this site, as i think it shows that you are prepared to listen to others point of view. You must understand however that a lot of the things that you are told by the people who you have put your trust in are lies and NNS have no obligation to re-produce these smears and lies on here.
This will most likely be the reason why you get 'modded' I hope you don't stop posting but if you do you will be no big loss to this sight.”

I am afraid you are entirely mistaken about where I stand. I most emphatically deny that I am “on the side of lies and information” where did you get that idea?

I would me very happy to discuss this with you, if you would care to explain.

Alex Sloan

# Mei 2012-02-07 10:12
Tory MP uses 'Gestapo' insult

during December 2008, it was reported by the press that the chairman of the all-party Commons Culture, Media and Sport committee had accused TV Licensing of behaving "like the Gestapo", employing "tactics that are outrageous", saying: "The tactics used by TV Licensing in their letters are intimidatory and cause genuine distress. Their records are not always correct, but they write letters that assume members of the public are criminals".[24]

en.wikipedia.org/.../...

John Whittingdale, the chairman of the all-party Commons Culture, Media and Sport committee, accused TV Licensing of behaving "like the Gestapo", employing "tactics that are outrageous".

telegraph.co.uk/.../...

# scotsmanc1 2012-02-07 10:33
Unless I am mistaken the article in yesterday's Herald attacking Alex Salmond for the use of the word Gauleiter appears to have been removed.

Perhaps after yesterday's outbursts for legal reasons.

# DonaldMhor 2012-02-07 11:13

# Old Smokey 2012-02-07 12:35
Thats an interesting picture of Alex Salmond shaking the England players hand
Was this shown on TV, does anyone know?

Also the article stating :
BBC wary of SalmondBBC bosses stopped Scotland’s First Minister Alex Salmond appearing on their Calcutta Cup match build-up for fear he would use a non-political stage to promote the independence campaign. And RFU blazers were even fearful Murrayfield would roll out a blue carpet for Salmon. But Scottish Rugby chief executive Mark Dodson, who is English, invited leaders of all the Scottish political parties to the match and stressed patron Princess Anne was the guest of honour.
Not sure about the RFU Fearful remark, as frankly what the F*** has it to do with the RFU? Alex Salmond was guest of the SRU

# taimoshan 2012-02-07 12:35
Foul letter in the Scotsman today from Andrew HN Gray - have responded but don't expect it to be printed. British democracy at work!

# H Scott 2012-02-07 20:26
Gray, like fellow letter writer to the Scotsman Alexander McKay, is a perpetual own goal. Calling the SNP a national socialist party will not do his cause any favours at all.

# moujick11 2012-02-07 13:02
Totally O/T (apologies Mods) but this piece in today's Telegraph really puts into perspective the idea that somehow the UK "punches above its weight" on the international stage:-

telegraph.co.uk/.../...

# mato21 2012-02-07 13:28
So the UK are now considered to be so irrelevant in the grand scheme of things that they have to plead to take part

I like the thought of the grovelling that took place
Please please let us go with you we're your special friend We'll stand shoulder to shoulder with you
We still have the Scots whom we can sacrifice at the altar of the mighty USA

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-07 13:33
Please please let us go with you we're your special friend

"We can only send our oldest frigate, which will be of no practical use whatsoever, but we urgently need to underline how important the UK is. The northern natives are restless".

# Islegard 2012-02-07 13:50
I read some time ago that the "special relationship" between britain and the US only exists in the minds of the british. Apparently no one in the US is even aware there is supposed to be a "special relationship". The ones that do see it for what it is a desperate needyness on the part of the british.

# pa_broon74 2012-02-07 14:06
This idea of a special relationship has been nurtured by various westminster governments over the years, it might be that it used to exist but the cynicism of diplomacy over the years has eroded it completely.

It also spotlights the differences between what Westminster believes is important (projecting military might, holding sway on the world stage etc) and what (I think anyway) Scotland wants which is closer cultural relationships with neighbours based on mutual understanding and benefit.

Get rid of the cynical diplomatic manoeuvring, it's clearly not working anyway.

It is a strange thing though, people tend to rub along well enough, its governments that tend to do the stupid stuff.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-07 14:11
What Westminster politicians tend to want is status and power. That requires a UK with a world presence, whether it can be afforded or not. MSPs (of all parties) tend to be more interested in doing their job. We may disagree about how well some of them do it, but they do appear to be more realistic about Scotland's position than UK politicians are about the UK's.

# exel 2012-02-07 13:11
manxbhoy 2012-02-07 11:31
“Hello Exel, i am truly genuinly sorry you feel this way as i find your quirky contributions on here to be quite funny, usually...till now.
I would personally take this opportunity to rebuke you for your last highlighted sentence.”

Hello yourself: I accept your opinion of my contributions, but not your right to rebuke me for making them.

To my knowledge I have never responded to one of your comments and I have no knowledge of you personally. Your reasons for anonymity may be justified but personal.

Absolutely nothing to do with, expressing an opinion on a public forum anonymously, in my opinion.

Your “Secondly for your information and as your orange book scots leader will affirm” is far too cryptic for me.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-07 13:14
So, exel...what's your real name and why haven't you attempted to justify your remarks?

# manxbhoy 2012-02-07 15:14
Quoting exel:
manxbhoy 2012-02-07 11:31
“Hello Exel, i am truly genuinly sorry you feel this way as i find your quirky contributions on here to be quite funny, usually...till now.
I would personally take this opportunity to rebuke you for your last highlighted sentence.”

Hello yourself: I accept your opinion of my contributions, but not your right to rebuke me for making them.

To my knowledge I have never responded to one of your comments and I have no knowledge of you personally. Your reasons for anonymity may be justified but personal.

Absolutely nothing to do with, expressing an opinion on a public forum anonymously, in my opinion.

Your “Secondly for your information and as your orange book scots leader will affirm” is far too cryptic for me.

hello exel, i wasnt aware i said anywhere that you had ever responded either?!! As for your apparantly having or not having knowledge of me personally....ditto those words/that impression never occured to me! I merely stated as fact that Both Special Branch and The UK security services ARE aware of my true identity! and that your so-called internet anonymity is a MYTH.

As for the orange book sentence, what it means is that in laymans terms, your (presumably) scots federeral lib dem leader. Mr Willie Rennie is also aware of my true identity...Thats all, nothing cryptic about it, in my opinion.

as far as not using my given name on this particular site is concerned I was under the clear impression/advice on registering that you shouldnt/couldnt.

ps. good to see you are still here

# From The Suburbs 2012-02-07 13:54
Excel if you wish verification of whether or not Scotsman or Herald received several letters condoning the BBC's action why don't you ask them?.......................
And BBC Radio Scotland Sports Nation is featuring piece this evening on Politics and the 2014 Commo0nwealtrh Gamers.......... being a keen sports fan I must have missed any BBC debate about the UK political machine using the much closer 2012 Olympics.. to promote Britishness

# exel 2012-02-07 14:02
Jiggsbro 2012-02-07 12:14
“So, exel...what's your real name and why haven't you attempted to justify your remarks?”
Jiggsbro 2012-02-07 12:40
"I read that post before it was removed. As I recall, it contained complaints and allegations, but no substantiation."

You must have been present at the “birth” so to speak.

Anyway to answer the points you raise.
You are obviously part of the editorial “team” so perhaps you can tell me how to change my profile, and then I can use my own name on posts as I do with my submissions.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-07 14:07
I'm not part of the editorial team, nor would I have needed to be to see your post before it was removed. [Personal attacks on others are not permitted - NNS Mod Team]

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-07 14:57
Re BBC impartiality and balance. Mind when AS was presenting the Consultation Document to the international press? Mind how we got the scintillating studio discussion hosted by a minor BBC reporter while the international journalists got a 4 minute background film? Well, swot up on your French: they got much better coverage of the issue than we did. leparisien.fr/.../...

# Mei 2012-02-07 15:13
"Le Premier ministre écossais"

Note to self , remember to call Alex Salmond , THE PREMIER

# Mei 2012-02-07 15:04
The Daily Telegraph has learned that the permanent secretaries from all the Whitehall departments no longer discuss Scotland if Sir Peter Housden, the Scottish ExecutiveGovernment's permanent secretary, is present.

telegraph.co.uk/.../...

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-07 15:13
This is what the Telegraph, in connivance with all 3 Unionist parties and Gus O'Donnell, have been working for. This is their idea of democracy: fly an idea, exaggerate and repeat it until it is an accepted 'truth'. telegraph.co.uk/.../...
Talking of 'truth' in relation to Gus O'Donnell might involve an oxymoron. See here craigmurray.org.uk/.../...

# J Wil 2012-02-07 15:39
Now Scotland is being treated like Syria. All diplomatic relations cut off. What a way to kick our country in the teeth.

# Islegard 2012-02-07 15:42
Well we do have news and media control like Syria.

# Robabody 2012-02-07 19:17
Outragous

# maisiedotts 2012-02-07 15:21
Laugh a minute here, I've just had a questionaire put through the letter box for our new local candidate for conservatives at the local council elections for Stirling. Usual splurge about all he's done for the community to date and what he promises to do in future on the front, but on the back is this interesting little questionaire. 1st there's a section about all the usual local things we should all care about. 2nd Name one thing which he could do to improve our area.

3rd is the killer question "The SNP government intends to hold a referendum on whether or not Scotland should remain part of the UK. How will you vote in that referendum?"

The options (tick boxes) are to say the least "leading" box 1 Remain in the UK box 2 Separate from the UK box 3 Don't know.

# Islegard 2012-02-07 15:40
I had one from my local Labour wailing about cuts and how they want to stop cuts taking place. They seem to have forgotten the need for cuts comes from Labour ruining the UK economy and in my local area Labour ran our council to the point of bankruptcy. I emailed the would be councillor to ask if Labour won the council do they intend to do a "Labour" spend, spend bust or make cuts in other areas to pay for blocking of cuts they've been moaning about. So far ...... silence.

# Mei 2012-02-07 16:00
Tick the Don't Know and they will keep wasting their time and funds trying to find out how you will vote.

# J Wil 2012-02-07 15:35
I noticed on Newsnicht last night, during their little prologue article,
that they had some shots of newspapers being thrown down on a table. Three of them had pretty inocuous front pages but the fourth one had a large headline about the SNP slipping in the polls. It can't have been a recent edition, so it looks again like a deliberate ploy by the BBC to fool people into thinking it was happening now. The clip was shown during the article and again at the end of it, (just in case we didn't notice it the first time).

# Albalha 2012-02-07 15:46
@jwil
The front page you're talking about was from yesterday's Herald, think they were all either front page yesterday or Sunday.

# J Wil 2012-02-07 17:36
Thanks for the info.

Maybe I should apologise to the Beeb.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-07 16:50
It was reporting an increase in 'disagree' answers to the question "the Scottish Government should negotiate with the UK so that Scotland becomes an independent state" and claiming that was support for the status quo. They appear not to have recognised that someone supporting independence might well disagree with the idea that Scotland should negotiate with the UK to achieve independence.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-07 18:54
I do believe the time is rapidly approaching when it will be in the SNP's interests to boycott the BBC entirely. In the past, it could be argued that their might be a hope of some coverage, that could be beneficial, but not now.

The BBC has shifted its propaganda up a gear, and I honestly think a long term boycott would bring the issue into focus, as right now most of the media are turning a blind eye.

Part of the credibility of the BBC is access to ALL politicians, and without access to the Scottish Government or anybody from the SNP, it will do the BBC more harm than the SNP.

Let's face it, as things stand, the BBC is merely abusing the Scottish Government and the SNP at every opportunity, so i think right now, there is nothing to lose.

This needs sorted well before the referendum. A few months before will be too late.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-07 20:00
Plenty of subtle British propaganda in evidence today from BBC Scotland: regular references to Dickens; a BBC Scotland reporter called Buttle in Afghanistan; Team GB in Miami. None of this is serious journalism - it's just an example of the slow, drip drip reminder to the unquestioning audience that this is Great Britain.

# Albalha 2012-02-08 08:35
Yes and what is the argument I wonder for the spending to send Cameron Buttle to Afghanistan again to do the same stories again to ignore the day to day lives of Afghanis again and Rhona what's her name in Miami to speak to people in boats? This at a time when 30% plus of staff in Radio news production are facing job losses.

# maxstafford 2012-02-07 19:27
As evidence that there's many a true word spoken in jest, I have to admit I found this snippet rather entertaining today.
Not Scotland-related but I'm sure you appreciate the context!
newsthump.com/.../...

# Begbie 2012-02-07 20:01
Evening all
Just in from work here and im a bit behind but in reply to The Duke i believe
i read a comment from Upspake that the BBC would be getting their comeuppance very soon.

# creag an tuirc 2012-02-07 20:28
Hey Begbie, You could nip down to Pacific Quay and have a word with them. “NOBODY MOVEEEEEE, Our First Minister got censored and no c**t leaves here til we find oot whit c**t did it.” :-)

# EphemeralDeception 2012-02-07 20:30
The SNP Government need to tread very carefully here. They do need to challenge the BBC but the BBC will use all means at their disposal + their total free reign, to broadcast messages such as 'SNP move to silence BBC' or 'SNP tries to control BBC reporting on independence debate' etc etc.

They will print / broadcast what they like with impunity.

# Robert Louis 2012-02-07 20:39
see post below regarding 'sport nation'.

# shackled to a corpse 2012-02-07 20:45
The Scottish Government has played a blinder on this up till now - they've given the BBC as much rope as they wanted and now they're ready to swing. Roll on Laird Patten's visit next week!

# The_Duke 2012-02-07 23:19
"You know me I'm no looking for trouble but the end of the day, I'm the c**t with the pool cue and I'm game for a swedge!"

Thanks all. I am sure all will be revealed soon enough.

# H Scott 2012-02-07 20:22
Meanwhile in France

france24.com/.../...

# tartanfever 2012-02-07 20:27
Wow, thats pretty spectacular. However, isn't it the Brits that really brought us the concentration camps during the Boer war ?

# Robert Louis 2012-02-07 20:38
BBC tonight at 7pm. 'Sport Nation '. I take it none of you saw it because you would be angry if you did.

There was an item on how the SNP might use the Commonwealth games in 2014 to win the referendum and politicise sport.

The times sport Journalist Graham Spiers was given an opportunity at the beginning and the end to spout utter rubbish.

The only alternative view point was from Shona Robison of the SNP, who spoke for just 9 seconds.

Brain Taylor contributed a great deal, along with Stuart Cosgrove.

More blatant anti SNP propaganda by the BBC. This time in a supposedly 'sports' programme. You really couldn't make it up.

# bigbuachaille 2012-02-07 21:08
All this censorship stooshie by BBC Scotland reminds me of when the distinguished Colin Bell and other BBC Scotland journalists were silenced and ordered to clear all pronouncements with their bosses. This took place in 1999, when we were all getting ready for devolution. The argument given then was to ensure 'impartiality'. 13 years on the same 'impartiality' evinced by Ric Bailey, is invoked in order to silence the FM. Well, I suppose that's progress. Read about the 1999 gagging here independent.co.uk/.../...

# markola 2012-02-07 21:14
www.causes.com/.../actions
Join the cause to get rid of the license fee. The BBC do not represent Scottish interests.

# Zef 2012-02-07 22:51
The BBC is slipping more and more obviously into its role as state propaganda machine, with less and less effort to keep up the pretence of impartiality (which they still use as a shield from all criticism, even when comparing a political leader to Mugabe or shouting down elected representitives for wanting to talk about anything to do with Scotland's future on a political-themed debate programme). Little different to the fearmongering state propaganda elsewhere and in the past. I'm sure our international cousins will be familiar with this game and spin from those they managed to declare their own freedom from in the past. Frighten those who dare to think of escape and ensure their own positions are secure. The level of spin and selective reporting to skew the perspective on reality to suit their own political views has gone to surreal levels.

Did the Iraqi Information Minister get a job at the Beeb a few years ago? "No, no, no, the SNP did not win any election all Scotchpersons love our BBC and union.". I cannot guess where this loopy lot will take us next.

# davidferguson1 2012-02-08 05:32
Hilarious to see a very subdued Alan Cochrane writing in The Telegraph today. Looks like following the Gauleiter debacle somebody has finally woken up to what an eejit he is and given him a rocket up the backside. (For those who don't know he was the writer of the SOS article calling a Labour MSP a Gauleiter that is referred to in posts above - see wingsland.podgamer.com/.../)

The "Wee Ecks" and "Dear Leaders" that have been Cochrane's stock in trade for years have disappeared. It's all "Mr Salmond" this and "Mr Salmond" that. Nice to see him getting his well-deserved comeuppance at last.

# Albalha 2012-02-08 08:41
A couple of other observations from this week not yet mentioned I don't think, both from Monday.
Call K spoke, yet again, to James Wallace on his 'please let me vote' campaign and no mention of his links to Labour and on Newsdrive they did an interview with a spokesperson for AVECO on their report into youth unemployment in Britain ....... what they did not explain was
1. The commission was led by David Milliband MP
2. It was an in depth English survey which in addition only collated DWP figures for Scotland and Wales, they didn't do anything in NI
3. No mention of the A Constance recent announcements on youth unemployment
4. No response from anyone

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-08 09:14
Well worth a watch on RT on media bias/ propaganda...

www.youtube.com/.../

# ianab63 2012-02-08 10:54
Here is a question that I have been thinking about recently folks.

Since we are all part of europe and say some one in france,belgium, germany or wherever Sky tv broadcast into, then they will all recieve BBC channels correct?
Then why do they not pay the licence fee like Sky customers in UK have too?
Probably a logical answer but I can't think of one.

# mato21 2012-02-08 12:31
AlJazeera do not appear to hold the BBC in the high regard they(BBC) would have us believe

For example, if the Scottish Parliament takes responsibility for the country's public institutions, then the country will have its own broadcaster - a Scottish Broadcasting Company. And the Scots probably won't to create a scale model of the British original. After all, the BBC has a pretty poor record on investigative reporting. While it is proud of its investigation into alleged corruption at FIFA, it dropped the ball on Iraq, the financial crisis, the MPs' expenses scandal and the criminal conspiracies at News International. The BBC is great at costume drama and nature documentaries. As a check on power it leaves something to be desired.

'A progressive beacon'

# manxbhoy 2012-02-08 18:41
Quoting mato21:
AlJazeera do not appear to hold the BBC in the high regard they(BBC) would have us believe

For example, if the Scottish Parliament takes responsibility for the country's public institutions, then the country will have its own broadcaster - a Scottish Broadcasting Company. And the Scots probably won't to create a scale model of the British original. After all, the BBC has a pretty poor record on investigative reporting. While it is proud of its investigation into alleged corruption at FIFA, it dropped the ball on Iraq, the financial crisis, the MPs' expenses scandal and the criminal conspiracies at News International. The BBC is great at costume drama and nature documentaries. As a check on power it leaves something to be desired.

'A progressive beacon'

Interesting take on this from auld acquaintance below:

auldacquaintance.wordpress.com/

# Training Day 2012-02-08 13:14
This is the response from Labour. Remember, incredible as it seems, this man has been elected to office (although it's clear he didn't come into politics to be 'separate')

labourhame.com/.../...

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-02-08 17:03
Is there any point in commenting on this? I would just burst a blood vessel.

I like Al Jazeera too.

# Aucheorn 2012-02-08 18:12
Just posted on Labourhame

"As a member of the UK Parliament’s Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee, I intend to write to the BBC expressing my support for the view that politics should be kept out of sport and that sporting events and sports personalities should not be used in such a crass way.”

So NO politicians will be appearing or taking part in any discussions about the London Olympics ?

If they do, I can complain, citing you as my supporter ?

# Dooy 2012-02-08 20:05
Mr Hardie

Thank you for contacting us with your complaint about the BBC’s decision not to include an appearance from the First Minister in its coverage of the Calcutta Cup.

Your complaint and the others we have received about this matter have been circulated in full to BBC staff, and the issues raised in the complaints have been considered and discussed at a number of senior levels in the BBC. This has included the Director-General Mark Thompson who has issued this statement responding to the issues the matter raised, and which we are sending to all who have made a complaint to us:

“Whenever politicians of any party ask to go on non-political BBC programmes, as was the case with the First Minister’s office before Saturday’s Calcutta Cup match (or, on other occasions, when such programmes decide they want themselves to invite politicians) there is an obligation under the BBC’s Editorial Guidelines to consult the Chief Political Adviser (CPA) for advice before a decision is taken. This is to ensure that all parties are treated with due impartiality and that one particular party does not receive undue prominence, or indeed that a party does not receive too little coverage in comparison to others.

“In advising programme-makers about whether such appearances are appropriate, the CPA has to take account of the political context at the time. It is part of the BBC’s normal editorial process in its task of ensuring that political impartiality is achieved across all its output.

“On this occasion, having been approached by the First Minister’s office, BBC Sport asked for advice and with the full agreement of both the Head of TV Sport and the Director of BBC Scotland, the judgment was made that the Scotland-England match was not an appropriate setting in which to give one single political leader that level of prominence. The topicality of the current political debate over the future relationship of Scotland with the rest of the UK – and with England in particular – was one of the factors taken into account.

“A similar suggestion that the First Minister might take part in BBC Radio Scotland’s rugby coverage had already been declined. Radio 5 Live also turned down the offer of an interview with the First Minister following advice from the CPA.

“The key factor, in advising on such occasions, is the importance of ensuring that other political parties have the opportunity to receive coverage of appropriate prominence over a reasonable timescale. That timescale can be affected by the proximity of elections, when such appearances would certainly not normally be appropriate.

“Given the singularity and high profile of the Calcutta Cup match, as well as the fact that it is now less than two months away from the election period before local government elections throughout Scotland, it was clear that leading politicians from other parties in Scotland would not have been able to enjoy coverage of appropriate prominence in the circumstances.

“I am satisfied that the judgment made on this occasion by BBC Sport and BBC Scotland, acting on the CPA’s advice, was consistent with similar editorial judgments which are regularly taken in relation to other political parties and other political leaders by programmes across the BBC.”

If you consider this still does not address your concerns and you remain dissatisfied with the BBC’s response, you may write to the BBC Trust within 20 working days to request an appeal against this decision. Their address is as follows:

BBC Trust Unit
180 Great Portland Street
London
W1W 5QZ

Kind Regards

BBC Complaints

www.bbc.co.uk/complaints

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-02-09 11:33
Interesting - here's the Herald today -

"The corporation said the First Minister had asked to be included in its TV coverage of Saturday's Calcutta Cup Six Nations tie between Scotland and England at Murrayfield, but that his appearance had never been confirmed.

Mr Salmond also requested to appear on two other radio programmes covering the match, the broadcaster said.

But the Scottish Government accused the BBC of getting its "facts wrong". A spokesman pointed to emails from the editor of BBC TV Sport, which he said clearly showed the SNP leader had been invited on to the programme. "

Someone is clearly telling porkies. I'd be happy to bet which side it is.

# ituna semea 2012-02-09 14:02
Where are these e mails "a" spokesman pointed to?

# nottooweeorstupid 2012-02-09 11:19
This from the BBC website today, following Fabio Cappello's resignation:

'Prime Minister David Cameron also contributed to the debate, saying: "England now needs a new coach and a new captain and I hope we can get on with that and make the best of the opportunity this summer.

"I am sorry to see Fabio go. I think he was a good coach and a good man. I don't think he was right about the John Terry issue. You can't be captain with that question mark that needs to be answered."
OK for Cameron to comment on sporting issues then?

# Dooy 2012-02-09 15:57
I have again complained to the BBC as to why Cameron can go on the BBC media this morning and comment on sport where as Alex Salmond is not allowed this privilege. Especially coming up for council elections? ironically what's good enough for the Gander is good enough for the goose> BBC bias again|
BBC
This is to ensure that all parties are treated with due impartiality and that one particular party does not receive undue prominence, or indeed that a party does not receive too little coverage in comparison to other

# Mac 2012-02-09 19:56
Well, well. It has just been announced that Lord Patten has ordered the BBC Trust to investigate claims of bias and improper behaviour at the BBC and BBC Scotland. Lord Pattem has said a new code of practice will be introduced.

So folks, get your submissions in on BBC bias and improper behaviour, and the fact viewers complaints are not being dealt with.

I think that will be a long, very long list.

# Angry_Weegie 2012-02-10 01:52
Slightly O/T but I was interested to see the BBC's sympathetic treatment of the Tibetans in their quest for greater self determination. Is the difference that some Tibetans felt so strongly that they set nthemselves on fire as a protest? Perhaps if we encourage a couple of Glasgow Labour councillors to set themselves on fire, we may get the BBC to change sides.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-10 01:59
When you say 'encourage', do you mean 'drug, tie up and force'?

# Angry_Weegie 2012-02-10 02:05
I'm sure if we put our case strongly enough, we could convince them. We could even offer to supply the matches as I know they're probably a bit short of funds at the moment.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments