by a Newsnet reporter

First Minister Alex Salmond has been making the case before a global audience for Scotland to take its place in the world as an independent nation.  Speaking in an interview with David Frost on the satellite news channel Al Jazeera, Mr Salmond spoke of his determination that Scotland would be a "good world citizen".

The First Minister outlined how Scotland plans to fulfil its international responsibilities in areas like defence, overseas aid and technology transfer.

Questioned by Mr Frost about whether he would still want independence even if Scotland were to be worse off, Mr Salmond replied:

"Luckily I don't have that dilemma.  I think the case for independence is a fundamental one.  It is about Scotland as a nation and nations have a right to self-determination.  Nations usually are better to govern themselves as opposed to let somebody else do it for them.

"Secondly ... independence would be good for the Scottish economy and people, so I don't have that dilemma."  Mr Salmond went on to explain that an independent Scotland would have a lower proportion of national debt that most of its European neighbours, and would be financially backed up assets unmatched by any other European neighbour apart from Norway.

Speaking of Scotland's future relationships with the other nations of the British Isles, Mr Salmond said: "We'll continue to be the best of neighbours, the best of friends with all of the other countries in these islands, but we're also determined to be good world citizens."

The First Minister added:  

"We want to be fully participating in the European Union and in the international community. With independence, Scotland gets a prosperous economy and a just society and the ability to determine our own future."

On defence, the First Minister said Scotland would be "attuned" to the needs of the country and Scotland would cooperate with allies across the world.

He added: "We would be happy and willing to take part in international operations if sanctioned by the United Nations.

"One of the ambitions we have is to see Scotland as a good world citizen, a country not prepared to sanction or to endorse illegal conflicts like the war in Iraq, but a country, of course, willing to help in UN sanctions, operations, to lend a helping hand.

"Not just in military or in peacekeeping operations, but also in terms of our international obligations of aid policy and technology transfer - which perhaps above all is where Scotland can make a good contribution to this planet as a good world citizen."

Mr Salmond's interview with David Frost can be viewed in full on the Al Jazeera website, click here.

Comments  

# rhymer 2012-02-18 21:43
Amazing !
A TV channel that doesn't push union propaganda.

# rhymer 2012-02-19 12:54
Quoting rhymer:
Amazing !
A TV channel that doesn't push union propaganda.

Speaking of not pushing propaganda, sometimes I worry that we are only "preaching to the converted" on this site.
Can the mods tell us how many different names come up each week or month - is it the same lot or do we get different posters?
(not the total number of hiits, the total number of different names)

# scotus 2012-02-18 21:46
Apologies for posting this here again, but I hadn't realized that a new thread had opened.

Yes – I agree that this was a breath of fresh air! Compared with Paxman and Campbell – well, there was none. The only thought that occurred to me was that they genuinely seemed a bit like old pals. Now that’s interesting, since Frost is definitely a ‘London luvvie’ – could it be that oor Eck spent some of his time representing us in London polishing his credentials with such folk? If so, is this is another example of ‘the long game’?

# J Wil 2012-02-18 22:07
My first thought on this interview was, what attitude did David Frost adopt when conducting the interview? Was it hostile like Paxo, ignorant like Brillo, or moderated and informed in its tone? It seems like it was the latter.

# edinburgh quine 2012-02-19 11:28
Frost is a past-master at putting people at their ease. If in doubt look at the Frost/Nixon interview. Unfortunately Nixon was a weasel with a bit of a past, so Frost used the relaxed questioning to get to the truth. It was in that interview that Nixon declared that anything the president did was not illegal! Paxman is not interested in getting to the truth however, he's only interested in scoring points and showing what a tough guy he is.

# Glasgow 2012-02-18 21:53

# gopher3 2012-02-18 22:16
No EBC brainwashing on that channel. a good honest interview.

# Vincent McDee 2012-02-18 22:32
I can't wait to be able to show my Scottish Passport.

Just pride.

# C2DEalba 2012-02-18 22:32
This was a good interview. I feel it held Alex to account and was objective.

A world of difference from the arrogance of paxman.

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-18 22:44
The thing is Al Jazeera is not under the control of Westminster. Just like R.T., Euronews, France 24 to name a few they all take a rather grim view of control from Westminster.

It is always refreshing to see how others see us. Others may feel differently but I believe that as far as Scotland and our fight for Independence is concerned non British media, for the most part, appear to be sympathetic towards Scotland and our struggle for Independence.

# lumilumi 2012-02-19 17:50
I'd say that 10 yrs ago, Scotland didn't really register in Finland.

Only since 2007, people are becoming more aware. And our state broadcaster YLE, now calls Alex Salmond "Prime Minister of Scotland".

Scotland is becoming better know in the world as a country, not just as a northern appendage to England.

# Marga B 2012-02-18 22:50
O/T but international: I've just come back from a talk by David Linden (SNP Youth) in Barcelona, and must say that in spite of a rather wooden speech, he was very impressive in the question session. Hard to believe he's only 21. Independentist group, but very satisfied audience.

# tartanfever 2012-02-18 22:51
Thanks for posting this NNS. Agree with comments already made here, so I'll pick up on something else.

What the heck are all the Celtic fans and some of their officials getting so worked up about ? AS's comments were hardly derogatory and in general we're fully supportive of Scottish football and he understands that football is a dearly held passion for many of our population.

# lumilumi 2012-02-19 18:39
I'm baffled at the "Celtic response" as well.

I'm also baffled by the fact that on BBC's international Scotland site, for a few days the news and clips were about a football club, not about SoS Michel Moore's and FM's meeting, or FM's and PM's meeting. Until I realised that it's a unionist strategy: trivialise any Scottish news. Reduce Scotland to fitba, old firm, nobody needs to take a country like that seriously.

What I've heard from AS is that the Rangers are a national institution, and important to the rest of the SPL, especially the Celtics. The Celtic bosses then spat the dummy, but the fact is that if Rangers were no more, the Celtics would also suffer. I mean, no more Old Firm games. Celtic would lose big time financially and "emotially".

Not that I approve of any sports club/business dodging their taxes.

# maisiedotts 2012-02-18 22:54
This is a very impressive showing by our First Minister. Doesn't it make you proud to be Scottish?

# C2DEalba 2012-02-19 00:16
Yes, I felt proud watching that interview.

I can't wait for my scottish passport.

# pmcrek 2012-02-20 04:26
Coincidentally, my passport needs renewed in 2014.

# clootie 2012-02-18 22:59
I look forward to 2014 - I only hope my fellow countrymen accept the opportunity coming up.

I dread the future if we fail to accept the challenge.Westminster/London can be a vengeful beast when given the opporunity

# proudscot 2012-02-18 23:14
Agreed tartanfever, an excellent interview compared to what he would have been subjected to in a similar BBC one - constant interruptions and every question put in a negative way, and constant use of the Lamont "separation" word.

Briefly on your point about the Celtic angle, does Lawell imagine anyone will believe that Celtic will not miss the four (at least, not counting cup clashes) full house meetings with their Old Firm rivals? Financially these meetings are worth millions to BOTH clubs, what with gate receipts, TV and advertising revenue, shirt & club tat sales, etc. So it must be that Mr. Lawell is a Labour supporter, and by definition anti-Salmond/SNP, hence his nonsensical claim that Celtic don't benefit from having Rangers as rivals, which was the basis of the First Minister's comments.

# Jim1320 2012-02-18 23:34
Talking to a couple of hoop fans at work, they thought their club was talking absolute pish. Of course Celtic would survive if Rangers disappeared but that was not what Salmond was talking about.

Big matches draw crowds and TV money. Old firm matches are watched around the world. Celtic and the fans would all be the poorer if there was no big rival to compete against. (Doesn't mean the hoop fans aren't enjoying a bit of schadenfreude though)

# C2DEalba 2012-02-19 00:17
I think this will blow over by 2014! This little media scrum will be forgotten.

# Angus 2012-02-19 02:16
Quoting Jim1320:
Talking to a couple of hoop fans at work, they thought their club was talking absolute pish. Of course Celtic would survive if Rangers disappeared but that was not what Salmond was talking about.

Big matches draw crowds and TV money. Old firm matches are watched around the world. Celtic and the fans would all be the poorer if there was no big rival to compete against. (Doesn't mean the hoop fans aren't enjoying a bit of schadenfreude though)

Aye, think the auld firm would drag anyone down, and they need each other to survive.
I really wished they could have gone to the English league and Scotland could pass this pash onto the original sh!tsters

# kendomacaroonbar 2012-02-19 02:31
I heard that the SKY Sports deal is worth around £80 mio obver 10 years or so, but written into the contract with the SPL is that this is conditional on both old firm teams being in the league.

If the teds go into liquidation, they will automatically be relegated to the 3rd division should they start again.

# Embradon 2012-02-19 01:46
It would be interesting if RFC disappeared, even temporarily, from the SPL.

Some of the important rules, if I remember correctly, require 11 votes to change them - e.g. distribution of income.
This has meant that the O.F. have had control as they effectively have a veto on more equitable arrangement.

# Caledon 2012-02-18 23:20
Refreshing interview without the supercilious condescending attitude that we have come to expect from the BBC journalists. Alex as always was excellent.
Roll on 2014.

# Hirta 2012-02-19 00:00
Are you watching Al Jazeera, BBC?

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 00:13
They can't do that Hirta, they might actually find out the truth, and as we all know the British Brainwashing Committee don't do truth!

# Angry_Weegie 2012-02-19 00:37
However, for the more traditionalist London nonsense on the same site, rightly rubbished in the comments, see
aljazeera.com/.../...

Even Al Jazeera can't escape EBC propaganda.

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 00:47
A.W. I think the comment at the end of the "informed" piece explains everything.

Quote:
Siobhan Courtney is a British freelance broadcast journalist and writer. She is a former BBC World News presenter and BBC News journalist who has reported and written for BBC Newsnight.

She may be freelance but I guess she is finding it extremely difficult dropping the British Brainwashing Committee approach to neutrality, impartiality and unbiased reporting.

# Angry_Weegie 2012-02-19 00:55
As one of the comments said, it is one of the worst pieces of journalism, with no arguments beyond in a marriage, you're linked for better or worse..... but are there not laws against domestic abuse in marriage these days, and is the abused partner not entitled to seek their freedom?

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 01:00
I have to admit. If you can stomach reading the full article you end up, at least I did, wondering if she actually is a journalist. Could she not be a EBC plant to try and misinform readers on Al Jazeera perhaps?

Nah. I suppose not I don't think the EBC have the where for all to work that one out. I guess she really is a journalist. That being the case I would not rate her standard of journalism very high at all, perhaps 1 out 10. (Well I have to give her something, don't I?:D)

# jafurn 2012-02-19 00:39
A lesson in how to conduct an interview for Mr Paxman, Mr Campbell, Mr Neill et al.
I think the difference here was that it was an 'interview' whereas when he is being questioned by the MSM in the UK it appears more like a cross-examination as if supporting Independence was a crime or a form of insanity. (this applies to anyone from the SNP it seems to me )

# J Wil 2012-02-19 01:44
No one should ever forget the sight of Glenn Campbell tearing up the SNP manifesto 5 minutes after they got into power.

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 01:17
Oh dear!

It would appear the the "STRONG" NO campaign is starting to show some cracks already.

scotsman.com/.../...

And now for something completely different!

Make sure you are sitting down first and there are now hot cups of tea/coffee to hand.

scotsman.com/.../...

I warned you! :D

# oldnat 2012-02-19 01:28
Loved the second link!

As to the first, that's just more of the same Douglas-Home/Cameron idea - "Vote No, and we'll think of giving you extra powers, without promising anything, or giving you any detail". Same old, Same old.

# J Wil 2012-02-19 01:40
Darling said he expects top play a significant part in the no campaign.

Who let the dogs out?

Re - Doncaster:

It's Scotland's coal.

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 01:44
WOOF! WOOF!

# oldnat 2012-02-19 01:46
LOL

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 15:20
Oh Doncaster, dear sweet old Doncaster!

There is a piece of land in (soon to be) foreign soil that is forever SCOTLAND!

Now that we know Doncaster is part of Scotland am I right in thinking that we will be having S.N.P. candidates standing in Doncaster in the local council elections in May?

Can you imagine the scene in the EBC studios on election night when a certain Mr. Dimbleby is covering the results.

"And here we have Leeds is a Labour Hold.
Nottingham is a Tory Hold.
Doncaster is a .......... S.N.P. GAIN!?????? cough, splutter, splutter, cough,CRASH!!!! !!"

# Angry_Weegie 2012-02-19 01:43
Westminster have a bloddy cheek, on one hand insisting that all an independent Scotland's policies should be detailed prior to the referendum, but failing to even confirm that more powers are on offer if there's a no vote. This offer should be treated with the contempt it deserves.

The second link was great. By 2014, I wonder how many english regions will be asking for their own referendum to become Scottish?

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 01:50
A.W. I think this will lead to some interesting scenarios in the time ahead between now and Independence in 2014.

You are right to question how many more towns/regions will "seeking" their Scottish "roots".

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-19 11:03
Forget that Hadrians Wall is south of the border. Post independence, we'll put the border through the Watford gap. *;0)

# jafurn 2012-02-19 01:45
Would appear that this is the second wave as it can be no co-incidence that both labour and tories suddenly believe in more powers at the same time. I smell collusion.

Fair enough but as oldnat has just said it's the same old same old.

In another scotsman article / interview with Mr Darling he goes a bit deeper

scotsman.com/.../...

extract...

This from the man once crowned Britain’s most boring politician. Free from the shackles of office, that title – if it were ever true – is most certainly redundant now. On Scotland, he is equally forthright. As we report today, Darling uses this interview to declare he backs a Scottish Parliament with stronger powers over taxation than it has at present. Like David Cameron he believes this can only be approached in detail after Scots have said no to independence. “There’s no point spending an awful lot of effort if the whole thing is redundant. If Scots vote to leave the UK then there is no point in discussing how to improve devolution,” he declares. He says he would share a platform with the Prime Minister – and also says he liked his speech in Edinburgh last week. Unlike Cameron, however, Darling both commits himself in principle to more tax powers at Holyrood, and suggests what they might be. “Income tax is easier because it is easy to identify and the Revenue knows who Scottish taxpayers are. It would be relatively easy to implement,” he says. He does not, however, have the precise detail to hand – that, he argues, is for later.

I get the feeling we are in for some rewriting of recent history and we are gonna get something like 'superdarling' for the next wee while .

I can't be bothered now but I doubt it will take too long on google to shoot down whatever non-sense we are about to recieve.

# Marga B 2012-02-19 12:32
Weren't these the same guys who said that central collection of Scottish local income tax would be impossible because of administrative complexities?

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-19 10:59
Doncaster = the 7th city of Scotland. *;0)

# jim288 2012-02-19 12:24
Thanks for the links. Articles were fine and I tried to read some of the comments to get the general sentiment of those posting. Gave up. Most of the comments are little more than juvenile name calling and add nothing to the debate we need to have. Needs some decent moderation.

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-02-19 15:17
It is not just the folk of Doncaster who are looking longly to their neighbour in the North. I think you'll find it a sentiment fairly common across the North as the question time in Liverpool demonstrated.

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 01:57
jafurn, I think that up until "Call me Dave's" speech last week we had the Tories sort of in cahoots with the Lib/Dems and Labour saying NO to Scottish Independence but refusing to work with the ConDems.

Now we have the Lib/Dems sort of breaking away from the Tories and Labour sort of joining in cahoots with the Tories. Who would have ever thunk that one.

I don't think any one saw this one coming!:D

# jafurn 2012-02-19 02:07
It's a bit like one of these daft movies when all the baddies line up to attack in turn and allows the hero to knock them back instead of all coming at the same time from all directions.
Mr Salmond is like that wee old guy in the Karate Kid just brushing them off like flies.
A poor analogy I know but my heeds nippin and its time to call it a day.

And before anyone else does I'm gonna call it Sunday..

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 02:10
Happy Sundays! :D

# Angus 2012-02-19 02:21
Al jeezera, och well, at least we dinnae pay for their propaganda.
Would it be plausable to drap the Eastenders and save paying the BBC liscense fee?

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 02:36
Al Jazeera may or may not be biased in a particular leaning but at least when they publish articles by non Al Jazeera individuals they at least highlight the fact. There is a disclaimer at the bottom of the Al Jazeera article pointing out that the article expresses the views of the author and not necessarily those of Al Jazeera.

Quote:
The views expressed in this article are the author's own and do not necessarily reflect Al Jazeera's editorial policy.

Yet another suggestion that the EBC should look into and give serious consideration to.

# mealer 2012-02-19 07:40
A very "soft" interview which Eck handled well.He got his positive message out with out over-doing it and didnt need to overuse his little half-laugh.

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-19 11:10
We saw something we don't often see... an interviewer showing great respect for the first minister of Scotland. David Frost still remains a favourite interviewer of mine.

# jafurn 2012-02-19 13:10
I felt the same about Mr Frost for a long time but after his interview with Mrs Bhutto re Osama bIn Laden having been murdered and he totally ignoring her comment I wondered about him.

# Taldor83 2012-02-19 09:18
O/T but forth 2 radio are having Michael Moore on at 11am to talk about the referendum. Anyone going to call in? ;-D

# From The Suburbs 2012-02-19 09:30
In Sunday Times Simon Pia former Labour spin doctor spills the beans on Gordon Brown and Labour MPs scared to "Bring It On" , London calling Wendy and remember it was Labour MSP who blew the whistle on Wendy's expenses.

Meanwhile Herald reports that The Labour Party in London has registered the name Glasgow Labour to stop the rebel councillors who were prevented by Electoral Commission from registering this name.....one rule for the big boys!

# Marga B 2012-02-19 12:38
So what is this, the Labour party in London usurping the Electoral Commission's power to decide on electoral issues, or the Labour Party in London misusing electoral law to shoot its own rebels, or the Electoral Commission in cahoots with the Labour party in London? Or is there another explanation?

# lumilumi 2012-02-19 20:32
I don't know. All it looks like to me is undemocratic.

London (Nu)Labour just doesn't get it. Labour is becoming nearly as toxic as the Tories in Scotland. People are waking up to the truth from their Labour-induced coma.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-19 20:36
Quoting From The Suburbs:
one rule for the big boys!

Not really, no. London Labour already had a Glasgow branch, so it had a prior claim to the name, which is why it was refused to the rebels. London Labour registering the name is the operation of exactly the same rule as the Glasgow rebels not being allowed to.

# Early Ball 2012-02-19 10:23
OT Scots golfer Peter Whiteford has been disqualified for a rules infringement while in contention to win the tour event in India.

Nothing on the BBC Scotland website. I think the job cuts are having an effect already. Mind you there is nothing much about Glasgow Council.

# The Spirit Of Wallace 2012-02-19 10:59
OT There's some funny pics on Wings Over Scotland, they're crying oot for some captions.

wingsland.podgamer.com/.../

# Diabloandco 2012-02-19 18:36
Thanks for that ,very funny!

# rapid 2012-02-19 10:59
one has to remember that Qatar (home of Al-Jazeera) became independent from the UK in 1971.

Whilst Qatar's growth subsequently came from finding one of the largest natural gas reserves in the world; one can't help drawing some similarities between the two countries in terms of what Scotland can achieve in accumulated wealth.

Qatar, and the Al-Thani monarchy will be key allies to an independent Scotland.

# gus1940 2012-02-19 11:03
Good article in today's SoS by Duncan Hamilton.

His use of the words 'Mystery Prize' regarding Cameron's 'promise' of more powers if we vote NO is a gem which can be used over and over again.

# amfraeembro 2012-02-19 15:13
Booby prize?

# UpSpake 2012-02-19 11:15
Mealer, I agree, I listened to the interview when doing other things and took it in accordingly.
I would regard this as a fairly 'soft' examination of the current affairs in Scotland where of-course, the Megraghi question simply had to be asked didn't it ?.
Not sure I would agree with Mr. Salmond that Scotland 'has' to accept its share of the UK debt when for the most part, we have absoultely no control over how much debt is generated in our name ?.
I would prefer the clean sheet status for negotiating rather than the acceptance right from the outset that we have to take on board debt.
Don't believe there is any international precedent for that approach ?.

# alexb 2012-02-19 11:29
Any chance this interview could be used in a training course for potential B.B.C journalists. No, thought not. Intelligent, well thought out questioning, allowing the interviewee to finish their answer. Whatever next. A S,as usual, gave a polished performance, demolishing the oft repeated economic lies about the consequence of Scottish independence, which I think is the most important part of their campaign. As for Cameron,s and Darling,s, "maybe jam tomorrow" promises, surely no one in their right mind would believe anything these discredited politicians say, Cameron, because he has broken his pre-General Election pledges, N.H.S, in England, Europe, etc, and Darling, who will forever be tarnished by being a member of a Labour Government who, along with the profligate bankers, brought this country to it,s financial knees. However, be warned, between now and 2014, the establishment will use every device available to them to try to derail the independence bandwagon, but personally, I think it is unstoppable, as will be proved in the upcoming council elections. I was going to say my only fear is we run out of steam before the referendum, but then I remembered the words of F.D.R in relation to that emotion, so lets go forward to a better Scotland.

# Old Smokey 2012-02-19 11:55
O/T What was it that Andrew Marr didnt want to read out and show from the Scotland on Sunday front page at the start of the newspaper review on this mornings Andrew marr Show?
If you watch he starts going through the papers providing each ofthe headlines, until, what can be clearly seen as the Scotland on Sunday as the next paper, to which he quickly discards to his left hand side, as if it was not supposed to be there, before continueing to read the rest of the newspaper headlines
Its very unusual to say the least that ANY Scottish Sunday paper is featured. Its only when it hs an anti Scottish Governmet headline that it is
Could it be that his researchers included the paper in error not realising that the lead article might be taken as a possitive.

Was it 'Scottish independence: Alistair Darling backs tax-raising powers'?
or
Was it 'Scottish independence: Alex Salmond outlines global role vision' ?
Unfortunately I dont have a copy of the printed version

# Legerwood 2012-02-19 12:33
It might have been the story about Doncaster - particularly the bit in the story where they say they would like to have Alec Salmond in charge because he is the best politician in the UK at the moment.

# J Wil 2012-02-19 14:22
@Old Smokey

"to which he [Marr] quickly discards to his left hand side"

At another time Marr was quick to let Angus Robertson know that he had a copy of the Sunday Herald during an interview when Robertson accused him of ignoring Scottish papers. He may have the 'papers in his pile but he does not refer to them The programme is the most London-centric political programme on the telly and it is being fronted by a Scot. The BBC always choose wisely it seems.

# Alba4Eva 2012-02-19 12:18
Just saw Skeletor on Sky News promoting war mongering against Iran.

The idiot makes me physically sick!

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 17:16
Not just you Alba, but quite a few on this site as well.

# rhymer 2012-02-19 12:37
Alistair Darling ?
C'mon guys, are you seriously suggesting that he would be an asset for a unionist no campaign ? Admittedly we don't get as many new members joining up compared with when D. Cameron speaks.......
Oh wait that must be the strategy - try and keep SNP membership to under two million before we reach 2014'

# art1001 2012-02-19 12:46
O/T but Macwhirter in the Herald today reckons Westminster is sovereign over the Scots. Anyone want to agree with him?

heraldscotland.com/.../...

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-19 13:00
I don't think he's saying that at all. He merely points out that this is the constitutional position favoured by unionists.

But his article does, in my view, drill down to the very fundamentals of what the referendum is about.

www.referendumdebate.com/.../

# Marga B 2012-02-19 14:06
O/T but I can't comment on the Herald - McWhirter says some very loose things like "David Cameron is trying to sound a bit like Labour because Scotland is a Labour country" - is Scotland even socialist?

"Salmond sees independence as a process, and not an event, and anything that moves Scotland further down the road of home rule is OK by him."

So according to McWhirter, "Yes" voters in a referendum would really be voting for Devo-Max (Cameron euphemism) converging with "independence lite" (Salmond euphemism) because Salmond and Cameron between them are conspiring to ensure that that's all they'd get.

Do people in fact believe this?

I spent yesterday listening to David Linden telling Catalan independentists to be like the SNP, not to take their eye off the ball, not to be fobbed off with anything less than full independence. People cheered, but was he lying?

It's not a pleasant thing to contemplate, that independentist Scots are being lied to by their own government for tactical reasons. Not beyond the realms of possibility, of course, from any political party including the SNP, but still not pleasant.

And a very serious accusation if we are to take McWhirter seriously.

# Mad Jock McMad 2012-02-19 15:29
As a local vice convenor of a SNP Branch I can assure you our instructions from SNP HQ are clear - we are only campaigning for full independence, it is up to others to make the case for devo-max or the status quo.

The SNP has no position on 'devomax' except if a workable proposal is put forward it would be included in the referendum in Autumn 2014.

As no workable devomax proposal is in view and any that does will have to be binding on Westminster - a position Westminster has already refused to allow - currently the referendum remains a straight yes /no with devomax alongside Cameron's 'promises' in the jam tomorrow column.

The Scottish chatterati can not believe this to be the case and so articles like McWhirter's continue to surface.

# restless native 2012-02-19 17:36
Yes = Independence
No = Devomax = Status Quo = ? False promises

# lumilumi 2012-02-19 18:04
This is pretty much how I've understood the thing. The Scottish Government (SNP) want a straightforward yes/no question, as do the Westminster lot.

The SNP is, however, willing to listen to the people (unlike the Westminster lot), that's why they've launched an extremely popular consultation.

The best thing in 2014 would be to have a simple Y/N question, no devo-maxes muddying the waters, or Tory "promises" of "jam tomorrow".

Oh, Scotland, you are soooo near. Don't screw it up.

# Marga B 2012-02-19 20:59
MJM - thanks, that's what I understood, but McWhirter has a good reputation for being fair, and in the know, and then you get an article like this ... most disappointing,

# Marga B 2012-02-19 13:08
Art, I've just read the article and came to the same conclusion, but it's not one of his best efforts.

He doesn't even mention the claim to sovereignty of the Scottish people as against the UK (including the supreme court) which bases sovereignty in Westminster. Surely he is wrong?

He ends: "Perhaps, inverting Lord Home's promise, Salmond is really saying: "Vote yes to independence and we'll deliver a better Union."

McWhirter seems to have al alter ego, he actually argues against himself quite often. Here I don't think he even convinces himself.

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-19 13:57
Quoting Marga B:
He doesn't even mention the claim to sovereignty of the Scottish people...

Really?

Quote:
Alex Salmond insists, though, that his minimalist concept of independence still involves sovereignty being transferred from Westminster to Holyrood and that "the will of the people of Scotland" will be sovereign, as spelled out in the 1988 Claim of Right document.

# Marga B 2012-02-19 14:52
Maybe I put it badly, EH, what I meant to emphasise is that he doesn't mention the CLAIM itself - as I understand it, Salmond is not talking about a transfer of sovereignty to Holyrood because the Scottish people already claim to have sovereignty, and that the law of the land must recognise that.

See the Claim of Right text:

"We, gathered as the Scottish Constitutional Convention, do hereby acknowledge the sovereign right of the Scottish people to determine the form of Government best suited to their needs, and do hereby declare and pledge that in all our actions and deliberations their interests shall be paramount."

In wikipedia (yes, I know, but it seems valid) it says: "The Claim of Right has never had or claimed any legal force, but some imbue it with constitutional significance in relation to Scotland."

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-19 15:35
This is off-topic so I really don't want to get into it here. I will simply say that I consider Iain MacWhirter's article significant in that it highlights the question of sovereignty. Which is, I would contend, what the referendum is all about.

All the talk of "defining independence" is nonsense. Independence is not a matter of what kind of country Scotland is, but of who decides what kind of country Scotland is. Unionists say it should be the British Parliament. Nationalists say it should be the people.

# Marga B 2012-02-19 16:27
I bow to your knowledge of the matter, EH, but I'm still bothered that McWhirter talks about Salmond's "minimalist concept" of "sovereignty being transferred from Westminster to Holyrood", if he is also, at least for me, in the same article, accusing Salmond of settling for devo-max, which is not independence: "Perhaps, inverting Lord Home's promise, Salmond is really saying: "Vote yes to independence and we'll deliver a better Union." For me, this doesn't add up.

Isn't achieving independence in the Scottish context just having UK legal recognition of the sovereignty which Scotland already claims it has? No should be's, surely: he who has sovereignty enshrined in law decides.

I presume that was Salmond's argument with the UK Supreme Court, as legal recognition of the sovereignty of the UK over Scotland. Sovereignty and devo-max are incompatible.

But like I say, I have to admit confusion on this whole issue.

# Dundonian West 2012-02-19 12:57
BBC Radio Scotland.This was top of the news at 7,8,and 9 this morning (Sunday).
At 10 it wasn't top---Exon had replaced it.
No,it hadn't moved to second---it vanished!
Did the Political Boss come on duty somewhere between 9 and 10?
Just a thought.
Found it hidden away on their BBC Scotland web page----took some finding,and of course no comments permitted.

bbc.co.uk/.../...

# taimoshan 2012-02-19 12:58
Alba4eva - i tried to get a letter into the Scotsman a week or so ago when Murphy opened his stupid mouth on defence.
I suggested that he would not know a "division from a diversion, a frigate from a freebee or a squadron from a wing and a prayer - you guessed. It didn't get past the censor!

# Mark MacLachlan 2012-02-19 13:17
Ok newsnetters don't say I'm not good to you. Vintage cheese with a rare foray into archival clips of Foulkes and Forsyth...

.../scotland-said-yes.html

# jafurn 2012-02-19 13:27
Quoting Mark MacLachlan:
Ok newsnetters don't say I'm not good to you. Vintage cheese with a rare foray into archival clips of Foulkes and Forsyth...

url]http://the-universality-of-cheese.blogspot.com/2012/02/scotland-said-yes.html

Very interesting

tidied up your url (sorry)

# Mark MacLachlan 2012-02-19 14:02
Quoting jafurn:
Quoting Mark MacLachlan:

url]http://the-universality-of-cheese.blogspot.com/2012/02/scotland-said-yes.html

Very interesting

tidied up your url (sorry)

Ahem, yes thanks for that and all praise be for the edit button!

# Jester 2012-02-19 15:55
Quoting Mark MacLachlan:

Cracking stuff there. That photo of Gordon Brown makes him look rather creepy...

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 17:29
Jester, when was Broon anything else but creepy?

What really stood out for me was the picture at the bottom of Ruth Davidson standing next to "stairheid rammmy" herself. Don't these two just look as if they were made to be "best pals" :D

# jafurn 2012-02-19 13:37
Mr Darling has just said he supports Independence.
He told Isabel fraser that the Status quo is no longer an option but that there should only be one question on the ballot so therefore he is saying vote for Independence.

# Marga B 2012-02-19 14:23
In interviews he doesn't say that, he says it's either "Yes" (goodbye Scotland) or "No" (hello the amount of devo-max that the UK decides to let the Scottish people have). Wish I'd seen the interview though ...

# jafurn 2012-02-19 14:32
I was, of course, mischief making.
However if he says on the one hand (and he did) that the status quo is no longer an option but he still insists on there only being one question where YES gives Independence and NO retains the status quo then he is ,surely, saying if you dont agree with the status quo then you have to vote for Independence.

Maybe Isabel got him too flustered and he didn't mean to say that ...but he did

# Marga B 2012-02-19 14:45
Well, who knows what he'll say tomorrow, if Cameron is anything to go by. He's still peddling the RBS argument so I don't think his brain is engaged, probably burned out by working with Brown so long.

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 17:31
I would never thought for a second that A. Darling was a fan of the old rockers Status Quo!

# rhymer 2012-02-19 13:41
Yeah!
Isabel is not letting A.Darling get away with waffling.
Watch theq number of times he blinks - it increases the more uncomfortable he gets. He is like a strobe light now.

# jafurn 2012-02-19 13:41
And he was supposed to be the big hitter for the unionists...

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 17:34
I did not see the interview Darling was put through by Isabel Frazer but I do recall from past interviews that I have seen she is the only interviewer that I would trust to get to the point and not let the politician off.

She is one in a million as far as I am concerned when it comes to political interviewers. More power to her mic!

# sneckedagain 2012-02-19 13:43
O/T
But happening right now.
The Rangers affair is being used against us. Two entirely sensible statements by the First Minister are being distorted and fed into the "Celtic" community by our enemies. None more so than in a an article in today's Sunday Mail by the Labour unionist hack Hugh Keevins in his sports column.
As a lifelong Celtic supporter of that community I have to say remarks coming out of Celtic on the Rangers issue are deeply stupid, divisive and unhelpful.

# Dundonian West 2012-02-19 14:18
Divide and Rule.
Westminster Unionists have been doing it for centuries,e.g. in the British Empire,and the Press is delighted to follow.
Now it's Scotland's turn.
Worked in pre-independence India for many years,so why change it?
They'll stoop to anything----pitting community against community,total ly lacking in morals.

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-19 14:20
Quoting sneckedagain:
O/T
But happening right now.
The Rangers affair is being used against us. Two entirely sensible statements by the First Minister are being distorted and fed into the "Celtic" community by our enemies.

I have deliberately, some would say wisely, stayed out of this issue. But I have noticed the distortions to which you refer. Disgraceful. But hardly surprising.

I have seen it argued (In this place, I think.) That Salmond should be more circumspect in his utterances. But the only way to avoid misrepresentati on would be to say absolutely nothing. And who knows what the anti-independence propagandists would choose read into his silence.

# ituna semea 2012-02-19 14:41
Electric Hermit:'I have deliberately, some would say wisely, stayed out of this issue.'
It is a pity the First Minister did not follow the same course before dropping a brick and then having to pick it up again.

# Electric Hermit 2012-02-19 14:48
That the First Minister was guilty of "dropping a brick" is the unionists' version of events. I tend to distrust their propaganda. You might want to consider adopting a similar healthy scepticism.

# Jester 2012-02-19 16:10
Quoting Electric Hermit:
That the First Minister was guilty of "dropping a brick" is the unionists' version of events. I tend to distrust their propaganda. You might want to consider adopting a similar healthy scepticism.

Keevins is a waste of skin, but he is a waste of skin with a column in a Sunday paper, so...
Quote:
"First he (Salmond)had to apologise for saying rangers were 'part of the fabric of society' in Scotland. Which makes Celtic what, precisely?"
I'd imagine he would say the same thing. Show support to any one of the Bigot Brothers and the other side jump on it. Say nothing, and the injured party takes it as a snub.
Unfortunately as First Minister people are looking to him to say something. What is he supposed to say?
As far me, I know I'd like to see both of the going down the pan, along with their bile.

Finally, don't buy the Sunday Mail.
Does Keevins still have a radio programme?

# Angry_Weegie 2012-02-19 18:34
I can't believe that anyone would stoop so low as to try to stir up religious nonsense over this. AS made the obvious point that without Old Form matches broadcasters would be less interested in Scottish football. Less interest means less money, even bad for Celtic.

I agree, don't buy the Sunday Mail.

# lumilumi 2012-02-19 19:01
Completely agree, Angry_Weegie.

Now various groupings are trying to exploit the Rangers problems for their own benefit.

What is Celtic without "Old Firm"? Just another club. AS was right when he said Celtics need Rangers. But the simple-minded, tribal Celtic execs cannot admit that. Dumb bastards.

# millie 2012-02-19 23:32
I empathise with the views of sneckedagain @ 12.43pm.

This appears to be the usual media stir-up of the ‘divide and rule’ tactic.

However, Lumilumi, since the situation ‘is’ sensitive, perhaps your last sentence is inappropriate.

We are trying to attract people from all sides of the community, rather than ‘help’ feed into the ‘divide and rule’ mentality.

# call me dave 2012-02-19 13:46
Anyone watching Mr Darling must be banging their heads on the wall and thinking they have gone into a neverendum loop. He is stuck in one groove and is so far behind the public's understanding of the current situation.

Pigs in pokes or extra jam or magic beans are no good.
But he doesn't understand it YET!

The Labour party have now official joined the coalition and stuck their flag beside theirs.

# RTP 2012-02-19 14:01
Must say very impressed with Isobel Fraser today had Darling going all gaga the first time I have seen him like that,I don't want my jam and honey tomorrow and we all know nothing will come from them.

# Dundonian West 2012-02-19 14:10
Don't believe everything you read in the papers:-
"In May 2009, The Daily Telegraph reported that A. Darling changed the designation of his second home four times in four years, allowing him to claim for the costs of his family home in Edinburgh, and to buy and furnish a flat in London including the cost of stamp duty and other legal fees.A.Darling said that "the claims were made within House of Commons rules".
If true,I say----Well that's OK then.

# lumilumi 2012-02-19 20:39
The fact is, Alistair Darling didn't do anything (legally) wrong. It was all within the Westmister guidelines. Set by other Westminster throughers.

I hope an independent Scotland would have none of that.

# J Wil 2012-02-19 14:15
I cannot see how the Unionists can get over the problem that Cameron set them last week. They cannot just say that they will give more powers to Scotland without defining them or having some sort of written agreement prior to the referndum. It is difficult to see that an agreement would have any basis for being delivered, but if they set out a detailed account of what was on offer than it would be more substantial than not saying anything.

If what we heard from Darling today is the strength of the Unionist argument then they are on a hiding to nothing.

# Jiggsbro 2012-02-19 14:32
The problem for the Unionists is that the jam they're offering will have to be delivered by the next UK government, because there won't be enough time to enact anything between the referendum in the second half of 2014 and the UK election in 2015. So unless all three Unionist parties can agree on, and promise, what they're going to do if we vote 'no', then they can't promise anything because they can't promise to be in a position to do anything. I suspect the timing may well have been chosen with that in mind.

# Dundonian West 2012-02-19 14:26
SUBSTANTIAL more powers to Scotland,of any kind,is a Non Starter with the UK electorate and MP's.
Can you imagine a Geordie voter or Geordie MP voting to grant us that?
Never.
The Unionist MP's know this----Darling included.

# lumilumi 2012-02-19 15:30
Sorry, haven't read all the comments, or seen Darling's interview (it sounds like another car crash) or be up-to-date with the Rangers situation.

I watched the al Jazeera interview with Salmond linked to the article, and thought, how ironic that a news outlet like al Jazeera but not the BBC will give him an intelligent interview, without interrupting or foaming at the mouth, just asking intelligent, pertinent questions, even a couple of tough ones.

Alex Salmond has been raising the international profile of Scotland. All in preparation for an independent Scotland.

I did a search on our Finnish public broadcaster YLE website. No mention of the previous First Ministers, then mentions of "head of regional Scottish parliament, Alex Salmond" starting from 2007, and now YLE is calling him "Skotlannin pääministeri", literally PM of Scotland (we don't have a word for First Minister, it's the same word as Prime Minister).

Say "Scotland" to Finns, and most will say "Whisky. Bagpipes. Men in skirts [they mean kilts]." And maybe, "Mel Gibson, freedom!!!" But increasingly more Finns are becoming aware of Scotland as a real country with its own history and aspirations, not just "north England".

Scotland is gaining a reputation for being a forward-looking, progressive country. Many in Finland admire Scotland's climate change targets, legislation, commitment to renewables - and despair at our government's harebrained policies, like lifting and burning peat from our bogs, claiming it's biofuel.

# jafurn 2012-02-19 16:09
repeat is on the parliament channel just now

# lumilumi 2012-02-19 18:22
Sorry, jafurn, I'm in a foreign country so I can't get parliament channel :-(

All I really know about Scottish politics comes from BBC's uncut, live stream from Holyrood committees and chamber debates on Democracy Live. And I'm amazed how the goings-on are reported by the BBC. Like, did we watch the same thing???

# jafurn 2012-02-19 19:44
Ah of course sorry for that.
I don't know if you know about this

www.youtube.com/.../videos

apologies if you already know of it but if you do not then there are a few videos on there you can enjoy

and another...

youtube.com/.../6kXdgNYdKlM

again apologies if you already know them.

# lumilumi 2012-02-19 20:50
Nah, na apologies. Thanks for the linkies, I actually have seen the other wan.

# Dundonian West 2012-02-19 15:52
O/T.Harmless wee Indy poll on Youtube.
I've voted.
Promise tae nae look over yer shudder.
www.youtube.com/.../

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 17:59
They say, I believe, a week is a long time in politics. After what has transpired in the last seven days I think they could very well be right.

Prior to "Call me Dave's" visit to Scotland we had the Tories and the Lib/Dems sitting pretty hand in hand saying that the Scotland Bill was the "Line in the sand" which no one would cross.

After "C.m.D's" visit the Tories are no longer sitting pretty with the Lib/Dems. The Tories now, apparently, are prepared to consider giving Scotland more powers (whatever the hell that means), but first of all we have to vote NO. Ah the good old "we'll promise you jam tomorrow" trick, I prefer strawberry jam myself. :D

I'm sorry but the last time I looked in the mirror I did not see the word "IDIOT or SUCKER" scrawled across my forehead.

The Lib/Dems are sticking, for the moment, to their "we have drawn the (Scotland Bill) line in the sand" routine. Have no fears though folks this will surely change as they see themselves being sidelined more and more, if that is physically possible.

Now we have Labour. Ah yes Labour, what can we say about Labour? Well prior to "C.m.D's" visit they were the party that had adopted the old Lib/Dem policy of sitting on the fence. Post "C.m.D's" visit we now have them giving serious consideration to jumping into bed with the Tories, taking over from the space recently vacated by the Lib/Dems.

I just wonder how long this new "friendship" will last before we revert back to three separate parties with three separate ideas for the future of the U.K./Scotland.

# jafurn 2012-02-19 19:57
You couldn't make it up could you.

What does worry me about all this is just how desperate they are becoming and that is with them (to their mind and with all their biased media, polls etc.) supposedly leading the debate and winning the argument. Now I don't accept that that is the case but let's assume that they do.
Given the desperation shown by them now ...what will they be like if/when it all starts to swing the other way and Independence is polling say 60 to 70 percent in favour. What will they get up to then.

# lumilumi 2012-02-19 21:09
What all this means...

OK, Scotland has been a problem for England for about a thousand years. The modern world makes it increasingly hard to justify, holding on to "Jockland", but they must. Empire! Oil! Gas! And... uhm... We're stronger together, weaker apart.

Scotland is a small country, bit over 5m, and lots of empty landscape. But Scots are well-educated, innovative and compassionate. Maybe even patriotic.
I wish the referendum goes the only right way for all Scots. The alternative is too horrible to contemplate.

# lumilumi 2012-02-19 21:32
I think Scotland, independet, would be a good world citizen. Mindful of other small countries, human rights, and NOT trying to punch above its weight. Who's going to attack Scotland after Scotland gets rid of the WMD in Faslane?

# Macart 2012-02-19 21:47
Bless ye lumi. :)

# Macart 2012-02-19 22:57
Just listened to the interview. Are you watching BBC? That's how it's done. Somebody asks a question they then patiently wait while the interviewee gives a FULL uninterrupted answer, chin them if necessary on any stand out points and then move on to the next question.

Its no that hard!

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 23:26
It's ALL about the revenue Macart.

Westminster see the loss of ALLof Scotland's tax revenue.

EBC sees the loss of ALL of Scotland's T.V. licence fee. (Well the licence fee that isn't already being withheld in protest)

# Macart 2012-02-19 23:30
How long do you reckon it'll take for them to jump ship in PQ, just to retain some presence in Scotland?

# Arbroath1320 2012-02-19 23:41
I'm not too sure about the time scale but when it happens at least they don't have too far to run.

You must be logged-in in order to post a comment.

Donate to Newsnet Scotland

Banner

Latest Comments